Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby gastly369 » October 22nd, 2018, 12:35 pm

Mr President

Postby Mr President » October 22nd, 2018, 12:42 pm

next level down of jobs being advertised https://jobstt.com/search-results-jobs/ ... _words%5D=

Postby Ben_spanna » October 22nd, 2018, 1:32 pm

so some one got sent home from having spent how many ever years with the company and taking home close to a supposed $4 million in compensation! Hurmph!

kstt

Postby kstt » October 22nd, 2018, 8:51 pm

Is it true that if you temporary you only getting paid for the last 5 years of service?

I know they not legally obligated to pay but if they say they paying "enhanced" packages THEN PAY!!

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 22nd, 2018, 8:56 pm

kstt wrote:Is it true that if you temporary you only getting paid for the last 5 years of service?

I know they not legally obligated to pay but if they say they paying "enhanced" packages THEN PAY!!

Many temps got nothing.

Postby gastly369 » October 22nd, 2018, 8:57 pm

kstt wrote:Is it true that if you temporary you only getting paid for the last 5 years of service?

Some(alot) didn't get a black cent....
But aye ent de man say wouldn't throw them in the bamboo like caroni workers ..more like de rubbish dump dey get pelt in

6-7 years service and some didn't get also

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 22nd, 2018, 9:30 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Some(alot) didn't get a black cent....
But aye ent de man say wouldn't throw them in the bamboo like caroni workers ..more like de rubbish dump dey get pelt in

6-7 years service and some didn't get also

Well, technically he didn't lie. Anything multiplied by zero, is zero.
Enhanced x zero = zero. Crumbs x zero = zero. Ta da. So it was probably enhanced, just that no one could have seen it. :roll: Frankie them eh easy nah..

Postby nervewrecker » October 22nd, 2018, 10:19 pm

Monkey Man wrote:The mark of the devel
Naw. Thats 6667, fed up bounce

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 23rd, 2018, 6:30 am

K74T wrote:Image

Man probably went to buy doubles and find out bara done...

Postby tr1ad » October 23rd, 2018, 7:59 am

better than zero like some other temps got not so?

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2018, 8:08 am

If I remember correctly, that was a post about someone who was temp for the most of the time and end up getting through for five years, so was calculated on that 5 years.
It was to show that they had so many years. But technically only 5years permsnent.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 23rd, 2018, 10:01 am

vaiostation wrote:
K74T wrote:Image

Man probably went to buy doubles and find out bara done...

Reports are that the individual blacked out at the wheel but you know...carry on. geepgeep, harhar and what not.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 24th, 2018, 8:28 am

Anyone heard about any interviews being done seeing the Managers have already applied?

car

Postby car » October 24th, 2018, 9:09 am

kstt wrote:Anyone heard about any interviews being done seeing the Managers have already applied?

People was already assigned to positions even before the 22nd cutoff date.
I’m sure you can figure out what this means.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 24th, 2018, 11:31 am

car wrote:
kstt wrote:Anyone heard about any interviews being done seeing the Managers have already applied?

People was already assigned to positions even before the 22nd cutoff date.
I’m sure you can figure out what this means.

Didn't both the Board and Union agree that the Company was top heavy and that the management structure needed flattening?? Take a look at the Organizational Charts for Heritage and Paria, if you haven't done so as yet.

Also, again, I'm not verse in business law, so I'm genuinely asking. Can directors from a soon to be closed state enterprise, incorporate a new state enterprise and it still be a state enterprise? Wouldn't the Minister of Finance or Permanent Secretary have to do that, as representatives of the State, as opposed to an 'ordinary citizen'??

Postby Redman » October 24th, 2018, 2:28 pm

Incorporation is the birth of a co.
The incorporator and directors now are not necessarily relevant to the co when it starts operating....the can switch out directors easily.

This was solely about breaking the union....those CBA s ran till 2030s ....making it impossible to change that hr structure.....

The new cos are exactly the same as Petrotrin....a co owned by corporation sole.

Except now they can do different things with the different parts....

kstt

Postby kstt » October 26th, 2018, 7:17 pm

If kamla had do dis!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » October 26th, 2018, 7:48 pm

kstt wrote:If kamla had do dis!
Don't say it like thatttttt

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 26th, 2018, 11:31 pm

Injusstisss.....

Does not care about the people....only want to save she Indian....and we must have nothing.....we cannot stand for this we will not stand for this.

Think about Petrotrin's heritage and the socio-economic impact......think about the history and the integral part it has played in our culture, the many minds and luminaries it has nurtured.

Kamla has collapsed the economy......it is her fault that oil prices have dropped on account of Petrotrin's closure.

Country would be in flames or at a standstill......

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » October 27th, 2018, 1:23 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
Injusstisss.....

Does not care about the people....only want to save she Indian....and we must have nothing.....we cannot stand for this we will not stand for this.

Think about Petrotrin's heritage and the socio-economic impact......think about the history and the integral part it has played in our culture, the many minds and luminaries it has nurtured.

Kamla has collapsed the economy......it is her fault that oil prices have dropped on account of Petrotrin's closure.

Which dump u crawl out from???...i didnt know kamla could control the international prices of oil...since you said she could maybe u should ask her to tell OPEC and the U.S to increase the oil prices so trinidad economy could grow...since she made the oil price drop when she told OPEC and the US drop the price of oil to crash trinidad economy...u my friend u are really dumb and too stupid...by chance u related to rowlieee??

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 27th, 2018, 1:50 am

sinister_14 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
Injusstisss.....

Which dump u crawl out from???...i didnt know kamla could control the international prices of oil...since you said she could maybe u should ask her to tell OPEC and the U.S to increase the oil prices so trinidad economy could grow...since she made the oil price drop when she told OPEC and the US drop the price of oil to crash trinidad economy...u my friend u are really dumb and too stupid...by chance u related to rowlieee??

:lol: It's really not hard to get a political freak all up in their feelings..by chance are you related to Kiki or Drake?
Hoss, it was a joke in which Numb3r4 was building on kstt's post about the country (more so, the southland) revolting if Kamla had been the one to close Petrotrin, as opposed to their silence and acceptance with Rowley doing it. Gosh. :roll:

bess almera

Postby bess almera » October 27th, 2018, 4:01 am

:? :roll: Seriously sinister?!?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » October 27th, 2018, 6:02 am

sinister_14 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
Injusstisss.....

October almost fine, Sinister hoping to win the Tuner Kant of the Year award.

Postby De Dragon » October 27th, 2018, 6:24 am

sinister take orf like ah RX............

Postby Redman » October 27th, 2018, 8:03 am

They were SUPPOSED to do this.
Or something to rectify or improve the situation
but they did not.....even though they had the cash flow
They didnt have the fortitude...

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » October 27th, 2018, 9:28 am

Redman wrote:

In full agreement here
the right decision is not always the favorite.
i have lots of family and friends being directly affected however for the greater economic good of Trinidad the PNM did what had to be done.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 27th, 2018, 10:14 am

Who owns Innovative? 1%?

Asking

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 27th, 2018, 10:35 pm

Redman wrote:

They were SUPPOSED to do a lot of things but didn't. To be honest like most other administrations they too got carried away and well for the most part ended up probably a little better...but not by much. I think though they were a bit better with the money or they were able to employ more at "higher level" so there was at least the illusion of some form of productive work.

They did not have a cabinet or anyone with the experience to effectively handle Petrotrin, the height of the PP administration with regards to Petrotrin was the Horizons Graduate Trainee Programme, which was just CEPEP for people with degrees, (exaggerating for emphasis but you get the point), so they to used the company for political mileage. They even used that to over staff in some departments, which showed either they didn't care or couldn't manage or as you put it "..didn't have the fortitude.."

Personally they couldn't rectify the situation, if they had tried it would have been a guaranteed loss for the next election. The best they could have done would be to tip toe around it or try to sweep it under the carpet and if the carpet looks too lumpy just hit it down and try to smooth it out.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 27th, 2018, 10:38 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
Redman wrote:

In full agreement here
the right decision is not always the favorite.
i have lots of family and friends being directly affected however for the greater economic good of Trinidad the PNM did what had to be done.

Agreed something had to be done...but what I question is was it done the right way?

Postby tr1ad » October 28th, 2018, 9:46 am

kstt wrote:Who owns Innovative? 1%?

Asking

security?