PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: AMD Phenom II Overclocked to 6.5GHz

Postby bushwakka » August 30th, 2010, 4:21 pm

^one should also take into consideration that ASUS customer support aint that great....

ppl often forget after-sales service when they buy things, but of course, if you already impractical and blowing 50k on a comp sys, then by all means

even tho EVGA makes sum really stupid design mistakes, their no hassle RMAs and warranties, along with great customer support make them a greaaat choice for most computer builders

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 30th, 2010, 6:13 pm

bushwakka wrote:^one should also take into consideration that ASUS customer support aint that great....

ppl often forget after-sales service when they buy things, but of course, if you already impractical and blowing 50k on a comp sys, then by all means

even tho EVGA makes sum really stupid design mistakes, their no hassle RMAs and warranties, along with great customer support make them a greaaat choice for most computer builders

hmm are you directing that comment to someone in particular, probably in a next thread?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 30th, 2010, 6:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ ASUS is the best. Its funny how people think that EVGA classified is this great mother board when in reality its not.

Sure it can do amazing things but its lifespan is nothing compared to ASUS.

ASUS is like SONY of the 90's their stuff just built to last and last and last.

the evga classified is not a great motherboard?

and its life span is short??

sure the asus rampage 3 is better than it..

but not by much..

get ur head out your a$$ eh

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2010, 6:55 pm

nareshseep wrote:
bushwakka wrote:^one should also take into consideration that ASUS customer support aint that great....

hmm are you directing that comment to someone in particular, probably in a next thread?

ctrl+c, ctrl+p.

but in some cases they are sh!tty none the less. But i never had to RMA anything thankfully. The VIP forums are VERY helpful though, i easily sourced drivers for my laptop on it.

Everyone, do you want me rename the thread to something more appropriate and make here the centre for all tech related discussions so we wont have 10 threads where 9 are just 1 single news item?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 7:07 pm

Yes, Please Rename it and make it the centre thread lol :D
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on August 30th, 2010, 7:49 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 7:14 pm

Just Got this Video Card

xaira

Postby xaira » August 30th, 2010, 9:39 pm

x 540 in d hizzle, mine bout 4 years old and still goin strong

4650 is a good card, it go max cod at 1920x1080, doh try that with crysis though

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 30th, 2010, 9:51 pm

xaira wrote:x 540 in d hizzle, mine bout 4 years old and still goin strong

4650 is a good card, it go max cod at 1920x1080, doh try that with crysis though

Idk why people still bothering with building systems to 'max out crysis' nah.

When that game came out i play it out about 3-4 times with two 7900GS in SLi and an 8600GTS OC card. The gameplay lacks but apparently the graphics are what concerns everyone more. :?

Asus and EVGA are good brands, then again is a hit or miss with any brand when it comes to electronics. Not biased towards any specific brand but whatever works best at a given price point does it for me. 8-)

Virus

Postby Virus » August 30th, 2010, 9:57 pm

The only problem i get with Asus is there stupid site in terms of drivers etc.....

Am sure many of you have tried to navigate that site only to have it return you to there home page LOL

Even driver download they have some 3rd party servers hosting them and it takes forever to get 100mb drivers

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2010, 10:01 pm

gracen wrote:Yes, Please Rename it and make it the centre thread lol :D

better?

btw, you coulda rename it eh :P

WRT the to 4650, i have one of these, the slim ones from sapphire. (not the "gaming spec" one)

They nice. Not sure about gaming but for video output via HDMI... It's VERY useful. One of the thing ATI held nvidia for was that and still TBH i have preference to AMD/ATI for.

The cooler sapphire has on there model is at best, very weak :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 10:03 pm

xaira wrote:x 540 in d hizzle, mine bout 4 years old and still goin strong

lol X540 FTW!, i installed it everything today and its Awesome, im currently installing COD4 and just got off Playing Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow all i need now is a new CPU to finish Max out this Old board lol, By chance does anyone Know where i can get a 754 Socket CPU?

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 30th, 2010, 10:05 pm

I discovered a way to peong NFSU2 online with cracked versions of the game using a program called Tunngle

this vid shud explain it

never tried it on any other games, it also doubles as a chat room so yuh cud organize a posse,,,

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 10:06 pm

lol thats how i always play NFSU2 with my friend, we use tunngle

BTW if any of allyuh Dare to race me i got a Wicked RX8 and Evo waitin to give allyuh some lix rofl

Virus

Postby Virus » August 30th, 2010, 10:14 pm

gracen wrote:lol thats how i always play NFSU2 with my friend, we use tunngle

BTW if any of allyuh Dare to race me i got a Wicked RX8 and Evo waitin to give allyuh some lix rofl

Hahahahahaha if allyuh serious i in

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 10:16 pm

Jes tell meh yuh no i cud go and make a URL for 6 rofl

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » August 30th, 2010, 10:25 pm

hey fellas ah need a site to download NFS carbon full version ah think it's about 3.something giggs, every time ah google it is some kinda demo....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 10:27 pm

M_2NR wrote:
gracen wrote:Yes, Please Rename it and make it the centre thread lol :D

better?

btw, you coulda rename it eh :P

WRT the to 4650, i have one of these, the slim ones from sapphire. (not the "gaming spec" one)

They nice. Not sure about gaming but for video output via HDMI... It's VERY useful. One of the thing ATI held nvidia for was that and still TBH i have preference to AMD/ATI for.

The cooler sapphire has on there model is at best, very weak :lol:

The one on the XFX is pretty good

Another ting too, When installin this Card was frustrating jed, i do everything right i open meh case i ground myself, put card in AGP Slot, connect the Power to it, then when i put back on pc, d monitor and d Keyboard and mouse not coming on and harddrive activity light staying Red and not flashin, i spend like ah hour takin off, puttin on, restarting dis pc.

Then just unplug and plug back in some cables and guess what?

Everything Come on :evil:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2010, 10:28 pm

playerskrew wrote:hey fellas ah need a site to download NFS carbon full version ah think it's about 3.something giggs, every time ah google it is some kinda demo....

isohunt, thepiratebay, projectw, katz fourms, the downloads switch

Anyone of of those websites you can get it, if you google NFS Carbon download, you won't get the full version ny googling you either download it via torrent website or a Full Rip like what Skullptura does or from one of the websites above.

For the torrent sites your gona have to download a Torrent Download Client like uttorent and use this to download the File you have downloaded from the Torrent Site.
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on August 31st, 2010, 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Virus

Postby Virus » August 30th, 2010, 10:34 pm

Not seeing a Skullptura rip
Last edited by Virus on August 30th, 2010, 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2010, 10:42 pm

guys seriously... keep the piracy talk off the boards nuh...

Virus

Postby Virus » August 30th, 2010, 10:46 pm

M_2NR wrote:guys seriously... keep the piracy talk off the boards nuh...

Like at the end of all those pirate games, i will quote if you like the game then BUY IT so piracy is not a bad thing if someone decides to look before they leap, but tru gamers support the cause of original but for those who just want a look see why not..........

N.B i not saying spam down the thread eh

Postby M_2NR » August 30th, 2010, 10:49 pm

i agree but forums rules meng 8)

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 30th, 2010, 11:10 pm

since we talking bout upgrades, how often do you guys upgrade?
I normally upgrade every 2-3 years

Virus

Postby Virus » August 30th, 2010, 11:21 pm

nareshseep wrote:since we talking bout upgrades, how often do you guys upgrade?

I usually go for 6mths depending on the upgrade and current needs and performance am sure others will have short times like firstchoice

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 30th, 2010, 11:26 pm

upgrade..........

hmmm

usually happens b4 i change draws

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 30th, 2010, 11:32 pm

nareshseep wrote:since we talking bout upgrades, how often do you guys upgrade?

3 yrs.. or when a new version of direct x comes out

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 30th, 2010, 11:40 pm

wen i think back

i have changed pc parts like wow within this same summer period

good lard, the amt of cash i "waste"

and theres no way to get it back!!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 31st, 2010, 12:07 am

Upgrades usually happen for me whenever i spot a bess deal. Got some great deals from tuner over the years as do people who buy whatever parts i have for sale. Usually i buy/sell until i get the right parts to build what i want.

However as of last week i now have 3 pc systems that wouldn't need to be upgraded til maybe when ATi releases those new cards and NVidia drops prices on their current lineup.

adilf1

Postby adilf1 » August 31st, 2010, 12:08 am

------------------------

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » August 31st, 2010, 12:57 am

Another brand with excellent consumer support is XFX...

In 2008 my cheap PowerKing PSU damaged my XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition..I emailed them, they said send it and within a week they responded saying a replacement is already on its way...

Two years on and its still going strong still running all the latest games at decent fps...yayy!!