What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

R.P.J

Re: Home AC Problem

Postby R.P.J » September 4th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Drain line is good he said

Any particular reason to raise it on 30º

The lowest is 16º an I does alwaus have it on 16º

Postby S_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 9:11 pm

Gas is low

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » September 4th, 2014, 9:12 pm

Gas reads 65 psi

Postby joker » September 4th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Condensation will not occur but i was being sarcastic
use 17 or 18,deg... and the size of your room may be a factor also .

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » September 4th, 2014, 9:16 pm

Try on dat temp an still its leaking

13ftx10ft is meh room size.

R.P.J

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panason

Postby R.P.J » September 4th, 2014, 9:21 pm

Guys I now see dis thread dis is tje ac unit I have an its leaking water on the inside piece by the right hanf corner vent. Anybody have this unit.

Postby toyolink » September 4th, 2014, 9:26 pm

R.P.J wrote:Drain line is good he said

Any particular reason to raise it on 30º

The lowest is 16º an I does alwaus have it on 16º

You need to get a proper tech. who will recheck everything from elevation of external condensate line to internal troughs to determine why drain off is spilling back in.
No good tech will leave you with .....everything good and I don't know wha happening here.
BTW, use of ac unit at lowest thermo set for protracted periods is certainly not the preferred way to operate units.This type of use can in fact lead to over working of condenser and if doors are opened regularly condensation can be a real issue.The unit you acquired should have a manual which has all directions for optimal operating settings.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » September 4th, 2014, 9:34 pm

Well is the company sending dem Well the room is seal of properly so wat u are saying is do not have it on 16º all the time try varying the temperature.

Postby S_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 9:39 pm

R.P.J wrote:Gas reads 65 psi

Either your drain line is clogged or a/c is icing up inside. When it starts to melt that's what gives you the drip.
Is the compressor cycling off and on or just staying on all the time?

konartis

Postby konartis » September 4th, 2014, 9:43 pm

the AC probably clogged somewhere, mabe icing up, the best way to operate ur AC is on auto, that way the condenser gets a rest and saves on electric bill

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » September 4th, 2014, 9:49 pm

I does hear the compressor cumin on an cutting off. But I does does perspire alot dats why I does have it on 16º.... its a new unit I doh no wat to do again

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 4th, 2014, 9:55 pm

perhaps it was not mounted properly and the drain off is actually filling the inside unit

Postby S_2NR » September 4th, 2014, 9:58 pm

R.P.J wrote:I does hear the compressor cumin on an cutting off. But I does does perspire alot dats why I does have it on 16º.... its a new unit I doh no wat to do again

Well now that u mention it is new. Tell them come and take back their sheit

Invisible

Postby Invisible » September 5th, 2014, 12:13 am

Most units are manufactured by 1 company and branded for others so the internals are the the same basically.

My unit was leaking in a similar way. The leak was resulting from a flaw in design.

With mine, the leak was happening where the rear drip collection empties into the front drip tray. the water was 'climbing' over the little lip and falling out of the unit. A little silicone between these two parts solves that problem.

PS - The whole front cover need to be disassembled for you to see and effect repairs.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 5th, 2014, 12:18 am

Check the rear drain to see if it is clogged. You may have to unmount it from the wall mount though.

Postby mero » September 5th, 2014, 5:33 am

R.P.J wrote:I does hear the compressor cumin on an cutting off. But I does does perspire alot dats why I does have it on 16º.... its a new unit I doh no wat to do again

AC on 20 + Lasko fan > AC on 16. Cold breeze cyah done 8-)

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 5th, 2014, 8:15 am

Cross Blood wrote:Check the rear drain to see if it is clogged. You may have to unmount it from the wall mount though.

also 16 degrees is a bit too low. in fact that's freezing!
try 20 degrees.

if the room not getting cold at that temp then something probably wrong with your a/c unit.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 5th, 2014, 10:52 am

try cleaning your drain/run off, usually a pvc taking water to the ground. whe last was it serviced?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2014, 11:00 am

R.P.J wrote:Guys I now see dis thread dis is tje ac unit I have an its leaking water on the inside piece by the right hanf corner vent. Anybody have this unit.
the drain pipe is probably clogged. Have the unit serviced.

a quick DIY fix for that is to remove the filter, wash it out, pour a little bleach over the metal fins of the evaporator, wait a while and then replace the filter - that will clear the clog and stop the dripping inside.

the metal fins are behind that filter the person is taking out in the photo:

Postby nervewrecker » September 5th, 2014, 11:38 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:Check the rear drain to see if it is clogged. You may have to unmount it from the wall mount though.

also 16 degrees is a bit too low. in fact that's freezing!
try 20 degrees.

if the room not getting cold at that temp then something probably wrong with your a/c unit.

They probably sized it wrong for the room.

Lowest I reach is 26 degrees when sun real hot. Most days it on 27.

Postby ronsin1 » September 5th, 2014, 3:42 pm

R.P.J wrote:Guys I now see dis thread dis is tje ac unit I have an its leaking water on the inside piece by the right hanf corner vent. Anybody have this unit.
the drain pipe is probably clogged. Have the unit serviced.

a quick DIY fix for that is to remove the filter, wash it out, pour a little bleach over the metal fins of the evaporator, wait a while and then replace the filter - that will clear the clog and stop the dripping inside.

the metal fins are behind that filter the person is taking out in the photo:

OH My Duane giving AC advice :o

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 5th, 2014, 5:21 pm

A 12000btu unit should be suffice for that size of room. If the room doesn't cool at 16° till a point that you need to turn up the temperature to 20° or 22°, something is definitely wrong with the A/C. Considering that the room is sealed off and all windows and doors are locked. Either that or you are a really huge person :lol: :lol: . But I don't think that is the case.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » September 6th, 2014, 6:25 am

Yea guys its a genesco elite unit I have the technician scrap out the inside unit to see wats the problem an it still leaking an aslo the room colds on higher temperature but I jus like it real cold. An no am not a huge person

Postby S_2NR » September 6th, 2014, 5:15 pm

Genesco is sheit. Give them it back and get a real ac

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 6th, 2014, 5:28 pm

People still buying that sheit

Postby gastly369 » September 6th, 2014, 5:36 pm

Panasonic, Daikin #thread

sicctt

Postby sicctt » September 6th, 2014, 5:44 pm

Be careful of what AC you buy some have 9000 btu compressor and are being sold as a 12000 btu unit so no matter what it will never cool you room properly

gabrielle333

Postby gabrielle333 » September 6th, 2014, 5:57 pm

Daiken

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » September 6th, 2014, 10:17 pm

Could u guys suggest a good brand split unit ac