Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » March 1st, 2009, 8:11 pm

djblademan, Nothing actually, it's just that tetras are prone to biting fins

trinitime

Postby trinitime » March 1st, 2009, 9:02 pm

I have never heard of Tetras biting other fish fins in my life. Barbs yes. Not tetras, there are very few agressive tetra species.
Unless you meant the platties biting the tetras fins?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 2nd, 2009, 9:05 am

trinitime, actually the grimeyest tetra is the bucktooth tetra.. he cannot be housed with normal tetras...
but tetras are great fishes & when you really check it they cost more than a normal cichlid tank or wat not...
because you wouldnt buy one in each kind... they school together & thats how you see the beauty in them...

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 2nd, 2009, 11:51 am

Anyone knows who selling clown loaches? I check chai but he say they too small to sell yet. Fishy Bizniz have nil.
I have two in d pond but ah want more.
Cause ah does hardly see them.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 2nd, 2009, 11:58 am

BTW chais have the Buttikoferi Cichlid in stock.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... pcatid=962

Real bess looking fish. Aggressive and does get big.
I put some in the pond. Competition for the Frontosa now. :D

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2009, 2:07 pm

rmtuner, cool goin an take a few of dem as well as the barracudas weekend...

Postby UML » March 2nd, 2009, 7:28 pm

rmtuner wrote:BTW chais have the Buttikoferi Cichlid in stock.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod ... pcatid=962

Real bess looking fish. Aggressive and does get big.
I put some in the pond. Competition for the Frontosa now. :D

I didn't buy any wen I saw them because they looked a bit pale and discoloured. Petshop boys have nicer ones.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 2nd, 2009, 8:09 pm

i sure petshop boys get it from chai's....

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » March 2nd, 2009, 8:51 pm

joashmgn wrote:
those cichlids look huge! what size tank and what u usin to filter it?

erm... 72" x 18" x 18"... Basic 100 Gallon...

Filtration... 2 HOB filters and 2 DIY bucket Filters...

The bucket filters have filter floss and oyster shells to buffer the water... the powerheads feeding them have pre-filters with a material that is similar to coarse scrubber material and bioballs...

The aquascape is in a mess right now actually, even though it may not look so... I had my pair of Pacus in the tank with the cichlids and they so huge they jus bounced into everything and upset the balancing rocks etc...

I think I'm going to take some time tomorrow to work on it all though... :fadein:

would love to get a glimpse at the 2 DIY bucket filters i need to do something of my own. Also anybody with good sumps and setup need i ideas especially about where to source material to make one.

Postby UML » March 2nd, 2009, 10:26 pm

ryan99tt wrote:i sure petshop boys get it from chai's....

yeah most likely.

BIO-FILTER
Used (2 months)
EXCELLENT CONDITION
Clean once a year....LOW MAINTENANCE.....no work!!!! =)
$500

$500

*Attachments and Hose included

PM if interested
Last edited by UML on April 2nd, 2013, 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 5th, 2009, 1:28 pm

that Buttikoferi Cichlid by chais how much ti costs?....thinkin if to put em with the new oscars? ....lol

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 5th, 2009, 1:54 pm

djblademan wrote:that Buttikoferi Cichlid by chais how much ti costs?....thinkin if to put em with the new oscars? ....lol

Well chais have two kind for sale.
Imported ones and Locally make ones.
Cah remember price offhand.
But they were close in price.
And really couldn't see any difference between them.

laurence bittan

Postby laurence bittan » March 5th, 2009, 9:39 pm

Nice tanks
Last edited by laurence bittan on March 6th, 2009, 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

laurence bittan

Postby laurence bittan » March 5th, 2009, 9:40 pm

Heres my planted 20g

MY BALLON RAM

Postby UML » March 6th, 2009, 1:32 pm

Where sells Exotic Cichlids?????????

I looking to buy some

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » March 8th, 2009, 1:05 pm

are there any plants that koi and goldfish wont eat or destroy? i have a small pond that i'm trying to decorate a bit, but they keep pulling the plants out of the pots and eating them.

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » March 8th, 2009, 2:28 pm

/\/\ plastic :oops:

Postby cinco » March 8th, 2009, 5:33 pm

they still pull the plastic ones out

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » March 8th, 2009, 8:10 pm

kss2801 wrote:are there any plants that koi and goldfish wont eat or destroy? i have a small pond that i'm trying to decorate a bit, but they keep pulling the plants out of the pots and eating them.

Koi and plants doh mix.
You need to build a separate water feature like a smaller pond or something that flows into yuh main pond with d fish.
Then you could put any kind of plant in that.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » March 8th, 2009, 9:00 pm

can anyone.. plz lay out the requirements for a small salt water setup.. :mrgreen: i've been with freshwater setups for years....
i used to breed chiclids back in the day.. and currently i have a HUGE paco in a pond in the back of my yard (eats dog chow) :twisted:
now i think i want to try something new...
Also where can one get salt water fish, corals, anenomes etc to purchase?
What could be the cost of maintaining a small set up?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 8th, 2009, 9:11 pm

UML, Chai' does have man... i see they have Jack Dempseys... i jus love that fish yo...
kss2801, think the weed may be an option or lilies...
swift gti funatic, go by fishy bizniz & thats the man to give you all the detiled info & he will guide you along.... he on d forum....he told me he had a saltwater tank for two yrs with jus a hangon filter & he never had skimmer & all that & it was normal, jus did partial water change... & he had the clowns... believeme , that is one hard fish.
but check Mr. shiva (FishyBizniz) he da man to go too!

boogy910
Location: if i tell u i'll have to kill u, unless u have vodka

Postby boogy910 » March 8th, 2009, 10:00 pm

will jack dempseys fight with others if they're smaller? and will they stay with oscars?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 9th, 2009, 8:32 am

Jack dempseys are quite territorial & they are aggressive at times. They can live with oscars, but place them all in together at the same time... they can also live with cichlids but make sure there's enuff place to hide & there's enuff sapce (big tank)... also put em in together... should work out with smoothly with little killings...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » March 9th, 2009, 8:32 am

Jack dempseys are quite territorial & they are aggressive at times. They can live with oscars, but place them all in together at the same time... they can also live with cichlids but make sure there's enuff place to hide & there's enuff sapce (big tank)... also put em in together... should work out with smoothly with little killings...

boogy910
Location: if i tell u i'll have to kill u, unless u have vodka

Postby boogy910 » March 9th, 2009, 3:23 pm

thanks for the info, also, will it be better to have like one of each? cause i heard that oscars and jacks work a lot better in schoals.

Postby UML » March 9th, 2009, 7:57 pm

djblademan wrote:UML, Chai' does have man... i see they have Jack Dempseys... i jus love that fish yo...

Where do they have the exotic cichlids? Do you have to specifically ask for them or are they on display as the other fish?

I'm asking because I always see the normal type of cichlids!!!

:?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 9th, 2009, 11:39 pm

u don't usually get exotic cichlids, u hav to really search for them because the population of ppl in trinidad wudnt pay the price for them...good luck wit your search..

Postby UML » March 9th, 2009, 11:42 pm

ryan99tt wrote:u don't usually get exotic cichlids, u hav to really search for them because the population of ppl in trinidad wudnt pay the price for them...good luck wit your search..

k kool thx

well i find ah person just wanted tuh make sure he not buying them from chais and selling me it after...i like tuh cut out the middle man!!! 8-)

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » March 9th, 2009, 11:44 pm

^^ arrowana :twisted:

btw does anyone in trinidad have aripimas?
i knew chais had a couple HUGEEEE ones but they eventually died out..
Last edited by swift gti funatic on March 9th, 2009, 11:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » March 9th, 2009, 11:46 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:^^ arrowana :twisted:

btw does anyone else in trinidad has aripimas?
i knew chais had a couple HUGEEEE ones but they eventually died out..

pellet-eating arrowana :wink: