Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

EL JEFE

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby EL JEFE » September 9th, 2010, 9:51 am

7ft :shock: :shock: Pics?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 12:00 pm

EL JEFE wrote:7ft :shock: :shock: Pics?

NO!!!!!

Postby sharkman121 » September 9th, 2010, 2:41 pm

Fishman, Dean

Was wondering if this is a good overflow box to buy. My tank is 70 gallons.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001K5 ... 917WTFL8PV

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 3:45 pm

i realy dont know cause i never use one. sorry. guess it should be good cause it have no moving parts. alot of people actually use them

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » September 9th, 2010, 8:36 pm

check these out

www.glass-holes.com

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2010, 12:21 am

fishman, where did you get the light for the refugium and what bulb to use. want to get one

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2010, 12:22 am

fishman, where did you get the light for the refugium and what bulb to use. want to get one

Postby sharkman121 » September 10th, 2010, 2:34 am

2NR Smurf wrote:sharkman121

check these out

www.glass-holes.com

checked it out, but i already ordered the overflow unit.

Postby sharkman121 » September 10th, 2010, 4:46 am

Postby sharkman121 » September 10th, 2010, 4:47 am

Postby sharkman121 » September 10th, 2010, 5:34 am

Research up to this point from Reef central, Marine Aquaria, Youtube & google have proved T-5's only slightly better than power compacts by the fact that they can be individually reflected due to their small tube size. Both provide more than ample lighting/lumens for healthy coral growth from both the daylight and atinics bulbs. They both average roughly the same bulb life 6-8 months. Power consumption is roughly the same. Not enought to make that vast of a difference imo.

LED lighting seems to way to go now however seeing that:

Its cheaper
Less power consumption than t5, pc's and halides.
Almost zero heat generated.
Alot longer bulb life.
More diversity and flexibility in installation.
Full light spectrum available.
Thriving coral growth. Lps & Sps.

Guys correct me if i have erred but it seems the obvious choice wrt new technology.

Check out the Ecoxotic, Marinelife and Pacific Sun Led systems.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 10th, 2010, 10:01 am

i'm not sure, but isnt the ballsts for the power compacts ahh hell of a lot bigger?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » September 10th, 2010, 11:04 pm

I am using Ecoxotic LED Stunner strips on my 4ft FOWLR tank.

Postby sharkman121 » September 11th, 2010, 12:45 am

^ did alot of readin on that last night as well...it seems great. How is the performance in reality compared to the T5's.

Do u have pics of ur light setup that u can post?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » September 11th, 2010, 7:08 pm

They bright enough for a fish only tank. Will post some pics.
For reef you will need the 50watt LED Light Cannon.
Also Marineland has a new LED hood made for reef.

check out http://reefbuilders.com/ for all the latest stuff.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 11th, 2010, 10:07 pm

rmtuner wrote:They bright enough for a fish only tank. Will post some pics.
For reef you will need the 50watt LED Light Cannon.
Also Marineland has a new LED hood made for reef.

check out http://reefbuilders.com/ for all the latest stuff.

real good stuff

Postby meccalli » September 11th, 2010, 10:57 pm

Here are my red tailed tinfoils. got an oscar in there too ..lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 12th, 2010, 1:34 pm

meccalli wrote:Image

Here are my red tailed tinfoils. got an oscar in there too ..lol

went to the bronx zoo in new york 2 yrs back and could not believe they grow to over a foot. also gouramis

Postby meccalli » September 12th, 2010, 3:43 pm

Yeah I believe the maximum growth is 14 inches given right conditions as in the wild. These guys are red tailed and only get to 8 inches or so. The actual tinfoil barb has the deep red color in the dorsal fin as well. One of those guys in here is 10 Y.o !

Postby Razkal » September 12th, 2010, 10:12 pm

^really nice pic btw...can't take photos of my feesh for sheit..

Postby meccalli » September 13th, 2010, 11:54 am

umm do you use use direct flash? it tends to reflect off glass and makes your image flat. If you have an on camera flash the best you can do is try to reflect it at an angle and keep the camera angle *not* 90 degrees to the glass. I shot this with a flash bounced of the ceiling and into the tank at full power.

Postby sharkman121 » September 13th, 2010, 1:40 pm

Percula clown: Newest addition to di family :mrgreen:

Postby foss » September 13th, 2010, 2:21 pm

anyone have a 4 foot tank cover lying around and willing to donate or sell for small money?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 13th, 2010, 3:24 pm

HondaB20B wrote:ey fishman, i did the finishing up of the piping works on underside of tank. I think i'm about 85% completed on it. Need some info/advise. The chiller recommends a flow rate of 317-793 gp/h. The pump i'm running is the magdrive 24 (2400 gp/h @ 0 head). what i want to know is how do i run the line from the pump, leading to the chiller. Do i run a tee fitting (with ball valve on either side) where 1 leads to the main tank, and the other runs to the chiller (which is trottled down by use of the ballvalve) and is dumped back into the refuge or pump area? Or do i run a 2nd pump just to pump into the chiller and dumps back into the refuge. I actually have a brand new magdrive 5 (500 gp/h) which i can use for this. Now i know the drawback in this is the additional pump will add some heat. some advise will be of great help................ thanks

Honda,
Did you figure this out after our discussion?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 13th, 2010, 3:40 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Research up to this point from Reef central, Marine Aquaria, Youtube & google have proved T-5's only slightly better than power compacts by the fact that they can be individually reflected due to their small tube size. Both provide more than ample lighting/lumens for healthy coral growth from both the daylight and atinics bulbs. They both average roughly the same bulb life 6-8 months. Power consumption is roughly the same. Not enought to make that vast of a difference imo.

LED lighting seems to way to go now however seeing that:

Its cheaper
Less power consumption than t5, pc's and halides.
Almost zero heat generated.
Alot longer bulb life.
More diversity and flexibility in installation.
Full light spectrum available.
Thriving coral growth. Lps & Sps.

Guys correct me if i have erred but it seems the obvious choice wrt new technology.

Check out the Ecoxotic, Marinelife and Pacific Sun Led systems.

LED is the new kid on the block. Prices are still high and it is not 100% proven as yet. I personally am going to wait until it is proven and prices come down. Some swear by it though and it definitely looks promising. Check out this thread for more info: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showt ... mperor+led

I disagree that PC's and T5's are the same. I have used both and while the PC's may emit the same amount of light they are very inefficient and a lot of the light is lost due to their shape and reflector. The T5's having a smaller footprint, one can pack many more bulbs over the aquarium and also the reflectors for them (individually reflected) are much more efficient in getting all of the light into the aquarium which equals more PAR. There is a vast difference between the two trust me. Plus I replace my T5's every 12 months, if I did not replace my PC's every 6 months when I had them my corals would show signs of distress.

The other good thing about T5's is that there is a much larger choice of bulbs compared to PC's. Therefore you can tailor your look to suit.

The most used technologies in coral systems are MH and T5's at the moment. LED's seem to be picking up pace though.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 13th, 2010, 5:06 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Percula clown: Newest addition to di family :mrgreen:

ey sharkman, the rocks on the right hand side, the red areas, (pics not clear) is that sponges or cyno / red slime algae. just asking cause if thats de case its either over feeding or insufficient circulation or both. well i see d 2 clown fish making peace. LOL
And the other question is nah. i aint get an answer concerning pump yet........................................... fishman, i asked a question on d page before and i think you might be able to answer............................ thanks

Postby sharkman121 » September 13th, 2010, 8:23 pm

Dean, I asked raj about the same thing on the rocks, cuz when i got it it had the red stuff on it. He said it was a sponge. I kinda had my doubts though, It aint hairy or anything jus looks like jam. So i adjusted and fiddled with my powerheads to try to ensure max circulation jus to make sure it wasnt cyno.

The Tomato clown picked on the nemo for about a day straight..then they seem to have settled an came to an amicable resolution.

Thanks for the review fishman, theres a 4 T5 light setup am looking into right now.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 13th, 2010, 9:22 pm

ok, i also have some of those sponges. have some cyno in mine also that clearing up. sometimes de hermits eat it

Postby foss » September 14th, 2010, 11:33 am

:lol: :lol: eh, dis is chuna! yuh hadda save ah money too eh! :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 14th, 2010, 12:59 pm

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2002-03/totm/index.php

check out d part with the 12 powerheads in the circulation section