COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17669 cases, 331 deaths, 6649 active, 10689 recovered in T&T

Postby Redman » May 20th, 2021, 7:15 am

We spray down everything with a 50 50 solution of methylated spirits and water ....with one of those pressurized spray bottles.
Spray all food groceries with the same.

The spray bottle seems much faster and gets better coverage for less money.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17669 cases, 331 deaths, 6649 active, 10689 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 7:18 am

for sure, dunno why ppl wasting money on lysol

Redman wrote:We spray down everything with a 50 50 solution of methylated spirits and water ....with one of those pressurized spray bottles.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 7:19 am

that is indian source tho, they kinda at war

only in trini indian and chinee does make a good mix

The_Honourable wrote:amm...

Postby adnj » May 20th, 2021, 8:01 am

pugboy wrote:for sure, dunno why ppl wasting money on lysol

Redman wrote:We spray down everything with a 50 50 solution of methylated spirits and water ....with one of those pressurized spray bottles.

"Alcohol-based disinfecting solutions should be at least 70% alcohol and can be used to clean things like table surfaces, light switches, and mobile phones."

https://www.insider.com/does-alcohol-kill-germs

Postby Redman » May 20th, 2021, 8:02 am

Yep typo....thx
The 50 is the bleach we wipe down inside with....

elec2020

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby elec2020 » May 20th, 2021, 8:10 am

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Govt wants cases back to 15-20 per day
aaron17 wrote:What is a realistic time for a lockdown /or state of emer. to relax?

with this variant? you would have to lockdown till october/november if so. And idk if that is feasible.
Reported cases are projected to fall below 20 per day (96.5% reduction) by September 1st.

it possible but basically thats 5 months no pay (depending if this level of restriction is maintained) as well as very little economic activity. This is going to decimate the economy. You basically having two back to back years of significant economic contraction. We in for alot of pain.

Postby adnj » May 20th, 2021, 8:12 am

Redman wrote:Yep typo....thx
Household bleach is normally about 5% sodium hypochlorite. You can probably lower your bleach mixture concentration to 1 tablespoon per quart (1:64) for a 0.07% mix.

"Regular household cleaning and disinfection products will effectively eliminate the virus from household surfaces.  For cleaning and disinfecting households with suspected or confirmed COVID19, surface virucidal disinfectants, such as 0.05% sodium hypochlorite (NaClO) and products based on ethanol (at least 70%), should be used."

https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detai ... -nutrition

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 8:20 am

yeah, a safe bleach solution does not leave any residue or long lasting bleach smell
contrary to want many ppl believe

adnj wrote:
Redman wrote:Yep typo....thx
Household bleach is normally about 5% sodium hypochlorite. You can probably lower your bleach mixture concentration to 1 tablespoon per quart (1:64) for a 0.07% mix.

"Regular household cleaning and disinfection products will effectively eliminate the virus from household surfaces.  For cleaning and disinfecting households with suspected or confirmed COVID19, surface virucidal disinfectants, such as 0.05% sodium hypochlorite (NaClO) and products based on ethanol (at least 70%), should be used."

https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detai ... -nutrition

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » May 20th, 2021, 8:20 am

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:What is a realistic time for a lockdown /or state of emer. to relax?

with this variant? you would have to lockdown till october/november if so. And idk if that is feasible.
Reported cases are projected to fall below 20 per day (96.5% reduction) by September 1st.

it possible but basically thats 5 months no pay (depending if this level of restriction is maintained) as well as very little economic activity. This is going to decimate the economy. You basically having two back to back years of significant economic contraction. We in for alot of pain.

Economic pain, social pain, psychological pain, educational pain, and unnecessary loss of life. That all should have been expected the moment that the WHO declared the Covid-19 outbreak a pandemic.

No nation is required to lockdown but historically a lockdown is the most effective means available to mitigate a pandemic. Pick your poison.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 20th, 2021, 8:33 am

^ fair enough. Maybe by 2025 we will catch back ourselves.

Postby aaron17 » May 20th, 2021, 9:25 am

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

Economic pain, social pain, psychological pain, educational pain, and unnecessary loss of life. That all should have been expected the moment that the WHO declared the Covid-19 outbreak a pandemic.

No nation is required to lockdown but historically a lockdown is the most effective means available to mitigate a pandemic. Pick your poison.

So this means no easing up on certain restrictions like food etc til then?

Postby Habit7 » May 20th, 2021, 9:37 am

For the sanitisation crowd, it is kinda just theatre

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 9:39 am

pugboy wrote:that is indian source tho, they kinda at war

only in trini indian and chinee does make a good mix

The_Honourable wrote:amm...

15% positivity rate? we way worse then with 40+% :shock:

Postby aaron17 » May 20th, 2021, 10:27 am

'In fact, according to Attorney General Faris Al Rawi, who referenced Epidemiologist, Dr Avery Hinds, our rolling case average needs to stand at 15 cases per day for at least two weeks in order to see any changes.'

For the above to happen , we need until September or October/Nov? Or am I reading it wrong?

Source: https://tt.loopnews.com/content/ag-tt-n ... ay-soe-end

Postby aaron17 » May 20th, 2021, 10:32 am

^^If its like that ..we still in May right now.. lol
Its gonna be a long long ride

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 20th, 2021, 10:42 am

The reality is we will be in a state of lockdown for the rest of the year. Now fast food/curbside might reopen in 6-8 weeks at the earliest, but do not expect gyms, dining in, cinemas etc to reopen till September/October at the earliest.

Postby aaron17 » May 20th, 2021, 10:49 am

Dohplaydat wrote:The reality is we will be in a state of lockdown for the rest of the year. Now fast food/curbside might reopen in 6-8 weeks at the earliest, but do not expect gyms, dining in, cinemas etc to reopen till September/October at the earliest.

Noted

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 10:55 am

even if numbers go down
and they relax the rules to pre current lockdown

trinis will get carried away again and it will be same khaki pants cycle all over again
it’s in our dna to lime and overdo it

if disciplined countries like japan and taiwan could experience that virus revival then we just as well

Postby aaron17 » May 20th, 2021, 10:56 am

pugboy wrote:even if numbers go down

trinis will get carried away again and it will be same khaki pants cycle all over again

if disciplined countries like japan and taiwan could experience that virus revival then we just as well
It is understood.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 20th, 2021, 11:05 am

We're not even in a lockdown yet. Neigbours all around having limes with friends coming over to enjoy some drinks and shoot the sh*t, eased by removing their masks, all completely legal and by the book. These restrictions are a tragic comedy.

Postby MaxPower » May 20th, 2021, 11:11 am

X100000000

Trinis will be learning nothing from this pandemic.

If the virus is still around, all it takes is ONE day for beaches, bars and KFC to open and i dont have to tell allyuh what’s gonna happen.

Effective vaccines is the only solution as depending on Trinis is hopeless.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 11:14 am

bro
all it takes is somebody at the top to go on tv arm wrestling

Postby adnj » May 20th, 2021, 11:23 am

BUG wrote:

We're not even in a lockdown yet. Neigbours all around having limes with friends coming over to enjoy some drinks and shoot the sh*t, eased by removing their masks, all completely legal and by the book. These restrictions are a tragic comedy.
Historically, this becomes the high-risk group. The virus spreads, and they are disproportionately affected. It's like people who smoke and people who die from lung cancer.

BUG

Postby BUG » May 20th, 2021, 11:33 am

adnj wrote:
BUG wrote:

Historically, this becomes the high-risk group. The virus spreads, and they are disproportionately affected. It's like people who smoke and people who die from lung cancer.

Right now a social person can theoretically (at a minimum) see 16 people over a weekend, indoors, no mask, alcohol to lower inhibitions, minimal social distancing, completely legally, for hours and hours on end.

Saturday lunch: 4 friends over
Saturday dinner: 4 friends over
Sunday lunch: 4 friends over
Sunday dinner: 4 friends over

All it takes is one of those 16 other people to be asymptomatic and they've now passed on whatever strain they have to x number of people (I can't remember what the statistics are for transmission off the top of my head, someone help me out).

Can someone explain the logic here? Maybe I'm missing something and I'd be glad to be educated on the matter and change my opinion.

Postby Habit7 » May 20th, 2021, 11:36 am

The only way out is mass vaccination. It is starting tomorrow. Do your part and get vaccinated.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2021, 11:40 am

Habit7 wrote:The only way out is mass vaccination. It is starting tomorrow. Do your part and get vaccinated.

Yup. If there are concerns, it's best discussed with your GP rather than "experts" on the internet.

Postby adnj » May 20th, 2021, 11:43 am

BUG wrote:
adnj wrote:
BUG wrote:

Right now a social person can theoretically (at a minimum) see 16 people over a weekend, indoors, no mask, alcohol to lower inhibitions, minimal social distancing, completely legally, for hours and hours on end.

Saturday lunch: 4 friends over
Saturday dinner: 4 friends over
Sunday lunch: 4 friends over
Sunday dinner: 4 friends over

All it takes is one of those 16 other people to be asymptomatic and they've now passed on whatever strain they have to x number of people (I can't remember what the statistics are for transmission off the top of my head, someone help me out).

Can someone explain the logic here? Maybe I'm missing something and I'd be glad to be educated on the matter and change my opinion.
Those same sixteen people could have met in the span of less than two days.

Your safety, rights and freedoms are impacted by them and there is no fix without you giving up some of those existing rights and freedoms.

This is why the strongest swimmers jump ship first.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 20th, 2021, 11:46 am

Habit7 wrote:The only way out is mass vaccination. It is starting tomorrow. Do your part and get vaccinated.

This doesn't help
Capture.JPG

Postby Chimera » May 20th, 2021, 11:52 am

I have to say trinis are idiots
I set up a intercom to talk to people outside the door so I can screen them before deciding to let them in. People coming out for real dotishness.

You wouldn't believe some of the senseless things people coming for that really not necessary for them to be outside right now.....