The Religion Discussion

AdamB

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby AdamB » June 9th, 2014, 8:34 am

Was "butt-sex" defined, outlined or originated from Kama Sutra? This may be the reason Kasey would support / not object to its implementation....

Postby bluefete » June 9th, 2014, 8:47 am

DJ wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:^^^ Because the only way to figure out anything is by personal experience right? ^^^

I'm ignoring this because a quick google search can show you why that is a stupid answer.

It's like me asking, "How do you know that he people that wrote the bible were mentally stable and not writing fictitious stories? Were you there?"

Bart, you honestly suprised by this post from Bluefete? After all them other stupid comments? Jeez man......

Stupid comments? When something do not make sense to mortal minds they call it stupid. Especially things in the spiritual realm. And certainly if God does not exist then neither can Satan.

Postby bluefete » June 9th, 2014, 8:48 am

From the mouth of a child:

Postby Chimera » June 9th, 2014, 9:52 am

it seems the jehovah witnesses have made some headway into resurrections

is everyone ready?

DJ

Postby DJ » June 9th, 2014, 1:21 pm

AdamB wrote:Was "butt-sex" defined, outlined or originated from Kama Sutra? This may be the reason Kasey would support / not object to its implementation....

Allow me to answer this. Butt-sex was not defined, outlined or originated from the Kama sutra.

But why do you like this term? Who ever smelt it, dealt it.........

marlener

Postby marlener » June 9th, 2014, 9:15 pm

Dj you make an assumption then asking the question.lol. You seem to be taking offense to my statement bro. State your position in context of the statement made by Maj Tom,AdamB,kasey and I'll respond to you. Stay in context though.

Postby maj. tom » June 9th, 2014, 9:30 pm

Allyuh eh serious nah. Fellas watch more tv. It was a hilarious bit from South Park where Mr. Garrison doesn't subscribe to the idea of evolution because "i didn't evolve from a f*ckin monkey!"
Later in the series he meets Richard Dawkins as a woman... look nevermind nah. Go ahead. Entertain me.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » June 9th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Never mind. Doh bother to answer Marlene. I got my answer. Let the football match continue.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » June 13th, 2014, 10:48 am

Rhetorical questions and questions structured to actually make a statement/point or provoke thought ....do not require an answer.

Postby bluefete » June 14th, 2014, 3:17 pm

I will continue to say that it is for the scientists to disprove the Bible. Of course very few would link this to the great flood but you cannot argue with God nor God''s facts.

Genesis 7:

10 And it came to pass after seven days, that the waters of the flood were upon the earth.

11 In the six hundredth year of Noah's life, in the second month, the seventeenth day of the month, the same day were all the fountains of the great deep broken up, and the windows of heaven were opened.

12 And the rain was upon the earth forty days and forty nights.

19 And the waters prevailed exceedingly upon the earth; and all the high hills, that were under the whole heaven, were covered.

20 Fifteen cubits upward did the waters prevail; and the mountains were covered.

Genesis 8:

5 And the waters decreased continually until the tenth month: in the tenth month, on the first day of the month, were the tops of the mountains seen.

http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn2 ... 5yd5z9HTx2

Massive 'ocean' discovered towards Earth's core

19:00 12 June 2014 by Andy Coghlan

A reservoir of water three times the volume of all the oceans has been discovered deep beneath the Earth's surface. The finding could help explain where Earth's seas came from.

The water is hidden inside a blue rock called ringwoodite that lies 700 kilometres underground in the mantle, the layer of hot rock between Earth's surface and its core.

The huge size of the reservoir throws new light on the origin of Earth's water. Some geologists think water arrived in comets as they struck the planet, but the new discovery supports an alternative idea that the oceans gradually oozed out of the interior of the early Earth.

"It's good evidence the Earth's water came from within," says Steven Jacobsen of Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. The hidden water could also act as a buffer for the oceans on the surface, explaining why they have stayed the same size for millions of years.
Pinging the planet

Jacobsen's team used 2000 seismometers to study the seismic waves generated by more than 500 earthquakes. These waves move throughout Earth's interior, including the core, and can be detected at the surface. "They make the Earth ring like a bell for days afterwards," says Jacobsen.

By measuring the speed of the waves at different depths, the team could figure out which types of rocks the waves were passing through. The water layer revealed itself because the waves slowed down, as it takes them longer to get through soggy rock than dry rock.

Jacobsen worked out in advance what would happen to the waves if water-containing ringwoodite was present. He grew ringwoodite in his lab, and exposed samples of it to massive pressures and temperatures matching those at 700 kilometres down.

Sure enough, they found signs of wet ringwoodite in the transition zone 700 kilometres down, which divides the upper and lower regions of the mantle. At that depth, the pressures and temperatures are just right to squeeze the water out of the ringwoodite. "It's rock with water along the boundaries between the grains, almost as if they're sweating," says Jacobsen.
Damp down there

Jacobsen's finding supports a recent study by Graham Pearson of the University of Alberta in Edmonton, Canada. Pearson studied a diamond from the transition zone that had been carried to the surface in a volcano, and found that it contained water-bearing ringwoodite, the first strong evidence that there was lots of water in the transition zone (Nature, doi.org/s6h).

"Since our initial report of hydrous ringwoodite, we've found another ringwoodite crystal, also containing water, so the evidence is now very strong," says Pearson.

So far, Jacobsen only has evidence that the watery rock sits beneath the US. He now wants to find out if it wraps around the entire planet.

"We should be grateful for this deep reservoir," says Jacobsen. "If it wasn't there, it would be on the surface of the Earth, and mountain tops would be the only land poking out."

Journal reference: Science, DOI: 10.1126/science.1253358

Postby Slartibartfast » June 15th, 2014, 8:42 am

Let me explain the science behind it for you. Ringwoodite seems to be a semi-porous rock. That means that it absorbs water under the right conditions. However, the pore spaces in the rock are so small that it requires a lot of pressure to push the water into these spaces. Now, all the article says is that the pressure at the bottom of the ocean is just above the pressure required to make water start seeping in. Therefore water level drops, water will seep out and raise the water level. Also, if the water level rises, water will seep into the ringwoodite and the water level will lower to its original level.

Now this by itself seems to prove the great flood, but, you must also consider the other parts of the water cycle. The only way this could happen is if enough water to flood the earth was evaporated and stored in the clouds long for the woodite to release the enough water to fill back the oceans. I don't think even the biggest flood would cross 20 ft high. Most times not even 10ft. This means that there is some limit to how much water the atmosphere can hold. You need to explain this or else that article proves nothing. If you want to quote and argue science, then you have to live up to science's standards. ALL of the story has to work before you can consider it to be true. This means you will also have to state how he fit 2 of every animal onto the ark.

I also wouldn't bother to go into how this would leave evidence of the great flood all over the earth. Enough water to raise the sea level by "fifteen cubits" seeping out of the bedrock and then back in would cause some serious movement down there (mostly along coast lines through expansion and contraction of the underlying rocks)

Btw I never heard of ringwoodite before. Looks like I learn something today.

Postby 3stagevtec » June 19th, 2014, 2:31 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/EVIL-EYE--ON--OUR-BABIES-263750141.html

This really annoyed me to read.. and worse yet the comments you are seeing on the Express FB page.

It is so easy to blame the supernatural for these situations.. but this isn't the way to go! No 'evil eye' made the child drown / die from smoke inhalation etc etc.. this is simply a lack of supervision and carelessness in some cases for our young vulnerable offspring.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » June 19th, 2014, 9:53 am

3stagevtec wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/EVIL-EYE--ON--OUR-BABIES-263750141.html

This really annoyed me to read.. and worse yet the comments you are seeing on the Express FB page.

It is so easy to blame the supernatural for these situations.. but this isn't the way to go! No 'evil eye' made the child drown / die from smoke inhalation etc etc.. this is simply a lack of supervision and carelessness in some cases for our young vulnerable offspring.

there is an evil eye..................it is called stupid humans. Typical ignorant humans could never accept responsibility for their careless behaviour!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 19th, 2014, 11:49 am

mamoo_pagal wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/EVIL-EYE--ON--OUR-BABIES-263750141.html

there is an evil eye..................it is called stupid humans. Typical ignorant humans could never accept responsibility for their careless behaviour!!
if evil eye = stupid humans, then heavenly eye = ?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 19th, 2014, 3:11 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:

if evil eye = stupid humans, then heavenly eye = ?

Heavenly eye is for when we get lucky. Here's an example.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Baby-Christopher-smothered-to-death-263583611.html

On the facebook page you will see some women thanking 'god' because they did the same thing, fell asleep while breastfeeding, and their children were protected.. In other words, anytime we get lucky = heavenly eye.. whenever sheit happens = evil eye..

Postby bluefete » June 24th, 2014, 9:22 am

Postby bluefete » June 24th, 2014, 9:28 am

If God (good) does not exist and Satan (evil) does not exist, then good and evil are random occurrences of nature. Just like humans.

Not so ABA Trading and DFC?

Postby Slartibartfast » June 24th, 2014, 10:00 am

Short answer is yes.

Longer answer is that both good and evil occurrences can occur as repercussions of good and evil actions. Also, what is seen as good for one person may not be good for another (take rain for example, it is good when you are a child playing in the rain during summer, but it's not so good if you are walking to work).

But let's take it further. Now I am sure you are of the view that having a child is a blessing (i.e. good). After all, according to your teachings, if man in created in God's image, then the creation of a man must be good because it is a direct product of God.

Now what if this birth was the product of the rape of a of a woman in a society where it is forbidden to have sex out of wedlock? Let's assume that the pregnancy is what alerted her family that she had sex. What if this birth causes the mother to be disowned and/or executed? Is the birth still a blessing?

So now bluefete, the question I'm asking is, was the birth an act of God (good) or Satan (evil)? A birth is supposed to be inherently good so the answer should be resounding yes, however, the birth has caused the mother to be killed (evil) and her child to be abandoned (good/bad depending on how the child turns out).

EDIT:
1. Changed "pregnancy is what alerted her family she was pregnant" to " pregnancy is what alerted her family that she had sex".
2. Some grammatical errors fixed
Last edited by Slartibartfast on June 25th, 2014, 9:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby maj. tom » June 24th, 2014, 1:10 pm

Those jokes on The Simpsons really go over bluefete's head huh?

DJ

Postby DJ » June 24th, 2014, 4:02 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Short answer is yes.

Longer answer is that both good and evil occurrences can occur as repercussions of good and evil actions. Also, what is seen as good for one person may not be good for another (take rain for example, it is good when you are a child playing in the rain during summer, but it's not so good if you are walking to work).

But let's take it further. Now I am sure you are of the view that having a child is a blessing (i.e. good). After all, according to your teachings, if man in created in God's image, then the creation of a man must be good because it is a direct product of God.

Now what if this birth was the product of rape in a of a woman in a society where it is forbidden to have sex out of wedlock? Let's assume that the pregnancy is what alerted her family that she was pregnant. What if this birth causes the mother to be disowned and/or executed? Is the birth still a blessing?

So now bluefete, the question I'm asking is, was the birth an act of God (good) or Satan (evil)? A birth is supposed to be inherently good so the answer should be resounding yes, however, the birth has caused the mother to be killed (evil) and her child to be abandoned (good/bad depending on how the child turns out).

this is too hard for the feter to answer.

Postby RBphoto » June 26th, 2014, 7:19 am

On the first page... best answer thus far.

MG Man wrote:I met him in a back alley............I stabbed him and he died.........

Postby MG Man » June 26th, 2014, 10:06 am

is the birth of a disabled / retarded child a blessing to a parent?

VLDS

Postby VLDS » June 26th, 2014, 2:34 pm

Ammm I would have to say yes. My brother was brain damaged. He died in 2004 but my family would of never taken the option to not have him if there was that option.

VLDS

Postby VLDS » June 26th, 2014, 2:34 pm

Ammm I would have to say yes. My brother was brain damaged. He died in 2004 but my family would of never taken the option to not have him if there was that option.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 26th, 2014, 2:39 pm

MG Man wrote:is the birth of a disabled / retarded child a blessing to a parent?

Birth of any child is a blessing. But the term blessing differs due to your religion or lack there of

Postby Chimera » June 26th, 2014, 2:43 pm

kerwinishere wrote:
MG Man wrote:is the birth of a disabled / retarded child a blessing to a parent?

Birth of any child is a blessing. But the term blessing differs due to your religion or lack there of

why?
why is the birth of any child a blessing?

have you ever seen an alcoholic mother begging on the streets with two children begging alongside her for money (which she really going to use for alcohol) and she have a baby in her hand?

is the birth of that child a blessing? to who?

what about a woman who was raped by a relative, is the birth of that child also a blessing?
a continuous reminder of how the child came to be?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 26th, 2014, 2:47 pm

I look like a fcuking mother? :lol: ask a mother you know why or if giving birth was a blessing

Postby Chimera » June 26th, 2014, 2:48 pm

you're the one who say birth of any child is a blessing.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 26th, 2014, 6:36 pm

If you were a woman, and u get rape and get pregnant. Nine months later when you buss you don't know if that child gonna be the best thing that ever happen to you

Postby bluefete » June 26th, 2014, 8:34 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Let me explain the science behind it for you. Ringwoodite seems to be a semi-porous rock. That means that it absorbs water under the right conditions. However, the pore spaces in the rock are so small that it requires a lot of pressure to push the water into these spaces. Now, all the article says is that the pressure at the bottom of the ocean is just above the pressure required to make water start seeping in. Therefore water level drops, water will seep out and raise the water level. Also, if the water level rises, water will seep into the ringwoodite and the water level will lower to its original level.

Now this by itself seems to prove the great flood, but, you must also consider the other parts of the water cycle. The only way this could happen is if enough water to flood the earth was evaporated and stored in the clouds long for the woodite to release the enough water to fill back the oceans. I don't think even the biggest flood would cross 20 ft high. Most times not even 10ft. This means that there is some limit to how much water the atmosphere can hold. You need to explain this or else that article proves nothing. If you want to quote and argue science, then you have to live up to science's standards. ALL of the story has to work before you can consider it to be true. This means you will also have to state how he fit 2 of every animal onto the ark.

I also wouldn't bother to go into how this would leave evidence of the great flood all over the earth. Enough water to raise the sea level by "fifteen cubits" seeping out of the bedrock and then back in would cause some serious movement down there (mostly along coast lines through expansion and contraction of the underlying rocks)

Btw I never heard of ringwoodite before. Looks like I learn something today.

This was a good read. However, we were not around in the time of the great flood. Its catastrophic nature whereby it covered the mountaintops certainly speaks to it being more than 20ft high!! If all that water was released from the great deep,then according to the article, the tops of the mountains would barely be seen. Just as happened in the flood.

You are trying to fit a scientific explanation into a extraordinary, supernatural (natural) event.