question about Noah's ark.............

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 15th, 2009, 9:10 pm

MG Man wrote:so u saying EVERYONE else in noah's time was defiant???
there were NO OTHER good peeps?
surely you jest

if they were so good why did they not get on the ark and save at least themselves????

God's invitation is not forceful but graceful, everyone as was in noah's time and even now will have a choice to make........
choose life or death, but i bid you choose life

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 15th, 2009, 9:50 pm

[quote="d spike"]

The story of Noah and his Ark was recorded by other cultures, Babylonian and Navajo, for example.

This information is false Moses gave the account of the first five books in the bible when he went up to mount Sinai and spent forty days with God

The account in Genesis was assembled by the Israelites,

error- MOSES but the question is when? i just answered you

There is no reference to any scripture within Genesis...

Because it is the first book, Genesis mean first and was refrenced by every other prophet, historian, to date...... even you now

This story, as the other early stories in this book, have been shown to have been borrowed from the Babylonian myths by the Israelite elders during the Exile, who were terrified that the acculturation that was taking place would obliterate the Hebrew people (exactly what the Babylonians had in mind)...
“look at our young people, walking around dressing like the Babs, their bottoms hanging out over their loincloths, speaking with the same filthy accent, greeting each other like, ’Wazzup, Babylon?’ They don’t even sound Jewish anymore...â€

slick

Postby slick » November 15th, 2009, 9:51 pm

There was no flood...

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2009, 9:57 pm

civic SIR wrote:
surely you jest

if they were so good why did they not get on the ark and save at least themselves????

God's invitation is not forceful but graceful, everyone as was in noah's time and even now will have a choice to make........

you people eh easy nah
lawd fadda

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » November 16th, 2009, 8:00 am

I NOW GET IT mg man u sly dog....

u were talkin bout noah????

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 16th, 2009, 8:10 am

I've resisted openign this topic.. now it's too many pages to read.
MG can you give me the cliff notes.Going to try to tackle this last question.
so u saying EVERYONE else in noah's time was defiant???
surely you jest

Well not actually just evil alone. They were also not of a pure line. That is to say a pure human line. Noah and his family were actually the only ones left that were not offspring spawn of fallen-angel( WHICH IS NOT A DEMON) and men. YOu're saying what?? where you see this in the bible. I don't wholly subsribe to it - and maybe I'll stop here for now.
I can further explain if you like as to why the pure line, the co-mingling of humans and fallen-angels.
just unitl this point god had been speakign through his prophets, the last of which Methuselah who lived to 969 years, to warn the people to turn from their wicked ways.So it may be that there were other pure but non-evil people whose hearts were hardened.
At the time of his death, that is when the ark came in the play.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » November 16th, 2009, 11:00 am

Water doesn’t cover the globe at present because the earth’s surface is uneven. The ocean basins sit low and the continents sit high. Some mountains are especially high and some ocean trenches are very deep.

However, if the earth’s surface was even there is enough water in the oceans to cover the globe to a depth of 2.7 km.

This suggests that, during the Flood, the ocean floor moved vertically relative to the continents.

In the first half, the pre-Flood ocean basins rose and the pre-Flood continents eroded down until water covered everything.

Then, in the second half of the Flood, other parts of the earth’s crust sank. The water flowed off our continents into new ocean basins. Movement of the earth’s crust at this time also pushed up new mountain ranges, including the one that is home to Mt Everest.

So where did all the water go? It is in the ocean.

Love it :lol: :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 16th, 2009, 11:52 am

civic SIR wrote:
surely you jest

you people eh easy nah

lawd fadda

Yuh ha' tuh know wha' bait tuh use MG, look at de whopper I ketch... :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 16th, 2009, 12:49 pm

[quote="civic SIR"][quote="d spike"]

The story of Noah and his Ark was recorded by other cultures, Babylonian and Navajo, for example.

This information is false
Says who? Have you researched it? Did you make any attempt to find out if what I said might be true? Or are you just going to repeat stuff you learned by rote from someone who did the same? Come on man...

Moses gave the account of the first five books in the bible when he went up to mount Sinai and spent forty days with God
At this point, I will desist from quoting, "This information is false." Instead I will just ask, how do you know that?

The account in Genesis was assembled by the Israelites,

error- MOSES but the question is when? i just answered you
With a response that could easily be replaced with "little green men gave it to Miriam, and she let Moses take the credit for it..." If you are responding with a factual answer, please ensure you answer contains facts.

There is no reference to any scripture within Genesis...

Because it is the first book, Genesis mean first and was refrenced by every other prophet, historian, to date...... even you now
Of course I refer to it! Was that supposed to be a point? I refer to Buddhist and Sufi writings as well, so what? When was it written? If Moses wrote it, how come this fact isn't mentioned in Exodus or Numbers or Lev. or Deut.? The writers forgot to mention this insignificant part that Moses compiled the first book of the Torah?

This story, as the other early stories in this book, have been shown to have been borrowed from the Babylonian myths by the Israelite elders during the Exile, who were terrified that the acculturation that was taking place would obliterate the Hebrew people (exactly what the Babylonians had in mind)...
“look at our young people, walking around dressing like the Babs, their bottoms hanging out over their loincloths, speaking with the same filthy accent, greeting each other like, ’Wazzup, Babylon?’ They don’t even sound Jewish anymore...â€

d spike

Postby d spike » November 16th, 2009, 9:37 pm

Okay, then...
If one is willing to accept literally the accounts of the early stories in the Book of Genesis (the first eleven chapters), then perhaps the following questions could be attempted for the benefit of those who aren’t sure... or just don’t.

Let’s start with Noah. Was Noah disobeying God when he only took one pair of each animal and bird into the Ark? (Gen 7:1 – 9)
When Noah offered a sacrifice after the Flood (Gen 8:20), didn’t he disobey God again? (Gen 8:17)
So all mankind is descended from Noah... does that mean incest is or was acceptable?
Noah cursed his son and proclaimed Ham’s son, Canaan, to be a slave (Gen 9:25 -27). Does this mean Slavery can be acceptable?

Take a close look at the first two chapters in Genesis. Which did God create first, the animals and plants, or Man? Somebody obviously couldn’t make up his mind (Gen 1:11 – 30; 2:7-19).

d spike

Postby d spike » November 16th, 2009, 9:43 pm

civic SIR wrote:
surely you jest

You need to ask yourself if God created humanity for a reason. If so why would he lose his "infinite" patience and hit the 'delete' button? Is this the same God who sent His only Son to die to save humanity?

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 17th, 2009, 8:34 am

d spike wrote:
civic SIR wrote:
surely you jest

You need to ask yourself if God created humanity for a reason. If so why would he lose his "infinite" patience and hit the 'delete' button? Is this the same God who sent His only Son to die to save humanity?

you need to go on to page 9 and read it over, God just did not hit "delete"
but provided a way for repentance/escape. The people all had an opportunity to get on the ark but they chose to die because of thier disbelief in unproven rain, for years Noah preached repentance and provided and invitation. Jesus referred to his return to the time as was in Noah's day, but who will hear his word?

You seem to be familiar with some parts of the bible so remember the city of Niniveh and the prophet Jonah, he was sent to preach repentance just as Noah but the people repented and was saved the opposite of Noah's time- evidence that God is not willing that any should perish but come to repentance. He can present the message to you but not force you to accept, freedom of will is yours alone, he cannot force you to believe him, that's where faith come into play. I can tell you that beyond that corner is a cliff where you will fall off but I cannot force you not to go, I can tell you that there is going to be a judgement but its up to you to believe

"Ifinite" love, patience is an element of love, Correction is an element of love. If you see that your son is about to do something wrong won't you correct him? Elements of love, buy one man's sin all was condemmed but through one man's sacrifice all might have eternal life- proble fixed

It was far easier for God to create a new earth but he chose to deal with the problem of sin by giving himself a ransom for you and me. I thank God that he did

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 17th, 2009, 12:03 pm

d spike wrote:Okay, then...
If one is willing to accept literally the accounts of the early stories in the Book of Genesis (the first eleven chapters), then perhaps the following questions could be attempted for the benefit of those who aren’t sure... or just don’t.

Let’s start with Noah. Was Noah disobeying God when he only took one pair of each animal and bird into the Ark? (Gen 7:1 – 9)

What??? go back and read it over, seven pairs of clean and two pairs of unclean. I hope you are not referring to pairs as one, then we will have to give you some english lessons my friend

When Noah offered a sacrifice after the Flood (Gen 8:20), didn’t he disobey God again? (Gen 8:17)

What ??? how??? you need to understand the elements of the scantuary service and the symbolism of the atar, smoke, sacrifice etc.

So all mankind is descended from Noah... does that mean incest is or was acceptable?

All mankind was decended from Adam and Eve, in the ark was noah's daughter in laws were present as well........

Noah cursed his son and proclaimed Ham’s son, Canaan, to be a slave (Gen 9:25 -27). Does this mean Slavery can be acceptable?

Slavery was a culture, When Jesus came he proclaimed that there is neither bond nor free but one in Jesus Christ........

Take a close look at the first two chapters in Genesis. Which did God create first, the animals and plants, or Man? Somebody obviously couldn’t make up his mind (Gen 1:11 – 30; 2:7-19).

^^ Really my friend its seems that you are unclear, the first chapter is historical and follows the chain of events in creation from day one to seven. Man was created in the sixth day after everything was created. the second chapter explains the eden Garden and the time God took to create man. If you notice that in chapter 1 states that we were made in God's image but something spectacular happens in 2 he goes into details. It says that instead of calling things into being- the earth, seas, animal, plants GOD stops and uses his hands to create us in his image, that is Awesome, this indicates that he took the time to be intimate with us, the forming us from the dust of the ground of which we return and the breath of life. He simply could have called us into being as the animals but he wanted to show us the closeness and importance of ourselves. the God of the universe taking his hands to create us. Amazing!!

Since you know bible my friend let me ask you is the soucre of light the sun?

Postby Razkal » November 17th, 2009, 1:14 pm

^umm, nuclear reactions....thats a FACT, elaborately dumbed down, but thats the simplest way to answer your question.

i actually feel nauseous reading through these threads at the level of delusion experienced by some...

Postby X2 » November 17th, 2009, 1:22 pm

Bow down to RAH... the Sun god... (Light comes from RAH farts lit on fire by lazer beams from space)

Worship him by bringing X2 gorgeous virgins* slathered in hawaiian tropic.

*Ok... they don't need to be virgins.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 17th, 2009, 9:15 pm

civic SIR wrote:You need to ask yourself if God created humanity for a reason. If so why would he lose his "infinite" patience and hit the 'delete' button? Is this the same God who sent His only Son to die to save humanity?

but provided a way for repentance/escape. The people all had an opportunity to get on the ark but they chose to die because of thier disbelief in unproven rain, for years Noah preached repentance and provided and invitation.
Page 9? You mean all that unsupported talk about scientists in the time of Noah, rain never falling before, Noah preaching to the people, and people having a choice of going aboard the Ark? Where did this information come from? Not from the Book of Genesis... more likely North American religious cartoons. You can't expect anyone to take you seriously.

Jesus referred to his return to the time as was in Noah's day, but who will hear his word?
Those who listen, but this is so hard to do when every time you tune in, you hear some absolute nonsense being spouted (see above), or you see the most un-christianlike behaviour being performed by same self-professed Christians. Gandhi said, "I like your Christ, but I do not like your Christians." St. Francis Xavier complained that he had to keep his new Christian converts away from old Christians.
Christ's message was one of Love, but if you re-read the posts presented in this thread, you wouldn't believe this.

You seem to be familiar with some parts of the bible
You think???

so remember the city of Niniveh and the prophet Jonah
Yes, another story that even the Jews accept as a fictional account. But as with all the stories, the meanings are important.

he was sent to preach repentance just as Noah
Where does it say that Noah preached?

but the people repented and was saved the opposite of Noah's time- evidence that God is not willing that any should perish but come to repentance. He can present the message to you but not force you to accept, freedom of will is yours alone, he cannot force you to believe him, that's where faith come into play. I can tell you that beyond that corner is a cliff where you will fall off but I cannot force you not to go, I can tell you that there is going to be a judgement but its up to you to believe
You are preaching to the choir at this point... but basing your argument on points that can't be shown to exist - except what you imagine it to mean - makes your case illogical, irrational. People who drop French phrases in their speech to make themselves seem sophisticated, only end up appearing like having a problem using English and wanting to show off their ability to mouth foreign phrases, mais oui? In the same way, bringing people to Christ by yammering about the bible, especially when you know little about what it is about, will just drive others away.

[/quote]

d spike

Postby d spike » November 17th, 2009, 9:40 pm

civic SIR wrote:"Ifinite" love, patience is an element of love, Correction is an element of love. If you see that your son is about to do something wrong won't you correct him? Elements of love, buy one man's sin all was condemmed but through one man's sacrifice all might have eternal life- proble fixed

It was far easier for God to create a new earth but he chose to deal with the problem of sin by giving himself a ransom for you and me. I thank God that he did

This is all very nice, but unfortunately for your previous argument, this forms the case for "individual salvation" (each man having a choice). The story of Noah goes against this, as God wipes out all humanity except Noah and his brood. And one would hate the idea of believing in a God who would finally get fed-up and terminate the existence of people because they weren't listening - which part of this is Love? Why did these people not deserve the chance of having God's Son walk amongst them? To argue this point (The story of Noah being real, please don't fragment your argument) is to claim that God changed His mind about how people should be dealt with - in other words, He was doing it wrong, or less than perfectly.

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 17th, 2009, 10:19 pm

d spike wrote:
civic SIR wrote:You need to ask yourself if God created humanity for a reason. If so why would he lose his "infinite" patience and hit the 'delete' button? Is this the same God who sent His only Son to die to save humanity?

but provided a way for repentance/escape. The people all had an opportunity to get on the ark but they chose to die because of thier disbelief in unproven rain, for years Noah preached repentance and provided and invitation.
Page 9? You mean all that unsupported talk about scientists in the time of Noah, rain never falling before, Noah preaching to the people, and people having a choice of going aboard the Ark? Where did this information come from? Not from the Book of Genesis... more likely North American religious cartoons. You can't expect anyone to take you seriously.

The account in Genisis 2:5-6 states clearly that A MIST CAME UP FROM THE GROUND as rain was not present

Jesus referred to his return to the time as was in Noah's day, but who will hear his word?
Those who listen, but this is so hard to do when every time you tune in, you hear some absolute nonsense being spouted (see above), or you see the most un-christianlike behaviour being performed by same self-professed Christians. Gandhi said, "I like your Christ, but I do not like your Christians." St. Francis Xavier complained that he had to keep his new Christian converts away from old Christians.
Christ's message was one of Love, but if you re-read the posts presented in this thread, you wouldn't believe this.

Christ message was of love, again elements of love is correction, dicipline, understanding, faith. Did not Jesus condem the Scribes and Pharisees for not beleiving and teaching the people wrongfully?

so remember the city of Niniveh and the prophet Jonah
Yes, another story that even the Jews accept as a fictional account. But as with all the stories, the meanings are important.

Ancient Nineveh's mound-ruins of Kouyunjik and Nabī Yūnus are located on a level part of the plain near the junction of the Tigris and the Khosr Rivers within an 1,800-acre (7 km2) area circumscribed by a 12-kilometre (7.5 mi) brick rampart. This whole extensive space is now one immense area of ruins overlaid in parts by new suburbs of the city of Mosul

he was sent to preach repentance just as Noah
Where does it say that Noah preached?

the salvation message was given to Adam and Eve as soon as they sinned Gen 3. Noah was righteous before the Lord, you cannot be righteous without testifying of GOD

but the people repented and was saved the opposite of Noah's time- evidence that God is not willing that any should perish but come to repentance. He can present the message to you but not force you to accept, freedom of will is yours alone, he cannot force you to believe him, that's where faith come into play. I can tell you that beyond that corner is a cliff where you will fall off but I cannot force you not to go, I can tell you that there is going to be a judgement but its up to you to believe
You are preaching to the choir at this point... but basing your argument on points that can't be shown to exist - except what you imagine it to mean - makes your case illogical, irrational. People who drop French phrases in their speech to make themselves seem sophisticated, only end up appearing like having a problem using English and wanting to show off their ability to mouth foreign phrases, mais oui? In the same way, bringing people to Christ by yammering about the bible, especially when you know little about what it is about, will just drive others away.

The bible is the only source that reveals God to his people

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 17th, 2009, 10:31 pm

d spike wrote:
civic SIR wrote:"Ifinite" love, patience is an element of love, Correction is an element of love. If you see that your son is about to do something wrong won't you correct him? Elements of love, buy one man's sin all was condemmed but through one man's sacrifice all might have eternal life- proble fixed

This is all very nice, but unfortunately for your previous argument, this forms the case for "individual salvation" (each man having a choice). The story of Noah goes against this, as God wipes out all humanity except Noah and his brood. And one would hate the idea of believing in a God who would finally get fed-up and terminate the existence of people because they weren't listening - which part of this is Love? Why did these people not deserve the chance of having God's Son walk amongst them? To argue this point (The story of Noah being real, please don't fragment your argument) is to claim that God changed His mind about how people should be dealt with - in other words, He was doing it wrong, or less than perfectly.

Salvation is individual: Everyone has a choice. the story of Noah is so relevant today, the bible says that it greived his heart to have made man, they cetainly would have done the same thing to Jesus the Jews did when he walked on earth, crucify him. if you recall the people had much more than Jesus at that time. They were direct decendants of Adam and so had first hand knowledge of God and what happend in eden, they knew the salvation story better than us. In addition, the Garden of Eden was still there with the Cheribums and flaming sword to remind men of what they had and could still hope for. the story of Noah cements the fact as highlighted by Jesus that some will not believe and carry on their life with disregard for their creator. It also proves that GOD is never changing and there will be a final calling for those who really Love Jesus to be saved from this runaway world to a better one.

Postby MG Man » November 17th, 2009, 10:56 pm

civic SIR wrote:God just did not hit "delete"

did this include the Maori people in New Zealand, the Aboriginals in Australia, native american indians and the various tribes throughout Africa??????

Postby wagonrunner » November 17th, 2009, 11:03 pm

to all,
you need to watch this movie. :rofl:
yes it is applicable. :mrgreen:

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » November 17th, 2009, 11:24 pm

I don't want us to get carried away here, rom 6:23 says that the wages of sin is death and goes on to say that the gift of God is eternal. God is love but sin brings death. the garden of Eden and man was created perfect until sin came and deteiroated life. Our hope is not for this corrupted life but for the one to come with the one who demonstrated the ultimate display of Love for all who believe.

There will be a judgement as indicated by David in his Psalms, Daniel in his visions, Jesus and his disciples, Paul the roman and John the reverlator. the Bible cries of mercy and judgement which met at the cross.

The flood did happen, there is proof of the tower of Babel constructed after the flood:http://christiananswers.net/q-abr/abr-a021.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tower_of_Babel

Sodom and Gommorah was destroyed:
http://www.bibleplus.org/discoveries/sodomfound.htm

Nineveh was a real city cited by the bible and quran
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nineveh

Jesus says that he is coming again to give his reward to everyone, life or death, but i beg you choose life

Because something never happened before it does not mean that it cannot happen, the wonders of faith. After the ark had been built 450 feet long, 75 feet wide, and 45 feet high. (Gen. 6:14-16) the people witnessed the miracles of animals finding their way into the ark, they still had seven days to repent but did not, it was then that GOD closed the ark door
“It was by faith that Noah built an ark to save his family from the flood. He obeyed God, Who warned him about something that had never happened before. By his faith he condemned the rest of the world and was made right in God's sight.â€

Postby MG Man » November 17th, 2009, 11:30 pm

civic SIR wrote:The only truly accurate account is the one which God reveals to us in Genesis through the pen of Moses.

why that one, and none of the others?

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2009, 11:36 pm

civic SIR wrote:The only truly accurate account is the one which God reveals to us in Genesis through the pen of Moses.

why that one, and none of the others?

Because ,

God said so.

And hes the man.Or the God

I dunno na

I just reading Civic SIR post where he saying God wouldnt do this, God wouldnt do that, God wouldnt kill innocent children, God gave people a chance to repent, but by people...that mean people who were physically close to the Ark and could access it? or God give the whole world a chance to access the Ark

and the justification for most of his arguement is

God said this, Jesus said that, oh..and wikipedia.

After all this, where is God these days?

Taking a big sleep after the "flood" ?

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 17th, 2009, 11:47 pm

since god is omnipotent maybe the story of noah actually happened to different people all over the world making multiple arks

again its down to translation or interpretation

Postby MG Man » November 17th, 2009, 11:49 pm

Wizard wrote:since god is omnipotent maybe the story of noah actually happened to different people all over the world making multiple arks

again its down to translation or interpretation

that not what the bible says
now you makin up your own bible babble :?

Wizard

Postby Wizard » November 17th, 2009, 11:57 pm

not necessarily

is it not a fact that most of the bible was written in an archaic language

some of what is translated can easily become interpretation

Postby Chimera » November 17th, 2009, 11:59 pm

Wizard wrote:since god is omnipotent

and who say he omnipotent?

God?