wonder how many of them saw Grand Prix or Le Mans

Red Dawg

Re: San Fernando Grand Prix - Nov 14th 2010

Postby Red Dawg » November 21st, 2010, 10:33 pm

Great movies
how about the original Italian Job

Days of Thunder is 20 years old this year.
How many of them do you suppose have not seen it?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 21st, 2010, 11:17 pm

fast and furious is de bomb

i buy my civic cause of that.. thats why i roll in my flame shooting vic that often blows the seals on teh manifold and then de floor pan drops off lol

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 21st, 2010, 11:20 pm

That movie is so much BS.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 22nd, 2010, 8:42 am

Well for one, the white EVO driven by Jason Chen puts out about 400 (car was built overseas) and I was told that Carrington's car is putting out over 500hp (from folks who supposed to know).

Why is that so hard to believe??? There are cars on the street with that kind of power.

People seem to think that the circuit cars in Trinidad are still dem old datsuns and escorts from the 1970s.

You know im always surprised at the level of idiocy on Trinituner.

Previously in the 1980's cars in wallerfield were putting out around 300bhp normally aspirated , like a top notch BDG engined escort or RX7.

Now with turbo charged race cars like EVOs that very easily put out 400hp you find it hard to believe??

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 22nd, 2010, 9:09 am

MG Man wrote:lol
wonder how many of them saw Grand Prix or Le Mans

And BTW, the best car movie was Bullit, with Steve McQueen.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 22nd, 2010, 10:40 am

Two cars, you managed to name two cars that supposedly make over 400hp
Hooray.
Two cars out of how many?
The Grand Prix Circuit was designed to supposedly limit the cars to a top speed of 70MPH. Do you really need 500hp to do 70?

The point I am trying to make was that you dont need 400hp in a circuit car.
The British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) are about 270hp and if you think that any of the cars built in T&T are faster than those then you are truly misinformed.

The more people that realize that you dont need massive hp to compete, then the more cars we can get on the circuit.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » November 22nd, 2010, 12:07 pm

X2 wrote:Man... dex drivers woulda clean dem fellas up.

I not so sure bout dat nah, dex men not accustom seeing other cars on the course.....dey might pull aside and stop :lol:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 22nd, 2010, 12:17 pm

Geezz.....ignorance is bliss yes......

Postby X2 » November 22nd, 2010, 4:44 pm

Ignorance everywhere....lol

Because a man drives dex, he can't drive a fast car or drive it fast for that matter ? Tell Ryan Pinero, Ho hing or Ramsaran that nah ! Hell... tell a karting competitor that and see ! All you need is a bit of track ettiquette. Plus how often on the Grand Prix course did cars come into a corner even close to side by side ? The Gran Prix course had no high speed corners really (well enough to really challenge a circuit car). Anyone who ran the VK super special a couple years back can tell you that the Stadium course was much more challenging and entertaining for that matter. The big draw of the Grand Prix was the long straights, so it was a drag race with a couple sharp corners.... which to quote the words of many circuit drivers... draggin' ain't drivin'.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2010, 5:32 pm

Next up will be the Arima Grand Prix in Easter 2011.
The track will be around the area of the Larry Gomes Stadium

The same Executive Team from the San Fernando Grand Prix will head this event lead by Bunny Persad and Jameer Ali

This event in Arima has already been approved by the Ministry of Sport to be held on April 24th 2011 (Easter Sunday).

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » November 22nd, 2010, 6:41 pm

^veerrry guooooddd.............this news pleases the........... masses.

Postby sMASH » November 22nd, 2010, 8:30 pm

goes-ing good so far. prob if it don't have no iasca event i would be able to be there this time

jscottie

Postby jscottie » November 23rd, 2010, 12:39 am

Here are my thoughts on the event...

I have been in trinidad for a year now and was elated when I heard about an official motor car racing event. I find it took too long for such an event like this to happen and the next should follow close behind. I chose not to compare it with what i was accustomed to and I still had a good time. There are 6 questions that I have been toying with:

1). when is the next meet?
2). when will this be more frequent?
3). Is it that the black 2gen rx7 ran out of gas on the 15 lap races(y am i not supprised)?
4). did anyone else notice that the number 88 evo 6 was eminently going to crash(the fella could not handle the car in my observation from the FIRST corner of the FIRST lap)?
5). who out there needs a good race car driver(i'm volunteering)?
6). where are all the reputable dyno houses and tuners in trinidad?

Congrats to Mr. Ali's team in building a RELIABLE ride--to win!

Postby equipped2ripp » November 23rd, 2010, 1:41 am

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 23rd, 2010, 9:31 am

jscottie wrote:Here are my thoughts on the event...

I4). did anyone else notice that the number 88 evo 6 was eminently going to crash(the fella could not handle the car in my observation from the FIRST corner of the FIRST lap)?

The fellar driving the EVO was Jason Chen currently one of the best and most exerienced circuit drivers in Trinidad. It was his first time racing the car, he never drove it before, and the reason he crashed was because his brakes was failing. We observed it several laps before and he confirmed it afterwards.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » November 23rd, 2010, 10:30 am

One of the best and most experienced drivers noticed that his brakes were failing and continued driving until he crashed?
I have known Jason for a long time, but that seems like a serious lapse in judgement.

Postby wagonrunner » November 23rd, 2010, 10:35 am

rjaggs wrote:

I not so sure bout dat nah, dex men not accustom seeing other cars on the course.....dey might pull aside and stop :lol:

:oops: yeah man. After all, their cars are TRAILERed to those events. right. 8-)
Last edited by wagonrunner on November 23rd, 2010, 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 23rd, 2010, 10:48 am

Red Dawg wrote:One of the best and most experienced drivers noticed that his brakes were failing and continued driving until he crashed?
I have known Jason for a long time, but that seems like a serious lapse in judgement.

Yes it was. I thought he was going to pull off the course, especially since the plan was to just drive the car, not race it. I think he got a bit excited especially not having driven a race in such a long time.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 23rd, 2010, 10:57 am

Anybody here saw the race in Camden with the old retired circuit driver from south against the two DEX drivers in cars with twice as much horsepower as his???

Who cleaned up who ??

jscottie

Postby jscottie » November 23rd, 2010, 12:24 pm

djaggs wrote:
Red Dawg wrote:One of the best and most experienced drivers noticed that his brakes were failing and continued driving until he crashed?

Yes it was. I thought he was going to pull off the course, especially since the plan was to just drive the car, not race it. I think he got a bit excited especially not having driven a race in such a long time.

perhaps i have to see him race againg to say he is a proper race car drive. i believe i give credit where it is due. but from what i saw....not good at all. i saw another driver wilth a slower car do well, its was a FWD mitsubishi mirage, he used good driving techique and lines, he used understeer(which takes away power) to make the race interesting; pushing hard out the out corner and using understeer to use less brake. and that was just one noticable fact.thumbs up to him!

link

Postby link » November 23rd, 2010, 12:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Next up will be the Arima Grand Prix in Easter 2011.
The track will be around the area of the Larry Gomes Stadium

The same Executive Team from the San Fernando Grand Prix will head this event lead by Bunny Persad and Jameer Ali

This event in Arima has already been approved by the Ministry of Sport to be held on April 24th 2011 (Easter Sunday).

ALL ROADS LEAD TO ARIMA ON APRIL 24TH, 2011 !!!

Now it's Wallerfield's turn to listen to race engines performing at Arima :D :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 23rd, 2010, 3:04 pm

jscottie wrote:perhaps i have to see him race againg to say he is a proper race car drive. i believe i give credit where it is due. but from what i saw....not good at all. i saw another driver wilth a slower car do well, its was a FWD mitsubishi mirage, he used good driving techique and lines, he used understeer(which takes away power) to make the race interesting; pushing hard out the out corner and using understeer to use less brake. and that was just one noticable fact.thumbs up to him!
how would you say the driver of the AWD Mirage drove?

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » November 23rd, 2010, 4:00 pm

rjaggs wrote:

:oops: yeah man. After all, their cars are TRAILERed to those events. right. 8-)

yuh quoting meh out of context - I said on the course, not on the street....and btw, y compare dex driving to street driving?

djaggs

Postby djaggs » November 23rd, 2010, 4:23 pm

jscottie wrote:[perhaps i have to see him race againg to say he is a proper race car drive. i believe i give credit where it is due. but from what i saw....not good at all.

What types of cars have you raced ? And where ? If you dont mind me asking....

Postby MG Man » November 23rd, 2010, 5:10 pm

guys guys
play nice :-)

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » November 23rd, 2010, 5:42 pm

stretch

Postby stretch » November 23rd, 2010, 11:17 pm

boss video

jscottie

Postby jscottie » November 23rd, 2010, 11:40 pm

jscottie wrote:perhaps i have to see him race againg to say he is a proper race car drive. i believe i give credit where it is due. but from what i saw....not good at all. i saw another driver wilth a slower car do well, its was a FWD mitsubishi mirage, he used good driving techique and lines, he used understeer(which takes away power) to make the race interesting; pushing hard out the out corner and using understeer to use less brake. and that was just one noticable fact.thumbs up to him!
how would you say the driver of the AWD Mirage drove?

he understood that his car was fast and that it would leap out the corners a lot quicker than the others and he used that to his benefit..so kudos there.

April is a way off from now. Is that easter btw? i hope not for the sake that i want to go to jamaica for that leg of the Caribbean Invasion. Trinidad should really press hard on getting wallerfield back for circuit racing.

Postby wagonrunner » November 23rd, 2010, 11:41 pm

rjaggs wrote:

yuh quoting meh out of context - I said on the course, not on the street....and btw, y compare dex driving to street driving?

where did i do that?

i'm saying a car closing on you from behind, shouldnt make anyone nervous. Happens multiple times, every day on the highway. :oops: