BBQ question to coal or not to coal

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 13th, 2009, 4:09 pm

thanks.. I found a recipe online that called for 5 spice powder.. Tomorrow I'll try looking for that in the Asian market

Postby X_Factor » December 13th, 2009, 4:11 pm

recently i started using white pepper powder and whole black peppercorns that i grind myself...big difference wrt to flavor and the normal powderd type and its really strong

Wing Sing on Charlotte street has some really nice stuff for cooking

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2009, 4:29 pm

how u all think, gettin minced chicken, with eggs, bread crumbs, maybe cheese seasonings etc
stuffed into a large yellow bell pepper, baked for about 10mins for the filling to set

then slicing and grillin them?

Postby SR » December 20th, 2009, 4:58 pm

good luck in keeping it together

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2009, 6:59 pm

you might as well make a fattie
wrap it in saran wrap and then twist like a dinner mint to tighten it up
grill the whole thing. make sure its cooked thru to 165+

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/forums ... hp?t=69819

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 20th, 2009, 8:16 pm

Fryer is assembled and ready to rock!!

They calling for showers on christmas day, so it looks like this bird will be getting cooked sooner than expected.

I'm ditching my idea for the asian style marinade and going with a more tried & true recipe.
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/deep-fried ... etail.aspx

1 (16 ounce) bottle Italian dressing
1/2 cup cayenne pepper
1/2 cup black pepper
1 cup Creole seasoning
2 tablespoons garlic powder

[img::]http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/8348/turkeyfryer.jpg[/img]

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2009, 8:41 pm

i bought some marlin slicestoday , whats a good way prepare and cook that?

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2009, 9:22 pm

you brining that turkey ?
I have been looking for a non-butterball turkey to try brining as the experts claim that is the way to do a good turkey but so far can't find one locally and I not gonna bother with the crowds at this stage anyway

I think marlin is a dryish fish, so you might have to cook it fast
according to the eco people you not supposed to eat marlin though

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 20th, 2009, 9:38 pm

I brined one last year as per Alton's directions, but that one was baked.. I plan to rub & inject this bird

I'm going with a 12lb butterball

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 20th, 2009, 9:41 pm

Yes, I'm in favor of catch & release of big game fish... This is coming from an avid fishman

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 25th, 2009, 6:22 pm

Well fellas, it was a success!!! I didn't burn down the house and I will never bake a turkey again.. Ah think I done eating chicken too... Fry Turkey is the bomb!! :twisted:

I went to buy an organic, free range bird but couldn't find one small enough to fry (12lbs). I ended up buying a Butter Ball and followed the recipe above and that bird came out perfect. The skin was dynamite and the meat was juicy and full of flavor. Italian dressing needed to be blended inorder to pass though the marinade injector because the junks of bits in there kept clogging the needle.

Notice the fire extinguishers & a bucket of water just incase :lol:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 25th, 2009, 6:30 pm

I did 2 birds. One for us and one for a pardner... I fried (experimented) on his bird first, then I fried mine :mrgreen:

*tip - Get the oil 25-30 degrees above 350 to compensate for excessive temperature drop when you drop in your bird.. If the temps drop to much yuh bird could start to absorb the oil.

I didn't let it drop under 300 and I maintained a 340-350 @ 3 mins per LB

Postby X_Factor » December 25th, 2009, 7:02 pm

hahaha, that coat hanger looks familiar!!

like u taped alton's episode on this

i just did some of this today

and this is the marlin

Postby pugboy » December 25th, 2009, 7:04 pm

looking good, I want to try this also.
I see costco and a number of places selling the frying rigs
you used peanut oil ?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 25th, 2009, 7:11 pm

Homedepot have the frying kits for $69.. It comes with the hook, hanger, pot, termometer & burner. Well worth it

Costco have peanut oil for $29 for 5 gallons..

Postby SR » December 25th, 2009, 8:39 pm

welcome to the world of moist turkey breast that does not dry out the day after in the fridge

350 is ideal and 3 -4 min per lb

butterball works great

Postby teems1 » December 25th, 2009, 9:14 pm

looks like a man following the gospel according to Alton Brown...

nice nice

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 25th, 2009, 10:55 pm

Alton is the man bro... I didn't use a rope & ladder :lol:

Last week I was speaking to a fireman and he told me to be extra careful because turkey frying ain't no joke, so I broke out the extinguishers to be on the safe side..

I'm very happy with the outcome. I'll be do another one on news years day :mrgreen:

X_Factor, that Marlin looks great... yuh making me feel to go out and buy a Tuna steak.

Speaking about sea food. This frying kit will come in handy when we go up to Capecod. I can get fresh lobster, clams, shrimps etc and steam then up on the beach. I just need to get a steam basket for the pot. What's better than fresh seafood steamed with sea water.

Postby X_Factor » December 25th, 2009, 11:16 pm

the marlin tasted pretty decent eh, but the meat was a bit tough
i'll try king fish next time

btw, ur deep fryer looks like a wicked set up!!....so im guessing deep frying the turkey is the way to go now?....cause i never really liked it due to how dry it was
now u can experiment wit the chinese style turkey

amazon has a bayou 30qt fryer for 56$ but shipping gonna be a killer (20lbs)
but might seriously consider it around this time next yr
how large is urs btw?....

anyone ever tried cooking scallops?
i tasted it for the first time earlier this yr in red lobster and i was in awe about how soft, and seriously sweet that was, it is the best seafood i've eaten!!....
like a mixture of local cray fish and crab meat mixed into 1

i saw them selling it in Xtra foods but the bag costs about $300.00
and i dont really wanna spend that $ and it doesnt come out good
there are online recipes, but i just want first hand experience nah

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 25th, 2009, 11:34 pm

I have a 30qt el cheapo kit that I picked up in home depot... Boy, I only buy this because I could use it as a portable steamer for when we go beach etc. Yuh could just buy a tall stock pot and use a ring stove. The hook and hanger is easy to make, or maybe you can find one locally.

A decent 32qt aluminum stock pot was around $40....

Scallops are easy to cook, just be sure not to over cook them... shrimp, scallops etc is easy to over cook.

Postby X_Factor » January 23rd, 2010, 4:28 pm

anyone ever saw minced lamb meat selling?

Postby SR » January 23rd, 2010, 7:45 pm

try xtra foods gb

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » January 23rd, 2010, 8:41 pm

I think next weekend I'm going to make an attempt at frying a duck... First I'll have to blow some air between the skin & flesh (air compressor) then season and steam it to render most of the fat. After steaming, the chinee man instructed me to hang it up to dry for 5-6 hrs then season again and drop it in the oil. Chop it up once it done fry and toss it around in a wok with plum sauce.

It don't sound to bad

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 23rd, 2010, 8:47 pm

SR wrote:but what about uneven cooking of the meat due to hotspots when using a charcoal grill

i agree coals do add a smokiness flavor to the meat

The thing about good tasting food : it's not perfectly even.

It's the imperfections that really makes BBQ real. The burnt ends, the spots missing some flavor (tiny) and the places where the seasoning is strong.. or where the sauce is most.

That's why a robot can't make BBQ as good as we do.

Postby SR » January 23rd, 2010, 8:50 pm

yuh have a point there :mrgreen:

trini bbq

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » January 23rd, 2010, 8:58 pm

speaking of Trini BBQ, anyone care to share their BBQ sauce recipe??

All of my attempts have ended up in failure.. I used Ketchup, Hoisen sauce, sugar, soy sauce, lil mustard & some other stuff.

Somehow I feel my sauce lacking the true trini BBQ sauce taste :? Yuh think is the NY water? :lol:

Postby SR » January 23rd, 2010, 9:12 pm

woooosester sire

angostura bitters
paprika
cayanne pepper
black pepper

among other things

varies depending on the meat and ocassion

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 23rd, 2010, 9:34 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:speaking of Trini BBQ, anyone care to share their BBQ sauce recipe??

All of my attempts have ended up in failure.. I used Ketchup, Hoisen sauce, sugar, soy sauce, lil mustard & some other stuff.

Somehow I feel my sauce lacking the true trini BBQ sauce taste :? Yuh think is the NY water? :lol:

I normally sautè a little fresh seasoning, garlic etc first, then add the sauces, pepper. That will bring out the flavor more. Add some pineapples (cut small) and cook for about 10mins on low heat. And add more stuff to balance it out cuz Im always tasting it.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » January 23rd, 2010, 11:17 pm

^ will try that.... I have a slammin homemade pineapple base glaze that good for grilled meats. It's similar to TGI's JD sauce.

I'll post up the recipe one of these days

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » January 24th, 2010, 4:49 am

dis mite be a chupid question, but all yuh does use Ketchup in allyuh sauce? Or allyuh think it does spoil the taste ? or `true` bbq sauce doesnt comprise of ketchup in it,just those `off the shelf` bbq sauces. ??