COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 14814 cases, 256 deaths, 4814 active, 9744 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » May 15th, 2021, 6:32 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Police Service
3m ·
May 15th, 2021
MEDIA RELEASE
Applications for Curfew Passes
Commissioner of Police, Gary Griffith, would like to advise members of the business community that due to new regulations under the present State of Emergency, organizations that can be classified under the remit of essential services and whose staff must operate during the hours of 9 pm to 5 am are required to submit a letter of request for curfew passes with immediate effect.
The letter must contain the following:
• details regarding the classification of the type of business/organization.
• the number of personnel who require passes and their names and designation.
• registered address of the business and location of operations.
• Primary contact person’s name, phone number, and email address
All letters should be sent to cop@ttps.gov.tt
Corporate Communications Unit
May 15th, 2021
END

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 14814 cases, 256 deaths, 4814 active, 9744 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » May 15th, 2021, 6:42 pm

going back in the bunker now, stay safe everyone

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2021, 7:02 pm

paid_influencer wrote:going back in the bunker now, stay safe everyone

Aye, yeh bro take it easy.

The team here when you ready.

Safe.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2021, 7:11 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:A man on meh group chat asking if you hadda fly out at 6:50AM to Guyana and you need to be at the airport 3 hours before, how you doing that with this SOE?

Men telling him to spend the night in the airport, lol.....but for real, that seems like a glaring albeit small number of people affected, problem.

But it simple. Show the police the ticket if stopped. That is a legitimate reason to be outside.

u hadda ask him if he coudl read and understand first. them aint business, they get a do any thing and get away with it, pass now.

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2021, 7:19 pm

wtf wrote:This right here is the reason why we in a mess.
FB_IMG_1621117259969.jpeg

Any idea where the 14 of them gonna eventually end up?

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2021, 8:12 pm

killercow wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:A man on meh group chat asking if you hadda fly out at 6:50AM to Guyana and you need to be at the airport 3 hours before, how you doing that with this SOE?

Men telling him to spend the night in the airport, lol.....but for real, that seems like a glaring albeit small number of people affected, problem.

But it simple. Show the police the ticket if stopped. That is a legitimate reason to be outside.
I remember having this same concern the last time we had a SOE. Had an early morning flight the next day. Thankfully no police stopped me but to be on the safe side, make sure and keep your ticket on you.

so e-tickets acceptable or paper ones needed?

killercow

Postby killercow » May 15th, 2021, 8:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:
killercow wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

I remember having this same concern the last time we had a SOE. Had an early morning flight the next day. Thankfully no police stopped me but to be on the safe side, make sure and keep your ticket on you.

so e-tickets acceptable or paper ones needed?
Either should suffice. It's just to prove why you're outside in curfew hours. As mentioned before, not having written / documented proof of why you're outside in curfew hours could easily result in your arrest.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 15899 cases, 276 deaths, 5558 active, 10065 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2021, 8:40 pm

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2021, 9:00 pm

good question
ttps/immigration have not been sending them back lately

wtf wrote:This right here is the reason why we in a mess.FB_IMG_1621117259969.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 15899 cases, 276 deaths, 5558 active, 10065 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2021, 9:11 pm

pugboy wrote:good question
ttps/immigration have not been sending them back lately

wtf wrote:This right here is the reason why we in a mess.FB_IMG_1621117259969.jpeg

Yeh bro,

More than likely released in our land and given a chance for a better life.

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2021, 9:27 pm

d curfew start from tonight or tomorrow? it should be from tonight to avoid any las lap activities
Last edited by redmanjp on May 15th, 2021, 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » May 15th, 2021, 9:28 pm

As of midnight tonight

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2021, 9:29 pm

the last tiem police catch vene, they give them 2 doubles and appl j and let them go

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2021, 9:30 pm

ron_28 wrote:As of midnight tonight

don't confuse SOE with curfew

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2021, 9:30 pm

ron_28 wrote:As of midnight tonight

paula mae sign a declaration? that is outside of the purview of the PM

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2021, 9:31 pm

hope this soe and curfew can help with the porous borders. also the private zess.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 15th, 2021, 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2021, 9:42 pm

this allowed?

https://www.facebook.com/AriapitaAveDoublesDAbadie/posts/298964848470913

Call 473-4608 to place your Doubles orders in D'Abadie.
Peter's Lane, second house on right
https://goo.gl/maps/m4RA52cHwyKQHRgk7
Regular doubles is $5,
Chicken is $30 and duck/goat/shrimp is $35.
Roti also available!
Chicken Roti is $30 and duck/goat/shrimp is $35.
Dalpuree and Buss-up shot available. Just ask for it.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2021, 9:50 pm

i wouldn’t doubt that
no police station gonna want the headache to be keeping and feeding them whilst being a serious health risk

sMASH wrote:the last tiem police catch vene, they give them 2 doubles and appl j and let them go

Postby redmanjp » May 15th, 2021, 10:07 pm

wtf wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
wtf wrote:
ST Auto wrote:You ever hear about work from home? Alot of ppl doing it
wtf wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
wtf wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
How much sense you making? If the curfew is in the day , how are people going to get food and medication? Any ideas?
Well how much sense you making?
Do we even need a curfew at all?
D amount of fools on this thread is unbelievable.[/quot

You are the one who said it should be in the day , now you questioning whether we need it at all?
I was saying from the start we don't need a curfew at all and IF there was going to be one, then a well thought out day curfew is better than in the night but it have some greedy tuners who want to collect full pay and not go to work so they calling for SOE during the day so they can continue getting paid and do nothing.
Understand now?
It have plenty lazy people trying to milk the system by not going to work and getting paid.
Won't you agree?

Agreed , but remember the trini mentality, what working in other places wouldn’t work here. I still seeing the majority of people ( especially the older ones who are most at risk) wearing chin straps or none at all.
Let's wait and see.Screenshot_20210515-171951_Facebook.jpeg

went massy today. they had a small line outside as they appear to be limiting the number of shoppers inside. inside didn't really have plenty ppl. glad they did. but i double masked anyway

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 15th, 2021, 10:19 pm

Not to be a party pooper but will these measures be enough ? Seems like it's about as bad as it could possibly get and will get worse before it gets better. Rowley drop the curfew like he hang someone jack but man it's a bit too late.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 15th, 2021, 10:50 pm

sMASH wrote:Image

What is the point of her "list"? Is she an epidemiologist? Can she investigate a person dying at home from a scientific standpoint?

Why do some of these people not realise just how out of their depth they truly are? She seems like another impse just looking for a story to appear to be "exposing" something. Probably trying to increase the level of panic in the country.

I hope people who know about this stuff aren't afraid to call her out. We need as much factual and scientific information as possible.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 15th, 2021, 10:58 pm

KM_2NR wrote:Not to be a party pooper but will these measures be enough ? Seems like it's about as bad as it could possibly get and will get worse before it gets better. Rowley drop the curfew like he hang someone jack but man it's a bit too late.

Probably not, as long as people continue to not wear masks at work while indoors we'll have spread. That said, the this week marks only the first week were 'essential' workers were out. So given that change, you'd start seeing cases reduce by end of next week.

There's an NGO group attempting to do some contact tracing, no figures from them yet but they said well over half the cases were due to workplace spread.

Anyway, the SOE will no have no real effect on covid spread.

The main thing right now is keeping ONLY the most essential workers out to work. Once this is maintained which seems to be the case, the spread will start to reduce, albeit slowly.

Anyway, here's some SOE info:

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 15th, 2021, 10:59 pm

I think she's trying to point out the possibility that there are more deaths happening Covid related that are not being reported. Only those in medical facilities are being tabulated whilst those at home not being reflected. This may actually scare the public to not leaving their homes, knowing that tanty down the road pass away from Covid, not in a hospital but in her house.
Redress10 wrote:

What is the point of her "list"? Is she an epidemiologist? Can she investigate a person dying at home from a scientific standpoint?

Why do some of these people not realise just how out of their depth they truly are? She seems like another impse just looking for a story to appear to be "exposing" something. Probably trying to increase the level of panic in the country.

I hope people who know about this stuff aren't afraid to call her out. We need as much factual and scientific information as possible.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2021, 11:28 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:I think she's trying to point out the possibility that there are more deaths happening Covid related that are not being reported. Only those in medical facilities are being tabulated whilst those at home not being reflected. This may actually scare the public to not leaving their homes, knowing that tanty down the road pass away from Covid, not in a hospital but in her house.
Redress10 wrote:

reddress, if u dont want to volunteer information, leave that dm dry. if u feel panicked, switch of the news and the net, create a safe space of channels to relax urself with soothing reassuring content.

journalism... real journalism is about investigating PAST what ur officially told. and often times, they broke stories that unveiled massive cover ups and corruption.

read up about nellie bly, and get an idea that what the authorities say, isnt the truth all the time. i know that sounds ludicrous that govt might be hiding sumting, but research it.. it has happened before.

if they cant get the stats from official sources, they could at least try to crowd source some other stats.

cause like what shakes was saying, the system was overloaded way before they told u, and if that was true, that means a lot more people had full infection in public cause the system wasnt handling it.
and when the peak was supposed to turn, it kept going up, cause they kept positive people in the public.

Postby redmanjp » May 16th, 2021, 1:08 am

new treatment showing promise

https://www.clinicaltrialsarena.com/news/sanotize-nasal-spray-reduces-covid-19-viral-load-uk-clinical-trail/

SaNOtize’s “revolutionary” Covid-19 nasal spray bolstered by Phase II trial data
By Kezia Parkins
16 Mar 2021 (Last Updated March 17th, 2021 10:39)
A self-administered nitric oxide nasal spray (NONS) made by Vancouver-based biotech firm SaNOtize has been found to dramatically reduce Covid-19 viral load in infected patients after completing early-stage clinical trials in Canada and, most recently, the UK.

SaNOtize’s “revolutionary” Covid-19 nasal spray bolstered by Phase II trial data
SaNOtize’s “revolutionary” Covid-19 nasal spray bolstered by UK Phase II trial data. Image Credit: Suttersock
Share Article
A self-administered nitric oxide nasal spray (NONS) made by Vancouver-based biotech firm SaNOtize has been found to dramatically reduce Covid-19 viral load in infected patients after completing early-stage clinical trials in Canada and, most recently, the UK.

SaNOtize, alongside Ashford and St Peter’s Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and Berkshire and Surrey Pathology Services in the UK, have announced results of Phase II trials indicating that SaNOtize’s nasal spray represents a safe and powerful antiviral treatment that could prevent the transmission of Covid-19, shorten its duration, and reduce the severity of symptoms in those already infected.

In a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase II trial that evaluated 79 confirmed cases of Covid-19, SaNOtize’s early treatment significantly decreased the level of SARS-CoV-2, including in patients with high viral loads infected by the concerning UK variant of Covid-19.

Patients treated with SaNOtize’s spray saw an average viral log reduction of 1.362 in the first 24 hours, which corresponds to a decline of around 95%. Within 72 hours the viral load plummeted by more than 99%. No adverse events were recorded in the UK trial nor in earlier Canadian trials that saw over 7,000 patients testing the self-administered treatment.

“I expect this to be a major advance in the global battle against the devastating human impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic,” said consultant medical virologist and chief investigator of the NHS trial Dr Stephen Winchester.

“This simple portable nasal spray could be highly effective in the treatment of Covid-19 and reducing onward transmission. Our trial included patients with a variant of concern and high viral loads yet still demonstrated significant reductions in the levels of SARS-CoV-2, which could be critical in supporting vaccines, preventing future outbreaks and safely reopening economies. Simply stated, I think this could be revolutionary.”

To date, NONS is the only novel therapeutic treatment outside of expensive monoclonal antibodies that has been proven to reduce SARS-CoV-2 viral load in humans, SaNOtize said.

The SaNOtize treatment kills the virus in the upper airways, preventing it from incubating and making its way to the lungs.

The therapy’s active ingredient is nitric oxide (NO), a natural nanomolecule produced by the human body with proven anti-microbial properties shown to have a direct effect on the –replication of SARS-CoV-2.

Covid-19 chart
THEMATIC REPORTS
Are you worried about the pace of innovation in your industry?
GlobalData's TMT Themes 2021 Report tells you everything you need to know about disruptive tech themes and which companies are best placed to help you digitally transform your business.

Find out more
Based on the trial results, SaNOtize is planning to submit emergency use applications to regulatory authorities in the UK and Canada for the treatment and prevention of Covid-19.

SaNOtize co-founder and chief scientific officer Dr Chris Miller told Clinical Trials Arena: “Appropriate manufacturing facilities and materials are in place or in progress in the countries where we are seeking approval, so a ramp-up in manufacturing would be a matter of weeks, and major scale-up in a very few months, once approvals have been received. It would be premature to speculate on a precise timeline, however.

“We are in talks with various manufacturers and potential partners but can’t comment on any talks with counter-parties that may be taking place. We are currently focused on the approval processes in the UK and Canada.”

The company said swift approval and accelerated manufacturing could expedite an almost immediate safe return to normal work, school and social life, and accelerate economic recovery when compared to relying on vaccines alone.

“Now that NONS has been demonstrated to be safe and effective in clinical trials, we must move with urgency to get it into the hands of the public where it can help bring an end to the pandemic, accelerate a return to normality, and prevent future outbreaks of Covid-19 and its variants,” said SaNOtize CEO and co-founder Dr Gilly Regev.

“The human toll of this disease cannot be expressed simply in numbers, and each day compounds the frustration, fear and loss suffered by millions around the world. Combined with the roll-out of vaccines, NONS can help get the world back on its feet.”

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 16th, 2021, 4:01 am

sam1978 wrote:
wtf wrote:Can someone tell me how a a curfew 9pm in the night when all business places closed going to slow the spread of COVID-19?
That curfew supposed to be during the day!!
*major facepalm*

How much sense you making? If the curfew is in the day , how are people going to get food and medication? Any ideas?

the ttps can enter you property and home if you have a get together or they suspect a gathering of limers and gun butt to allyuh head an you cant do sheit. remember in 2020 we saw police in india beating persons to get off the streets and not gather in crowds etc, from today the TTPS can do the same.

Postby Kenjo » May 16th, 2021, 6:35 am

daring dragoon wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
wtf wrote:Can someone tell me how a a curfew 9pm in the night when all business places closed going to slow the spread of COVID-19?
*major facepalm*

the ttps can enter you property and home if you have a get together or they suspect a gathering of limers and gun butt to allyuh head an you cant do sheit. remember in 2020 we saw police in india beating persons to get off the streets and not gather in crowds etc, from today the TTPS can do the same.

We actually loved those videos and there are tons of trini remixes of them not so ?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 16th, 2021, 8:40 am

Trinidad and Tobago is now at the height of the spike.

That spike, says Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram, is T&T’s deadliest third wave of Covid-19.

He predicts that it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

For now, T&T is in the middle of a 21-day cycle of restrictions first introduced on April 29, with varying adjustments thereafter to stem the increasing caseload which has been accompanied by multiple daily deaths, even as high as 21 last Thursday.

how can we be at the height of the spike and the "worst is yet to come" ? no wonder an island like TT in the state it is in with covid. what was the requirement to be a CMO? no wonder ian call he NAWH.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 16th, 2021, 8:42 am

Kenjo wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
sam1978 wrote:
*major facepalm*

We actually loved those videos and there are tons of trini remixes of them not so ?

i want to see it b all them Chinese grocery where men liming and drinking outside. i want to see it by the doubles man in aranguez who still selling from inside he house.

Postby aaron17 » May 16th, 2021, 8:44 am

The virus will run its course in families. Soe and curfew will do nothing. The damage has been done.