FATAL Accident near Tarouba Stadium

Mosaic

Postby Mosaic » January 25th, 2010, 5:56 pm

Young , inexperienced drivers & hi powered vehicles will get ppl killed. The so called driving test at 15km/hr is a joke. We need better drivers to handle the traffic and the cars we get now. Its survival of the fittest at the moment, and unfortunately the unfit take others with them.
So I say put in the concrete median to protect the innocent from the foolhardy. We don't need the $1 billion lara stadium, we need decent roads and traffic safety.

Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2010, 6:05 pm

The truth is that this was an accident

no pallie incident...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » January 25th, 2010, 6:09 pm

Little Angel left alone. :cry:

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » January 25th, 2010, 6:14 pm

Now I'm going to put my 2 pence in here.

I drove by the scene on Sunday afternoon just as the police arrived, the crowd was all over the scene and the pick up driver was looking like he was about the cry. Now after being here for 5 years and having driven in Canada, the UK, France, Germany, the USA, Barbados for 15 years I will say a few things.

1. The drivers in Trinidad in general are bad! they don't obey the road signs, the traffic laws and will cut you off with out a care! They drive with no fear of the consequences and it shows. This is the persons own responsibility here to drive safe and NOT CAUSE AND ACCIDENT, something many drivers who cut in and out of traffic at high speeds should stop.

2. The condition of the roads in some areas is poor! The two highways can easily support cars going 100kph IF inter directional lane barriers were improved and the road surfaces generally kept in better condition that they are currently.

3. The police are poorly trained for their jobs, In every other developed country they are trained with first aid and firefighting for a reason, as typically they are first responders in most accidents and can ( have, but not here ) saved many lives before the medical services arrive. Here in Trinidad they are generally clueless about what to do. Also I find it strange that in most accidents such large crowds gather, honestly 90% of the people here who gather can do little or nothing to help and should be sent on their way, the crowd just adds to the traffic and hampers the ability of the medical services and police in doing their jobs.

4. Government, they just don't care! yup, simple enforcement goes along way and giving the police the tools and training to do their job goes a longer way as well. Legislation and funding will improve the police morale, giving them the basic tools and training to enforce the rules adds to this greatly. Leadership and initiative comes from the top and until they step up the morale, ability and willingness of the police will not improve.

I have in 5 years already pulled 3 people out of car accidents and taken one to hospital, in all instances the police did not offer any real assistance and in one case I was nearly charged when I tried to flag them down for help so I do know how bad things can be here. The situation on the roads simply will not improve until everyone steps up to improve the situation at all levels, first ourselves with our driving habits then the support services and finally government.

Oh a little FYI, I will have to try and get the link to the source but our accident rate is similar as the States in deaths per population, but in terms of distance driven we are rather poor in deaths per km of road driven.

Postby Sky » January 25th, 2010, 6:17 pm

So if it was my job to study an incident that caused the loss of life, argue with people about the matter and call names, I would hate my job.
Here are people doing it for free.
Ppl please show some respect and quit the bickering?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 25th, 2010, 6:25 pm

^ doh talk about the coast guard

wall

Postby wall » January 25th, 2010, 6:26 pm

pioneer wrote:Here's my two pence...we are a banana republic and the state does NOT care about the citizens and their safety, but choose to spend money on million dollar luxury vehicles for the army...an army which can't defend Trinidad in times of war.
can anyone tell me what our " army" does exactly?

Postby Greypatch » January 25th, 2010, 6:29 pm

shine shoes and eat blue food

Postby equipped2ripp » January 25th, 2010, 6:34 pm

ah hear is over 50 new Prados the Govt buy for the CG/DF...

and back to the topic... I saw investigators at the scene this morning around 9AM, so investigations are still going on.

Lyanna was my neighbour, didn't know her husband though.

RIP to both of them.

Postby wagon r » January 25th, 2010, 7:00 pm

Aaron and Rooki3.....that bailey bridge accident....it was the truck driver's fault, no one else.

he was speeding, he misjudged the bridge.....the bridge has been there months, cat eyes, signs and speed limit signs were there.....and if he is accustom to going for material, then surely he has passed thru the bridge before....

....and how do you put the front wheels of a 10 wheeler 10T dump truck to the back axle......who mash the gas, who in control...not the driver.

the law does in fact state that if you cause damage to property, you have to pay for repairs.....now Imbert comment was out of timing....but he was right.

...and something else i want everyone to think about....

...for all the people who died not only this year but in years past, all thought the same thing you are thinkin....

....that will never happen to me. but where are they now..... :|

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 25th, 2010, 7:14 pm

Very sad!
RIP to the couple.

Even if seatbelts were in place, would they be effective given the reclined position of many young drivers and passengers these days?

Postby eliteauto » January 25th, 2010, 7:20 pm

^^^ no they wouldn't, had a friend in an accident recently and due to that reclined seating the belt failed to pre-tension properly and he hit the steering wheel

Postby Rooki3 » January 25th, 2010, 8:05 pm

If you know how i hate to see ppl drive while their seat are reclined :x

Postby Morpheus » January 25th, 2010, 10:00 pm

The Bailey bridge

the area was never and adequately lit to prevent oncoming drivers from colliding with it.....

^^Ha Ha U serious??

that bailey bridge accident....it was the truck driver's fault, no one else.

he was speeding, he misjudged the bridge.....the bridge has been there months, cat eyes, signs and speed limit signs were there.....and if he is accustom to going for material, then surely he has passed thru the bridge before....

....and how do you put the front wheels of a 10 wheeler 10T dump truck to the back axle......who mash the gas, who in control...not the driver.

^^Also there were about 5 pairs of alternating amber lights leading to the bridge. I dunno wha we want again nah

Postby Team Loco » January 25th, 2010, 10:52 pm

just back from the wake. heard firsthand an eyewitness report. guy was driving right behind the, its not good. lets just say speed was a factor, and a sealand container truck and a certain skyline

Postby tr1ad » January 25th, 2010, 11:00 pm

Team Loco wrote:just back from the wake. heard firsthand an eyewitness report. guy was driving right behind the, its not good. lets just say speed was a factor, and a sealand container truck and a certain skyline

after all the grieving

what is hidden will soon come to light

theoutlaw

Postby theoutlaw » January 25th, 2010, 11:06 pm

but i still cah understand in the pics showing that kershell in the passenger side of the car dunno nah tht what i saw when i was there

Postby r3iXmann » January 25th, 2010, 11:14 pm

Greypatch wrote:shine shoes and eat blue food

as opposed to sitting in a rumshop all day wallowing in ignorance? :idea:

suzieboy

Postby suzieboy » January 25th, 2010, 11:27 pm

RIP to those couple,jus last week i saw both of dem an afternoon jus crusin...i always see them around sando always togther with the "Baby on Board" sticker....fortunately she wasnt...Rem talkin to him some time ago an tellin me the wrx does burn real gas... :(

SnipeR

Postby SnipeR » January 25th, 2010, 11:40 pm

Team Loco wrote:just back from the wake. heard firsthand an eyewitness report. guy was driving right behind the, its not good. lets just say speed was a factor, and a sealand container truck and a certain skyline

Same story I heard...

May the deceased R.I P.

Postby tr1ad » January 26th, 2010, 12:00 am

suzieboy wrote:.Rem talkin to him some time ago an tellin me the wrx does burn real gas... :(

hmm i wonder why

fq360

Postby fq360 » January 26th, 2010, 12:10 am

yups...its true, apparently lyanna was doing some numbers and i heard about the skyline incident...saw the baby tonight, she's so adorable...may god be with her and both their families in this time of mourning

Postby wagonrunner » January 26th, 2010, 12:17 am

fack no.........
lewwee stick to the phantom bad drive.
that way some could feel they doing the right thing.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2010, 12:18 am

now reading this -

it is truly terrible - my heart goes out to the family and the 1 yr old baby. :(

Postby wagon r » January 26th, 2010, 12:42 am

.....so the question....

....who skyline...and if they here on the forum....what then.

..is only so many we have here and somebody must know the car,colour and model....

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » January 26th, 2010, 5:19 am

can't believe that Guardian would carry such a blatant lie...i mean, the car positions speak for themselves...much less for those who dodged the melee..

two facts i'd like to remind of given what i saw:

1. the pickup driver would never have seen this coming. as i've described, it might as well have been a cruiser missile hitting him along the broadside. you would have come slightly uphill, made a soft right turn, straightened up and BAM!

2. there are barrier guard railings under the Tech flyover for some way (correct me if I'm wrong, but at least just up to the length of the offramp, which provides sufficient - OOPSIE! cover for manageable incidents coming off the Golconda Highway downhill/slight right bend. but, as has been mentioned & confirmed, it simply is not an area with a a lot of margin for error after that point as once you encounter problems in your travel path, the options are limited...

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » January 26th, 2010, 6:05 am

wagon r wrote:.....so the question....

....who skyline...and if they here on the forum....what then.

..is only so many we have here and somebody must know the car,colour and model....

so wait its the skyline driver fault that she couldn't drive, from the turn of events looks like her man give her a sweet chain up to run down the said skyline, probably doing assness swerving in an out and upon reaching the sealand panicked and the rest is history, so regardless of whether or not the skyline owner is a tuner or not, no matter how fast your car is always know
1. there is going to be something faster
2. not everyone takes chain up from a high rev
3. not every car that passes you is your opportunity to pursue

just my two cents, this two shall pass as with all incidents and be forgotten by monday

Postby 16 cycles » January 26th, 2010, 6:50 am

bridge on highway just after Trincity mall, heading east, where 3 lanes merge into 2....be careful there tuners...

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » January 26th, 2010, 7:03 am

I have a skyline/gtr and passed through there about 4 or so but the accident clearly hadn't happened yet. I was certainly not racing anyone! guys know what my policy on street racing is.

Postby Rooki3 » January 26th, 2010, 7:18 am

tr1ad wrote:
suzieboy wrote:.Rem talkin to him some time ago an tellin me the wrx does burn real gas... :(

hmm i wonder why

Good observation tr1ad

A172 wrote:saw it last week on the X...

pulls decent for an auto :fadein:

Civic 2nr wrote:saw on cross sat . car eatin tarmac. almost came out fuh yuh tho..lol

Also i hearing about skyline this & skyline that

I spoke to a very terrified woman who said that the subaru was racing with a skyline...and the rest is history

^^ that's an eyewitness account, nowhere in the account did the person say the skyline give the WRX a bad drive, the WRX driver was responsible for his own demise. The skyline man did the right thing & continued about his business!, he probably wasn't even studying him!

Its like when Stefan weaver said he streched a CBR 600 on tthe higway with is SiR :?