COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 4 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Dave » March 16th, 2020, 10:56 am

^^^and that is correct. Nis kicks in after the 14 days have been exhausted once form is completed and approved.

randolphinshan

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby randolphinshan » March 16th, 2020, 10:59 am

sMASH wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:Special cabinet meeting tomorrow then media briefing at 11 am. Keith might call a state of emergency to reduce the spread. Ignorant trinis like lime, he probably realizes that he needs to save them from themselves

u walking with ur ky and scented candles

Nah that is for sufferers like u

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2020, 11:02 am

Devourment wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:In our meeting his morning bosses said that the guidelines sent out by the ministry relates to public sector not private. The PM is meeting tomorrow with the private sector to work out details on how they should proceed. So as of now, if we get sick, its normal 14 days sick leave, then anything beyond that will be taken out of vacation.

That is mostly correct

that is technically illegal. they need to defer to no pay leave after the 14, with NIS paying partial salaries.

i believe that was discussed on this forum sum time ago on another thread.

Postby aaron17 » March 16th, 2020, 11:22 am

I thought is 11am for press conference again.

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 11:25 am

TTRNA President: RHAs not ready

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2020, 11:32 am

Dave wrote:^^^and that is correct. Nis kicks in after the 14 days have been exhausted once form is completed and approved.

Not everyone has 14 days SL though.
There is no legal requirement for SL to be offered except for those who fall under the limits of the Minimum Wages Order.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 16th, 2020, 11:32 am

aaron17 wrote:I thought is 11am for press conference again.

Shitlickers like he watching cnn and taking notes so he'd have something to say at the briefing. The tardiness alone simply explains how laid back our approach is regarding this situation.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 16th, 2020, 11:35 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I thought is 11am for press conference again.

Shitlickers like he watching cnn and taking notes so he'd have something to say at the briefing. The tardiness alone simply explains how laid back our approach is regarding this situation.

Keith learning from Kamla who was ALWAYS late. Oh well at least he not going to be stale drunk

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2020, 11:36 am

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 16th, 2020, 11:56 am

Yes Rowley, prepare us for bad news by bringing up Germany, steups.

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 11:59 am

Media Conference With Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley - 16/03/2020

Postby K74T » March 16th, 2020, 12:07 pm

PM RESTRICTS ENTRY OF NON-NATIONALS FOR 14 DAYS

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2020, 12:19 pm

- All bars to be closed.

- All schools will remain closed into the Easter vacation and reopen in the 3rd term (April 20th).

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 16th, 2020, 12:40 pm

Why no mention of health care initiatives? Seriously are we not prepping or at least discussing it? Are more beds going to be available? ICU? Respirators?

Edit: ok thanks deylalsingh
Last edited by Devourment on March 16th, 2020, 12:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2020, 12:40 pm

The_Honourable wrote:- All bars to be closed.

- All schools will remain closed into the Easter vacation and reopen in the 3rd term (April 20th).

public schools, and pleading with private to follow suit.
no word on SEA.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » March 16th, 2020, 12:41 pm

K74T wrote:PM RESTRICTS ENTRY OF NON-NATIONALS FOR 14 DAYS

Oh gosh what I gonna do about my Vene mistress who went back to check family now

Anyone have a Vene to lend me?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » March 16th, 2020, 12:43 pm

Health Minister speaking now.
Devourment wrote:Why no mention of health care initiatives? Seriously are we not prepping or at least discussing it? Are more beds going to be available? ICU? Respirators?

Postby hydroep » March 16th, 2020, 12:45 pm

Economy and jobs at risk. Methanex has taken a decision to close one of its plants in Trinidad. Legislation to be put in place for immediate access to the Heritage and Stabilzation fund (as opposed to year end as pertains under the current system).

Decisions to be taken will have negative knock-on effects and will be counter to all that they have been trying to achieve during the last 4 years...:|

hindian

Postby hindian » March 16th, 2020, 12:47 pm

Measures for price gouging by businessmen for basic amenities to deal with the virus? Water etc...

Postby Les Bain » March 16th, 2020, 12:55 pm

Hopefully the public is fully ready to cooperate, and none of this irreverent behaviour from those who believe they're not at risk.

Hopefully price gougers get jammed.

Postby aaron17 » March 16th, 2020, 12:57 pm

So the guy said all 4 came over the air bridge I think.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2020, 12:57 pm

The_Honourable wrote:- All bars to be closed.

So how teachers that now have all this extra time on their hands will get their drink on??

Postby hydroep » March 16th, 2020, 1:05 pm

What will the parents who depend on schools to babysit their children do now?...:?

Postby toyolink » March 16th, 2020, 1:07 pm

We as a national community must seriously commit to being sensible and disciplined.
In a funny way this is the Lenten season and a time of sacrifice and if this is done well, we would have positive results.
Start with things under your span of control and if everyone does this the collective result would be good.
BTW, remember to reach out to the elderly in your family and provide support, as far as our children are concerned, protect and reassure them.
….God don't suffer fools!

Postby hydroep » March 16th, 2020, 1:11 pm

Stuart would like to suggest that businesses (private) close for the next 14 days.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » March 16th, 2020, 1:11 pm

Nah people wanted to fete in TGI for $13 Mojitoes.

Postby hydroep » March 16th, 2020, 1:32 pm

Man ducking questions on how much we will have to dip into the HSF. Bully mode engaged...:lol:

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 16th, 2020, 1:33 pm

hydroep wrote:Stuart would like to suggest that businesses (private) close for the next 14 days.

If Stuart pays my rent and loans, sure.

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » March 16th, 2020, 1:33 pm

If i did tune out - and this afternoon somebody say the prime minister went off on the leader of the opposition for a 10 minutes -during a press conference about a global pandemic - i would say somebody making a joke.

I cannot believe this. just as i start having a little respect for rowlie.

people it have a worldwide pandemic but do not forget - kamla kamla kamla

Postby nemisis » March 16th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Need a thread dedicated to this!
hydroep wrote:Stuart would like to suggest that businesses (private) close for the next 14 days.
toyolink wrote:We as a national community must seriously commit to being sensible and disciplined.
In a funny way this is the Lenten season and a time of sacrifice and if this is done well, we would have positive results.
Start with things under your span of control and if everyone does this the collective result would be good.
BTW, remember to reach out to the elderly in your family and provide support, as far as our children are concerned, protect and reassure them.
….God don't suffer fools!
Les Bain wrote:Hopefully the public is fully ready to cooperate, and none of this irreverent behaviour from those who believe they're not at risk.

Hopefully price gougers get jammed.