the right to bear arms

Re: the right to bear arms

Postby MaxPower » July 30th, 2025, 2:11 pm

Stand your ground laws to replace the cutlass when fighting for land.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2025, 2:20 pm

how dat will work when the land have no proper title as it handed down a few generations?

do you need to have ownership or a lease to say you are authorized occupier so could out ppl?

MaxPower wrote:Stand your ground laws to replace the cutlass when fighting for land.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2025, 2:21 pm

a bandit could run away and have gun a firing behind

alfa wrote:Running away is not necessarily the same as retreating eh. A bandit could be running to retrieve something from he car or getting he bandit friends regrouped.
Bullet in he MC, I mean back

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2025, 2:26 pm

pugboy wrote:a bandit could run away and have gun a firing behind

alfa wrote:Running away is not necessarily the same as retreating eh. A bandit could be running to retrieve something from he car or getting he bandit friends regrouped.
Bullet in he MC, I mean back
Yes many times they do this. Run while have their hand behind them firing.

What u come in the first place for....take bullet

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2025, 2:51 pm

that is all purge had to say to end argument

Postby mero » July 30th, 2025, 2:54 pm

MaxPower wrote:Stand your ground laws to replace the cutlass when fighting for land.
Horner man days done.

Just remember guys, woman will be within the law to stand their ground same way as well

Postby redmanjp » July 30th, 2025, 3:54 pm

mero wrote:Oh boyyyyy.

Defence Minister Wayne Sturge says in the new legislation, you can shoot an armed intruder in the back if they're running away. He was speaking about Stand Your Ground Legislation in his constituency last night.

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1AqpP96GVn/?mibextid=qi2Omg

only if they armed- he saying they could easily turn around and shoot. if they unarmed then no.

SuperMan9999

Postby SuperMan9999 » July 30th, 2025, 4:13 pm

I just wanna know how difficult is it to get a toy gel gun like this in Trinidad

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/GLIxcf6ZKpQ

^ See here and can you move with it in Public?

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2025, 6:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Defence Minister Wayne Sturge says in the new legislation, you can shoot an armed intruder in the back if they're running away. He was speaking about Stand Your Ground Legislation in his constituency last night.

only if they armed- he saying they could easily turn around and shoot. if they unarmed then no.

this is true.

if somebody have a gun they could run away but then very easily turn around and kill you.

the fact they have an illegal gun at all in your property makes them a threat to your life. they ent bring gun with them to pick mango.

sturge 100% right

Postby 88sins » July 31st, 2025, 6:04 am

SuperMan9999 wrote:I just wanna know how difficult is it to get a toy gel gun like this in Trinidad

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/GLIxcf6ZKpQ

^ See here and can you move with it in Public?

So, you willing to risk police harassment, and make yourself a potentially attractive target for bandit with a n actual firearm, for a realistic looking toy.

Ok, whatever floats your boat

snowman

Postby snowman » July 31st, 2025, 6:49 am

He also said if you have a illegal firearm and kill someone entering your home, you won't be charged with murder but being in possession of a illegal firearm.

I don't think he thought this through because encouraging persons to use a illegal firearm which is already illegal, to protect their home is SHAKY ground at least.

Postby timelapse » July 31st, 2025, 7:30 am

snowman wrote:

He also said if you have a illegal firearm and kill someone entering your home, you won't be charged with murder but being in possession of a illegal firearm.

I don't think he thought this through because encouraging persons to use a illegal firearm which is already illegal, to protect their home is SHAKY ground at least.

And the bandits are all law abiding FUL owners? Come in my yard with ill intent with the prior knowledge that your life is forfeit

Postby j.o.e » July 31st, 2025, 7:46 am

snowman wrote:

Hmmm this has some serious implications especially since police investigations terrible. You could literally lure someone on your property kill them with an illegal firearm and just say they were an intruder ?

Postby matr1x » July 31st, 2025, 7:47 am

Here is a revolution thought...bandits, doh be bandits. Getting killed is just an acceptable hazard of the job.

Wipe out the sector of society causing problems, and watch things start to fix

Postby alfa » July 31st, 2025, 8:10 am

j.o.e wrote:
snowman wrote:

Hmmm this has some serious implications especially since police investigations terrible. You could literally lure someone on your property kill them with an illegal firearm and just say they were an intruder ?

The intruder still has to be armed before you can engage him with lethal force. How you gonna lure an armed man onto your property, more than likely he lured himself.
If you shoot an unarmed man who was no threat to you then you're very much liable

Postby pugboy » July 31st, 2025, 8:29 am

so supposed you use nonlethal weapons?
supposed you only paralyze the bandit?

Postby mero » July 31st, 2025, 8:51 am

alfa wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
snowman wrote:

The intruder still has to be armed before you can engage him with lethal force. How you gonna lure an armed man onto your property, more than likely he lured himself.
If you shoot an unarmed man who was no threat to you then you're very much liable
How many things can be deemed "something resembling a firearm" in a few seconds when a gun is drawn for a shootout? Dead men tell no tales and suddenly everyone dvr and cctv go be blank by the time police reach.

Why apply for an FUL now where you can use the good old "struggle insued and the suspect was overpowered and shot with his own gun" bs story?

Wouldn't this now cause more "law abiding citizens" to make deals with illegal arms and ammunition suppliers?

As a former criminal defense attorney, Sturge have me lost here.

And as Max laments on, what about the TTPS? Same ole?

Postby timelapse » July 31st, 2025, 10:29 am

mero wrote:
alfa wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
snowman wrote:

How many things can be deemed "something resembling a firearm" in a few seconds when a gun is drawn for a shootout? Dead men tell no tales and suddenly everyone dvr and cctv go be blank by the time police reach.

Why apply for an FUL now where you can use the good old "struggle insued and the suspect was overpowered and shot with his own gun" bs story?

Wouldn't this now cause more "law abiding citizens" to make deals with illegal arms and ammunition suppliers?

As a former criminal defense attorney, Sturge have me lost here.

And as Max laments on, what about the TTPS? Same ole?

The police isn't omni-present. What do you do when someone comes into your property with the intent to cause you harm or rob/ rape you or your loved ones? Ask if they're armed and if they could please wait on the police to sort out the matter?
Desperate times call for desperate measures as you can see the recent vigilante action being carried in some places on social media. These pests need the fear of God put back into them

Postby MaxPower » July 31st, 2025, 11:18 am

pugboy wrote:how dat will work when the land have no proper title as it handed down a few generations?

do you need to have ownership or a lease to say you are authorized occupier so could out ppl?

pug,

Trini siblings always fighting for land when mammy and daddy dead and gone and it have ting to get.

Greed and anger comes into play when they have to share.

It simple, if you out somebody, you get what was their share according to the will etc

Postby alfa » July 31st, 2025, 11:28 am

So what is the current charge for an illegal firearm?

Postby 16 cycles » July 31st, 2025, 2:32 pm

pugboy wrote:how dat will work when the land have no proper title as it handed down a few generations?

pug,

Trini siblings always fighting for land when mammy and daddy dead and gone and it have ting to get.

Greed and anger comes into play when they have to share.

It simple, if you out somebody, you get what was their share according to the will etc

Same ppl using 3line will upgrade to Firearm...stats wouldn't change.

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2025, 2:35 pm

Do you think that people who were afraid of illegal firearms before will go look for them now with new syg laws

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2025, 5:22 pm

People applying for fire arms will have to prove they are competent to use them... Many people not gonna gt.

The FUL system as of now have done a good job at ensuring that the holders are competent and of sound mind.
Is to continue

Postby paid_influencer » July 31st, 2025, 5:41 pm

lewwe be real SYG will be the death of plenty indian ppl that fighting for land and/or woman. disaster of the indian ppl

Postby alfa » July 31st, 2025, 5:52 pm

PNM pages seem to think the opposite. They say syg gonna be used to kill African
So syg is to kill the whole population then?

Postby paid_influencer » July 31st, 2025, 6:00 pm

generally homocides rate go up when SYG laws a passed look it up ask chatgpt

Based on numerous studies and research, there is a strong association between "stand your ground" laws and a rise in homicides, particularly firearm homicides.

Several key findings from research on this topic include:

A 2022 study published in the peer-reviewed medical journal JAMA Network found that "stand your ground" laws in 23 states were associated with an 8% to 11% increase in monthly homicide and firearm homicide rates nationwide. This study estimated that these laws led to approximately 700 additional homicides each year.

A RAND Corporation review of existing research also concluded that there is "supportive evidence that stand-your-ground laws are associated with increases in firearm homicides and moderate evidence that they increase the total number of homicides."

Studies focused on individual states that enacted "stand your ground" laws, such as Florida, have shown particularly significant increases. One study found that Florida's law was associated with a 24.4% increase in the monthly homicide rate and a 31.6% increase in the rate of homicide by firearm.

The increase in homicides is not uniform across all states, with some Southern states showing larger increases. For example, some studies found that murder rates in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, and Louisiana increased in the range of 16% to 33% after the laws were passed.

These studies consistently contradict the argument from supporters of "stand your ground" laws that they would deter crime. Instead, the evidence suggests that these laws may escalate violence in situations that could have otherwise been avoided.

Sources

Postby MaxPower » July 31st, 2025, 6:49 pm

Fix the TTPS.

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2025, 6:52 pm

MaxPower wrote:Fix the TTPS.
Easier to turn water into wine

Postby pugboy » July 31st, 2025, 6:53 pm

rowlee said that early on the couch tv show

remember he say if citizens get armed to kill bandits it would end up one race getting killed
man indirectly saying something

i think dolly said something to same effect recently

alfa wrote:PNM pages seem to think the opposite. They say syg gonna be used to kill African
So syg is to kill the whole population then?

Postby MaxPower » July 31st, 2025, 7:08 pm

We hadda stay on topic.

It’s already established that our black brothers and sisters commit the most crime.

So yes, it’s highly likely that with SYG laws, most of the deaths would be that of blacks.

It eh no race ting eh…it’s just facts.

But wait, i thought Venes doing all the crime? Then allyuh have nun to worry about…blacks safe for SYG.