:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 23rd, 2012, 7:53 am

Bought my 2nd one of these last week. B&D Pivot Plus $28.99 US Amazon, $62 TT shipping to T&T.

The first lasted 4 years before i stripped the gears. It has a combination of metal and plastic gears so that's the point of failure.

All things considered, 4 years of abuse for $30 was well worth it. So much so that i got a 2nd one. This can be used in an engine bay, under the dash and any other tight space where the pistol grip type driver can't fit.

It's been my go to driver for the last 4 years for all light jobs and some not so light (hence the stripped gears). This will sink 2 1/2" x 1/4" screws into solid teak (ok ok that takes a little while but it can in a pinch).

Heck i even lent (under close supervision) it to the guy installing cable at my house after he was catching arse to manually sink some screws.

Similar DeWalt and Hitachi models cost upwards of $70. Its one of the few B&D tools i will recommend to anyone.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 23rd, 2012, 10:37 am

yep i have 1 of those ^^^^ about 4-5yrs now - for d price , size , versatility & fairly light weight u cant go wrong ....

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 23rd, 2012, 7:52 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Bought my 2nd one of these last week. B&D Pivot Plus $28.99 US Amazon, $62 TT shipping to T&T.
Just to clarify - is bringing in tools via skybox exempt from duty and VAT?

Postby pioneer » January 23rd, 2012, 8:00 pm

no duty just vat

Postby X_Factor » January 23rd, 2012, 8:14 pm

yep, and yet stores sell tools for sometimes double the price u'd pay via skybox
i know they have to make a profit and have expenses to pay...but some places are jus ridiculous

Re: How do you feel about your toolkit/s guys

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 23rd, 2012, 8:19 pm

brams112 wrote:very true boi i have a socket set,plus spanners from 1/4 inch to around 24mm in my tool kit but don't have the time to use it,my first car i did not have time to even change oil,was to stressed out from work,now i have an assined vehicle to me that is new so no repairs is needed,but whenever the need arises for me to have use of the tools i have it on hand,,,l know what you are talking about tools and workers eh boi rahtid they don't respect what is not their's.

If you know how that does get me vex eh.

Just week before, gave the workers a brand new stanly spanner set, Saturday gone nobody could find an 18 spanner. When I look, spanner set spread out ontop a barrel mixed up with old tools and the holder/case fling away half burried under some sand.

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2012, 8:23 pm

its more than that since they getting wholesale price
but nothing is cheap anyways
esp when considering other things like
the profit margins on alcohol make tool profits look like peanuts

X_Factor wrote:yep, and yet stores sell tools for sometimes double the price u'd pay via skybox
i know they have to make a profit and have expenses to pay...but some places are jus ridiculous

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 23rd, 2012, 9:05 pm

pioneer wrote:no duty just vat

And in this case i was not even charged VAT :mrgreen: , just the shipping cost but correct on VAT only (usually)

Postby X_Factor » January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm

i think they does give u ah bligh on small tools under 40-50USD

check this deal...
http://www.amazon.com/Milwaukee-48-89-2 ... _ai_ps_t_2
i've been monitoring the prices on drill bits for the past mth and this is the lowest its got!!

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2012, 10:00 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Bought my 2nd one of these last week. B&D Pivot Plus $28.99 US Amazon, $62 TT shipping to T&T.

The first lasted 4 years before i stripped the gears. It has a combination of metal and plastic gears so that's the point of failure.

I have one of these also

I lost the charger for a few months so it was useless. found it back last night tho

Also bought these last week off of amazon

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000JP ... 00_details

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002MP ... 00_details

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004 ... 01_details

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00005 ... 02_details

that hole saw is for a single specific purpose tho, don't need a set.

I hadda organise some pegboard to lay out all my tools...does be a pain to find stuff when I need it..

I does look home for it...and then give up and think its in the office...go office and look for it..not find it...check the cars...try to remember if anyone borrow it...then end up not bothering to do what i wanted to do until i stumble upon the tool at home/office days/weeks/months later

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 24th, 2012, 10:07 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
pioneer wrote:no duty just vat

And in this case i was not even charged VAT :mrgreen: , just the shipping cost but correct on VAT only (usually)
Thanks 8-)

Postby X_Factor » January 27th, 2012, 5:23 pm

ABA---how much did the lil stanley set cost via skybox?

Postby Chimera » January 27th, 2012, 5:42 pm

i don't really ship single items, it was a box of 80 lbs of items so i can't really estimate exactly what the stanley set would have costed specifically

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 27th, 2012, 7:15 pm

PMart has a 3/8 drive set with metric and S.A.E for <$200.

Not a common brand name though. Light - Medium duty.

Again, SWS has the cheapest Stanley sockets/ratchets/extensions/power handles around locally , both 1/2 and 3/8.

I've found shipping on socket sets uneconomical because of their weight and their cheapness locally. You could put together an entire heavy duty set for under $400.

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2012, 9:01 pm

homemade 90 angle jigs for welding

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2012, 9:03 pm

really and truly you only ever use about 4-8 sockets for 99% of all things

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 27th, 2012, 9:27 pm

Yup...when is the last time yuh use a 15mm or 16mm socket.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 27th, 2012, 9:54 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Yup...when is the last time yuh use a 15mm or 16mm socket.

16mm= seatbelt bolt in rav4 :lol:

Now thinking if I have one to do some work tomorrow.

Postby X_Factor » January 27th, 2012, 10:07 pm

how will u guys rate these tools,
rigid, stanley, irwin

personally, i always liked stanley but after owning a few irwin tools recently, i think their quality and durability is now better

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 27th, 2012, 10:37 pm

never really use ridgid , seems kinda mid level like ryobi & craftsman

stanley tools still decent but i find irwin like their saw blades is better quality

ace that bhags carry isnt too bad , good for home use ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 27th, 2012, 10:41 pm

pugboy wrote:homemade 90 angle jigs for welding

yrs ago when i used to do welding for a living i never really used a jig for 90 corners , i usually tack d 2 ends then set d 90 with a square & strap\tack both sides diagonally with a piece of steel like 3\8" , 1\2" round or solid square & that held it square till all d welding was done & then u remove d strap ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 28th, 2012, 1:43 pm

The only downside to jigs for me is the amount of clamps you need to have at hand.

Other than that, jigs make sense for repeat angles. You dont have to measure, square, tack and brace every single time.

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2012, 1:55 pm

I find its too much time wasted to tack, check angle which invariably changed due to heat shrinkage, pong to adjust and go again

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » January 28th, 2012, 4:23 pm

Welding is real tears yes, I often feel 'welding' should be called 'grinding' instead.
I am accustomed to warpage and shrinkage from woodworking, it would be nice for a change to fabricate in materials that did not distort.

Postby X_Factor » January 30th, 2012, 12:11 am

anyone wants a set like this to buy, i ordered 2 to save on some shipping
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0001L ... os_product

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 30th, 2012, 8:30 am

Nice price, I paid about $25tt each at the corner hardware for a few Irwin speedbor bits a while back.

Your dewalt set is a better deal, dang.... :|

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » January 30th, 2012, 7:25 pm

i find this extremely handy , has the most common sizes, theres also a ratcheting one aswell, great tool
Dogbone-300x300.jpg
Dogbone-300x300.jpg (15.84 KiB) Viewed 3385 times

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 31st, 2012, 11:53 am

Does this come in a bonafide metric set?

The B&D one is not quite metric and not quite SAE. Reviews say its slack on both types so i was skeptical about buying.

Postby X_Factor » January 31st, 2012, 4:02 pm

as for dog bone wrench, i read decent reviews on this one
http://www.amazon.com/Thorsen-Metric-Wr ... pd_cp_hi_2

not only on amazon

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » January 31st, 2012, 8:41 pm

the dogbone comes in metric aswell as SAE I bought bought, aswell as one that supposed to do both didnt use that one as yet. i also hav the b&d ratchet and its great for around the house