Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

slacker_83

Re: Using Scotiabank travel miles

Postby slacker_83 » August 13th, 2018, 11:53 am

I used Scotia Aero Points to travel for the past 4 years.
IMO it's not worth it to use the points to pay for the taxes. Better to use them for the discounted redemption at MCO, MIA, FLL, JFK AND LGA and pay the taxes cash.
Your points balance are also on your statement you get in the mail. As was mentioned before, find the flights you want and contact them via telephone to book. Process is simple

Postby De Dragon » August 13th, 2018, 12:09 pm

rspann wrote:Well you now prove who is the dum bass . Its either you dont know about scotiabank aero card or you just plain retarded. Read back where pete said about redeeming points for tickets. Also read where A172 said he has150000 POINTS .You dont know anything about the topic but jumping in with misinformation as usual. Scotia aero gives points for every dollar spent, which can be redeemed for tickets . You can also pay the taxes on the tickets with it. DA. Broke ass poser.

Think this was proven long before spann.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 1:47 pm

A172 wrote:
rspann wrote:Well you now prove who is the dum bass . Its either you dont know about scotiabank aero card or you just plain retarded. Read back where pete said about redeeming points for tickets. Also read where A172 said he has150000 POINTS .You dont know anything about the topic but jumping in with misinformation as usual. Scotia aero gives points for every dollar spent, which can be redeemed for tickets . You can also pay the taxes on the tickets with it. DA. Broke ass poser.
if everyone just ignores every single one of its posts it would stop posting guaranteed
really wish everyone would try it

Only sufferers pay tax with points :!:

Imbert have common fowl in a 69 lock down.

Postby pete » August 13th, 2018, 1:50 pm

The points show up on the bottom of my credit card statement.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 1:53 pm

pete wrote:The points show up on the bottom of my credit card statement.

Random question :D

Would you use your points to pay taxes ?

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 2:32 pm

No dumbass ,but The point I was making is that you can if you want to.. Go on youtube and check out the song about you by DJ Khaled. Young Dumb and Broke.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:38 pm

rspann wrote:No dumbass ,but The point I was making is that you can if you want to.. Go on youtube and check out the song about you by DJ Khaled. Young Dumb and Broke.

Ok and you have a nice day :D

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 2:43 pm

RuPAUL, you even have an Aero card? Or know what it is? Don't mind kissing your WA though . Your MA too big and square for me.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:45 pm

Grease monkeys are not here on planet T&T to give finance advice .

Would anybody use points to pay taxes ?

You have to have the thinking of a flea invested common yard fowl with aids to pay politicians
with your points .

Get my point ?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 13th, 2018, 3:34 pm

rspann wrote:No dumbass ,but The point I was making is that you can if you want to.. Go on youtube and check out the song about you by DJ Khaled. Young Dumb and Broke.
As an aside its just Khalid. DJ Khaled is a fat man who randomly shouts his name out for no reason.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 3:36 pm

Thanks.

linton

Postby linton » August 13th, 2018, 3:52 pm

If you can pay for a ticket with points, why can't you pay the taxes with it? Not understanding redrevo's logic.

Postby rspann » August 13th, 2018, 3:55 pm

Monkey/Donkey logic.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2018, 4:02 pm

also see this topic
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=701025

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 4:07 pm

linton wrote:If you can pay for a ticket with points, why can't you pay the taxes with it? Not understanding redrevo's logic.

Would YOU pay taxes with your points ?

linton

Postby linton » August 13th, 2018, 4:46 pm

If I buy the ticket with points instead of cash, why can't I use points instead of cash to pay the taxes? The points have a cash value and can be used anyway I deem fit. The points are just a benefit I accrued and I can even get cash back if I don't travel. Please explain Why you think I cannot use it that way.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 13th, 2018, 5:24 pm

How ppl pay air travel taxes doh matter one way or the other.

Unless u paying from a company account...taxes are an out of pocket expense.

Pay with points...cash...or pay with credit...same ting.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 5:35 pm

linton wrote:If I buy the ticket with points instead of cash, why can't I use points instead of cash to pay the taxes? The points have a cash value and can be used anyway I deem fit. The points are just a benefit I accrued and I can even get cash back if I don't travel. Please explain Why you think I cannot use it that way.

What wrong with you ? Explain what ?

Use your points for travel and gifts and food.

Re: Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Postby goalpost » August 13th, 2019, 9:44 pm

So in 2019, what is the best CC to have for redeeming for travel?

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » August 13th, 2019, 10:02 pm

Scotia aero platinum visa. Points for days

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2019, 10:03 pm

jl6106 wrote:Scotia aero platinum visa. Points for days

Ditto

definitely the best card for earning travel points.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » August 13th, 2019, 10:48 pm

i love my scotia gold card for cashback returns. i have $1800 in returns so far for the year

Postby The_Honourable » August 13th, 2019, 11:38 pm

jl6106 wrote:Scotia aero platinum visa. Points for days

Ditto

definitely the best card for earning travel points.

Me three. Aero is a good CC to have.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 14th, 2019, 8:58 pm

Guys, how long does it usually take for transactions on your Aero Platinum card to show up on Scotia online banking? Recently signed up and it's sometimes 3-5 days for local transactions to show up for me. That normal?

snatman

Postby snatman » August 16th, 2019, 1:17 pm

Pricesmart members could look at the RBL/pricesmart card - 4% cashback at pricesmart and 1% everywhere else. Seems like a good deal on the surface

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 16th, 2019, 1:24 pm

snatman wrote:Pricesmart members could look at the RBL/pricesmart card - 4% cashback at pricesmart and 1% everywhere else. Seems like a good deal on the surface

Scotiabank MasterCard Gold gives 4% cash back at grocery stores & gas stations, 2% at pharmacies and 1% everywhere else.. You get the cash back in November of each year.
https://tt.scotiabank.com/personal/cred ... rcard.html

originalbling

Postby originalbling » August 16th, 2019, 1:28 pm

NR8 wrote:Guys, how long does it usually take for transactions on your Aero Platinum card to show up on Scotia online banking? Recently signed up and it's sometimes 3-5 days for local transactions to show up for me. That normal?

I stand corrected but i think its when the merchant posts the transaction then it would show up. Online banking for credit cards update every night so if it didnt meet the cut off time it would update the next time. For debit cards or ATM transactions it shows up same day.

Same thing with RBC

Postby A172 » August 16th, 2019, 6:59 pm

NR8 wrote:Guys, how long does it usually take for transactions on your Aero Platinum card to show up on Scotia online banking? Recently signed up and it's sometimes 3-5 days for local transactions to show up for me. That normal?
yh that normal

have 2 aero cards from scotia and racked up 200k points over the last year & a half and started using them last month

only 20k pts round trip to the US & 70k to Europe

don't know of anything else that could compete with that

Postby The_Honourable » August 16th, 2019, 9:39 pm

Should update every 2 days or so. Last update will be a Friday evening and the next update will be Monday morning.

When you put money on the card, it's instant shown on the green meter.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 16th, 2019, 11:54 pm

Scotia Aero Platinum ftw....each us$ spent = 1 aero point