Family: we want justice
Guerra's dad waiting for justice
By Carolyn Kissoon South Bureau
Story Created: Apr 12, 2011 at 12:49 AM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 12, 2011 at 12:49 AM ECT
The estranged father of eight-year-old Daniel Guerra said yesterday that he was anxiously waiting for justice in his son's death.
"I am listening and reading everything to find out what is going on. But what I do know is that if the person who did this to my son gets away on earth, God will deal with him," Lincoln Guerra said, even as a police officer accused of the killing appeared in the San Fernando Magistrates' Court.
Guerra, an auto mechanic, said whether or not the case was solved, he knew that his God would deal with the person responsible for his son's death.
"I pray for my son every day because I think about all the time I missed with him. I wanted to be a part of his life, but I didn't want to be involved in his mother and her family's lives," he said.
Guerra's father, Mitchell Fraser, sat on the steps of his Tabaquite home and sobbed yesterday.
"I think of this child all the time and my heart bleeds. I don't know why someone would want to do this to a little helpless child. I cry whenever I think of him," the senior Guerra said.
At the child's maternal grandparents' home at Bedeau Street, Gasparillo, relatives were not willing to speak about the case.
"I don't think we have anything to say about this. We are waiting to see what the media has to say. No one has contacted us, not the police, nobody," his aunt, Renuka Indarsingh, said.
Indarsingh said the family had breathed a sigh of relief when news spread that charges were laid.
"But we don't know if that is the person, we are waiting to see what happens," she said.
She said her sister, Rona Indarsingh, Daniel Guerra's mother, was staying with relatives.
"She is not doing well at all. She cannot come to terms that her son is dead," she said.
Guerra, a pupil of the Gasparillo Government Primary School, went missing on February 18.
His decomposing body was found two days later in a river along the Tarouba Link Road, San Fernando.
Cop accused of Daniel’s murder
Published: Tue, 2011-04-12 21:21
Reshma Ragoonath
A San Fernando police constable has appeared in court charged with the murder of eight-year-old Daniel Guerra, whose body was found floating in a river 52 days ago. Yesterday police officers shielded Constable Darwin Ghouralal, 41, of, La Romaine, as he was escorted to the San Fernando Magistrates’ Court. Ghouralal, who was not handcuffed, stood in the San Fernando Second Court prisoners’ dock and chatted with fellow officers as he waited for his matter to be called.
He was the only prisoner in the dock at the time. At around 2.25 pm magistrate Roger Ramgoolam read the charge that Ghouralal, on a date unknown between February 12 and 21, 2011, murdered Guerra. The officer stared straight ahead as the charge was read to him. He was dressed in a white T-shirt and jeans. The courtroom was filled with police officers who came to show support for their colleague.
None of his family, or Guerra’s, were in court. The charge was laid by Sgt Anderson Parriman. Attorney Shaun Tikasingh, who held for Ghouralal’s attorney, Kevin Rattiram, asked for special transport arrangements for the accused. He said: “He is currently a police officer. I do not know the type of arrangements that will be made for these types of prisoners. I ask that he not be transported with other prisoners.”
Ramgoolam asked if Ghouralal would be placed at the prisons’ Infirmary and prosecutor Ramdath Phillip replied: “Yes, that is the case.” Ramgoolam transferred the matter to the San Fernando First Court where Ghouralal will reappear today. Today, Ghouralal also was expected to appear in court as a police complainant in a court matter.
Police sources said his court cases would be re-assigned to another office. Ghouralal arrived at the courthouse at around 2.15 pm in a heavily-tinted, unmarked vehicle. Media photographers, who had been waiting since 8.30 am, were blocked from getting photos of him as he was being escorted from the vehicle. Police officers shut the gates of the court and drove a police vehicle vertically across the gateway, blocking the view.
Daniel, a Standard Two student of the Gasparillo Government Primary School, went missing on February 18 when he went to a parlour near his Bedeau Street, Gasparillo, home. Searches were launched for him. On February 20, his body was found floating in the Tarouba River, near the San Fernando Technical Institute, Tarouba/Palmyra Link Road.
pioneer wrote:I saw an incident up to last night in pricesmart where ah oman cuff she chile in he face...normal normal.
In the US, you do that...someone calls the cops...they take the child and lock you up. This is one of the major reasons for social decay within the US.
crazybalhead wrote:"I pray for my son every day because I think about all the time I missed with him. I wanted to be a part of his life, but I didn't want to be involved in his mother and her family's lives," he said.
muffler bearing.
wagonrunner wrote:crazybalhead wrote:"I pray for my son every day because I think about all the time I missed with him. I wanted to be a part of his life, but I didn't want to be involved in his mother and her family's lives," he said.
muffler bearing.
chief, you may not understand. but others do.
Nigson wrote:heard on the news that the policeman was charged 4 murder....
looking forward to hearing about his motive for this act.....
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Nigson wrote:heard on the news that the policeman was charged 4 murder....
looking forward to hearing about his motive for this act.....
Rumour has it Daniel's mother had an abortion when she was pregnant with the police officer's child and he killed Daniel in revenge.
*shrug*
Cop freed on charge of murdering eight-year-old Daniel Guerra
"No prima facie case had been made out against this accused. He is discharged"
By NIKITA BRAXTON nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 18, 2013 at 3:49 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 18, 2013 at 4:18 PM ECT
Detective constable Darwin Ghouralal (right) after being freed on the charge of murder today. PHOTO by DAVE PERSAD
LITTLE Daniel Guerra's killer remains unknown. Detective Constable Darwin Ghourlalal, who was charged with the eight-year-old child's murder, walked out of the San Fernando Magistrates Court a free man this afternoon.
Darwin Ghouralal gave the media the peace sign as he left.
Defence attorney senior counsel Sophia Chote said that justice had been served.Moments earlier, San Fernando Senior Magistrate Rajendra Rambachan upheld the no case submission made last month by Chote.
"No prima facie case had been made out against this accused. He is discharged," Rambachan said. An emotional Ghouralal hugged his attorney.
Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions Joan Honore-Paul immediately applied for a judge's warrant. This happens when the State intends to review the evidence in a case to possibly make another arrest.
Ghouralal, who had 15 years' service as a police officer and last worked with the Robbery Squad of the Southern Division, first appeared in court on April 12 2011 facing the allegation that he killed the boy.
Sergeant Anderson Parriman charged him with murdering Daniel on a date unknown between February 17 and February 21. Guerra's decomposing body was found in a river along the Tarouba Link Road, two days after he went missing.
The boy, a second standard pupil of the Gasparillo Government Primary School, was last seen standing near the track leading to his family's Bedeau Street, Gasparillo home. He was returning from buying soft drinks at a nearby parlour.
(full details in Thursday's Trinidad Express newspaper)
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cop-freed-on-charge-of-murdering-eight-year-old-Daniel-Guerra-224288041.html
pioneer wrote:Well if a policewoman can walk free from a DUI charge after being more than double the limit...
What else can we expect in banana republic?
Up next - sealots policeman walks free.
the granny did not remember the boy sick she sent the sick boy in the shop to come back home and he did not come back and went missing and the person in the silver coloured car kidnapped the granny grandson and went with him they were to drop him home not kidnap him know how long he went missing which part he from I looking out for him cause he did not go back homeRahtid wrote:wdmc,,,,,,hope they find the criminal,,,,and serve him justice,not the good one like jail,,,,but more like hanging..
R.I.P. to the youthman,,,
condolences to the parents
natio wrote:the granny did not remember the boy sick she sent the sick boy in the shop to come back home and he did not come back and went missing and the person in the silver coloured car kidnapped the granny grandson and went with him they were to drop him home not kidnap him know how long he went missing which part he from I looking out for him cause he did not go back homeRahtid wrote:wdmc,,,,,,hope they find the criminal,,,,and serve him justice,not the good one like jail,,,,but more like hanging..
R.I.P. to the youthman,,,
condolences to the parents
maj. tom wrote:Some of his post history
ok the people took the boy away from the area didn't drop him home them killed himfouljuice wrote:maj. tom wrote:Some of his post history
Check that again.
im not trolling im posting up a post bout what went wrong with the boy read the postSpitfir3 wrote:this guy eh![]()
have to admit doh his trolling really is something else