***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 18th, 2017, 5:38 pm

Are you serious? from what I have read there is no cure for red ring and no real way to get rid of the mites, I was told this thing about the woman from India is ole talk.

Now you all are saying this is for real? what is the name of this poison to eradicate this red ring? the only thing I ever heard off was a pheromone for red ring mites that you put in a trap with molasses to catch them.

You are saying there is a chemical to spray that eradicates these mites? if that is true its a miracle!!! I want to know the name of this pesticide.

Wonder if it will rid us of the hopper bug that spreads Lethal yellowing disease of coconut trees also? though LY disease seems like a small issue compared to red ring in this country.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 18th, 2017, 5:43 pm

I found this, this is probably it.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21983877

Spiromesifen, dicofol and acequinocyl are the names it seems

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 18th, 2017, 6:13 pm

dude2014 wrote:
joker wrote:Off topic ... but most of the coconut trees in cedros are recovering .... I remember they brought in a specialist in red ring eradication ....looks like he got the job done...

You would be surprised. He is a she from India. Go to any Chem shop and they will sell you pesticide to eradicate Red Ring mites. That is what took care of most of the problem. Blue soap also causes the sucking/biting parts to mal function as it slips when they try to do so ...........

She was actually a mango expert from India and worked on Red Palm Mite. Red ring research is still ongoing

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 18th, 2017, 6:58 pm

^ Those mites are a large part of the reason why coconut water is so expensive in this country, supply and demand basically. That disease including Lethal Yellowing, killing millions of coconut and palm trees worldwide. And these trees take like 6 years to start producing a bunch with just a few. We lost more than 100 trees in the last 18 years on our estate home here.

In first world countries if there is a tree infected in an area the authorities quarantine it and ensure the tree is treated or burned. In Trinidad you can't even find the owner and if you tell him about he doh even care. You does have to go in other people land and burn those infected trees yourself to try and prevent it from spreading to your crops.

I really wish the government start charging people who hording land and refuse to clean it.

Postby adnj » May 19th, 2017, 6:48 pm

Aren't there disease resistant species that can be planted for lethal yellowing?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 19th, 2017, 9:52 pm

Diseased trees has to be cut down and burnt on the spot as trying to transport it elsewhere can cause the bug to spread. Once the tree has an infection it may not be possible to save the tree. However Farmers Training Center may have a Training Programme to educate farmers and home owners who have tree/s.

A lot of pests are opportunistic and will wreck havoc on trees. Proper nutritional care, field sanitation and for the love of cheap coconut water, BEWARE of buyers who go from place to place spreading the disease. Whole day they all over and will not change their clothes, wash hands and bathing is also foreign to these folks. SAMJHE?

As for the link above, abamectin is available locally as Abamectin, Bemisan, Casmectin, etc.

Call your County Agricultural office to assist in identifying infectede trees. There may also be a fine for harbouring this pest

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 20th, 2017, 3:04 am

^ Thanks man good info there.

karl

***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby karl » May 21st, 2017, 8:39 pm

hi guys, i'm new to this thread.
i have some land behind my house in south, recently bought a john deere 3036e tractor and 'bush hog' , it is a small tractor with a cat1 hitch. I am looking to get a plough and a wagon cart. could anyone point me in the right direction? trintrac has a wagon cart but wants 5 gran for it. not gonna pay that.

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

dude2014 wrote:
A lot of pests are opportunistic and will wreck havoc on trees. Proper nutritional care, field sanitation and for the love of cheap coconut water, BEWARE of buyers who go from place to place spreading the disease. Whole day they all over and will not change their clothes, wash hands and bathing is also foreign to these folks. SAMJHE?

for real, never even thought about that as a method of disease spreading

them fellas really all over the country from tree to tree in one day

hadda start telling them to either pick from your trees first before they go by anyone else or change clothes after each tree/field/yard?

they paying $3 for coconuts now and reselling for $10+

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 23rd, 2017, 11:06 pm

karl wrote:hi guys, i'm new to this thread.
i have some land behind my house in south, recently bought a john deere 3036e tractor and 'bush hog' , it is a small tractor with a cat1 hitch. I am looking to get a plough and a wagon cart. could anyone point me in the right direction? trintrac has a wagon cart but wants 5 gran for it. not gonna pay that.

There used to be ACME on the Rochard Douglas road or check one of the many tractor men down south for some advise.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 24th, 2017, 11:11 am

in you guys opinion. ever received any help from the ASTT?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » May 27th, 2017, 10:58 pm

Depends on what type of help you need. Make an enquiry from Dhano Sookoo. She is very knowledge about agri issues.

UPDATE:

For the guys who were wondering about the red palm mites, came across some additional info at the agri shop this afternoon. There is another vector called The American Palm Weevil. There is a company called Provar Distributors Ltd that has a Lure that can assist in the control of these bugs. Seen them around ........

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 28th, 2017, 7:56 am

Provar distributors located in Chaguanas, along the south bound highway, right after Cheif, the road that runs parallel to the highway, there is a big gray and red building I think, it has the wire security fencing, provar is located on the ground floor on the left corner of the building. Big car park

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 23rd, 2017, 2:22 pm

Oui. So long we eh dig nuttin or eat planting.

What is de report on our farmer Bros?

Preparing land for some lettuce

So let US ................ do someting

Postby *KRONIK* » June 27th, 2017, 8:35 am

We have egg!

Postby X_Factor » June 27th, 2017, 9:26 am

pm prices on the eggs

Postby *KRONIK* » June 27th, 2017, 9:48 am

Peewee-25
Small-40
Medium-45
Large-50
Jumbo-60

Prices are per crate
A crate has 30eggs

Eggs are fresh from within the same week.
No hormones or antibiotics.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 27th, 2017, 9:49 am

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 27th, 2017, 1:11 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:No hormones or antibiotics.

Organic stuff then? Yuh know, the catch word these days!

Postby *KRONIK* » June 27th, 2017, 1:27 pm

ADONI wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:No hormones or antibiotics.

Organic stuff then? Yuh know, the catch word these days!

No...not organic.
The feed used is corn based, most likey GMO
But no additional medication is used.
Only water soluble vitamins.

Trinifisher

Postby Trinifisher » June 28th, 2017, 6:51 am

Where yuh located, where to buy and collect?

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2017, 7:31 am

Sangre grande

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 28th, 2017, 5:18 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Sangre grande

After purchasing the monsters from you, I am afraid to see the breed of chickens that put out these.

Postby adnj » June 28th, 2017, 5:28 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Peewee-25
Small-40
Medium-45
Large-50
Jumbo-60

Prices are per crate
A crate has 30eggs

If you're still delivering to that fellow where we met last time about the phone case, I may be interested in some. But only one crate. I'll let you know. Thanks.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2017, 6:31 pm

Pointman-IA wrote:

After purchasing the monsters from you, I am afraid to see the breed of chickens that put out these.

Lol

These are just commercial layer hens.

Most of the monsters gone tho.
Vet made me sell out my ducks and close that section of the farm as the local duck are a natural carriers of some poultry diseases that can affect the commercial hens.

However i was lucky to get 3 roosters from the last batch of hens.
Usually its 1 rooster in every 1000hens.

I fattening them up for a cook

Lol

Postby *KRONIK* » June 28th, 2017, 6:32 pm

adnj wrote:
Small-40
Medium-45
Large-50
Jumbo-60

Prices are per crate
A crate has 30eggs

If you're still delivering to that fellow where we met last time about the phone case, I may be interested in some. But only one crate. I'll let you know. Thanks.

Unfortunately i do not deliver there anymore due to some mis-understanding between me and the business owner.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 29th, 2017, 1:48 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:
Small-40
Medium-45
Large-50
Jumbo-60

Prices are per crate
A crate has 30eggs

Unfortunately i do not deliver there anymore due to some mis-understanding between me and the business owner.

I sure you gone and gangster the man

philly boi

Postby philly boi » June 29th, 2017, 2:32 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Pointman-IA wrote:

Lol

These are just commercial layer hens.

Most of the monsters gone tho.
Vet made me sell out my ducks and close that section of the farm as the local duck are a natural carriers of some poultry diseases that can affect the commercial hens.

However i was lucky to get 3 roosters from the last batch of hens.
Usually its 1 rooster in every 1000hens.

I fattening them up for a cook

Lol

Hey can you elaborate a bit on the part where you mentioned that local ducks carry diseases that affect commercial hens....
I currently have about 100 ducks quite close to my hens.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 29th, 2017, 2:37 pm

BUHCAAWWW?

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » June 29th, 2017, 5:10 pm

Hi
I have a link for eggs if anyone interested
Crates at $45 and I would class at the medium to large.
Delivery for 6 crates and up