Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2020, 2:04 pm

chicken soaking for the grill later

07041C8F-DF9D-4E47-B6C3-ADA2247D334D.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 16th, 2020, 4:52 pm

Does that make a significant difference with the juiciness of the breasts? They tend to dry out on the grill and quickly become like cardboard

Postby eliteauto » April 16th, 2020, 5:21 pm

brining helps with the juiciness of grilled/baked meats yes

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2020, 7:04 pm

done, sorry for lack of carbon

B2601D7B-BA7F-490D-816C-27DF6CEEF58E.jpeg

E2834FF5-9152-4DDD-8825-68A853B3771E.jpeg

Postby SR » April 16th, 2020, 10:24 pm

Ways...feel i hada bbq tomorow night yes

Postby Gladiator » April 16th, 2020, 10:48 pm

eliteauto wrote:brining helps with the juiciness of grilled/baked meats yes

Just to elborate a little more... copy and paste

How Does Brining Work?
Here are three major functions accomplished by brining —and reasons to try it. It’s so easy, too.

1. Meat absorbs some of the liquid: When a piece of meat is soaked in a brine solution, that solution is slowly drawn into the meat, and even though some of it is inevitably lost during cooking, it still makes a big difference. Since the meat starts out with more liquid within, it ends up juicier and more moist when cooked.

2. Muscle fibers are dissolved: Highly concentrated salt solutions will cause proteins to precipitate (essentially forcing them to aggregate with each other and clump together). On the other hand, a low-concentration salt solution has the opposite effect and actually can increase protein solubility and allow more proteins to dissolve. So brine actually helps dissolve some of the muscle fibers, which helps to reduce the toughness of meat.

3. Muscle fibers and meat proteins denature: A salt solution can denature proteins, essentially unfolding and unravelling them. As they unfold, water works its way in between these proteins so there is more water in between the meat proteins as the meat cooks. This results in a more tender cooked meat.

death365

Postby death365 » April 17th, 2020, 11:46 am

Local corn... Non ah that Canadian sweet corn thing
IMG_20200417_114521.jpeg

Postby Gladiator » April 17th, 2020, 11:50 am

death365 wrote:Local corn... Non ah that Canadian sweet corn thing IMG_20200417_114521.jpeg

You have any link up with anybody selling the Canadian Sweet Corn?

death365

Postby death365 » April 17th, 2020, 12:16 pm

At the top of aranguez near maraj air conditioning place. I think he have there
Gladiator wrote:
death365 wrote:Local corn... Non ah that Canadian sweet corn thing IMG_20200417_114521.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2020, 12:55 pm

I like the sweet corn, crisp and sweet like an apple, no need to boil long at all.

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2020, 1:11 pm

pugboy wrote:I like the sweet corn, crisp and sweet like an apple, no need to boil long at all.

One of my good friend is a German naturopath . He eats all his food raw , including the sweet corn .

Postby Rovin » April 17th, 2020, 1:37 pm

dat boil corn looking good , i myself eh like dat sweet corn nuh i prefer local hard corn

so hear nuh if allyuh brining d chicken allyuh not steaming it or it going from brine str8 onto d grill ? ...

Postby SR » April 17th, 2020, 1:53 pm

Brine to grill no steam or parboil bizness

Postby Rovin » April 17th, 2020, 2:13 pm

everybody does do their ting different yes

so brining in jes salt & no seasoning in d water ? so i guessing u season after removing from brine or yall using a dry rub ?

my ole time way is marinade with both blended local seasonings & some matouks jerk seasoning over night , gentle steam to loosen it up & then coalpot over medium heat ... i like mines about 1\2 way charred not burnt eh & it still comes out moist

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2020, 2:38 pm

I using a mix of vinegar, lea perrins, sugar, celery salt, white pepper, onion and garlic powder
grill straight after that, no parboil

it is the best and most simple.

Postby Gladiator » April 17th, 2020, 2:54 pm

death365 wrote:At the top of aranguez near maraj air conditioning place. I think he have there
Gladiator wrote:

Thanks man...

Postby Gladiator » April 17th, 2020, 4:01 pm

Rovin wrote:everybody does do their ting different yes

so brining in jes salt & no seasoning in d water ? so i guessing u season after removing from brine or yall using a dry rub ?

my ole time way is marinade with both blended local seasonings & some matouks jerk seasoning over night , gentle steam to loosen it up & then coalpot over medium heat ... i like mines about 1\2 way charred not burnt eh & it still comes out moist

I make the brine with salt (no iodine salt), brown sugar, black pepper, white pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, celery salt and some whisky... inject it with a pump and needle and then soak in brine for a day or two.... hot smoke after
Last edited by Gladiator on April 17th, 2020, 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » April 17th, 2020, 4:05 pm

Wet marinade with Grace Jerk seasoning before grilling.
Dry jerk rub could never penetrate the meat properly.

Postby Rovin » April 17th, 2020, 5:46 pm

maj. tom wrote:Wet marinade with Grace Jerk seasoning before grilling.
Dry jerk rub could never penetrate the meat properly.

i use grace b4 but for me i find d matouks 1 is better & stronger , there is such a thing as too much with d matouks since it so strong , i also use some mustard in my marinade

bbqing is alot of work so its not something i do often , maybe like 5 times for d yr ... havent done any for this yr so far , maybe if i in d mood i will pick up some stuff by hilo tomorrow

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 17th, 2020, 7:20 pm

better to steam and grill jus for colour and taste. quick quick over fire and done. roasting meat for too long cause cancer. is better to just dip the steam chicken in the bbq sauce and eat dat.

Exposing meat to high-temperature cooking, such as grilling, causes several unhealthy chemicals to form. Two of them – heterocyclic amines, or HCAs, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, or PAHs – are known to cause cancer in animals, and are suspected to increase the risk in humans, as well. The hotter and longer meat is cooked, the more HCAs and PAHs are formed.

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2020, 8:00 pm

or just learn to not cook to a carbonized state

screwbash wrote:better to steam and grill jus for colour and taste. quick quick over fire and done. roasting meat for too long cause cancer. is better to just dip the steam chicken in the bbq sauce and eat dat.

Exposing meat to high-temperature cooking, such as grilling, causes several unhealthy chemicals to form. Two of them – heterocyclic amines, or HCAs, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, or PAHs – are known to cause cancer in animals, and are suspected to increase the risk in humans, as well. The hotter and longer meat is cooked, the more HCAs and PAHs are formed.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 17th, 2020, 8:05 pm

This
pugboy wrote:or just learn to not cook to a carbonized state

screwbash wrote:better to steam and grill jus for colour and taste. quick quick over fire and done. roasting meat for too long cause cancer. is better to just dip the steam chicken in the bbq sauce and eat dat.

Postby Gladiator » April 17th, 2020, 8:10 pm

I hear this argument all the time and always wonder, how come the cavemen didn't all die of cancer.... :drinking:

Grilling is life....

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2020, 8:12 pm

its a big turnoff to see those bbq places with all the fat and drippings being burnt to a vapor
generating carcinogens

and the worst is to be having to pick black specks from your teeth

Postby meccalli » April 17th, 2020, 8:13 pm

There's another side to that.
It's any sort of high temperature cooking methods and not only with meat, anything you sear or where you're trying to brown via the maillard reaction including starches, you're creating acrylamide. So even a simple thing like toasted bread but it's agreed you have extremely high concentrations of pah's in smoked and barbecued foods. Won't even start on liquid smoke where people are fooling themselves into thinking it's a healthier route.

Postby 88sins » April 17th, 2020, 8:18 pm

Fellas, why allyuh activating my worms with all this talk of smokey goodness? Allyuh wicked boi. Now I can't get the idea of slow smoked meat outta my head.

Gonna look for a side of beef ribs in the morning.

Postby X_Factor » April 17th, 2020, 9:08 pm

Boiled corn looks good
Most ppl boil the life out of the corn and it has no corn taste after but salted chewables

Idealy you bring the pot of salted water to a rolling boil and drop the corn in for no more than 7-8 mins or less depending on how mature the grains are....

Let it cool a bit and serve with some actual butter on the top

Postby X_Factor » April 17th, 2020, 9:09 pm

Was in the vibe for some of this today
IMG-20200417-WA0007.jpeg

Postby Chimera » April 17th, 2020, 9:12 pm

Fish broff is life. Hitting orange valley tmr for some carite again.

Gonna try making doubles tmr as well.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 17th, 2020, 9:39 pm

88sins wrote:Fellas, why allyuh activating my worms with all this talk of smokey goodness? Allyuh wicked boi. Now I can't get the idea of slow smoked meat outta my head.

Gonna look for a side of beef ribs in the morning.
Worms activated? They are going to kick into high gear when I post the cook tomorrow. Grilling it is...