48÷2(9+3) = ?

Re: 48÷2(9+3) = ?

Postby wagonrunner » April 14th, 2011, 8:48 pm

hmm.

x=2(9+3)
48/x

is that the same as the original equation?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 14th, 2011, 9:05 pm

just typed it in my casio with S.V.P.A.m(super visually perfect algebraic methods) got 2, the casio has carried me through a distinction in math, an A in a level math and a maths minor...

Postby Stephon. » April 14th, 2011, 9:06 pm

ghostbusters wrote:just typed it in my casio with S.V.P.A.m(super visually perfect algebraic methods) got 2, the casio has carried me through a distinction in math, an A in a level math and a maths minor...

Good thing this question didn't come huh? ;)

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 14th, 2011, 9:06 pm

sMASH wrote:
pete wrote:48/24 = a totally different equation from the original one!

48÷(2(9+3)) = 2

48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2*(9+3) = 288

that there is wrong, because the a number right outside of the bracket, implies that each term inside the brackets be multiplied by it ( it can be before or after the brackets but before is the norm). the bracketed terms associate themselves with the '2' which is the denominator, so the denominator is actually '2(9+3)'
for the denominator to be just '2' alone, the terms 48/2 would need to be in brackets i.e. (48/2)...
... that is the purpose of the brackets, to separate them from being done left to right, and to be worked out before and the result being used after.

think about it like this,,, if u work out the brackets first, u would have
48/2(12)=

now if this was the sum, then what would u work it out to be?

48/2 cannot be worked out the same stage as 9+3 because the 9+3 is bracketed and the 48/2 is not.

the steps have to be:
48/2(9+3)=
48/2(12)=
48/24=2

if u could work out the 48/2 at the same stage as 9+3, then there is no reason for putting the 9+3 in brackets... just leave it out.

I stand corrected but...* the brackets first, what # you get then * by the # in front of bracket ...then divide by first #.

QED.....for those who know !!!

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » April 14th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Interesting I put
48/2(9+3) in my sharp I get 2
I then put
48/2*(9+3) and get 288

but I would have to say that because the sum was not written as (48/2)(9+3) that it would have to be 48/24 = 2

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 14th, 2011, 9:26 pm

Stephon. wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:just typed it in my casio with S.V.P.A.m(super visually perfect algebraic methods) got 2, the casio has carried me through a distinction in math, an A in a level math and a maths minor...

Wouldn't have mattered, would still have gotten the correct answer :wink:

Postby Gladiator » April 14th, 2011, 9:27 pm

I always knew it as brackets and everything associated with brackets first...2(9+3)

Then continue with the rest which will give the answer as 2.

Postby Stephon. » April 14th, 2011, 9:30 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Wouldn't have mattered, would still have gotten the correct answer :wink:

For the other questions.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 14th, 2011, 9:50 pm

the answer IS 2....

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 14th, 2011, 9:53 pm

sound like a guy did Chemistry wrt applied maths?

^^Correct !

Postby Stephon. » April 14th, 2011, 10:42 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:the answer IS 2....

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 14th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Postby Mark! » April 14th, 2011, 10:50 pm

ask the man who used to be teaching maths on channel 4 long time :|

Postby rollingstock » April 14th, 2011, 10:52 pm

0X :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby K74T » April 15th, 2011, 9:56 am

Mark! wrote:ask the man who used to be teaching maths on channel 4 long time :|

ear bigman i lurn rell ting fromm dat yuh unnastan 0X

Postby AllTrac » April 15th, 2011, 11:12 am

Mark! wrote:ask the man who used to be teaching maths on channel 4 long time :|

lol@ long time :lol: :lol:
that was recent, allyuh pee eh start to froth yet? :lol:

Postby Mark! » April 15th, 2011, 11:17 am

:oops: :oops: :oops:

TK!

Postby TK! » April 15th, 2011, 11:25 am

Step 1: 48÷2(9+3) = 48÷2(12)
Step 2: 48÷2x12
Rule: BODMAS
Step 3: Division first
48÷2x12 = 24x12
Step 4: 24x12 = 288

Postby AllTrac » April 15th, 2011, 11:30 am

TK!,
why every time i see your name i need to shout it?

TK!

Postby TK! » April 15th, 2011, 11:32 am

WTF!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 15th, 2011, 12:07 pm

TK! wrote:288

48÷2x12 = 24x12

When did the brackets suddenly disappear from 2(12) to 2x12 ?

(12) still needs to be solved. You cannot even work the problem without getting rid of those brackets!

TK!

Postby TK! » April 15th, 2011, 2:41 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
TK! wrote:288

48÷2x12 = 24x12

When did the brackets suddenly disappear from 2(12) to 2x12 ?

(12) still needs to be solved. You cannot even work the problem without getting rid of those brackets!

ok.. i didnt read the whole thread.. but what the hay are u talking about? 12 needs to be solved?

a(b) = a.b = a*b

ent ???

TK!

Postby TK! » April 15th, 2011, 2:42 pm

ppl.. pls avoid adding brackets where you *think* they belong. you can remove brackets, once u follow the rules.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 15th, 2011, 2:46 pm

a(b) = a.b = a*b

does that mean 2(3)---which is clearly =2.3=2*3?
cus if ur saying that then u cant say 8÷2(3)=12, cus is clearly 8÷6.

Cid

Postby Cid » April 15th, 2011, 2:54 pm

i get 4
*eyes

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 15th, 2011, 3:13 pm

Cid wrote:i get 4
*eyes

this

Postby cinco » April 15th, 2011, 3:13 pm

48÷2(9+3) =
48÷(2x9+2x3) =
48÷(18+6) =
48÷24 =

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 15th, 2011, 5:18 pm

If 48÷2(9+3) = 48÷(2x9+2x3) , Why wasn't it stated like that in the first place?

Postby sharkman121 » April 15th, 2011, 5:20 pm

dis ched still goin on..??

the answer will still always be 2 :roll:

Postby Bizzare » April 15th, 2011, 5:35 pm

phreakazoid wrote:If 48÷2(9+3) = 48÷(2x9+2x3) , Why wasn't it stated like that in the first place?

You're not serious about that question right?