Flow Internet Thread

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby S_2NR » March 20th, 2011, 12:46 pm

men content with gettin 131 kb/s yes lol :lol: :lol:
i normally get 400kb/s all the time with 4mb blink.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 20th, 2011, 1:23 pm

redman10 wrote:men content with gettin 131 kb/s yes lol :lol: :lol:

He's talking about upload, Blink's max upload on dsl is still 96kb/s .

Postby S_2NR » March 20th, 2011, 1:36 pm

shaneelal wrote:
redman10 wrote:men content with gettin 131 kb/s yes lol :lol: :lol:

He's talking about upload, Blink's max upload on dsl is still 96kb/s .

ohh...my bad.. :oops:

Postby M_2NR » March 20th, 2011, 1:52 pm

:lol: some simple maths would show u that 131x8 is ~1mbit (1048kbit).

1pat

and yeh again... 5mbit gets 625+kB/s usually at any time (well for me). :poke: and my modem doesnt reset every hour etc.

zebratt

Postby zebratt » March 29th, 2011, 6:28 pm

Brass tacks....you paid for a certain line speed and you would like to have this expenditure return maximum benefit. For many (probably most) of you, this facility is used for downloading copyrighted content. Lets not deny this fact. Please do not attempt to beat dead horses.......

The only way that you can get maximum speed utilization is by going the route of usenet (aka newsgroups). Torrents no matter how well configured will not deliver. While owning a subscription to a usenet provider (eg astraweb.com) is not free, the cost of this is dwarfed by the value of what is downloaded.

At a congested time of day you can achieve this:
usenet download speed at 545pm - SLOW.JPG

Just for your gentle consideration.
speedtest_result.png
speedtest_result.png (51.14 KiB) Viewed 2670 times

South Man

Postby South Man » March 30th, 2011, 9:35 am

Are you guys still being throttled??
Cause I really can't stand anymore of this.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » March 30th, 2011, 9:40 am

South Man wrote:Are you guys still being throttled??
Cause I really can't stand anymore of this.

Yeah sorta for me. Some torrents with like 300 seeds and over getting between 80-200kbps though (5Mbps connection), but those files are things i don't really want but i just downloaded to test the speeds.

Made a complaint on Flow's facebook page and all they said was to send my account info for them and they'll contact me regarding the situation. Don't really think they will sort that issue out nah.

trini_champ

Postby trini_champ » March 30th, 2011, 10:25 am

I don't know if they stopped throttling but lately I've been getting very good speeds. Up to 1.3 MB/s instead of 1.3 kb/s. I'm hoping it stays this way.

Postby M_2NR » April 12th, 2011, 7:16 pm

Ulyuh try ripping a file off youtube.. :lol:

the new scheme?
i used to pull at max speed... now... once i watch a few vids... i cant stream 720p anymore and right now i ripping a file, 131kB/s.

hmmmmmmmm... i'll monitor this a little more now

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » April 12th, 2011, 9:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:
achillies wrote:From what i understand, flow has gotten letters (emails) from the owners of copyrigthed material e.g SONY which basically stated that your customers with so n so IP addresses are downloading alot of our copyrighted material.

The rest is history

how u know this? and does flow keep logs of who used what IP at what date & time? if not then as long as its dynamic IPs we safe :D

also i think enabling encryption should help

Yeaa, not like they track Dynamically assigned IPs.
We're all safe :angel:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 13th, 2011, 1:58 am

What throttling? I have never experienced this.
If a torrent has 100 seeds, it doesn't mean you downloading from all 100 :|
and now suppose the 100 seeders are on dial-up :|

[boast]

[/boast]

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 13th, 2011, 7:34 pm

fouljuice wrote:What throttling? I have never experienced this.
If a torrent has 100 seeds, it doesn't mean you downloading from all 100 :|
and now suppose the 100 seeders are on dial-up :|

[boast]

[/boast]

What's is your screenshot supposed to "boast"? 70Gb downloaded in six weeks? 494.5kb/s is not very fast.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 13th, 2011, 10:06 pm

^^ No. I "boasted" because I never had throttled speeds. I know ^^^ was a poor example, but it was the best I could find. The torrent was downloaded in parts, and after the everything was done, the Average speed was ~494KB/s which is kinda hard to maintain for a torrent that size, if my connection was being throttled.

And while the speed may not seem fast, it is a 5Mbps connection and 494KB/s = ~3.95Mbps

achillies

Postby achillies » April 23rd, 2011, 8:09 am

The company can throttle P2P traffic, but they cant track who has an IP address and when, okay, u stay dey an feel so....

Flow using some of the latest hardware and software in the world on their network and I know for a fact they can tell what type of traffic leaves your network and what traffic goes to it, they have called customers to tell them that their is suspicious traffic originating from their IP address, Fix it or be disconnected

And they only "monitor" and will be "alerted" for traffic that can be harmful or is suspicious, if they wanted to, I'm pretty sure they could monitor for more information.... jus sayin,

How many ppl with Flow connections could tell me when last the IP address that is associated with one of their devices has changed, I have had one router connected for close to a year, it has never changed, the leases renew 99% of the time, your "Dynamic" IP hardly changes (if ever) for a given MAC address

20th Century Fox, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Universal Studios, Warner Bros Pictures and the like spend millions to make movies, i assume they can arrange the resources to track who is downloading their material illegally. I just cant see how clicking a check box to enable encryption on free software is gonna do much against millions of dollars and human expertise, You tell me what you think

Flow has been getting emails from these companies for awhile now, it was either deactivate the account or cap speeds until something better could be put in place, why, the huge amount of bandwidth we enjoy is purchased from http://www.columbus-networks.com/ (which is a company largely based in the USA) which is the parent company of FLOW, that's probably why Blink doesn't throttle (yet)

ALL legal material that can be found on torrents can also be downloaded elsewhere, FACT
Torrenting is the most popular because it is the easiest

And to the guy that believes we can download whatever we want because we paid for the bandwidth, think about it this way, you have your car that you bought (Internet) but you decide that you going to use the car to transport something that is illegal like Cocaine (games, movies, programs) and the popo catch you, are you going to tell them, this is my car that i paid for, so what i decide to transport is my business, lol, tell me, do you think it would work, LOL

The negative: other LEGAL uses of the P2P transmission that would also be affected, e.g games that use the P2P protocol for online gaming

I have no idea what these international companies can do, i do not know what action they can take, but by now, us Trinidadians should be reasonable and understand that this is a losing battle, the only way to attack this issue is from the perspective of the other uses of the P2P traffic like gaming, if i paid for a game and i paid for the internet, then i should be able to enjoy that game online, but the moment the we mention Torrents, yuh might as well pack up and leave.

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 2:23 pm

Thankfully i dont play games that use a P2P gaming engine. (Dedicated Servers FTW). The last one i bought was MW2. Sadly almost all console based games are P2P. I havent really noticed any issues on mw2 however on 360 and that uses a P2P based engine.

What u saying about the IP is partially true... HOWEVER, you can force it to change it at least once ever few hours (i think its 1 hour or 2). If you clone your MAC and renew/release you are given a new IP every time u do so. I was doing this when i was getting the ping issues (see top of this page) now that has been sorted out (thanks flow!) i no longer have to do it. If you do it more than once in that given time, you will lose connectivity for a little time and you may need to power cycle.

achillies

Postby achillies » April 23rd, 2011, 9:17 pm

M_2NR wrote:Thankfully i dont play games that use a P2P gaming engine. (Dedicated Servers FTW). The last one i bought was MW2. Sadly almost all console based games are P2P. I havent really noticed any issues on mw2 however on 360 and that uses a P2P based engine.

What u saying about the IP is partially true... HOWEVER, you can force it to change it at least once ever few hours (i think its 1 hour or 2). If you clone your MAC and renew/release you are given a new IP every time u do so. I was doing this when i was getting the ping issues (see top of this page) now that has been sorted out (thanks flow!) i no longer have to do it. If you do it more than once in that given time, you will lose connectivity for a little time and you may need to power cycle.

thanks for that info on the MAC cloning, I'll be sure to keep that in mind for future reference

Postby M_2NR » April 23rd, 2011, 10:20 pm

Um... just remember if u clone a mac that was already assigned an IP, it tends to give u back that same IP it had previously eh.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 24th, 2011, 12:12 am

Blink is too slow and expensive and now with this flow throatlating thing? smh I'm sorry for having a good seed ratio going on sheit i download I have the 50Mb package and I get downloads averaging 7 Mb max.

Postby Stephon. » April 24th, 2011, 12:28 am

less than 30 mins to dl a 4.5 GB movie, yep I'm pretty much bad-ass, cant wait to look at this baby on my HDTV while eating some grilled cheese sandwiches and being scared half to death.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 24th, 2011, 10:27 am

if you're watching it on your HDTV you should have downloaded it in 1080p and not 720 :p not much of a difference on a small screen but if its big you can definitely tell

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » April 24th, 2011, 10:42 am

mojosodope wrote:if you're watching it on your HDTV you should have downloaded it in 1080p and not 720 :p not much of a difference on a small screen but if its big you can definitely tell

From my experience on a 40"/42" you can't really tell the difference, but the vid size for 1080p is much larger.

Postby Stephon. » April 24th, 2011, 11:16 am

shaneelal wrote:
mojosodope wrote:if you're watching it on your HDTV you should have downloaded it in 1080p and not 720 :p not much of a difference on a small screen but if its big you can definitely tell

From my experience on a 40"/42" you can't really tell the difference, but the vid size for 1080p is much larger.

Yeah its a 42" and I cant exactly tell the difference. Well actually I can but I don't think its worth the extra 6GB

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 24th, 2011, 11:17 am

shaneelal wrote:

depends on the pixel density, brand and a whole bunch of technical factors I won't pretend to know a whole lot about but from using a 42'' and 50'' I can tell

Zanzan2010

Postby Zanzan2010 » May 18th, 2011, 9:37 am

guys just to clear this up firstly...in trindad and tobago it is not illegal to download movies or anything from the internet pirated or not....there is no law against this...however there are laws that ensure that consumers get wat they pay for.....any more info on this aspect will be greatly appreciated..

furthermore FLOW is throttling torrent downloads...iv tested this with free online software and sites...just google it...

Solutions are tor and VPN....i maxed out my connection within seconds of connecting to the VPN check out my screan shot 2.7MB download using vpn and azureus no special configs....

so what are we gonna do about this illegal activity by FLOW...other providers throught the US have been sued for this....

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » May 18th, 2011, 10:13 am

Please explain the process of setting up and using this vpn that you speak of.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » May 18th, 2011, 1:15 pm

It would be sad if they are throttling torrent downloads as most major software companies are going that way for Software Updates.

Postby nemisis » May 18th, 2011, 2:16 pm

Strauss wrote:It would be sad if they are throttling torrent downloads as most major software companies are going that way for Software Updates.

Umm yea what he said

Postby Bizzare » May 18th, 2011, 2:28 pm

Strauss wrote:It would be sad if they are throttling torrent downloads as most major software companies are going that way for Software Updates.

Oh rly?

zcarz

Flow in Valsayn area

Postby zcarz » May 19th, 2011, 10:15 pm

Anybody else getting slowdowns with flow recently in valsayn/ environs.. i'm only getting about 1mb on a 5mb download connection.. upload speeds are fine

Re: Flow in Valsayn area

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 19th, 2011, 10:17 pm

No.

Did you pay your bill?