S_2NR wrote:it eh come out yet chupidee

Thanks

original_lollybob

Re: Windows 8

Postby original_lollybob » July 19th, 2012, 2:39 pm

but thats windows PHONE 7/8

windows 8 - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/download

i doh understand how u looking for a genuine copy of win8 but only getting 7 eh... sounds a lil suspect

Swisha

Re: Windows 8: Available on Oct. 26th 2012

Postby Swisha » July 19th, 2012, 2:39 pm

Windows 8 will be available on…

…October 26th, 2012! That’s right! Just a few minutes ago, Steven Sinofsky announced at Microsoft’s annual sales meeting that customers will be able to get Windows 8 – whether in upgrade fashion or on a new PC – starting on October 26th. Earlier this month at the Microsoft Worldwide Partner Conference, Tami Reller told attendees Windows 8 would be available in October. But now everyone has a specific date to mark on their calendars. It’s on mine!

http://windowsteamblog.com/windows/b/bl ... le-on.aspx

Centric

Postby Centric » July 19th, 2012, 2:39 pm

stev wrote:u can only get the preview. i think it will be released in October but some microsoft customers can get it as early as end of august.

IBTL

Wasn't a BETA copy already released?

Centric

Postby Centric » July 19th, 2012, 2:41 pm

dougla_boy wrote:there is a .:The Official Windows Phone 7/8 Thread:.

ask in that thread.......

Dude I'm not talking about a phone......

Centric

Postby Centric » July 19th, 2012, 2:43 pm

original_lollybob wrote:but thats windows PHONE 7/8

windows 8 - http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-8/download

i doh understand how u looking for a genuine copy of win8 but only getting 7 eh... sounds a lil suspect

I was magneting torrents. They were named Windows 8 but when I install on a VM, Windows 7 install screen came up...

Postby maj. tom » July 19th, 2012, 2:45 pm

Windows 8 was not really created for desktops. It's for mobile and tablets. Did you try the preview? Try it and see if you'll like it. And a genuine copy? ...u gotta buy it from an authorized seller. Don't pirate it.

And then go Ubuntu.

Postby stev » July 19th, 2012, 2:57 pm

kual

Postby kual » July 19th, 2012, 3:00 pm

eenside

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » August 14th, 2012, 1:43 pm

According to an inside source, a session was held at Microsoft's recent TechReady15 conference in which all the launch details were laid out. If things go according to the plan detailed then, the Surface for Windows RT tablet will be launching October 26th -- no surprise there -- at a compelling price of $199

full article - http://www.engadget.com/2012/08/14/micr ... urface-199

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2012, 1:49 pm

Microsoft has revealed five manufacturers will offer Windows RT PCs after the operating system launches.

It said Samsung, Dell and Lenovo would sell PCs powered by the software, adding to previous announcements about Asus and Microsoft itself.

Windows RT devices will become available on 26 October alongside the release of other Windows 8 products.

But unlike the other versions of the system it will not be offered as a stand-alone purchase, and can only be obtained by buying one of the computers it is installed upon.

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-19253365

neals

Postby neals » August 14th, 2012, 7:23 pm

windows 8 is quite fast, but i dont find it make sense unless u have something touch screen

Postby stev » August 27th, 2012, 10:46 am

soooo....

what are your guys opinions on installing Windows 8 on a non touch screen laptop?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 27th, 2012, 11:43 am

Partition on iMac reserved for it :P

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 27th, 2012, 11:55 am

i actually enjoy using it on my desktop ie been using the release preview for quite some time and will actually go and buy the full version when it comes out (first non pirated)

Postby stev » August 27th, 2012, 1:00 pm

jm3 wrote:i actually enjoy using it on my desktop ie been using the release preview for quite some time and will actually go and buy the full version when it comes out (first non pirated)

cool.....what u dont like about it though?...from using it on ur desktop

shaq090

Re: Microsoft unveils "Windows 8"

Postby shaq090 » August 27th, 2012, 5:33 pm

Stephon. wrote:Windows XP > Windows anything else.

was like this until win 7 came out, i find xp requires too much external source for drivers, win 7 has a larger driver database, nd plus who doesnt like the aero theme?

Re: Microsoft unveils "Windows 8"

Postby stev » August 27th, 2012, 5:53 pm

shaq090 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Windows XP > Windows anything else.

was like this until win 7 came out, i find xp requires too much external source for drivers, win 7 has a larger driver database, nd plus who doesnt like the aero theme?

i believe they got rid of Aero Glass in windows 8.

i'm sure there are many ways to put it back....its windows: level ratch

Postby M_2NR » August 27th, 2012, 7:12 pm

stev, once u get accustomed to all the added extras, you'll feel like 7 missing these things. The quick swapping to all the pretty "metro" (yea i know its win8 not metro, whatever) apps and the quick options to the right are really nice.
Live tiles are _really_ useful in the start section.

If u wanna know what I hate... honestly, everything seems to work. I looking forward to see if an XP key can be used (successfully) for the upgrade to Win8 Pro for $40 :D

Postby stev » August 27th, 2012, 8:35 pm

^^^lol

thanks for the info. i did try it out as a virtual machine but i have been a bit skeptical to install and use the final release seeing that a lot of stuff is tailored for a touch UI.

edit: btw guys, anyone had any issue with installing and running ur everyday programs? eg. compatibility issues? i know compatibility not supposed to be a problem but was just wondering.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 28th, 2012, 10:24 am

Yes Ubuntu is still the best. But most stuff just isn't compatible.

MAC is expensive unless you build a hackintosh.

Windows XP don't support DX 10 and above. So its vastly outdated if you are a gamer. Its also not as secure as windows 7.

If I was using a PC simply for browsing the net and watching movies. The number one OS on the planet has to be Ubuntu without a doubt.

I never liked the glass theme of 7 and vista. I always hated it, loved OSX theme always.

But windows 8 hit the nail on the head if you ask me. Love the square solid metro theme. And making everything easier like a smartphone. Its a brilliant move I will definitely be buying this.

Postby stev » August 28th, 2012, 12:07 pm

so i installed windows 8 last night on a Dell Studio 15 (bare metal install)......after a windows update the only missing driver was for the memory card slot....what I really liked though, windows notification centre (white flag thing) gave me the option of downloading it directly from Dell without having to visit Dell.

within 30mins of use, i really liked the new Metro style, so much smoother and looks nicer than aero glass IMO. startup and shutdown is very fast and i have no problems installing and running my programs so far.

doh really like that start menu...looks cluttered after time......they removed the option of enabling the original start menu. (also removed the registry entry to do so.) the only way i can get an old school start menu is using third party software which i am staying away from right now.

joining home workgroup and accessing shared files worked with no problems....

Postby M_2NR » August 28th, 2012, 1:41 pm

BTW it's no longer metro eh.. that's why i used quotes.
http://creativelayers.in/microsoft-shif ... windows-8/

I too hated that new start menu but once you start using it with everyday tasks like weather, mail, etc. you'll see how useful it is. I can't wait to see all the possibilities with it. Glad you're having fun.

Postby stev » August 28th, 2012, 2:08 pm

by the way.....was anyone able to rate their PC using windows experience index? not working for me as yet. :lol:

Swisha

Re: Windows 8: Now available

Postby Swisha » October 26th, 2012, 6:21 pm

hmmm Windows 8 available today and nobody bumped d thread yes. like nobody interested :lol:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 26th, 2012, 8:29 pm

Its really good for tablets. Wish Microsoft could make a theme that could really compete with OSX.

Not a fan of Apple due to their outrageous prices but you just got to love OSX theme.

But atleast Windows 8 is as good as we gonna get to a real evolution in the PC.

Stardock is also offering a app for $5 that converts windows 8 start menu into windows 7

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » October 26th, 2012, 10:32 pm

Wanted to install it this evening... But my hdd's in a messsss... 2TB scattered across 5 different full partitions, need to take a weekend to clean it, lol.

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » October 27th, 2012, 11:53 am

wonder what the pricing will be like on the surface rt?
in TT $

Postby gastly369 » October 27th, 2012, 11:58 am

see courts selling sony vaio with windows 8 already

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 27th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Windows 8 Professional running alongside OSX Mountain Lion 8-)