Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

qd32

Re: Where were you during the 1990 Coup?

Postby qd32 » July 23rd, 2010, 12:42 pm

I was in MGS video club in Starlite Plaza. The security drew his gun and run through the club telling everyone to go home. Needless to say everyone there stocked up on VHS. Outside was level traffic.
I remember the frustration of not getting info on what was going on. Family in Barbados called and told us what was happening in town.

Postby Damien » July 23rd, 2010, 12:48 pm

Was 7yrs celebrating my bros 9th birthday

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 1:25 pm

maZdaspeed6 wrote:.that killed a really good lime ...lol...[/color]

Better than family being killed ya?

d spike

Postby d spike » July 23rd, 2010, 2:04 pm

A fellah was held breaking curfew in Matelot. That man washed wares, swept station, cleaned and weeded the yard... In the end, he told the officers that if he could go home and fetch his brushing-cutlass, he could do a much better job in the yard. The officers, seeing the same way out of an awkward situation as the 'culprit', agreed. That fellah fled homeward, and was not seen again in the village until after the coup.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 23rd, 2010, 2:11 pm

d spike wrote:A fellah was held breaking curfew in Matelot. That man washed wares, swept station, cleaned and weeded the yard... In the end, he told the officers that if he could go home and fetch his brushing-cutlass, he could do a much better job in the yard. The officers, seeing the same way out of an awkward situation as the 'culprit', agreed. That fellah fled homeward, and was not seen again in the village until after the coup.

Was his last 'HART'?:)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 23rd, 2010, 2:24 pm

wayzz...only yeo and dev older dan me in dis thread yes...oh and patch too.......

Postby SR » July 23rd, 2010, 2:25 pm

shhhh

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 23rd, 2010, 2:29 pm

Was on my way home.
My Rally/road car was fixing (had a lil fender bender) and was using a loaner from N&M…with no radio! Found it vey strange with the minimum traffic on the road.

Reached home to hear the “good news”.

Was living in Cascade, so hearing the big boom during the night from time to time when the Regiment let loose at TTT.

On Saturday morning took a drive around the savannah, no cars at all, but strange people behind the trees in the Savanna by the U.S. Embassy. On Sunday morning read the papers that the regiment were all around the Embassy in the savannah with big guns just waiting.

Remember the limes at Pelican and everybody staying until the last minute, to rush home just before the curfew.

The aftermath, POS looked like what we see in Beirut and the Gaza, real sad.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 23rd, 2010, 2:50 pm

It was yuh daddy on TV

Deepthoughts

Postby Deepthoughts » July 23rd, 2010, 3:27 pm

Wow. This is cool.

Now if I said what I remembered that would betray MY old age. . . lol

When I meant "in school" I meant "still GOING to school!" :)

So you guys think that the commission of enquiry would learn anything new? What are your thoughts? do you really care?

OH and you SHOULD read Raoul Pantin's account of the coup "Days of Wrath" THAT was an eye opener.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 23rd, 2010, 3:32 pm

i was 10, old enough to know what was goin on. Was home jus jibing till mcguyver start..(so much for that)

to this day i always find stories about the coup fascinating. It feels great to have been alive in that time and old enough to understand it.

angel_player

Postby angel_player » July 23rd, 2010, 3:49 pm

^^I share your sentiments yes... i was 5 yrs however and my parents and I was on our way to Mario's Pizza on Cipriani Boulevard (yea the same one that still there today lol) anyways we were heading down the road in my dad's Ford Escort, when we saw ppl diving out of Ellerslie Plaza in Maraval, then a piper down the street told us

Neighbourhood Spranger: "Ey all eh hear wha happen??"
Dad: "errm No"
... then he dropped the famous one liner hahaa

Neighbourhood Spranger:"Na na doh go no whey Abu Bakr take over!!!!"

hahaha I feel everybody heard tht same line yes it wasnt said any differently - Abu Bakr Take over!!!!

wheysss!! look how everybody was waiting for the same thing eh. MacGuyver later tht night after Panorama news on TTT :lol: :lol: :lol: then again it had no cable and it was only 1 channel lol

Postby foss » July 23rd, 2010, 3:57 pm

pioneer wrote:Trinidad needs another coup for people and politicians to get their act together.

We don't appreciate the freedom we have.

only you :roll:

Postby 16 cycles » July 23rd, 2010, 4:00 pm

pioneer wrote:Trinidad needs another coup for people and politicians to get their act together.

that coup set us back- another will do even worse

UDFR with you and your coup

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 23rd, 2010, 4:17 pm

16 cycles wrote:

that coup set us back- another will do even worse

UDFR with you and your coup

i was at home that day & it was 1st time i found what is a coup & who is bakr ...

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 4:33 pm

Was 8 yrs old.

Pops ban me from football sweat in d road.... rumour then was the jeepload of soldiers who were driving around would shoot u on sight if they spotted u outside yr house after curfew. :roll:

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 4:42 pm

pioneer wrote:you sure you is ah trinidadian? :?

You was one a dem who loot an tief microwave, put it in yuh livinroom and tryin to change d channel ent. :roll:

halfdef

Postby halfdef » July 23rd, 2010, 6:52 pm

was watching tv when i see Dominic Kalipersad say something while being surrounded by men with guns ...

minipresident

Postby minipresident » July 23rd, 2010, 7:08 pm

I was nine years old and as usual could not wait for Friday to come to see McGuyver,... alast it was not to be! :evil:

Turn on the news to see Dominic Kalipersad Under manners.

little Mermaid and cartoons up the ying yang!

My old man was an S.R.P. (Special Reserved Police) and immediately get called out.

Was close to month end and we did not get pay yet so did not have much food stuff home.

Remember having to eat Eddoes Choka and Roti and not liking it! :( [funny the lil non-sense you remember sometimes...]

Remember mih old man coming home with ram out jeep load ah police with huge guns.

with them police issue rice and peas and stewed beef :D

Postby Rooki3 » July 23rd, 2010, 7:24 pm

1yr & 8months old

Postby Rooki3 » July 23rd, 2010, 7:43 pm

pioneer wrote:Finding yours might be like finding waldo

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 23rd, 2010, 7:49 pm

SR wrote:shhhh

Ha!!!...you and Mr. Autospport too....lol

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 7:51 pm

Rooki3 wrote:1yr & 8months old

Awww u a baby :|

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 23rd, 2010, 7:55 pm

angel_player wrote:
wheysss!! look how everybody was waiting for the same thing eh. MacGuyver later tht night after Panorama news on TTT :lol: :lol: :lol: then again it had no cable and it was only 1 channel lol

fuh real - 1 tv station so dat was d friday night flick when u was small ... :P

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 7:57 pm

rel cartoon on ttt iwmc

Postby Trini Hookah » July 23rd, 2010, 8:11 pm

pioneer wrote:Finding yours might be like finding Carmen Sandiego

Postby rollingstock » July 23rd, 2010, 8:58 pm

minipresident wrote:with them police issue rice and peas and stewed beef :D

Postby brams112 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:12 pm

was 18 at that time,listening to radio from a hard day at the business,station gone dead,all stations went dead,thought to my self new brand fcuking radio spoilt,then tv only had cartoons,still looked at my radio thinking i better listen to cassette oui,lay down and listened to some music untill news time, when it was on tv with bkr and the ugly man with the one with the gun walking like he was on drugs walking in the back ground.Oh the radio was the one with the three square speakers in the front,double cassette,with a small eq,first thing i ever bought with proceeds from my labour,,,,

Terran

Postby Terran » July 23rd, 2010, 11:15 pm

I jad just completed my fifth form graduation on July 9th. It was the first time in my life that I took a "fade" haircut, or "gyal-ah-rush-me" as they called it back then. My graduation party was in Hilton Ballroom and the air condition was wukking. Needless to say, by the next day, I had a head cold because never in my life had my head been so exposed to such extremities. Head cold developed into a flu/virus, and I was mashed up by the following morning. I could not venture outside for several days, too sick to make it that far. On July 26th, I finally got the strength to make it off my bed, out into the yard. I was pale, having remained indoors for 16 days. The following day, I was strong enough to take a stroll... and I needed to move around. I left the house for a walk at 5:30pm on July 27th, 1990. Walked down my street, walked 2 blocks and turned back for my street, only to see my mother yelling out at me, "GET INSIDE, GET INSIDE!!" Not the most assuring words for someone who has not seen or felt sunlight in over 2 weeks. As I was jostled into the house, there he was on the TV, talking like all those other illiterate police commissioners... the cause of my confinement... my curfew... my ban. MY PLAGUE... Trinidad & Tobago's curse. :(

The days that followed were exciting. We got to watch Batman and The Little Mermaid several times.

Postby Redman » July 24th, 2010, 9:45 am

I had just collected my pay-first one a whopping 1500 for the month.(Trainee)
Cash the cheque, and head straight for Short street-I black suede travel fox, a Levis and a bess long sleeve shirt (thinking back It looked somebody eat pumkin and grape koolaid and puke on the shirt) -
Get home and get dressed-heading out early was going Dick Tracy Fete in the Club,and liking meself-I have money in meh pocket.

As Im walking out to ketch a taxi my uncle quietly says -you eh going nowhere Abu Bakr take over, it have a coup, and he calmly goes back to his papers.

Well now I fighting mad-
Who de ARSE is Abu and what de hell is a coup????????
And why the idiot didnt do this on a blasted MONDAY!!!!!!!!!!!

Next day the people on the street met and we ole talk for a bit, and essentially it was just waiting to see /hear what happen next

By Tues/Wed (I think) we was back to work-the co arranged special passes for their people to get to and from locations.

THE BEST FETES THE CLUB EVER SEE IS CURFEW FETES, ending at 6 pm

I understand where Pioneer coming from, but a coup today will be MUCH MORE VIOLENT.

MORE police abuse, criminals will be more brazen and the public at large will suffer.

But a shake up and a resetting of priorities for all might be the Rooster for dolly

Later