TINT LAWS IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

ProtonPowder

Re: TINT LAWS IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby ProtonPowder » November 15th, 2024, 11:47 pm

6k is for the brand name tint that has UV and IR blocking from a reputable installer.

You could still get plain dyed film for less than 1k installed in dozens of places around the country.

Postby X_Factor » November 16th, 2024, 3:14 am

You can buy expensive brands on ebay
Closeoutmods is the seller
Just measure up and buy to suit
Air blue 80 is not that special when u look at total heat rejection compared to a dyed 80%

You can see it on their site

I used xpel and was really impressed with the level of heat rejection
Mind you i only did front windshield and doors
Back doors have tinted glass and measured around 22%

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2024, 6:56 am

3M any good? Been thinking to import 3M and do my vehicle. I want clear because I don't want headache but want the heat rejection because this heat too ridiculous now.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 16th, 2024, 9:31 am

nervewrecker wrote:3M any good? Been thinking to import 3M and do my vehicle. I want clear because I don't want headache but want the heat rejection because this heat too ridiculous now.
3M, Xpel and Llumar are very good brands.

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2025, 12:10 pm

Anybody get the Tint exemption?

Boi that sun burning my hands and face so i end up getting a medical.

10% Front Windows
15% Rear Windows and Rear Windscreen
50% Front Windscreen

But i find that 50% too bright.

Are there exemption that allow you to go darker or is what i listed the standard medical percentage?

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2025, 12:46 pm

MaxPower wrote:Anybody get the Tint exemption?

10% Front Windows
50% Front Windscreen

Are there exemption that allow you to go darker or is what i listed the standard medical percentage?
Only exemption I see regularly is Police officers in their private vehicles flexing with blackout tint on all their glass

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2025, 12:50 pm

10% Front Windows
50% Front Windscreen

Tint as dark as you want. Use a high quality tint for the heat rejection and UV protection tho.

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2025, 1:25 pm

10% Front Windows
50% Front Windscreen

Max how you got a tint exemption, only the transport commissioner can issue that and all medicals under scrutiny right now concerning that

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2025, 2:08 pm

hover11 wrote:Max how you got a tint exemption, only the transport commissioner can issue that and all medicals under scrutiny right now concerning that

J,

I wasn’t feeling too well so i got a lift to the doctor to get the medical. The doctor and staff was very accommodating. My driver, who coincidently works in the licensing office, submitted the forms in the drop box for me.

Boi i was so thankful for their acts of kindness that day that i sent them some tokens of appreciation and then boom, it was ready for collection in about a month.

Postby hover11 » August 7th, 2025, 2:15 pm

hover11 wrote:Max how you got a tint exemption, only the transport commissioner can issue that and all medicals under scrutiny right now concerning that

J,

I wasn’t feeling too well so i got a lift to the doctor to get the medical. The doctor and staff was very accommodating. My driver, who coincidently works in the licensing office, submitted the forms in the drop box for me.

Boi i was so thankful for their acts of kindness that day that i sent them some tokens of appreciation and then boom, it was ready for collection in about a month.
Awesome man glad u got through consider yourself lucky men apply for tint exemptions since last year and still waiting on a response lol

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2025, 2:19 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Tint as dark as you want. Use a high quality tint for the heat rejection and UV protection tho.

j.o.e,

You cannot tint as dark as you want.

I had Xpel XR plus, $4000 tint, excellent tint, 20% before the exemption.

When i got the exemption, i didn’t tint over but was stopped in a roadblock and was rightfully warned that the exemption had 50% and not 20%.

So you cannot tint as dark as you want. Anyways i tinted over with a diff $4K tint, Nano Flex, in accordance with the exemption, but the 50% front makes the car lighter inside and the sun still burning me.

Asking how to get 20% front windscreen legal.

Postby mero » August 7th, 2025, 2:20 pm

Max like yuh rolling with the fire now

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2025, 2:37 pm

Haven’t encountered a roadblock with tint meters. Various vehicles, no tint exemption. Willing to get tint exemption but will attempt when I swap out vehicles this year.
Sometimes I don’t have the time or patience to deal with public servants so I’m taking my chances for now. Been doing this for years by the way

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2025, 2:39 pm

j.o.e wrote:Haven’t encountered a roadblock with tint meters. Various vehicles, no tint exemption. Willing to get tint exemption but will attempt when I swap out vehicles this year.
Sometimes I don’t have the time or patience to deal with public servants so I’m taking my chances for now. Been doing this for years by the way

Edit: a bredrin got his exemption because his business means he regular accepts payments in his vehicle. So maybe this is an option for some of you

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2025, 3:55 pm

I have exemption for full g5 all around including full front windscreen.

Postby mero » August 7th, 2025, 4:04 pm

The good old g5 days. If police shake you down, collect a $200 ticket and put it back the next day.

But g5 is a hazard to the driver too esp when parking and driving in the night. And black out tint vehicles does make ppl nervous too

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2025, 4:20 pm

It have reverse camera and 30k lumen lights now.

Yuh living in the past.

But yea It impossible for anyone else to drive my vehicles in the night

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2025, 4:31 pm

Be careful with using medical reason for getting dark tint eh.

Some idiots have done that and lost their FUL. U can't say u have eye problems to get tint and then saying your eyes good when is time to renew ful

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2025, 4:43 pm

Chimera wrote:It have reverse camera and 30k lumen lights now.

Yuh living in the past.

360 deg cam now. Even better. Side glass used to be pressure in the night on a particular car for me

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2025, 4:45 pm

For real 360 cam in plenty new vehicle. Like I living in the past myself.

Postby j.o.e » August 7th, 2025, 4:53 pm

Chimera wrote:Be careful with using medical reason for getting dark tint eh.

Some idiots have done that and lost their FUL. U can't say u have eye problems to get tint and then saying your eyes good when is time to renew ful

Good point but I eh feel our public service connected so but it is something to consider.

Postby pugboy » August 7th, 2025, 5:32 pm

lemme address the elephant in the room

what are the various “reasons” ppl get tint exemptions ?

Postby mero » August 7th, 2025, 5:33 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Chimera wrote:It have reverse camera and 30k lumen lights now.

Yuh living in the past.

360 deg cam now. Even better. Side glass used to be pressure in the night on a particular car for me
Maybe to straighten up or avoid hitting objects but no camera system beats good old side mirrors for me. Them camera does make me feel like I malfunctioning

Postby redmanjp » August 7th, 2025, 5:34 pm

j.o.e wrote:
So you cannot tint as dark as you want. Anyways i tinted over with a diff $4K tint, Nano Flex, in accordance with the exemption, but the 50% front makes the car lighter inside and the sun still burning me.

Asking how to get 20% front windscreen legal.

u should look at the UV protection, not just how dark it is. and maybe put on some sunscreen if it still burning :lol:

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2025, 6:13 pm

mero wrote:The good old g5 days. If police shake you down, collect a $200 ticket and put it back the next day.

But g5 is a hazard to the driver too esp when parking and driving in the night. And black out tint vehicles does make ppl nervous too
This.First time I put G5 on the EK 3,I bounce down the mailbox while reversing

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2025, 6:18 pm

Go on ministry of works website it have a list of reasons.

TINT LAWS IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby MaxPower » August 7th, 2025, 7:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:[
u should look at the UV protection, not just how dark it is. and maybe put on some sunscreen if it still burning

Darker tint does help with heat.

Major difference when the sun hits your hands on the steering if you have a high quality 20 % vs let’s say a 15 % front windscreen.

Postby Chimera » August 7th, 2025, 8:23 pm

sometime in May i get stop in a major roadblock, about 30-40 police stopping almost all vehicles.

bout 5-6 of them wanted to ticket me or make me strip tint

when the actual person who hadda charge come and run the license and see the scene he apologize and let me go and say sorry for wasting my time.

Postby matr1x » August 7th, 2025, 8:34 pm

Why police need to see in car?

Allyuh remember the uwi girl the policeman rape in caroni bird sanctuary carport while the female officer stand guard?

The police worse than the criminals they claim to ketch

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 8th, 2025, 5:44 am

10% Front Windows
50% Front Windscreen

just stop driving. it already have enough idiots on the road without you adding one more.