Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 5th, 2016, 3:43 am

^^^yup....me too.

Postby Redman » February 5th, 2016, 7:38 am

I doubt any of these people own a boat :roll:
Rather than go after these , we VAT the arse out of people who come here for a service? Yep makes sense. A more classic case of cart before horse if ever there was one! Increase taxes, THEN worry about enforcing collection/going after evaders, but PNM diehards on this forum people will swallow empty rhetoric that makes empty promises every time.

No ...the people with the boats are the ones getting...squeezed for bribes by customs and Imm.
The people with the boats are the ones whose property gets pilfered,stolen and their person violated without recourse...

The people with the boats are the ones that get over charged for work that is done by service providers that have a shiddy disposition and dont care attitude.

The people with the boats are the ones that try to make a report at the TTPS and get nothing.

Then they leave these waters and have to run the gauntlet of pirates and traffickers...

OR they can go Grenada sit on Grand Anse while enjoying a place that acts as if it WANTS their business.

If they were getting that here 12.5% tax would be irrelevant.

Read the article in Habits post.

Also have you studied the product/life cycle of an industry of this kind? Do you know if it is in decline, or ascendancy. How exactly do you know where 27 years is in relation to an industry of this nature? Or do you just "feel" that that is enough time?

I guess you have ....and I say guess cuz Ive not seen any evidence that you know what you talking about..

I feel 27 years is enough time for any industry that operates in a free market to be able to survive a 12.5% tax.
If not there must be more efficient uses of the HR,physical and financial resources committed to the industry.

Postby De Dragon » February 5th, 2016, 8:54 pm

Redman wrote:
Rather than go after these , we VAT the arse out of people who come here for a service? Yep makes sense. A more classic case of cart before horse if ever there was one! Increase taxes, THEN worry about enforcing collection/going after evaders, but PNM diehards on this forum people will swallow empty rhetoric that makes empty promises every time.

No ...the people with the boats are the ones getting...squeezed for bribes by customs and Imm.
The people with the boats are the ones whose property gets pilfered,stolen and their person violated without recourse...

The people with the boats are the ones that get over charged for work that is done by service providers that have a shiddy disposition and dont care attitude.

The people with the boats are the ones that try to make a report at the TTPS and get nothing.

Then they leave these waters and have to run the gauntlet of pirates and traffickers...

OR they can go Grenada sit on Grand Anse while enjoying a place that acts as if it WANTS their business.

Also have you studied the product/life cycle of an industry of this kind? Do you know if it is in decline, or ascendancy. How exactly do you know where 27 years is in relation to an industry of this nature? Or do you just "feel" that that is enough time?

I guess you have ....and I say guess cuz Ive not seen any evidence that you know what you talking about..
I feel 27 years is enough time for any industry that operates in a free market to be able to survive a 12.5% tax.If not there must be more efficient uses of the HR,physical and financial resources committed to the industry.

AGAIN, how does VAT help Customs, Immigration, TTPS, customer service? Isn't it just further discouragement for yachties?
You "feel", then asking for evidence? I never claimed to have any, but you flung out Grenada without any evidence of what their practice is in relation to VAT etc.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 5th, 2016, 9:11 pm

Could someone explain to me why is it when Kamla removed Vat nobody dropped their prices but soon as PNM put back on Vat they raised everything by 20 - 30%?

Look the big bag of tortillas chips that was $9 it is now $13. Explain to me how exactly this can raise by $4 when they never even removed the vat in the first place? if you never removed vat from an item how can you add it?
Anyways I see people dotish enough to buy, so I let them buy. I know they lost a lot of sale from me but someone else will buy in my place.

This woman on my side at a local mini mart charging Vat for Okro this woman raise the price of all she vegetables she say the PNM put back Vat so she charging for vat. Farmers paying vat for Okro and pumpkin grown down here? People gone crazy with price increase in this place. Well I don't give them wrong you raise price how much you want, Trini will always buy it. This is a great country to do business in.

Postby The_Honourable » February 5th, 2016, 10:23 pm

As usual... people making noise and still buying

Raise flour by $1 in Latin America and you would see politicians resigning and buildings burning.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 5th, 2016, 10:40 pm

It would be comical if they raise everything by another 30% when the new tax system goes into full effect. And then raise it by another 30% when light bill and water go up this year. Square it off to 100% increase in prices in just 1 year.
And I hope they do it because Trinis will still buy. Luckily for me I plant majority of things now and majority of things I used to buy like snacks etc I stopped buying it.

PNM actually made me become healthier by force and caused me to save money aswell. I dunno if to thank them or hate them. because sheit so expensive I stop buying 90% of what I used to so i saving a drastic amount of money now.

Postby De Dragon » February 5th, 2016, 11:29 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:It would be comical if they raise everything by another 30% when the new tax system goes into full effect. And then raise it by another 30% when light bill and water go up this year. Square it off to 100% increase in prices in just 1 year.
And I hope they do it because Trinis will still buy. Luckily for me I plant majority of things now and majority of things I used to buy like snacks etc I stopped buying it.

PNM actually made me become healthier by force and caused me to save money aswell. I dunno if to thank them or hate them. because sheit so expensive I stop buying 90% of what I used to so i saving a drastic amount of money now.

Terrance Deyalsingh would be proud, let's see how much healthier you're going to be when electricity rates and water rates go up, and property taxes start.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 6th, 2016, 12:43 am

The_Honourable wrote:As usual... people making noise and still buying

Raise flour by $1 in Latin America and you would see politicians resigning and buildings burning.

Very true
Trinidadians are happy with it.
The people can say no to all these ridiculous priced contracts given out burning up the country's money where government officials profit and selected contractors/people.
Government after governmaet squandering the country's money
Last edited by hong kong phooey on February 6th, 2016, 2:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 6th, 2016, 12:51 am

De Dragon wrote:Terrance Deyalsingh would be proud, let's see how much healthier you're going to be when electricity rates and water rates go up, and property taxes start.

Not saying I agree with PNM, just pointing out this is what has happened. sheit get so expensive I start to plant my own food and now I suddenly cut back on $1000 a month that I was spending for so many years now.
All I know padner is I stop spending money. But I go have to spend plenty more soon when they raise property tax and current.

But then again we beautiful Ma Kamla never fix the property tax when she had the chance she promised that she go fix it in 2016 if she won 2015 election. Why would anyone believe her now when she had 5 years and did nothing? why you think she did nothing? so PNM could jam we and she go look good.

You supposed to know the nasty political game always being played in Trinidad by both parties, I doh have to tell you this.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 6th, 2016, 2:07 am

this property tax ridiculous
how are they determining the value of your property?

Postby Redman » February 6th, 2016, 5:51 am

Redman wrote:

I feel 27 years is enough time for any industry that operates in a free market to be able to survive a 12.5% tax.If not there must be more efficient uses of the HR,physical and financial resources committed to the industry.

AGAIN, how does VAT help Customs, Immigration, TTPS, customer service? Isn't it just further discouragement for yachties?
You "feel", then asking for evidence? I never claimed to have any, but you flung out Grenada without any evidence of what their practice is in relation to VAT etc.

You are the one implying that VAT is causing the death of the industry..
I've said from the beginning that there are larger more long term problems...not with its viability.

Vat is not THE issue.

Postby De Dragon » February 6th, 2016, 5:55 am

Redman wrote:

You are the one implying that VAT is causing the death of the industry..
I've said from the beginning that there are larger more long term problems...not with its viability.

Vat is not THE issue.

Wrong, I said that VAT will only add to the woes that you said is killing the industry. You are the one attempting to minimize the impact that VAT will have.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 6th, 2016, 6:01 am

hong kong phooey wrote:this property tax ridiculous
how are they determining the value of your property?

At the DRO, each property is assigned an ATV (annual taxable value), this is used to calculate the taxes.
Now, depending on whats is on the property (size of land, building etc. the ATV can be higher or lower)

From my understanding, these figures that are on record already will be used for taxing purposes.
For new properties, the value needs to be assigned by a government valuator.

As for the actual taxes and criteria for such, not sure the PNM will make changes to the previous system.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 6th, 2016, 9:10 am

*KRONIK* wrote:. . . For new properties, the value needs to be assigned by a government valuator. . .

What's all this fuss about property taxes then? Government valuations are always below true market value.

Trinis always complaining about taxes in T&T, but have no issue with paying them when they go faren.

Postby toyolink » February 6th, 2016, 9:35 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:. . . For new properties, the value needs to be assigned by a government valuator. . .

What's all this fuss about property taxes then? Government valuations are always below true market value.

Trinis always complaining about taxes in T&T, but have no issue with paying them when they go faren.

I believe the problem here is the lack of clarity coupled with what appears to be an intention to shift the bench mark values up.
The public has no problem paying "reasonable taxes" and would be concerned about getting caught like what just happened with 12.5% vat promise.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 6th, 2016, 10:04 am

toyolink wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

I believe the problem here is the lack of clarity coupled with what appears to be an intention to shift the bench mark values up.
The public has no problem paying "reasonable taxes" and would be concerned about getting caught like what just happened with 12.5% vat promise.

And not only that the money used to buy the property was already taxed.
What if I secured a loan to buy the said property. Property really belongs to the bank. Should the taxes be split such that I pay the percentage I already paid for and the bank pays the rest.
It is unfair that i am taxed on my luxury,
Some people work twice as hard to have what they own.
It should be fair equal amount to each home owner. no on the face value.

boxy

Postby boxy » February 6th, 2016, 4:58 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Could someone explain to me why is it when Kamla removed Vat nobody dropped their prices but soon as PNM put back on Vat they raised everything by 20 - 30%?

Look the big bag of tortillas chips that was $9 it is now $13. Explain to me how exactly this can raise by $4 when they never even removed the vat in the first place? if you never removed vat from an item how can you add it?
Anyways I see people dotish enough to buy, so I let them buy. I know they lost a lot of sale from me but someone else will buy in my place.

This woman on my side at a local mini mart charging Vat for Okro this woman raise the price of all she vegetables she say the PNM put back Vat so she charging for vat. Farmers paying vat for Okro and pumpkin grown down here? People gone crazy with price increase in this place. Well I don't give them wrong you raise price how much you want, Trini will always buy it. This is a great country to do business in.

I love this guy ^^^^^^^

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Postby toyolink » February 6th, 2016, 5:32 pm

Everything seems to have become mysterious and difficult to get a 'handle on'.
With the prevailing exposures including rate of exchange risk and the cumulative impact of duties,vat and other charges many business people may just feel it necessary to increase retail prices to provide cover from unknown possibilities.
Prices may actually be pushed up to the full limit of the market tolerance.
Unfortunately,in the short term people working for 'a salary' are going to be squeezed since they just cant pass on anything.
....No magic here.

Postby zoom rader » February 13th, 2016, 4:22 am

So far No achievement, anyone have a PNM achievement that we can be proud of?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 13th, 2016, 5:35 am

zoom rader wrote:So far No achievement, anyone have a PNM achievement that we can be proud of?

Are you retarded or can't you read the news
we are trying to achieve the highest murder rate this year in our history.
Setting up so we can achieve becoming #1 in kidnapping per capita again

Postby De Dragon » February 13th, 2016, 10:52 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
zoom rader wrote:So far No achievement, anyone have a PNM achievement that we can be proud of?

Are you retarded or can't you read the news
we are trying to achieve the highest murder rate this year in our history.
Setting up so we can achieve becoming #1 in kidnapping per capita again

But you have to remember that we, not the elected officials are the problem........ :roll:

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » February 15th, 2016, 10:28 am

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,224019.html

TOP BRASS FIRED
Monday, February 15 2016

The National Operations Centre (NOC), which was formed under the Peoples Partnership Government four years ago, was officially scrapped on Thursday following a Cabinet decision to terminate the contracts of three top officials at the unit.

On Thursday afternoon, the contracts of Executive Director of the NOC former army reserve Major Sarwan Boodram, along with acting Deputy Director of Business Operations Sharon Alfred and former Deputy Commissioner of Police, and Strategic Coordinator of MAC Group Mervyn Richardson were terminated.

The three were given their marching orders with immediate effect on Thursday and the three were asked to demit office with immediate effect. Newsday understands that the trio were not even given the opportunity to pack up their belongings since the decision was for them to leave office as soon as they were fired.

Boodram and Alfred, who were based at the NOC’s offices at Knowsley Building, Queen’s Park West, Port of Spain, were given the news late Thursday while Richardson, who was based in Cumuto, was the last to receive the news. Richarson was moved to Cumuto late last year to oversee operations of the NOC’s assets there.

On Friday he disconnected his phone for reasons unknown.

Newsday understands that all the assets of the NOC will now be placed under the Strategic Services Agency (SSA) which is under the command of Colonel George Robinson.

All employees of the NOC will now report directly to Robinson.

It remained unclear why the sudden decision to fire the three at NOC was made, but sources revealed that they were on month to month contracts.

Contacted yesterday, Minister of National Security Edmond Dillon confirmed the termination of Boodram, Alfred and Richardson. He said that it was all part of their restructuring exercise at the NOC, and added that because the NOC was not a legal corporate body, all the resources and manpower will now fall directly under the SSA.

Newsday also contacted former Executive Director of the NOC, Commander Garvin Heera who said he was not surprised at the decision to terminate himself and the two others.

“The Minister of National Security, under the leadership of Major General Dillon is progressing in its decision to restructure and review the architecture, policies and operationalising of agencies.

It is clear that the Minister intends to rebuild and revamp key operating capabilities as he continues to focus on the impact of coordination and utilisation of an all round approach.” Newsday also contacted former Minister of National Security Gary Griffith who was the brainchild behind the NOC. He said: “I have not heard Minister Dillon or anyone state that the NOC was illegal. Anyone who says this, then it means that they obviously were badly briefed or did not do their homework.” “The role and function of the NOC is administrative and logistic, and involves being an independent body that supports law enforcement operations. As a result of the NOC’s existence, it was the first time that all law enforcement agencies were actually working together and this assisted in crime reduction and providing the highest visibility ever seen in law enforcement.” “The NOC is primarily a facility to coordinate and enhance the law enforcement agencies for better collaboration, and command and control for intelligence sharing, and joint operations, including major events. This does not require any type of legislative amendment, so how in the world can it be illegal? If the role and function of the NOC is to be altered to include being directly independent in law enforcement operations on it’s own, similar to how SAUTT (Special Anti Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago) was, and this indeed can be of value, only then would legislative approval be required.” Newsday understands that the area at Knowsley Building, which was given to the NOC will be reclaimed by the Ministry of National Security and handed back to the original occupiers of Knowsley Building.

Some senior police, army and Coast Guard officers, some interpreters, as well as pilots assigned to the NOC are to have their contracts revisited and, after an assessment is done, some of them will be reintegrated into the SSA.

Late last year the former head of the SSA Bisnath Maharaj was fired from the elite agency.

He was replaced by Matthew Andrews who was in charge of Criminal Intelligence Operations.

Efforts to reach Richardson, Boodram and Alfred for comment proved futile

Postby zoom rader » February 17th, 2016, 2:32 pm

Nothing going on ?

Taxes paying and very little to show.

Meanwhile Imbert is PM next to Maxi fluffy

Postby desifemlove » February 17th, 2016, 2:41 pm

Kamla claiming victory...and people believe she hahhaahaa....

iz cos most UNC people have ZERO education, and conditioned to by Kamz and Suruj dat dey iz Brahmin status and believe everyting she say....if dey did say water runs uphill, horses eat fire and pooh bricks, and Trinidad is an island on the planet Neptune, they'd believe....it's how dey conditioned....

Postby zoom rader » February 17th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Meanwhile the nation await a PNM achievement, so far none todate.

Postby desifemlove » February 17th, 2016, 2:47 pm

five years ah UNC govt...the only ting she achieved was pedestrian walkovers, highways, and ting most country consider normal/par the course...i doh care about corruption...we all knew it was coming.

Postby zoom rader » February 17th, 2016, 2:50 pm

Anyone have any PNM achievements they wish to share as this chead is dying a slow death

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 17th, 2016, 3:01 pm

zoom rader wrote:Anyone have any PNM achievements they wish to share as this chead is dying a slow death

As it should. Penis comparisons are for the insecure.

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2016, 4:21 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Anyone have any PNM achievements they wish to share as this chead is dying a slow death

As it should. Penis comparisons are for the insecure.

Still, small tolee better than no, or dead tolee................

Postby zoom rader » February 18th, 2016, 9:23 am

New day,

Habit7, share some of your government achievements nah for today.

What has PM Maxi fluffy done