The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

Re: The Tobago Ferry Boat thread

Postby Habit7 » January 21st, 2021, 4:28 pm

Sundar wrote:and the Galleons Passage gathering moss? and playing hop scotch at the waterfront?

It made a trip just yesterday though https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/de ... NS_PASSAGE

VII

Postby VII » January 21st, 2021, 4:58 pm

Let the jackass bray....

Habit7 wrote:
Sundar wrote:and the Galleons Passage gathering moss? and playing hop scotch at the waterfront?

It made a trip just yesterday though https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/de ... NS_PASSAGE

Sundar

Postby Sundar » January 22nd, 2021, 3:51 pm

VII wrote:Let the jackass bray....

Habit7 wrote:

The only Jackass here is you.

VII

Postby VII » January 22nd, 2021, 9:41 pm

Nah the cynical ignorant uninformed sycophants are the real jackasses..if you know nothing and have nothing good to say don't bray..

But you prefer to make some smart asss ignorant comment without any info whatsoever,spreading misinformation..

Sundar wrote:
VII wrote:Let the jackass bray....

Habit7 wrote:

The only Jackass here is you.

Postby Habit7 » January 23rd, 2021, 9:07 am

I have never seen a boat that so many ppl wish ill will.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 23rd, 2021, 10:23 am

Habit7 wrote:I have never seen a boat that so many ppl wish ill will.

Recalcitrants...they dangerous to progress.

Postby The_Honourable » January 23rd, 2021, 7:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:I have never seen a boat that so many ppl wish ill will.

Wait till the Buccoo Reef reach

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2021, 9:42 pm

rocks and old jersey flushing in the toilets

Postby teems1 » January 23rd, 2021, 11:00 pm

These boats should never be making a 3-4 hour journey each way especially over the bocas.

A proper port set up in Toco and Crown Point would have had an upfront cost, but paid back itself easily in maintenance and fuel costs.

Postby Kenjo » January 24th, 2021, 2:46 am

teems1 wrote:These boats should never be making a 3-4 hour journey each way especially over the bocas.

A proper port set up in Toco and Crown Point would have had an upfront cost, but paid back itself easily in maintenance and fuel costs.

Whatever happened to that toco port ? Was it canceled ?

Postby The_Honourable » January 24th, 2021, 11:38 am

Kenjo wrote:
teems1 wrote:These boats should never be making a 3-4 hour journey each way especially over the bocas.

Whatever happened to that toco port ? Was it canceled ?

It was temporarily halted because of covid: http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... #p10041088

VII

Postby VII » January 24th, 2021, 12:43 pm

A service from the capital is always a must..personally I think its more important to preserve Toco and environs from the 2 legged breed of animals and all that comes with it ..a limited service maybe,but not the entire service..

We take for granted the rich concentration of biodiversity in that area,that's something we should not compromise no matter what..

And the 2 to 3 hr trips are perfect for those boats actually..running ph between toco and Scarborough up and down in more rotations maybe way worse, that's more suitable to water taxis/smaller vessels..

I'm willing to bet that the Galleons Passage and the T&T Spirit would be assigned to Toco port when completed..

Postby Habit7 » January 24th, 2021, 1:06 pm

VII wrote:A service from the capital is always a must..personally I think its more important to preserve Toco and environs from the 2 legged breed of animals and all that comes with it ..a limited service maybe,but not the entire service..

We take for granted the rich concentration of biodiversity in that area,that's something we should not compromise no matter what..

And the 2 to 3 hr trips are perfect for those boats actually..running ph between toco and Scarborough up and down in more rotations maybe way worse, that's more suitable to water taxis/smaller vessels..

Govt subsidises that 3hr trip. The true price is about $1000, we only pay $100. If we could cut it down to 1hr with the same price, then it is less subsidy.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 24th, 2021, 5:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:
VII wrote:A service from the capital is always a must..personally I think its more important to preserve Toco and environs from the 2 legged breed of animals and all that comes with it ..a limited service maybe,but not the entire service..

Govt subsidises that 3hr trip. The true price is about $1000, we only pay $100. If we could cut it down to 1hr with the same price, then it is less subsidy.

Gov't really need to rethink these subsidies. Time trinis pay the full price for things so that they can appreciate just how good they have things in this country. Especially considering this doh care attitude when it comes to public assets and sabotage.

Gov't should prob look into subsidising those to need to travel between the islands for business and education but the other who are just joyriding between the islands should face the full fee. Same with the airlines.

Postby eliteauto » January 24th, 2021, 5:10 pm

How would you define "business"? Trade? I ask because many of those who are "joyriding between the islands " are actually contributing significantly to Tobago's economy

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 24th, 2021, 5:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:

If that's the real cost then we are running a terribly inefficient service. Similar ferries in the Azores islands cost much less and are traveling similar distances (3 hours costing €45 or $400TT not subsided as there are competitors).

Subsidizing an island 'bridge' makes plenty of economic sense as it facilitates business plus does a social good by bringing opportunities to persons on both islands.

Having a port in Toco could be a good idea, but the trek to toco alone (even with better roads) is a turn off for many as well as an additional expense in gas and time. So it doesn't solve all the problems and the capex to get that project going not to mention the environmental cost probably isn't worth it.

Passing the buck the consumer does more harm in the long run by hurting the economy.

Long story short, it's best we subsidize the existing sea and airbridges and make it more efficient.

VII

Postby VII » January 24th, 2021, 5:50 pm

Great points men....can't add anything myself..

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 24th, 2021, 5:51 pm

eliteauto wrote:How would you define "business"? Trade? I ask because many of those who are "joyriding between the islands " are actually contributing significantly to Tobago's economy

For me it'll be like a corporate ticket that is booked via the business account. This will be subject to the business paying any necessary taxes etc. So a manager who needs to travel weekly to tobago to check on the business wouldn't be hampered. Could also encourage companies to relocate offices there as well.

My problem is the subsidies being used for ppl travelling there multiple times per year just to rest and relax. I wouldn't disencourage this but I know alot of people who do this who are also unemployed and receiving state benefits via other means. That is just the state losing money on both ends and is unsustainable in the long run.
Subsidies should always be tied to some sort of productive action. Something should be produced because of the subsidy.

I don't mind the subsidies remaining if it can be shown for every ticket sold, the person spends 1000 plus dollars in Tobago to boost the economy. That way the ticket may be subsidise but the money that would have been spent on the ticket is now spent stimulating the economy.

I think alot of these things are political gifts that make no economic sense. There are similar ferries worldwide that are operated by private companies for a profit. It always worries me when gov'ts such as ours continue to ignore the need for an enterprise to make a profit at the expense of political favor.

Money doesn't grow on trees

Postby Habit7 » January 24th, 2021, 7:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

If that's the real cost then we are running a terribly inefficient service. Similar ferries in the Azores islands cost much less and are traveling similar distances (3 hours costing €45 or $400TT not subsided as there are competitors).

Subsidizing an island 'bridge' makes plenty of economic sense as it facilitates business plus does a social good by bringing opportunities to persons on both islands.

Having a port in Toco could be a good idea, but the trek to toco alone (even with better roads) is a turn off for many as well as an additional expense in gas and time. So it doesn't solve all the problems and the capex to get that project going not to mention the environmental cost probably isn't worth it.

Passing the buck the consumer does more harm in the long run by hurting the economy.

Long story short, it's best we subsidize the existing sea and airbridges and make it more efficient.

Are those Azores ferries, high speed (+35knots) catamarans? Otherwise it is not comparable.

Postby Habit7 » January 26th, 2021, 10:24 am

After the Buccoo Reef hear the results, it fire de wuk

142973301_4937480232960796_7830689905999806420_o.jpg

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 10:29 am

Habit7 wrote:After the Buccoo Reef hear the results, it fire de wuk

1 out of 2 eh too bad............

Postby Habit7 » January 26th, 2021, 10:41 am

Nah we need the two since Tobago is now back in UNC ppl good books and they officially revoking their boycott of vacationing there.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » January 26th, 2021, 10:53 am

Habit7 wrote:

Nah we need the two since Tobago is now back in UNC ppl good books and they officially revoking their boycott of vacationing there.

Oar. I thought you was going and say they need the 2 because now since Bago people disobeyed King Growlers orders, and rubbing up with Duke/UNC, expect to see some 'sabotage' like red/yellow jerseys stuffed in the fuel tank etc in the coming days.

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 11:27 am

Habit7 wrote:

Yeah, I remember KPB saying she'd never forgive them for voting PDP.

Postby bluefete » January 26th, 2021, 12:17 pm

So Austal (APT James) could build a better boat than INCAT (Buccoo Reef)?

death365

Postby death365 » January 26th, 2021, 12:35 pm

veryfishy ...is this a delay tatic ?

no vote ... no boat

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 1:05 pm

I tort de LFDRFD PNM uses to only buy boat dat eh hah defect/deficiency/non conformance? :? :?

Postby SMc » January 26th, 2021, 1:14 pm

death365 wrote:veryfishy ...is this a delay tatic ?

no vote ... no boat

Postby Habit7 » January 26th, 2021, 2:34 pm

De Dragon wrote:I tort de LFDRFD PNM uses to only buy boat dat eh hah defect/deficiency/non conformance? :? :?

Oh, I see you have done the incident report already.

Care to share your findings?

Postby De Dragon » January 26th, 2021, 2:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:I tort de LFDRFD PNM uses to only buy boat dat eh hah defect/deficiency/non conformance? :? :?

Oh, I see you have done the incident report already.

Care to share your findings?

Eet shut down
The End :lol: :lol: :lol:
The UNC/Kamla well wicked though, to send somebody all the way to Hobart, Australia, to sabotage the vessel.