The official tropical weather thread 2018

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2018

Postby hydroep » October 25th, 2018, 7:13 am

Stuarty and them just look like they forking lazy. It is a logistical nightmare to receive donations of goods from abroad buh is no problem to send money via accounts that have been set up.

Ah wonder if dem banks taking an administrative fee for their services?...:|

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2018, 7:31 am

hydroep wrote:Stuarty and them just look like they forking lazy. It is a logistical nightmare to receive donations of goods from abroad buh is no problem to send money via accounts that have been set up.

it is a logistical nightmare though

in the usual order of things, when you try to ship something, your name,address has to be on it.
so if you try to ship 24 cases of beans on your own and it turn out some have drugs, they know who to go after.......

but when dozens of people just drop of boxes of items and label them , canned goods, clothes etc......
then it has to be itemized and shipped and cleared and checked locally....that is a logistical nightmare

better to send cash to people or organisations here who can readily buy what they need immediately.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2018, 7:38 am

hydroep wrote:Stuarty and them just look like they forking lazy. It is a logistical nightmare to receive donations of goods from abroad buh is no problem to send money via accounts that have been set up.

He also mentioned that they wouldn't want things that shouldn't be coming in, to come in alongside the actual donations. Has to be pathogens or biological weapons or something because I can't see him being that concerned about weapons, drugs or other contraband, given the consistent and blatant porosity of our borders, right?

fireworks wrote:Lol if they had plans to throw it away they won’t be coming by you now would they... and like I said.

Who stopping these folks who used you to save their cars from selling it full price to an unsuspecting buyer after it’s repaired?

It's easy to talk if one hasn't experienced the situation. If I'm seeing rising flood waters and I'm unable to relocate to higher ground, I'll disconnect my battery pole to prevent any shorting within the electrical system of the vehicle. Then, as rspann said, thorough cleaning and drying of all the components before reintroducing an electrical current, coupled with proper steam cleaning and sanitizing and you should be good. I understand your point, but if I made you an offer of $100k for your $350k Hilux, because I knew it got flooded, would you let it go for that price??

Postby Ben_spanna » October 25th, 2018, 8:00 am

^^^ I think quite few of our posts have gone off topic!

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » October 25th, 2018, 8:42 am

Smart way for the gov't to get some US$

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 25th, 2018, 9:04 am

Ben_spanna wrote:^^^ I think quite few of our posts have gone off topic!

Discussion about vehicles flooded as a result of a tropical wave/ITCZ activity, etc., is off topic?

K thx.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 25th, 2018, 10:54 am

seeing a red X out in the Atlantic...not coming to us...but may distress someone soon

Postby toyolink » October 25th, 2018, 12:16 pm

Today is hot and dry thus far in Mc Bean, Couva.

Postby hydroep » October 25th, 2018, 12:25 pm

Alternating overcast and sunny conditions in Sando.

Postby redmanjp » October 25th, 2018, 1:39 pm

Riverine Flood Alert cancelled

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt/early_warning

Headline Riverine Flood Alert Cancellation - Green Level

Description
Water levels in the nation's main river courses are now below threshold values and these rivers are now in a contained state. There has been significant improvement over the last 24 hours and although some areas are still inundated - El Socorro South, Bamboo No. 1 and parts of the Manzanilla stretch - flood waters in these areas will continue to recede, as no significant rainfall is expected over the next several days.

Instructions
Assess your environment for safety concerns. Don't take unnecessary risks. Avoid wading through residual flood waters. This is the final public warning message on this riverine flood event. Continue to monitor official sources for information. www.metoffice.gov.tt www.odpm.gov.tt

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2018, 9:00 am

Isasha sings about the flood

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2018, 10:23 am

this tropical wave is pretty low in the latitudes

Atl_Tropics-1.gif

Postby toyolink » October 26th, 2018, 11:12 am

Today is again patchy clouds and no rain thus far in Couva.
Lets hope the annual Diwali celebration isn't about another flood episode.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » October 26th, 2018, 11:52 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:this tropical wave is pretty low in the latitudes

Atl_Tropics-1.gif

was looking at that earlier and it looking like it's headed our way

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 26th, 2018, 2:08 pm

as long as it doh reach the nhc website...it nuh serious

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 26th, 2018, 9:33 pm

44787599_1931402123620608_3935805753998180352_o.jpg

Postby De Dragon » October 26th, 2018, 10:49 pm

Nicki have a long wait for a GORTT call.....................

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 27th, 2018, 5:06 am

If Nikki only say monetary contributions her phones would be busy

cornfused

Postby cornfused » October 27th, 2018, 8:31 am

Uncle Duane or anyone where do you get those weather maps?

On the site National Weather Service, I can't seem to find them

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 27th, 2018, 12:28 pm

No worries this should deal with it
Screenshot_20181027-045823.png

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 27th, 2018, 3:21 pm

Is only hot sun in we ass this week

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2018, 4:05 pm

cornfused wrote:Uncle Duane or anyone where do you get those weather maps?

On the site National Weather Service, I can't seem to find them

You can check the URL of the images in the first post of this thread. Some are from www.Metoffice.gov.tt and some are from National Hurricane Center www.nhc.noaa.gov

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 27th, 2018, 10:17 pm

Oscar seems to be sucking all the moisture out of the wave that is approaching us.

Postby redmanjp » October 28th, 2018, 3:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:as long as it doh reach the nhc website...it nuh serious

that weather system that flood out everywhere last week didn't show on nhc though- they only study if it going to develop into a cyclone

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 28th, 2018, 5:21 pm

Hope it dissipate
Screenshot_20181028-171942.png

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2018, 5:06 am

redmanjp wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:as long as it doh reach the nhc website...it nuh serious

that weather system that flood out everywhere last week didn't show on nhc though- they only study if it going to develop into a cyclone

it had a 10% chance of development and was heading straight to us, it was there but dissipated

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 29th, 2018, 5:20 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:Hope it dissipate

Yikes....

Postby meccalli » October 29th, 2018, 5:32 am

What you seeing there is going down to guyana, there's more weather to come behind that however, starting around lunch tomorrow.

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2018, 6:52 am

better hope so,
somebody need to make up a flood plan for them folks
ie where to move cars, mattresses to avoid damage again

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2018, 6:56 am

pugboy wrote:better hope so,