The guitar string (thread)

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » October 23rd, 2008, 6:53 am

aoh ok,
well i just use the distortion an other features like reverb, wah, flange and delay,
it has more but these are what i use.
You can save ur settings to about 60 or more spaces,
pedal for wah or volume.

but i need money for the amp so thats why im selling it

Postby buzz » October 23rd, 2008, 9:32 am

$200 :D

how much yuh callin

cud pm if yuh want

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 23rd, 2008, 12:25 pm

^^ evidence that a guitar forum would never work out... back to harmony central...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » October 23rd, 2008, 1:06 pm

A co-worker just pointed out that Fender is making rock band "controllers"
Wtf? seems like a waste to me .

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 23rd, 2008, 2:48 pm

^^ loooong time - if yuh play it, you would understand the need for it. it's amazing.

Postby Cjruckus » October 23rd, 2008, 6:56 pm

Phoq Rock Band.

Guitar Hero is Teh PWNGER

Postby buzz » October 24th, 2008, 2:11 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:^^ evidence that a guitar forum would never work out... back to harmony central...

^^^ evidence that ppl need to be reminded this is an ole talk forum on an automotive web site

*back to guitar*

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » October 24th, 2008, 7:21 am

On a side note, met InDeforest yesterday briefly. You know your tube amps!8)

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 24th, 2008, 7:06 pm

I got this Ibanez 440r new from Louis Gillman Thomas in 1991. They had just brought in a shipment of 8 ibanezs and boy did those things go fast.

Shes really run in at 17yrs old. Think i may have to call indeforest cause she definitely needs a refret.

Got these pups two months ago to put in her (a norton and paf joe)....but just too lazy to do it since i know once i start i'll have to do the other stuff....like clean the neck...polish the frets...lemon oil the fretboard.....install a shim in the neck pocket......change the bridge height and spring tensions......change strings.....reintonate...blah blah blah.

But i went to see joe satriani in NY last week and picked up this beauty in Guitar Centre on 14th. Checked 9 guitar stores in manhattan and only they had a ibanez prestige and it was their last one. An Ibanez RG 2550Z Prestige....only MIJ for me!

Came with this great case......too bad fricking piarco baggage handlers broke off one of the latches....grrr!!!

Snags

Postby Snags » October 24th, 2008, 7:43 pm

Freakin mexicunts at piarco ae.

How was the satch, Sean? I need to make arrangements to drop my axe off for indeforest also ae.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 24th, 2008, 8:34 pm

Satch was god-like...........was an experience i'll never forget.

John Petrucci from Dream Theater showed up and played for the encore yes.

Heaven!!!!

Ran my guitar thru a Joe Satriani signature peavey amp. 100watt head into a 4x12 stack. Man that combo sounded unreallll!!!

Now to make arrangements to attend the Testament concert

Postby Cjruckus » October 24th, 2008, 8:59 pm

The Satch Amp has an Amazing clean Channel that puts most fender amps to shame.

It sounds like Glass.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 24th, 2008, 9:19 pm

Breds one time incert coin reach back from a trip with a bass case crushed like if a forklift ran over it, the bass was split in half down the body, needless to say i did my thing and its changed hands many times over the years, no one has any idea that bass was in three pieces for a while, came back perfect.

Postby Cjruckus » October 24th, 2008, 9:43 pm

I've traveled with my guitars enough times without problems.

Once you have a good hardshell case, you wont have any problems. Just be prepared for the idiots in baggage to destroy one of the handles, or not close the case properly after inspection. Oh and make sure and tape down the combination lock so that the case can be opened and the code doesnt change.

Ive seen some cases pryed open with screwdrivers because the numbers accidentally moved. Funny thing is, the idiot put the combination for the lock inside the case. What a dumbass.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 24th, 2008, 11:22 pm

That satch amp really had a nice clean channel. I found the crunch channel a waste. But with the lead channel and the veryyyy high output dimarzio ceramic pickups on this new RG there was tons of sustain. Nice mids tone tho.....how joe likes it.

I thought i would have gotten away with checking it.....and one of the check in agents did agree that i could check it.......even though i have it in a very heavy travel hardcase. Only problem was.....as usual it was a full flight....with overpacked trinis and the overheads and coat closet was full :roll: So i had it gate checked.....and still one of the latches got broke. Small price to pay i guess to get a guitar that you'll never see in trinidad guitar stores. And even if you did......they'd charge you a pound and a crown.

Postby Sky » October 24th, 2008, 11:23 pm

zodiaque wrote:On a side note, met InDeforest yesterday briefly. You know your tube amps!8)

Same here actually.
Was planning to buy an 80's jap strat that needed refretting and a little cleaning and I told him about it. I planned to take it to him to refret when I got it. Last night when I bought it he happened to be there so he took a look at it one time.

http://www.wammiworld.com/system%201%20history.html
super strat immc.
no pics cuz i sold my cybershot to buy it lol. And I don't think anyone would believe how much i paid for it. Can't wait till it's fixed!!!!!!!

Postby Cjruckus » October 24th, 2008, 11:30 pm

i always check my guitars at the desk. Continental doesnt check guitars/skis/soft cased items like golf clubs with the same full sized luggage. In some airports these items come off a different luggage belt than the standard luggage. I thought i had lost one of my guitars while traveling once. Turns out they had it "soft checked" Ever since then it has been the norm.

As for the JSX amp. Its not bad, especially with the built in Noise gate and Reverb. The clean channel is probably the only thing worth owning on the amp. Interns of sound its very similar to the Peavey Classic 50, which is probably one of the most under rated amps ever made IMHO.

Speaking of Peavey i still use my 5150 4x12 Cab.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 25th, 2008, 1:48 am

you guys should start putting up soundclips of your gear...

Postby Sky » October 25th, 2008, 11:28 am

Sold the digitech. Cant record anymore :(

I have one tho. The other stuff I did are on my HD's and my mobo blew, so cant access them right now. This was on my server so I still got it.

http://waggy.ultra-gamers.com/complete.mp3

It's me doing cold - stupid girl about 5-6 yrs ago I believe. Fruity loops provided the crappy drums. That was the most work, mapping all the samples out correctly. After i turned up the bass on my guitar and the rp300 to get the 'bass' guitar. Used mesa b triple rectifier amp mod on the pedal with just a noise gate for the rythm. Just upped the chorus a little for the 'lead'.
No vocal because I live on a main road and fart cannons would disturb it. Plus I can't sing :P . Guitar used was a Squier Rogue. Cool edit pro put everything together.

Now I miss my pedal :(

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 25th, 2008, 1:19 pm

The recommendation I've gotten from guys at dimarzio.com. ibanez.com and jemsite.com is to at least gate check guitars. Guitar center actually gives you a letter from the head of TSA to the President of the American Musicians Association to confirm letting musicians declare their instruments as carryons in addition to the one they're normally allowed.

I've seen the continental soft loaders at Denver international where everyone gets their skis and snowboards.....but i know we don't have anything like that here. That's my biggest worry tho.......getting the instrument thru TTAA offloading. I have no problems with internal US travel. For instance......you're supposed to get red tagged gate check in items at the sky walk when you're exiting the aircraft......but not so in Piarco.....you have to collect it with the rest of your luggage. Absolute rubbish!!!! Which is exactly why i wanted to check it as carry on. At least on an offpeak flight you should have no problems with Delta.....they'll let you carry it on.

As for the amp......i really need a new one. This Peavey envoy has outlived itself. Might pick up a Laney 2x12. I really cant see myself with a 100watt head and 4x12 playing in my house though i love the sound of a JCM800. I'll let the line 6 floor pod handle everything else.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 25th, 2008, 3:21 pm

Most major airlines allow you to carry-on your guitar, as a free, extra piece to your hand luggage.

I flew BA last month with one of my guitars and had no problems

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 28th, 2008, 11:47 am

How picked up some 0000 gauge steel wool, so i can start my 440R refurbishment and pickup install.

I'll let you know how it turns out.

Postby Cjruckus » October 28th, 2008, 1:08 pm

seanf3000 wrote:The recommendation I've gotten from guys at dimarzio.com. ibanez.com and jemsite.com is to at least gate check guitars. Guitar center actually gives you a letter from the head of TSA to the President of the American Musicians Association to confirm letting musicians declare their instruments as carryons in addition to the one they're normally allowed.

I've seen the continental soft loaders at Denver international where everyone gets their skis and snowboards.....but i know we don't have anything like that here. That's my biggest worry tho.......getting the instrument thru TTAA offloading. I have no problems with internal US travel. For instance......you're supposed to get red tagged gate check in items at the sky walk when you're exiting the aircraft......but not so in Piarco.....you have to collect it with the rest of your luggage. Absolute rubbish!!!! Which is exactly why i wanted to check it as carry on. At least on an offpeak flight you should have no problems with Delta.....they'll let you carry it on.

As for the amp......i really need a new one. This Peavey envoy has outlived itself. Might pick up a Laney 2x12. I really cant see myself with a 100watt head and 4x12 playing in my house though i love the sound of a JCM800. I'll let the line 6 floor pod handle everything else.

I flew into DIA all the time. Great Airport, Amazing service.

I was going to record my sheit, but it wont sound good. IF i could get the old school pod hooked up to the pc, i would record stuff on that. But it wont sound as good as thefull setup.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » October 28th, 2008, 7:31 pm

Man....i started my refurbishment at noon and now at 7pm. I still have to put on the new set of strings.....intonate.....set action and trem angle......polish off the body. I can't wait to play it when its finshed.

The amount of work i put into it.........i can see why luthiers charge around US$100 to do this.

New pickups........new action........new trem tension.......polished fretboard.....its gonna be great!!

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » October 31st, 2008, 10:25 am

seanf3000 you want a fender 'squier' neck? you could sand off the squier logo and use a watermark to make it look legit.....

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 3rd, 2008, 8:02 am

What material are squiers made of?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 3rd, 2008, 8:45 am

maple neck/ rosewood fretboard - really nice

willing to trade it for a good strat bridge

Postby buzz » November 3rd, 2008, 8:52 am

friend o mine gots a squier collecting dust anyone can PM if interested

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 3rd, 2008, 8:57 am

what kind??

bullet? standard - all they're really good for spares/rebuilds. the newer squiers have necks made out of plywood...

Postby buzz » November 3rd, 2008, 9:13 am

will get the info this week if you're interested

he's quite busy these days with school but i'll try calling him this week