Local Rock Music & Bands - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby gt4tified » August 24th, 2009, 1:49 am

Hook, according to de wifey, who has been there and back, the reason that local rock music can't go anywhere is because were still stuck doing 90% covers and 10% original work. The soca artistes have it in reverse, so that's why most trinis decide to wave they rag over shaking they head....anyday!

But I am glad for bands like Orange Sky and Jointpop who try to be different and have learnt that in order to make the music work, you don't always have to be the competition!

But intrigue me and tell me of these holes in the basket you speak of.

*cues Orange Sky's remake of "Is there anyone there?"*

Postby Hook » August 24th, 2009, 6:59 am

your "wifey" has had a very limited exposure to the local rock scene of late...10 years ago that response would've been applicable...right now of close to 25 active bands, the only cover bands that I know of on the scene are Burn, Black Rose and Tremor

and there's nothing "original" about "Jump and wave X16, canaval is bacchanal X16" as a verse for a song....Trinis just rather take the easy way out and the sheep that pay for tickets to these events as opposed to listening to songs with chord structure and lyrical content keep feeding the beast

and don't gimme that crap about how it's noise and dem guitars and the distortion blah blah blah...we still crumping to Lil' John ent? Unconditional Love from Machel still have an 80's metal solo in the intro ent? Kees still does a soca version of Moonchild as his intro sometimes ent?
don't even give me that nonsense about "but I doh headbang"....I've never headbanged....matter of fact thay're maybe 4 or 5 foreign bands I listen to and the local guys are mostly buddies I used to jam with
I don't even listen to rock music!
everything ppl come with to NOT support the local scene is just poor excuses...my take on it it simply "to each his own"...I can go to a rock show take in some decent local talent and get a beer at a decent price and reach home safe 100% of the time...they can walk with their cooler and enjoy their soca and dancehall with a side order of robbery and stabwound...I good papi, I real good

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 26th, 2009, 9:22 pm

Hook wrote:your "wifey" has had a very limited exposure to the local rock scene of late...10 years ago that response would've been applicable...right now of close to 25 active bands, the only cover bands that I know of on the scene are Burn, Black Rose and Tremor

and there's nothing "original" about "Jump and wave X16, canaval is bacchanal X16" as a verse for a song....Trinis just rather take the easy way out and the sheep that pay for tickets to these events as opposed to listening to songs with chord structure and lyrical content keep feeding the beast

and don't gimme that crap about how it's noise and dem guitars and the distortion blah blah blah...we still crumping to Lil' John ent? Unconditional Love from Machel still have an 80's metal solo in the intro ent? Kees still does a soca version of Moonchild as his intro sometimes ent?
don't even give me that nonsense about "but I doh headbang"....I've never headbanged....matter of fact thay're maybe 4 or 5 foreign bands I listen to and the local guys are mostly buddies I used to jam with
everything ppl come with to NOT support the local scene is just poor excuses...my take on it it simply "to each his own"...I can go to a rock show take in some decent local talent and get a beer at a decent price and reach home safe 100% of the time...they can walk with their cooler and enjoy their soca and dancehall with a side order of robbery and stabwound..I good papi, I real good

Postby gt4tified » August 26th, 2009, 10:47 pm

Hook wrote:your "wifey" has had a very limited exposure to the local rock scene of late...10 years ago that response would've been applicable...right now of close to 25 active bands, the only cover bands that I know of on the scene are Burn, Black Rose and Tremor

everything ppl come with to NOT support the local scene is just poor excuses...my take on it it simply "to each his own"...I can go to a rock show take in some decent local talent and get a beer at a decent price and reach home safe 100% of the time...they can walk with their cooler and enjoy their soca and dancehall with a side order of robbery and stabwound...I good papi, I real good

Why are you turning this into a local rock vs. soca thing? I wasn't....careful eh, yuh on the brink of emo *sigh*

On your first paragraph you are prolly right...but thaz because she and I would sit and take in a good solo artist or 2 man band doing covers (eg. Valpark Chinese Rest.) than hear the crap that most local rock bands spurn...and yes I do listen to their music, and yes I do BUY (read: support) their music (as much as I can tolerate anyway), but as I said, that was her opinion.

Honestly, I don't think the local guys sit down and spend enough time to properly construct music....its just what they and their groupies think sound good and "yeah, we going wid dat!". Others start a song nice, nice and then all of a sudden, the viagra kick in and activates their animal instinct....and is noise (which has nothing to do with distortion or any other effects).

Notable exceptions to this however are Incert Coin and Orange Sky imho.... Rango Tango I am currently observing.

Postby buzz » August 27th, 2009, 8:50 am

woogoosh ah late for wok to read tru all dis

when ah reach in d company i'll waste their bandwith :mrgreen: :arrow:

trdboy

Postby trdboy » August 27th, 2009, 10:11 am

orange sky late 90s was mess, is only in the last couple of years they start playing okish music............skid is good but after a while the white boy voice gets annoying like blink 182 and all that other teenybopper bands

INSERT COIN IS THE BEST LOCAL BAND I'VE HEARD!!
back in the day rumours were good
burn and blizzard as well......them fellas use to play some wicked maiden!!

Postby buzz » August 27th, 2009, 10:34 am

erm the reason i knock local bands is because of their lack of effort... even if you play crappy music @ least make it sound good, solid, tight, professional for eg

TaF not my cup of tea @ all but they sound tight, their music quality it great, they have an awesome stage presence and stage act and just because of that i would stand thru an entire TaF show and not be bored

coin on the other hand was tight to an extent but couldn't hold my interest for more than 2 songs :?

as far as originals go alot of bands locally IMO really don't put to much ideas into their music hence apart from sounding crappy (skill wise) its just fcukin boring listening to basically the same song over and over

another thing many local artists don't know their limits (or delude themselves that they have reached a certain limit) for eg again... to many times i've heard guitarists break out into "solos" out of key :? they strike notes wildly and more than half of the time don't even sound clean :roll:

rythm guitarists palm mute crappily and scratchy, drummers try to double kick and you hear the beats slippin, singers sing out of key and try to strike some notes they cannot reach etc etc etc

hook had a very good point tho either you support the bands that have talent and potential or be a cnut and say ALL local bands are shiddy and would never make it and delude yourself into thinking you "could have done better" blah blah blah

*lights cig*

*hits teh play on orange sky's hard slap* :arrow:

Postby buzz » August 27th, 2009, 10:40 am

i mean if you if like and say that band X lets say for eg metallica is your inspiration more over hammet why don't you try to emulate him skill wise?

don't say you oh love hammet and dont even know a fcukin scale :arrow:

Postby st7 » August 27th, 2009, 12:33 pm

trdboy wrote:skid is good but after a while the white boy voice gets annoying like blink 182

i resent that statement :(

Postby Hook » August 27th, 2009, 1:14 pm

gt4tified wrote:

Why are you turning this into a local rock vs. soca thing? I wasn't....careful eh, yuh on the brink of emo *sigh*

On your first paragraph you are prolly right...but thaz because she and I would sit and take in a good solo artist or 2 man band doing covers (eg. Valpark Chinese Rest.) than hear the crap that most local rock bands spurn...and yes I do listen to their music, and yes I do BUY (read: support) their music (as much as I can tolerate anyway), but as I said, that was her opinion.

Honestly, I don't think the local guys sit down and spend enough time to properly construct music....its just what they and their groupies think sound good and "yeah, we going wid dat!". Others start a song nice, nice and then all of a sudden, the viagra kick in and activates their animal instinct....and is noise (which has nothing to do with distortion or any other effects).

Notable exceptions to this however are Incert Coin and Orange Sky imho.... Rango Tango I am currently observing.

Once again, u generalizing based on a VERY limited listen of what's out there...last night was a serious session, Studio Lounge hosted 12 The Band and then at Corner Bar, Chaos Room did an acoustic set followed by Blood Red Clover...3 amazing bands, 3 completely different styles...and here u are stating your 3 interests; a band that doesn't exist anymore, a band whose style has completely changed in the last 5 years and a band stuck on the transitional 80's/90's trend...wow.

I'm getting the impression you're condemning the other bands based on your own listening preference. You're just like the rest of the pretenders, the so-called "music lovers" who only have a few kinds of music in their collection. I've seen your kind before, and there's no reasoning...I done here oui, enjoy your bubble

Postby A172 » August 27th, 2009, 1:18 pm

haydn28 wrote:skid nevelly , orange sky, were very original and not failures , though we live in a society that sees them as such.

i used to play lead guitar in a rock band but quickly enough i saw it was a waste of time in trinidad, is better yuh play chutney an soca in dis place :|

it have ah band i tryin to remember the name ....2 brothers who REAL good on lead guitars , one of the brothers was in a band called beer foot ,and they basest is ah fella name 'Jiggy' dem fellas was original and real good , ent hear ddem in ah while.

de phoq is this sh1t :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby gt4tified » August 27th, 2009, 9:56 pm

Hook wrote:Once again, u generalizing based on a VERY limited listen of what's out there...last night was a serious session, Studio Lounge hosted 12 The Band and then at Corner Bar, Chaos Room did an acoustic set followed by Blood Red Clover...3 amazing bands, 3 completely different styles...and here u are stating your 3 interests; a band that doesn't exist anymore, a band whose style has completely changed in the last 5 years and a band stuck on the transitional 80's/90's trend...wow.

I'm getting the impression you're condemning the other bands based on your own listening preference. You're just like the rest of the pretenders, the so-called "music lovers" who only have a few kinds of music in their collection. I've seen your kind before, and there's no reasoning...I done here oui, enjoy your bubble

Yuh know what, I ent even going and bother to retort, cuz you prolly only know local rock music from when yuh was born, which was like 1990. My 3 stated interests are, as you said, mine. That does not mean that I don't listen to other bands....I may not get around as much as the north-living, well-to-do folk, the central kulie that I am. I am in no way condemning other bands, but the music that they push out in general.

And just to use your words to draw an analogy:

Pink Floyyd.....a band that doesn't exist anymore
Sting....a band whose style has completely changed in the last 5 years
U2....a band stuck on the transitional 80's/90's trend

But hey....nobody likes their music right?

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 28th, 2009, 9:05 am

A172 wrote:
haydn28 wrote:skid nevelly , orange sky, were very original and not failures , though we live in a society that sees them as such.

i used to play lead guitar in a rock band but quickly enough i saw it was a waste of time in trinidad, is better yuh play chutney an soca in dis place :|

it have ah band i tryin to remember the name ....2 brothers who REAL good on lead guitars , one of the brothers was in a band called beer foot ,and they basest is ah fella name 'Jiggy' dem fellas was original and real good , ent hear ddem in ah while.

de phoq is this sh1t :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

jump an wave :|

Postby Hook » August 28th, 2009, 9:21 am

gt4tified wrote:
Yuh know what, I ent even going and bother to retort, cuz you prolly only know local rock music from when yuh was born, which was like 1990. My 3 stated interests are, as you said, mine. That does not mean that I don't listen to other bands....I may not get around as much as the north-living, well-to-do folk, the central kulie that I am. I am in no way condemning other bands, but the music that they push out in general.

I feel sorry for you. Ignorant AND presumptuous. What an awful combination. Don't reproduce, please.

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » August 28th, 2009, 9:24 am

Hook wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

I feel sorry for you. Ignorant AND presumptuous. What an awful combination. Don't reproduce, please.

:? :? :shock:

Postby Razkal » August 28th, 2009, 9:32 am

Hook, yuh have real belly to still be posting in this thread yes :lol:

Postby Hook » August 28th, 2009, 9:55 am

Razkal wrote:Hook, yuh have real belly to still be posting in this thread yes :lol:

whatcha mean yo?

bootmee

Postby bootmee » August 28th, 2009, 12:38 pm

sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE. :twisted:

Postby buzz » August 28th, 2009, 12:50 pm

Postby A172 » August 28th, 2009, 1:13 pm

bootmee wrote:sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE. :twisted:

lmao :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby gt4tified » August 29th, 2009, 12:25 am

Soundwave wrote:Sting is a band now?

No, he does just go on stage and sing to back up tracks on CD. The rest of de ppl who does be on stage holding instruments is just props.

Hook, take win fadda...live strong.

Postby Hook » August 29th, 2009, 1:28 am

Win what? Nobody's fighting or competing for anything. You just haven't come up with a valid point yet.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 29th, 2009, 5:36 am

A172 wrote:
bootmee wrote:sexy_ke70_chick get yuh dutty stinkin a$$ to ZEN or something similar. There you can hear your dutty ass Jamaican music. Stay away from ROCK vibes WE DONT WANT YOU THERE. :twisted:

lmao :lol: :lol: :lol:

well said... :lol:

Postby Razkal » August 29th, 2009, 11:17 am

Hook wrote:
Razkal wrote:Hook, yuh have real belly to still be posting in this thread yes :lol:

whatcha mean yo?

the lack of understanding/appreciation in the thread and the stereotyping is pretty annoying :|

Postby gt4tified » August 29th, 2009, 1:54 pm

Lady Gaga ftw eh Razkal. Cho yuh frame. :lol:

Postby Hook » August 29th, 2009, 3:04 pm

Razkal wrote:
Hook wrote:

whatcha mean yo?

the lack of understanding/appreciation in the thread and the stereotyping is pretty annoying :|

*bleh* I've learned to filter it out

Ping and dem playing in Shakers 2nite...some "Big Tuttuts Koomari Orchestra"...methinx Seven Year Itch too, if I'm not mistaken...u passin' een or wha?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 29th, 2009, 3:08 pm

Just Tuttuts tonight . Itch is on September 5th .

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 29th, 2009, 3:26 pm

Hook wrote:
haydn28 wrote:it have ah band i tryin to remember the name ....2 brothers who REAL good on lead guitars , one of the brothers was in a band called beer foot ,and they basest is ah fella name 'Jiggy' dem fellas was original and real good , ent hear ddem in ah while.

u talking about Abbadon...they back out soon...playing La Cabana this Thursday and then Sunday at G-Wars

I never been in Bara Bara*ahem* I mean Bravo Bravo tho..so whoever u see wasn't moi

jiggy is rel good !

Postby st7 » August 29th, 2009, 3:46 pm

check islandnoise.com for more shows n stuff lol

guitar wars is tmr at shipwreck