COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 19th, 2021, 5:18 pm

Idk why ppl so... they want to go to the grocery normal because they cant see themselves shopping online. Its like they would pick up stuff naturally from the aisles. Is ah headache for them. I made up my mind to receive curbside /online deliveries instead since those groceries are high risk areas.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17150 cases, 317 deaths, 6318 active, 10515 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » May 19th, 2021, 5:23 pm

bluefete wrote:SoE - Extended to August 15th by Act of PNM parliament.

It has to be debated next Monday to determine that.

Parliament to debate SoE extension on Monday

THE House of Representatives will sit on May 24 to debate whether the state of emergency (SoE) imposed by Government from midnight on May 15, will continue for another three months.

The debate arises from two motions filed in the Prime Minister's name.

The first calls on the House to note the statement made by President Paula-Mae Weekes on May 15, in accordance with Section 9(1) of the Constitution, declaring the existence of a period of public emergency and issuing a proclamation to that effect on the same day.

This motion said within three days of this proclamation, the President will deliver a statement to Speaker Bridgid Annisette-George and the House should debate this statement no later than May 30, 15 days from the date of proclamation of the SoE.

The second motion notes the SoE has been enacted in accordance with Section 8 and 9 (2) of the Constitution.

Unless previously revoked, the motion continues, the SoE will remain in force for 15 days. This means that under the current circumstances, the SoE remains in effect until May 30.

The motion says in accordance with Section 10 (1) of the Constitution, the proclamation of the SoE can be extended before it expires, by a resolution supported by a simple majority vote of the House, for a period of three months. This means the Government by virtue of its 22 seats in the House to the Opposition's 19, can extend the SoE until August 15, if it is not revoked on or before May 30.

The motion adds that under Section 10 (1) no extension of the SoE exceeds three months and in all the extensions may not exceed six months,

At a news conference at the Diplomatic Centre on May 14, Dr Rowley announced the SoE would go into effect from midnight on that day. He explained the SoE will involve a curfew from 9 pm-5 am. That curfew began on May 15.

Rowley said associated SoE regulations would follow. Under these regulations, certain activities are prohibited between 5 am and 9 pm daily.

These include: no one can gather in groups over five or be at any workplace unless considered an essential service, as well as measures that were already covered by the public health regulations.

New restrictions include no exercising or drinking in public or running any sporting club.

Al-Rawi warned that stricter measures could be applied if people do not adhere to the SoE regulations.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/19/parliament-to-debate-soe-extension-on-monday/

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2021, 5:24 pm

aaron17 wrote:Idk why ppl so... they want to go to the grocery normal because they cant see themselves shopping online. Its like they would pick up stuff naturally from the aisles. Is ah headache for them. I made up my mind to receive curbside /online deliveries instead since those groceries are high risk areas.

Small grocery, early morning is your best bet right now.
The first lockdown I avoided PriceSmart/JTA/Xtra foods for months. Still haven't been to any of them more than twice since.

Postby gastly369 » May 19th, 2021, 5:28 pm

Both have order online... JTA they bring grocery to vehicle outside and pay with the linx machines... They pack vehicle for u as well

Did pricemart one... Paid online.. Get time slot for pickup... Wait and show them printed order form thru glass no need to wind down.. They bring and pack order in trunk

aaron17 wrote:Idk why ppl so... they want to go to the grocery normal because they cant see themselves shopping online. Its like they would pick up stuff naturally from the aisles. Is ah headache for them. I made up my mind to receive curbside /online deliveries instead since those groceries are high risk areas.

The first lockdown I avoided PriceSmart/JTA/Xtra foods for months. Still haven't been to any of them more than twice since.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 19th, 2021, 5:30 pm

extended yes but not cast in stone. if the cases drop tomorrow they will end it. they just putting things in place.

Postby redmanjp » May 19th, 2021, 5:53 pm

are rapid antigen tests being used at all in the public sector? the one that takes 15 mins or so?

it could have been put to use on the domestic air & sea bridge before easter. would have surely picked up covid +ve ppl and limited the spread so it would not have been this bad.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 19th, 2021, 6:14 pm

Little two late for that.

Not sure about the public sector but we get swabbed once per week
redmanjp wrote:are rapid antigen tests being used at all in the public sector? the one that takes 15 mins or so?

it could have been put to use on the domestic air & sea bridge before easter. would have surely picked up covid +ve ppl and limited the spread so it would not have been this bad.

Postby X_Factor » May 19th, 2021, 6:32 pm

gastly369 wrote:Both have order online... JTA they bring grocery to vehicle outside and pay with the linx machines... They pack vehicle for u as well

Did pricemart one... Paid online.. Get time slot for pickup... Wait and show them printed order form thru glass no need to wind down.. They bring and pack order in trunk

Even though the workers would pack out the shelves, I would rather handle my own groceries, than a possible covid 19 positive but dont know person, holding up everything and then passing it on to me

I actually opt to bag the items myself, thus leaving out one extra person handling the items and ordered one of those atomizer guns to sanitize bags/items before taking out of the car

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 19th, 2021, 6:34 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

extended yes but not cast in stone. if the cases drop tomorrow they will end it. they just putting things in place.

ian only bumping he gum on the SOE extension. he dam well know if the cases drop the soe will end. what he should have been braying is if you want to go back out to work as soon as possible is to keep your arse home and let the cases drop.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 19th, 2021, 6:34 pm

X_Factor wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Both have order online... JTA they bring grocery to vehicle outside and pay with the linx machines... They pack vehicle for u as well

Even though the workers would pack out the shelves, I would rather handle my own groceries, than a possible covid 19 positive but dont know person, holding up everything and then passing it on to me

I actually opt to bag the items myself, thus leaving out one extra person handling the items and ordered one of those atomizer guns to sanitize bags/items before taking out of the car

Bro you don't get Covid from surface transmission, it's super unlikely.

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-00251-4

Postby adnj » May 19th, 2021, 6:48 pm

elec2020 wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Govt wants cases back to 15-20 per day
aaron17 wrote:What is a realistic time for a lockdown /or state of emer. to relax?

with this variant? you would have to lockdown till october/november if so. And idk if that is feasible.
Reported cases are projected to fall below 20 per day (96.5% reduction) by September 1st.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 19th, 2021, 6:51 pm

aaron17 wrote:What is a realistic time for a lockdown /or state of emer. to relax?

That's correct

AG: T&T needs an average of 15 cases per day for SOE to end

Trinidad and Tobago has a lot of work to do if the country is to have the current COVID-19 restrictions rolled back anytime soon.

In fact, according to Attorney General Faris Al Rawi, who referenced Epidemiologist, Dr Avery Hinds, our rolling case average needs to stand at 15 cases per day for at least two weeks in order to see any changes.

The AG reminded citizens of the figure during a Twitter Space conversation he had with freelance journalist, Kejan Haynes.

“Dr Hinds addressed that squarely, he said, ‘Let’s get back to 15 per day.’”

The AG went on to add that there’s room for a range between 15-30 cases per day and that the rationale for using the two-week marker is in keeping with the virus’ incubation period.

T&T’s current rolling average is more than 400 cases.

http://www.looptt.com/content/ag-tt-nee ... ay-soe-end

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 19th, 2021, 7:03 pm

If that SOE goes until August who paying the current workers that have lost their jobs?

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2021, 8:06 pm

timelapse wrote:They rate people jackarsing the scene, I'd say August
My Mom's second cousin (I think is second )
died from it this morning.Female late 20s to early 30s.I don't know her at all so can't say if she had comorbidities or not.

Sorry to hear bro.

Condolences.

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2021, 8:14 pm

what they basing this prediction on ?
herd immunity of sorts ?
population learn to behave and not jackass the scene ?
ag decide to stop arm wrestling ?

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

with this variant? you would have to lockdown till october/november if so. And idk if that is feasible.
Reported cases are projected to fall below 20 per day (96.5% reduction) by September 1st.

Postby gastly369 » May 19th, 2021, 8:14 pm

X_Factor wrote:

I lysol down the whole trunk with the groceries(all packaged items)... And when reach home have a table to lysol wipe down everything before entering house

But extreme but not taking chances this rounds...

Even when punching in the linx machine holding with lysol wipe and clean down when handing back n95 mask when leaving home till I'm back will come off

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2021, 8:20 pm

why not spray alcohol instead of lysol ?

Postby gastly369 » May 19th, 2021, 8:34 pm

Low on alcohol stocks atm... Have cases of lysol tins and wipes
pugboy wrote:why not spray alcohol instead of lysol ?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 19th, 2021, 9:38 pm

Screenshot_20210519-213732_Facebook.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » May 19th, 2021, 9:44 pm

I tried to tell my parents this point of view..they still have that doh care attitude 'if they get it, God will decide'.They not even essential to begin with.

"What am I about to tell you is the reality of this virus. You can get it and it wouldn't affect you much. However, you may spread it to other people/family who wouldn't be able to fight it. And how would you feel in that situation? You have to limit yourself from going out there."

Will let u all know if that work out.

Postby sMASH » May 19th, 2021, 10:38 pm

wtf wrote:Screenshot_20210519-213732_Facebook.jpeg

hide yo kidz, hide yo wives.

Postby redmanjp » May 19th, 2021, 10:54 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

Bro you don't get Covid from surface transmission, it's super unlikely.

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-00251-4

ah whole set of companies advertising sanitizing products. not one addressing ventilation or air filtration. but MOH has stressed sanitation more than ventilation so i can't blame them. but the point is is like we are 1 year behind the science- only in the early months did they stress surface transmission instead of airborne transmission.

even ppl in my office want to put up and buy a fogging machine. i tell them that is only for if we have a suspected or +ve case - what we really need is something to filter the air like a portable HEPA filter.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 19th, 2021, 11:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:what we really need is something to filter the air like a portable HEPA filter.

Which model do you suggest?

SuperiorMan

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17669 cases, 331 deaths, 6649 active, 10689 recovered in T&T

Postby SuperiorMan » May 19th, 2021, 11:18 pm

IQAir is the best.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 17669 cases, 331 deaths, 6649 active, 10689 recovered in T&T

Postby K74T » May 20th, 2021, 1:13 am

FB_IMG_1621487522289.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » May 20th, 2021, 1:42 am

amm...

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 20th, 2021, 4:40 am

gastly369 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

I lysol down the whole trunk with the groceries(all packaged items)... And when reach home have a table to lysol wipe down everything before entering house

Even when punching in the linx machine holding with lysol wipe and clean down when handing back n95 mask when leaving home till I'm back will come off

Since 2020 we were advised to sanitize everything we buy, tale clothes off outside an bathe before entering home, clean handles etc with bleach an water, discard bills an others all of which i still do today. Groceries an market items are washed with soap an water an vinegar before going inside, even the plasric bags. Clothes in washer an dryer as i reach home. No interaction with anyone till i bathe. Mask an car inside lysol down. Down to my cigarette pack i sanitize cause casher grabs it with same hand as handling money..never stopped doing this since march 2020

Postby aaron17 » May 20th, 2021, 6:30 am

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1621487522289.jpeg
So this means no easing up restrictions like food etc til then?

Postby j.o.e » May 20th, 2021, 6:57 am

daring dragoon wrote:
gastly369 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:

Since 2020 we were advised to sanitize everything we buy, tale clothes off outside an bathe before entering home, clean handles etc with bleach an water, discard bills an others all of which i still do today. Groceries an market items are washed with soap an water an vinegar before going inside, even the plasric bags. Clothes in washer an dryer as i reach home. No interaction with anyone till i bathe. Mask an car inside lysol down. Down to my cigarette pack i sanitize cause casher grabs it with same hand as handling money..never stopped doing this since march 2020

If you could do all this I feel you could stop smoking too. That sounding easier.

Postby timelapse » May 20th, 2021, 7:06 am

Thanks for the condolences guys.