What's the last good book yuh read??

Re: What's the last good book yuh read??

Postby cinco » October 23rd, 2012, 9:08 am

sharkman121 wrote:read 50 shades of grey over teh weekend

wut
ive actually been reading Rick Riordan :lol: kiddie books but entertaining none the less.
Actually finished them all
need something new

Postby Trini Hookah » October 23rd, 2012, 9:10 am

Republic Reader :|

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2012, 9:12 am

Currently reading Malcolm Gladwell's Blink, The Power of Thinking without Thinking. Read Outliers in August and also bought Tipping Point.

His books are really thought provoking. He's the guy Lok Jack GSB bought down in April this year.

Centric

Postby Centric » October 23rd, 2012, 9:28 am

Fifty Shades of Grey :oops:

Postby Stephon. » October 23rd, 2012, 9:41 am

Stephon. wrote:I am into comedy, and I don't like books with much words, and it's hard to find books with endless comedy yet filled with pictures, that's why the PNM Manifesto was the last good book I've read. It was non stop laughter from beginning to end with minimal words.

I can't believe I said this lol

Postby Les Bain » October 23rd, 2012, 9:42 am

Then We Came to the End, by Joshua Ferris. Really well written drama-comedy set in an ad agency at the time the world financial crisis began. Amazing read.

Trying to read A Brief History of Nearly Everything, by Bill Bryson since the year began, but hardly can find the time.
There's Also Blink, by Malcolm Gladwell but it seems like I won't be able to do any reading for enjoyment sake till mid-late 2013.

Postby rollingstock » October 23rd, 2012, 9:54 am

SK's IT.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 23rd, 2012, 10:24 am

one book you should NOT read is

Gayle Forman - If I Stay...

rubbish

babysmurf

Postby babysmurf » October 23rd, 2012, 12:01 pm

A Song of Ice and Fire series - George R.R. Martin

much much better than the tv series!

Postby Bizzare » October 23rd, 2012, 12:06 pm

I enjoyed the Boyo and Carla series. It's English was simple, packed with images, short and sweet.

kermit the gorf

Re:

Postby kermit the gorf » October 23rd, 2012, 12:28 pm

Notorious Scullman wrote:The last novels would be:

The Diamond Hunters - Wilbur Smith

before that...

Hungry as the Sea - Wilbur Smith

This man's incredible. Fantastic story,great twists, and lots of technical tidbits. By the time you've finished one of his books, you feel you can pilot the ship, or do exactly what the characters were doing. Very visual.

Since these, I've probably read about 75 books on photography

I thought I was the only one who knew of this man's genius and his stellar descriptive writing skills. My two favourites by him are River God and Seventh Scroll.

Postby MG Man » October 23rd, 2012, 12:35 pm

only recently discovered 'Hitchhiker's guide' was only the first in a 'trilogy' o 5 books......think I gonna order the bound edition on amazon, along with Bill Pullman's 'His Dark Materials' collection, maybe throw in 'Lyra's Oxford' for good measure

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2012, 12:43 pm

MG Man wrote:only recently discovered 'Hitchhiker's guide' was only the first in a 'trilogy' o 5 books......think I gonna order the bound edition on amazon, along with Bill Pullman's 'His Dark Materials' collection, maybe throw in 'Lyra's Oxford' for good measure

A Vatican hit squad has just been dispatched!! :snipersmile:

Postby MG Man » October 23rd, 2012, 1:18 pm

lol I am still amazed his books got so far without the bible brigade shutting him down.....doubt they'll finish the movies tho

Postby Dizzy28 » October 23rd, 2012, 1:35 pm

MG Man wrote:lol I am still amazed his books got so far without the bible brigade shutting him down.....doubt they'll finish the movies tho

The non continuance of the movies was a bit puzzling. The Golden Compass had World Box Office takings of over $350m and the movie also won an Oscar. Guess the Church proved to be too strong. When I am done with my backlog of reading would definitely look into the Dark Materials as well.

Postby MG Man » October 23rd, 2012, 2:51 pm

yup
the production house got a lot of backlash from the Vatican and I think it scared them off...........the sequels were touch-and-go following the economic crash, but lesser movies have had sequels...sad though.......I always had a feeling there would be just one movie........
I might re-read the series, though it was rather depressing at the end

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » October 23rd, 2012, 3:43 pm

50 shades honestly idk wht was the big hype abt

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 24th, 2012, 7:45 am

^^yunno eh, its like a bad porno with a hint of romance

Postby crazybalhead » October 24th, 2012, 7:49 am

me eh get tuh read in a while. Still half way in the first game of thrones book. Last good thing besides that was a vanity fair magazine. Had a few interesting articles.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 24th, 2012, 8:21 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:^^yunno eh, its like a bad porno with a hint of romance

:evil: There is no such thing as a bad porno :evil:

snowman

Postby snowman » October 24th, 2012, 8:43 am

Haven't finshed 50 shades of Grey. Haven't finished the 4th book in the Game of Thrones series. And now I'm interested in this Dark Materials book MG man was talking about.

Postby MG Man » October 24th, 2012, 9:06 am

snowman wrote:Haven't finshed 50 shades of Grey. Haven't finished the 4th book in the Game of Thrones series. And now I'm interested in this Dark Materials book MG man was talking about.

check it out :)
unlike the sheep who think dan brown's silly books were controversial, His Dark Materials, while fictional, proposes some very interesting ideas about the origins of the creator, nature of the multiverse, morality etc
It makes roman catholics uncomfortable because the parallel universe in which the saga starts, is run by a 'church' not unlike the RC church of victorian times. It also parallels our research into dark matter, but they call it 'dust'...

Bareback

Postby Bareback » October 24th, 2012, 9:15 am

Baby girl just downloaded the Robert Ludlum collection for me, looking forward to starting it tonight!

Postby MG Man » October 24th, 2012, 9:20 am

Winning is not enough: The Autobiography: Jackie Stewart
If you appreciate this era of F1, this is a must-read
Picked it up in a 2nd hand bookstore in Chaguanas, mint condition

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » October 24th, 2012, 9:25 am

Neil Gaiman's American Gods...

Postby black start » October 24th, 2012, 9:40 am

something about materials science by some guy named callister.

Postby gt4tified » October 26th, 2012, 2:37 am

Steve Jobs: The man who thought different by Karen Blumenthal.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2013, 11:16 am

Over the weekend got myself from the RIK specials table

1. Tom Clancy - Against All Enemies ( $38)
2. Lawrence Booth - Arm Ball to Zooter: A Sideways Look at the Language of Cricket ($20)
3. Biography of Gandhi

Still real behind on past backlog of books but I'm a stickler for a bargain.
Last edited by Dizzy28 on March 15th, 2013, 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » March 13th, 2013, 11:22 am

just finished the Hitchhiker's Guide 'Trilogy' (5 books)
The original HHGTTG
The Restaurant At the End of the Universe
Life, The Universe and Everything
So Long, and Thanks for all the fish
Mostly Harmless

Postby Chimera » March 13th, 2013, 11:28 am

on 5th book of game of thrones now, 500 pages left lol