Wedding Cost

Re: Wedding Cost

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 25th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Gladiator wrote:. . .There is also the part of pressure from family. I called my moms on Wednesday and tell she "organize yuhself I getin marrid weekend"

If I didn't do it that way it would have been a 300+ people affair by default.

:| Why? Yuh not man enough to put yuh foot down fuh yuh own wedding?

Postby matr1x » March 25th, 2021, 1:26 pm

matr1x wrote:Seeing as how the divorce rate is over 65%, you have to be all kinds of dotish to get married. Just give me the money. Less wasted that way

Slim,

So no marriage for you?

Then again you hate all women so i understand.

You don’t want them, and they have shown you countless times that they don’t want you.

Enjoy the single life bro.

I do actually. Very enjoyable actually.

Keep simping

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 25th, 2021, 11:59 pm

matr1x wrote:Seeing as how the divorce rate is over 65%, you have to be all kinds of dotish to get married. Just give me the money. Less wasted that way

wtf? where you get that statistic from?

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 6:07 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

Cso

Uwi disputes the numbers and say the number is closer to 84%

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2021, 6:18 am

matr1x wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Cso

This even higher than in the US.

I wonder if that true tho.....nobody I know ever get divorced in Trinidad.

Postby bluefete » March 26th, 2021, 6:28 am

Who does empirical research on this issue?

The only was CSO could possible arrive at that figure (+65%) is by extracting data from census figures.

UWI's 84% - Waste of time.

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 6:36 am

Depending on the statistics, US is 84 to 90% plenty ting trini in USA doh tell ppl.

You have to factor in less people opting to get married now. So percentage will start to rise.

Right now, not many ppl you close know wouldn't be getting divorced. But if you aggregate those people over time, the numbers rise.

Also, in some communities those numbers are very high. You could attribute it to harder economic times, poor relationship choices, dumb choices and using social media to air out your problems and of course women divorce most times.

MaxPower, or minimum penis, would make you think I hate women. I hate deceivers. And women will put up the best show. I was a bailiff for 6 years and seen some hilarious situations.

Women divorce more now and with the movement in economic power, horn more. Don't talk about alimony.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2021, 7:14 am

matr1x wrote: I was a bailiff for 6 years and seen some hilarious situations.

Give some stories nah.

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2021, 7:27 am

an easy guesstimate is just check ppl you know
you will likely get at least 50-55%

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2021, 7:35 am

You serious ?

I swear 4 out of every 5 married couples I know end up getting divorce.

If I went 30 weddings in the last 3 years....about 20 of them didn't make it more than a year

SuperiorMan wrote:
matr1x wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Cso

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2021, 8:17 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:You serious ?

I swear 4 out of every 5 married couples I know end up getting divorce.

If I went 30 weddings in the last 3 years....about 20 of them didn't make it more than a year

SuperiorMan wrote:
matr1x wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Cso

Maybe it is really more prevalent in certain communities but I seriously know no one that ever got divorced in Trinidad. The states is a different thing.

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2021, 8:34 am

most divorces happen very early or later after chirren reach a certain age
or whenever the horner man/woman get involve

Postby Dizzy28 » March 26th, 2021, 8:57 am

matr1x wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Cso

You would swear that you need to pay for Google.
In the last census the divorce rate was 30.4 per hundred marriages

https://cso.gov.tt/cso_statistics/basic-profile/
https://trinidadexpress.com/features/lo ... 9d5ee.html

Postby timelapse » March 26th, 2021, 9:00 am

Me and my wife making 6 years next month.
I think with the divorce rates lately I can identify some reasons.most of the time is couples that rush into it.You get caught in the motions and is too late to turn back.Add family pressure, job market, and inexperience with dealing with life issues.My wife and I set a wedding date a year and a half after I proposed.It was during this period we got to see both strengths and weaknesses in each other.If we didn't come through this period of time, we wouldn't be together still, because just after the wedding we had to move out from by my mom because of typical mother in law behavior. Had we not gone through trying times before, this would break any relationship
.Doh get ketch with fancy dates and illusions .See the real person you going to be with.Make sure they are compatible with your interests etc.
I does feel sorry for a cousin of mine.He was a real outdoors guy, got caught in a marriage where all the wife wants to do is go church.She wont allow him to go hiking etc because she doesn't want to go.Eats me inside to see what he has become.But that was his choice.

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 9:05 am

First up, common law "marriage " is now included in stats. Hey, remember you still have to pay alimony even though no formal ceremony.

In 2013 I went to serve a summons in Santa cruiz. Guy refused to come out and I saw him peeking through the window. A woman voice start to cuss me and he tried to quiet her down.

Lo and behold, a taxi pulls up and a thick set woman comes out and take out market bag. Well she real surprise he car home and turns out that is the man wife. So we sat there, I order kfc and we let them stew for hours and she started calling the neighbors to come and see what she husband was up to. She had her house keys and could go in at any time, but she let him stew.

As entertaining as it was, I call the office and tell them I heading out before action start.

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 9:09 am

matr1x wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Cso

You would swear that you need to pay for Google.
In the last census the divorce rate was 30.4 per hundred marriages

https://cso.gov.tt/cso_statistics/basic-profile/
https://trinidadexpress.com/features/lo ... 9d5ee.html

I had to call the office and even that was a spitball. In paper yes, but roughly speaking that number real off.

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2021, 9:09 am

i really feel most of them weddings i went to was where (indian) parents and (indian) families push their children to get married before shacking up/living with a man or going abroad to study or whatever

so they didnt know what they were getting into and it didnt last.

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2021, 9:12 am

So only injun does get married?

Red government people alot smarter

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 9:13 am

A friend of mine lied to her husband to be what kind of girl she was. Real brock out kinda party girl but try to sell she real religious. The truth finds a way though. They divorce after 2 kids

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2021, 9:27 am

matr1x wrote:A friend of mine lied to her husband to be what kind of girl she was. Real brock out kinda party girl but try to sell she real religious. The truth finds a way though. They divorce after 2 kids
You just made that up.

Postby redmanjp » March 26th, 2021, 9:42 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Gladiator wrote:. . .There is also the part of pressure from family. I called my moms on Wednesday and tell she "organize yuhself I getin marrid weekend"

If I didn't do it that way it would have been a 300+ people affair by default.

:| Why? Yuh not man enough to put yuh foot down fuh yuh own wedding?

covid protocols is a good excuse too not to have a big wedding

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 10:11 am

adnj wrote:
matr1x wrote:A friend of mine lied to her husband to be what kind of girl she was. Real brock out kinda party girl but try to sell she real religious. The truth finds a way though. They divorce after 2 kids
You just made that up.

No. Surely you have heard of such things? Or do you think all women are angels with character as pure as freshly powered cocaine?

Postby 88sins » March 26th, 2021, 10:14 am

pugboy wrote:most divorces happen very early or later after chirren reach a certain age
or whenever the horner man/woman get involve

true, but just to add a note
Many fall apart when one or both of two things happen
1-When one starts lying to the other about who they are/aren't, what they for/not for, & what they will & won't do.
2-When one start lying to themselves about the other, thinking that over time they could turn the other into what they want them to be. 99% of women fall into this trap, and more than a few do fellas as well. They don't see you for who you are, but what they can turn you into with a little effort. & get vex when they realize, some things about people simply do not change no matter what, no matter how badly you want them to change or what you do to try to change them. And then there's the alternative outcome, where if one does get them to change, they change for what one perceives to be the worse.

Both those things can lead to either or both parties looking to get what they think they want from someone on the outside, which usually would lead to the eventual dissolution of the union if it isn't addressed by both parties & a degree of compromise is reached or forgiveness given & situation accepted

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2021, 10:46 am

Have a girl I know from her uwi days....she happily married abroad...very religious now...

We use to call her cerberus...
From the time she wet 3 head outside rituals a evening in the middle of a crowd on a dare.

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 26th, 2021, 10:54 am

I think my relative has the record locally. Married and then divorced after 3 months lol and that was a huge wedding. The cake was 10ft tall (placed on a 2ft custom stand). Fella buy a ring that worth more than some people roro cars and bought her a bmw and built a brand new house for them to live in. The last I heard, his former wife retained the ring and kept the wedding gifts but he took the car and kicked her and her belongings out the house. She was a sham since day 1. The real winners in weddings are those who got paid for serviced rendered.

On the other hand, I have another relative who is from a very humble background. He holds a little end doing work for 1 of the wealthiest contractors in the country. He wanted to marry his school sweetheart. Real nice humble girl. Word got to his boss (contractor son), and they rent a popular hall in central for the couple and gave them access to one of their prized luxury cars for the day.

I know someone who just doesn’t pass me straight. He stops what he is doing just to talk to me and find out if all is well. When I tell you, knowing this guy for years, he has been very poor but very respectful. Living in a board house with very little inside. His boss is a 1 percenter. The greatest is, when the boy boss heard he liked a girl and wanted to marry her, he helped the boy renovate the entire house and purchased new furniture and appliances when construction was completed. As you would expect in a wedding of that nature, it was held at the house and the boy boss was invited and sat amongst others and blended right in! Recently I heard his boss organize financing and a discount on a Lancer from carmax.

So for people who looking to get hitched, do good, you never know who is watching and who might want to help you with your special day.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 26th, 2021, 11:45 am

^ that's probably the most positive thing i've read all week. Thanks for sharing.

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2021, 2:02 pm

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
You just made that up.

No. Surely you have heard of such things? Or do you think all women are angels with character as pure as freshly powered cocaine?
You make up a lot of things.

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 2:14 pm

adnj wrote:
matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
You just made that up.

Hey hey, that thing about your dad turning tricks in Murray Street was just a joke....

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2021, 3:00 pm

matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
You just made that up.

Hey hey, that thing about your dad turning tricks in Murray Street was just a joke....
How much did you pay him?

Postby matr1x » March 26th, 2021, 5:40 pm

adnj wrote:
matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
matr1x wrote:
adnj wrote:
You just made that up.

How much did you pay him?

Shows how much you know. Everyone heard he worked for free.

I see what you tried there. Leave the gay stuff to MaxPower.