The OFFICIAL Cologne/Perfume Collection thread.

Postby X_Factor » February 23rd, 2010, 11:39 pm

wen u open the
Bvlgari Pour Homme by Bvlgari

give us a lil review

headin up miami later this yr and would be adding to my set

Postby dougla_boy » February 24th, 2010, 11:45 am

i have

CK euphoria
curve d gold one
addidas for work

past
CH 212
CH doh even rem wat name, had 3 bottles of d same

want real bad
CK eternity

Picasso

Postby Picasso » February 24th, 2010, 11:59 am

I've gotta get another bottle of IceBerg..!! The scent just lasts hours..

I'm not a big Colonge so I won't say I have a collection..

212 Men
DNA
Perry Ellis 360 Orange
Perry Ellis 360 Red
Bvlgari Black
Bvlgari Blue
Burberry ( greyish black bottle )

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 24th, 2010, 5:12 pm

RASC, ever try skyboxing in colognes?
your views

N3M3SIS

Postby N3M3SIS » February 24th, 2010, 5:25 pm

I only buy deigner colognes. Too many people in Trinidad have the same things.

Postby RASC » February 28th, 2010, 5:54 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:I only buy deigner colognes. Too many people in Trinidad have the same things.

What's in your collection?

Postby RASC » February 28th, 2010, 5:57 pm

X_Factor wrote:wen u open the
Bvlgari Pour Homme by Bvlgari

give us a lil review

headin up miami later this yr and would be adding to my set

I can tell you already, it lives up to it's description as an "aquatic" with a very sea-salt opening top end.

I would also say it's probably one of the most, if not the most refined aquatic out there. You can dress it up or down very easily...unlike alot of the modern "fresh" scents that only a 15 year old can stomach to wear.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » February 28th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:RASC, ever try skyboxing in colognes?
your views

most skybox or couriers wont bring it in for you because it's liquid and against aviation rules for them to bring it in.

Postby RASC » February 28th, 2010, 8:18 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:rite now the friday night special is the dunhill desire

Women love this with a passion.
It's great for the heat of the club, and it PROJECTS!
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/AcSOky--PY4&hl=en_US&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="344" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed>

I have a 3.4 once which I'm about to finish soon :cry:
...and I often don't finish most bottles that big unless it's that good! Love it...

Postby RASC » March 21st, 2010, 10:56 pm

I swear my nose is constantly evolving.
Kenneth Cole Black has suddenly recaptured my interest.

I was wearing it the other evening(4-6pm) casual setting.

...and I sniffed my wrist my accident(I doh even know why or how my wrist was so close to my nose) but I instantly said "what am I wearing again" in my mind, then I realized...wow this stuff really does smell good. It really is a warmer temp. kinda scent.

Great stuff!

Postby Monk BANzai » March 21st, 2010, 11:07 pm

^^ tru....wore Dunhill Pure today...after a long hiatus!!!.....

Postby RASC » March 25th, 2010, 5:39 pm

I dunno 'bout you guys but I'm very much into detail. The fine print so to speak.

I love it when a manufacturer goes the extra mile to include little tidbits and articles about the fragrance.On the lower end Bulgari is very well known for this. You get a multitude of literature with every purchase. Thierry Mugler also...you get a little snippet of a short story that tells the tale of the frag. Not to mention his websites are out of this world.

On the high end niche...CREED is the master of this. You really feel like you're buying into something special~after all you are paying the price, but you never feel cheated. The amount of time that goes into the packaging tells alot about that brand IMHO.

For all my scents I bookmark their official retail websites and try to collect their imagery as often as I can.

I think most guys are like this when we like something in particular. We're into collecting and preserving things. That's how men are :wink: From Cars, Watches, Wines, Pens...hell even Stamps-you'd find the biggest connoisseurs are almost always men. Interesting...

Don't get me wrong women can be like this also, but they treat it kinda like ...bleh I like them, it's cool...but you rarely see them being as obsessive as men. I know girls who are obsessed with shoes, but their collection is kinda just strewn all over the place... :? It just seems so weird to me. When you meet a guy who's REALLY into something, it always looks likes it's in MINT condition even if he uses it all the time. Don't even try to touch them least you don't mind missing a hand.

Anyone notices this also?

Postby RASC » March 25th, 2010, 6:05 pm

For example on the big frag. boards. There are EASILY at any given day...100:1 ratio of Men to Women :shock:

These guy's collections would make your jaw drop. Custom made shelving, 100's of Scents...Some ppl buy two of each, one to store the other to have in the cases. It's insane. The women's perfume section seems like a virtual ghost town in comparison.

Some collections:

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 12:31 pm

:mrgreen: Mark is Back

All you guys who follow the reviewers know that Mark "robes08" on YouTube makes frequent trips to Europe and this time he has come back with a HUGE haul.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NDyFfObYUkc&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="505"></embed>

Looking forward to the Live Jazz by YSL review. I love the YSL house, it's my favorite and loved the original Jazz, so this might be my next purchase.

TK!

Postby TK! » April 13th, 2010, 1:52 pm

was disappointed in kenzo tokyo's cologne.

got some fcuk .. good for daytime and work. fresh bubbly scent. doh last long

alfred sung paradise smells really good. subtle, distinctive.

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 1:58 pm

TK! wrote:was disappointed in kenzo tokyo's cologne.

Is it anything like the original? Can you describe it?

got some fcuk .. good for daytime and work. fresh bubbly scent. doh last long

You know after all this time, its still my most complimented...I hate that sheitman, I might get another bottle :oops:

alfred sung paradise smells really good. subtle, distinctive.

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 9:36 pm

Revisiting my collection again tonight.

It's always nice to pick a daily, wear for about a month or so then switch it up, revisit some others.

Swapping out the Hugo Boss Bottled(aka boss no.6 ) for the Romance Silver...why?
The Boss Bottled even tho it got loads of compliments needs a bit more heat in the air for the juice to start kicking. It wears a bit too close to my skin and it's not exactly hot outside here everyday (DC...I'm sure it'll be fine for TT to wear everyday) Thus I'm using too much and I wanna hold back for the real hot weather.

I just revisited my recent purchase of the Bulgari Pour Homme, and this thing is a SILAGE monster. I have Tiffany For Men on the left wrist and the Pour Homme is kicking its butt in projection(big surprise there) My initial thoughts were all wrong on this, as I wasn't really impressed, but now I am as I can envision EXACTLY what kinda scenario I would wear it in...may have to bring this one out for the hotter months. Very clean and classy fresh scent.
Last edited by RASC on April 13th, 2010, 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » April 13th, 2010, 9:38 pm

TK! wrote:was disappointed in kenzo tokyo's cologne.

Postby X_Factor » April 14th, 2010, 7:26 am

RASC, u ever used the Hugo XY and the Guess Man?
thinking about adding those two to my set

btw Curve and CK one is like the best beat out cologne ever!!

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 1:29 pm

RASC wrote:
Picasso wrote:Where does 212 fit in your cologne scale RASC ?

I actually DON'T remember how 212 smells.
Yes I know it's fairly popular, and yes I've smelt it before, but not anytime recently. My bredren has a bottle of this stuff, will sample when next we lime and get back to you.

There you go 8-)

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/WzvOJfFGnaQ&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="505"></embed>

Postby RASC » April 14th, 2010, 1:45 pm

X_Factor wrote:RASC, u ever used the Hugo XY and the Guess Man?

Well I have my views on GUESS in general.
I don't like the brand, I think it's over priced and a little too gaudy for my taste. For example, I've been into a Burberry store and then into a Guess store and seen products within $5-$10USD of each other :?

Why would I buy Guess when for $5USD more I can get a Burberry product, which I rate more as a fashion house. Same can be said for their colognes. Generic and basically... "MEH" I tried Guess Man (I assume you're talking about the '06 one) the day it was released back in '06 and thought the same thing, "MEH"

Taken from an online reviewer:

I dont know what to say about Guess Man. Its not a bad scent, but its not the best either. I sprayed some on & really did not get the smell i was hoping for. Yes its fresh & clean just like out of the shower. But there is nothing in it that stands out on my skin to the point I can smell it myself.

It's not bad it's just , kinda generic IMHO

Now with regards to HUGO XY, I don't think I've ever tried it.
I have much respect for the HUGO house since I bought that Bottle of "Boss Bottled" just the other day. So I'd be open to trying it out and getting back to you.

This is the official link to the product:
http://www.hugo.com/xy

Postby X_Factor » April 17th, 2010, 12:11 pm

so i've narrowed it down to Hugo Selection, tommy hilfiger Hilfiger and Dunhil Pure
+ curve and ck one as the beat out cologne

Postby RASC » April 17th, 2010, 12:35 pm

X_Factor wrote:so i've narrowed it down to Hugo Selection, tommy hilfiger Hilfiger and Dunhil Pure
+ curve and ck one as the beat out cologne

As to what you're gonna buy or what's currently in your collection/rotation.

Postby X_Factor » April 17th, 2010, 1:50 pm

what im gonna buy..every year when i head up miami i budget 100-150usd for colognes ( usually 3-5)

i presently have
kenneth cole black
armani mania
mont blanc individuel
fcuk
issey
curve green bottle
polo blue
some ck one, and cool water left

Postby bluesteel29 » April 17th, 2010, 1:57 pm

fack allya an ya fancy shid :(

Postby RASC » April 17th, 2010, 4:18 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:fack allya an ya fancy shid :(

The one in the middle. What's that called again???

I think I had a bottle of that stuff :shock:

Postby bluesteel29 » April 17th, 2010, 4:25 pm

Wings by Giorgio Beverly Hills

Postby RASC » April 17th, 2010, 4:32 pm

X_Factor wrote:what im gonna buy..every year when i head up miami i budget 100-150usd for colognes ( usually 3-5)

i presently have
kenneth cole black
armani mania
mont blanc individuel
fcuk
issey
curve green bottle
polo blue
some ck one, and cool water left

That's a decent collection. Have you thought of trying out the less mainstream "popular" scents?
As in your scents are decent but they are all kinda "safe" great for the office, won't offend anyone, and they're not really out there.

For you, I would recommend:

Christian Dior's Fahrenheit-Classic, smells nothing like what you have.
Hermes' Terre de Hermes-Modern Classic, again smells nothing like what you have...

Both are very Classy, the Fahrenheit is the more manly scent. Try both out when you get there, I would recommend a Nordstrum or a Saks, as they're less likely to pester to into buying something and the selection is wider.

Postby RASC » April 17th, 2010, 4:38 pm

bluesteel29,Ok, nah never had it.

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » April 18th, 2010, 1:03 pm

Current:
Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren
Lacoste Essential
Light Blue by Dolce & Gabbana
Hugo by Hugo Boss