COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 4 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 1:34 pm

Kamla trigger the man yes... now he vex.

Need to calm, keep on topic.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2020, 1:36 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Kamla trigger the man yes... now he vex.

Need to calm, keep on topic.

a press conference without blaming Kamla is not a press conference

Postby Les Bain » March 16th, 2020, 1:38 pm

I eh accustomed to this so I hope the link works. Irreverent behaviour.
(nasty cnut)

https://twitter.com/CashNastyGaming/sta ... 93761?s=20

Postby Rovin » March 16th, 2020, 1:44 pm

some of allyuh ...

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 16th, 2020, 1:45 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:If i did tune out - and this afternoon somebody say the prime minister went off on the leader of the opposition for a 10 minutes -during a press conference about a global pandemic - i would say somebody making a joke.

I cannot believe this. just as i start having a little respect for rowlie.

people it have a worldwide pandemic but do not forget - kamla kamla kamla

Rowley was by far the worst speaker and presenter at this press conference. Aside from Imbert giving a presentation no one could see because of the horrible lighting and him stepping Infront of the projector beam.

Postby matr1x » March 16th, 2020, 1:46 pm

Les Bain wrote:I eh accustomed to this so I hope the link works. Irreverent behaviour.
(nasty cnut)

https://twitter.com/CashNastyGaming/sta ... 93761?s=20

To be fair, her tougne probably been in worse places

Postby hydroep » March 16th, 2020, 1:49 pm

Final question was a good one...What is the situation with respect with the judiciary? It doesn't appear as if they were consulted. Dr. Rowley was clearly caught off-guard, just giving a generic response that people not supposed to congregate in groups...:|

Postby MG Man » March 16th, 2020, 1:56 pm

anybody else wondering if anything being done down Cedros side, because the influx continues

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 1:59 pm

MG Man wrote:anybody else wondering if anything being done down Cedros side, because the influx continues

Stuarty said that all ports of entry including Cedros are closed except for T&T nationals.

But persons does come in illegally anyway so...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2020, 2:01 pm

MG Man wrote:anybody else wondering if anything being done down Cedros side, because the influx continues

same thing I saying...I was actually told to pay attention to Palo Seco instead

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 4 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 16th, 2020, 2:02 pm

The majority of the public has NO faith in the T&T govt due to their consistent incompetency and trending lack of preparedness in any national crisis.

The govt however, is praying that Trinis change overnight.

The worst, and i repeat the WORST aspect for Covid19 is the Trinidadian mentality.

Lmao @ “WE” showing the world.

All in all,

To the very little that are taking this situation seriously, please continue to ensure the safety and cleanliness of yourself and families. Distance yourselves as much as possible, especially from your fellow countrymen.

Keep well.
Last edited by MaxPower on March 16th, 2020, 2:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2020, 2:04 pm

they side step that question, and responded that the virus not studying race, age, nationality, and the every one has to practise safety and wash hands.

boarder will remain open.

Postby zoom rader » March 16th, 2020, 2:12 pm

hydroep wrote:Man ducking questions on how much we will have to dip into the HSF. Bully mode engaged...:lol:

They want access to this fund bad, if they get it, it will be toted away just like our foreign exchange.

Postby hydroep » March 16th, 2020, 2:20 pm

hydroep wrote:Man ducking questions on how much we will have to dip into the HSF. Bully mode engaged...:lol:

They want access to this fund bad, if they get it, it will be toted away just like our foreign exchange.

Unfortunately that looks like a given at this stage. Allyuh ketch how he slip in accessing "whatever is available" from the IMF too? He didn't say loans eh, he tried to frame it in manner as if they were "grants" with no strings attached.

In addition to stocking up on TP people should probably think about a hoarding a few cases of KY too...:|

Postby MG Man » March 16th, 2020, 2:22 pm

sMASH wrote:

they side step that question, and responded that the virus not studying race, age, nationality, and the every one has to practise safety and wash hands.

that's messed up....with resources so scarce in Venezuela, this thing will spread fast, and they will being it across on pirogues, so no amount of lockdown and closure of rum shops will help

Postby zoom rader » March 16th, 2020, 2:24 pm

hydroep wrote:
hydroep wrote:Man ducking questions on how much we will have to dip into the HSF. Bully mode engaged...

Unfortunately that looks like a given at this stage. Allyuh ketch how he slip in accessing "whatever is available" from the IMF too? He didn't say loans eh, he tried to frame it in manner as if they were "grants" with no strings attached.

In addition to stocking up on TP people should probably think about a hoarding a few cases of KY too...:|
Muslims not affected by TP

Dem elite contractor bandits looking forward to the HSF
Last edited by zoom rader on March 16th, 2020, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 16th, 2020, 2:25 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Stuarty said that all ports of entry including Cedros are closed except for T&T nationals.

But persons does come in illegally anyway so...

let the TTDF guard the borders- might have to declare SOE to do that but might make sense- add a curfew and we kill 2 birds with 1 stone (crime & covid)

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2020, 2:27 pm

:wiggle:
sMASH wrote:

that's messed up....with resources so scarce in Venezuela, this thing will spread fast, and they will being it across on pirogues, so no amount of lockdown and closure of rum shops will help

when i say boarder, i not referring to official ports of entry, i talking bout boat landing and off loading in the bush.

Postby redmanjp » March 16th, 2020, 2:34 pm

sMASH wrote::wiggle:
sMASH wrote:

when i say boarder, i not referring to official ports of entry, i talking bout boat landing and off loading in the bush.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/14/venezuelans-in-tt-concerned-about-covid19-at-home/

Venezuelans in TT concerned about covid19 at home
GREVIC ALVARADO

The Venezuelan government confirmed two cases of covid19 on Friday, news that had an immediate impact on Venezuelans who are currently refugees in TT.

The vice-president, Delcy Rodríguez, said one patient is a 41-year-old citizen who recently travelled to the US, Italy and Spain.

The other is a 52-year-old man who was in Spain. Both are in the Miranda state and are in quarantine.

Thousands of Venezuelans shared messages of strength and prayers in various social media groups.

“It is a situation that was about to come. Almost all the countries in the world already have cases of this dangerous virus and we knew that at any time our country would be another one,” said Carla González via WhatsApp.

"Venezuela is not ready for a pandemic. Although the government of Nicolás Maduro said that they are ready to face the covid19, all Venezuelans know that it is false," she added.

Gonzalez, who has been in TT for ten months, recalled that in her country there are serious problems in the public and private health system.

“One of the main preventive measures is to wash your hands, and in hospitals there is no water, nor are there any medicines for a simple flu. Medical equipment is damaged in almost all health centers and in many others there are not the necessary supplies such as gloves, surgical suits or face masks.”

Venezuelans in TT claim other covid19 cases have been hidden by the government.

"I am concerned because the Maduro government is characterised by hiding the negative things so as not to generate discomfort in the population. Even Maduro himself said that the government has the cure through a Cuban medicines," said Manuel Perez.

Perez, who lives in Mayaro, said this type of unconfirmed news generates the most nervousness.

"We are far away, in another country and we can do very little to help our families in Venezuela and every day there is different news that worries us more."

Since covid19 began to spread around the world, many Venezuelans in TT have been going through legal and illegal procedures to bring their families here.

“I applied for a visa for my wife and my two daughters who are in Caracas, I have been in TT for two years and I am legal. I do not want my family to experience a pandemic that in Venezuela unfortunately can be further complicated,” said Arturo Rivas.

Hundreds of other Venezuelans have started trying to bring in their relatives.

Last Tuesday night 37 people from Venezuela were detained by the police in Cedros, while trying to enter the country illegally.

A police press release said the detainees included 14 minors.

They were held by the Southwest Division Task Force (SWDTF), the Emergency Response Patrol and the Cedros Police Station.

Relatives said on social media that these detainees have not appeared in court yet.

Postby aaron17 » March 16th, 2020, 2:54 pm

Well a barber visit aint gonna cut it for me. I will let a family member do it . Its not a life and death situation.

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2020, 2:57 pm

4 officially infected persons, out of a population of approx. 1.3 million people, is a crisis
interesting. gtk

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 16th, 2020, 3:01 pm

Its like this
Screenshot_20200316-144205_WhatsApp.jpeg

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Yuh didn’t hear what rowlee say or wha?
A prison is the worst place to put a flu victim as they will infect all quickly
I doubt any prison officer will want a vene in jail either for that reason
So in other words they rather not risk putting a caught vene in prison or idc.
Read between the lines

Although some may say now is as good a time to have a prison infection than any other time.

sMASH wrote::wiggle:
sMASH wrote:

Postby Les Bain » March 16th, 2020, 3:08 pm

The losses we stand to make from this overreaction is slight compared to any lesser course of action.

Very worried about our influx of illegals as well as the Heritage fund's emergency usage.

Postby redmanjp » March 16th, 2020, 3:12 pm

was wondering if to schedule a dentist appointment- but the idea of having my mouth wide open for this pathogen to enter for 15-20 mins cleaning is a bit scary.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 16th, 2020, 3:15 pm

I think there may not be a occasion short of a world war that the heritage fund is better suited for use

Les Bain wrote:The losses we stand to make from this overreaction is slight compared to any lesser course of action.

Very worried about our influx of illegals as well as the Heritage fund's emergency usage.

Postby Redman » March 16th, 2020, 3:19 pm

Complaining without offering an alternative solution is called whining.

Postby Chimera » March 16th, 2020, 3:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:was wondering if to schedule a dentist appointment- but the idea of having my mouth wide open for this pathogen to enter for 15-20 mins cleaning is a bit scary.

dentist office upstairs by me cancel all non emergency patient for 2 weeks

Postby toyolink » March 16th, 2020, 4:41 pm

According to WHO China has proven that this 'outbreak' can be controlled with the best strategies being containment and provision of access to public health services.
Italy and Spain have found themselves in a mess primarily because of a failure to act promptly.
What China has been able to do is break the expected progression before the natural flattening of the curve was expected due to the population becoming more resistant to this virus.
South Korea seems to have quickly adopted the Chinese model and are getting the desired result.
Here in T&T, the model that is working is known and just needs to be implemented aggressively.
The imperatives presented by the PM and his ministers are in line with what is working especially the appeal to the public to support containment by avoid congregating and upping personal hygiene.
What seems to be unsaid but extremely important is the need to be focused on good clean and healthy practices and avoid worthless panic and other mindless stupidity.
The covid19 is a horrible virus, but the facts on how to take control are real and just need to be followed by all.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 16th, 2020, 4:44 pm

Let this use the HSE fund, but only if it is to fund healthcare and offset businesses and those whose livelihood is affected.

Notice things Rowley said:
1. Opened with doom and gloom
2. Talked about issues at CAL (guess who might be a recipient of HSE funding?)
3. Colm mentioning 5B shortfall....hmm HSE exceeds that so people know exactly where the extra 5B will come from.
4. Blamed Kamla
5. Made up some excuses about certain things

All in all, I rate this press conference 4/10. Only saving grace was two doctors, but still why are we hiding info on the other 3 victims? At least their, age/sex/condition/area jeez, all studies show awareness helps.