Tuner Cooking Thread.

carluva

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby carluva » April 17th, 2020, 9:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Fish broff is life. Hitting orange valley tmr for some carite again.

Gonna try making doubles tmr as well.
How much per pound do you get carite for there? Of you buy a crate after haggling and auctioning?

Postby K74T » April 17th, 2020, 9:41 pm

Brofff boiii

Postby Chimera » April 17th, 2020, 9:56 pm

Nah i doh go tru that sheit . And when u buy like that they dont cut up or.clean it..i have someone does text me a pricelist around 9am and then i does go down. Carite is $30 a lb right now.
carluva wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Fish broff is life. Hitting orange valley tmr for some carite again.

How much per pound do you get carite for there? Of you buy a crate after haggling and auctioning?

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » April 17th, 2020, 10:33 pm

carluva wrote:You'll need one large can of salmon.

One medium onion, chopped.

One medium carrot, chopped in coins.

One small sweet pepper.

Two medium tomatoes.

4 to 6 cloves of garlic.

Fresh seasoning.

A pimento pepper.

In a small to medium pot, saute the onions and garlic in hot oil. Add carrots and sweet pepper. Add the entire contents of the tin of salmon, liquid too. Let that come to temperature while mashing up the lumps of salmon in the pot. The object here is to break up the big lumps but not so much that it becomes a mush (which is no problem either as it'll come together in the end). You may need to add some water along the way to the boil. Once bubbling, add tomatoes.

You can let that boil down until the carrots are tender and then eat with sada roti. Add salt and black pepper to taste before it's done.

For rice or provisions here's the twist, so bear with me...

After adding the tomatoes, add some ketchup, about 1-2 tablespoons, soy sauce (1 teaspoon) and Worcester sauce (1 teaspoon). Add a lil more water. Let that simmer until the gravy is not too runny and the carrots are tender. Season to taste with salt and pepper before it's done.

Total cook time for both is between 20-25 mins. Add pepper to it if you want or enjoy with raw pepper (my preference) with you meal along with fresh cucumber.

If you want to add some more substance, for example for eating with rice, add about 2-3 potatoes chopped in medium chunks before adding the can of salmon to the pot. They'll cook down about the same time as the carrots. You'll need more water as the starch from the potatoes will thicken the gravy.

I learned to make it this way from my mom. Try this recipe. It's nice!!!! First time I made it, my wife screwed up her face. But she loves it now and the kids love it just as much.

Oh yes, for more body with the meal, enjoy this with rice and lentil peas as well.

Tell me how it came out.

Here's my effort. Pretty pleased with the outcome.

Salmon_edit.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 17th, 2020, 11:19 pm

Dude for a first effort, that looks great! Looks like something I made. How did it taste and what did you have it with? Sada roti or rice?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 17th, 2020, 11:23 pm

Oh goouudd! So those guys who sell out of the vans or the neighborhood depots digging out yuh eye with $50 a lb.

That price u getting is wholesale price.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Nah i doh go tru that sheit . And when u buy like that they dont cut up or.clean it..i have someone does text me a pricelist around 9am and then i does go down. Carite is $30 a lb right now.
carluva wrote:

Postby Dizzy28 » April 17th, 2020, 11:37 pm

Paid 40/lb for carite yesterday off a van passing in the road by me
carluva wrote:Oh goouudd! So those guys who sell out of the vans or the neighborhood depots digging out yuh eye with $50 a lb.

That price u getting is wholesale price.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Nah i doh go tru that sheit . And when u buy like that they dont cut up or.clean it..i have someone does text me a pricelist around 9am and then i does go down. Carite is $30 a lb right now.
carluva wrote:

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » April 17th, 2020, 11:39 pm

carluva wrote:Dude for a first effort, that looks great! Looks like something I made. How did it taste and what did you have it with? Sada roti or rice?

For a first effort, it tasted pretty decent. Now I don't know if that is totally based on taste or pride (first food I ever cook). Will see what feedback I get.

When I tasted the gravy, I knew it was good and as I was hungry, I lightly toasted two slices of wholewheat bread and used it like roti. It was good. Will make some rice tomorrow to go with the rest.

Thanks again.

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2020, 12:31 am

h1tach1 wrote:
carluva wrote:Dude for a first effort, that looks great! Looks like something I made. How did it taste and what did you have it with? Sada roti or rice?

For a first effort, it tasted pretty decent. Now I don't know if that is totally based on taste or pride (first food I ever cook). Will see what feedback I get.

When I tasted the gravy, I knew it was good and as I was hungry, I lightly toasted two slices of wholewheat bread and used it like roti. It was good. Will make some rice tomorrow to go with the rest.

Thanks again.

Good job man... cooking for yourself is healthy, fun and satisfying.... also much more economical than eating out.

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » April 18th, 2020, 4:17 am

Thanks.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 18th, 2020, 5:59 am

yuh know things bad when yuh dreaming yuh doubles man stop by yuh house yes. i aint see d man i duz by doubles from since early march (last time i buy) an now i dreaming d man yes, i missing d doubles. want to see how long before i dream the chinee man from d play whe.

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2020, 11:01 am

screwbash wrote:yuh know things bad when yuh dreaming yuh doubles man stop by yuh house yes. i aint see d man i duz by doubles from since early march (last time i buy) an now i dreaming d man yes, i missing d doubles. want to see how long before i dream the chinee man from d play whe.

Yeah boy... doubles withdrawl is a terrible thing.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2020, 11:21 am

Boi, i was feeling this morning

Make a pass by mih mother, she order from a doubles man, i get a doubles and a pie

Feeling complete now
Gladiator wrote:
screwbash wrote:yuh know things bad when yuh dreaming yuh doubles man stop by yuh house yes. i aint see d man i duz by doubles from since early march (last time i buy) an now i dreaming d man yes, i missing d doubles. want to see how long before i dream the chinee man from d play whe.

Yeah boy... doubles withdrawl is a terrible thing.

Postby eliteauto » April 18th, 2020, 11:36 am

doubles I could get, is saheena I craving, found a recipe for katchorie so I'll prob try that in the morning

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2020, 12:27 pm

Since everybody making doubles, I tried my hand at it and documented the basics as I know it.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 3:16 pm

You need some of this with those doubles. Whole house smells...
meccalli wrote:Since everybody making doubles, I tried my hand at it and documented the basics as I know it.
1587237395567.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » April 18th, 2020, 3:25 pm

Some chicken alfredo...
IMG_20200402_182427-01.jpeg

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2020, 3:38 pm

Tasting good. Bara cudda be thinner but when we try to lift it off the table it bussing up
20200418_153225.jpeg
20200418_145551.jpeg
20200418_144847.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 3:41 pm

Bottled and ready to eat.
IMG_20200418_154056662.jpeg
IMG_20200418_154002412.jpeg

Postby X_Factor » April 18th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Got this to buy yesterday in macoya for 40$
Mind you about 1/4 was already given away before the pic

After sharing most to neighbors and fam
I gonna try a couple btls of roast pepper in a bit
IMG-20200416-WA0004.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » April 18th, 2020, 3:57 pm

meccalli wrote:Since everybody making doubles, I tried my hand at it and documented the basics as I know it.

Excellent...

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2020, 4:03 pm

carluva wrote:You need some of this with those doubles. Whole house smells...

Looks good, but tbh- pepper and myself aren't the best of friends lol. There's something about doubles w/wo pepper that doesn't agree with me whenever I eat it on the odd occasion. We make a low heat motherinlaw at home, just for flavour.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 18th, 2020, 4:10 pm

Lunch tomorrow:

Bbq chicken, lamb + pork
Fry rice
Macaroni salad
Fresh salad

carluva

Postby carluva » April 18th, 2020, 4:26 pm

Getting ready to go...
IMG_20200418_162457224_HDR.jpeg

Postby rollingstock » April 18th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Tomorrow is broff

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Now doing a second batch on smoked wings and some thighs....

Postby *KRONIK* » April 18th, 2020, 5:34 pm

500°f roast off with some apple wood at the begining

Crispy skin.....
20200418_173237.jpeg
20200418_173302.jpeg

solarkh

Postby solarkh » April 18th, 2020, 6:12 pm