The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » July 22nd, 2011, 4:58 pm

Comscore: Android's UK market share explodes as Apple overtakes Symbian

Look at the chart above and you'll see two things happening. First, Apple has overtaken Symbian to become the top smartphone platform in the UK (with a 27 percent market share). And secondly, Android has grown 634 percent year-over-year to shoot into second place, with less than half a percentage point keeping it from the top spot (other reports already place it ahead). As you might expect, much of that growth isn't coming from folks switching from one smartphone to the other, but from new smartphone users -- Comscore found that 42 percent of all mobile users in the UK used a smartphone in May of this year, compared to just 27 percent a year ago. Of course, that also means that 58 percent of UK cellphone users are still potential smartphone users (to say nothing of those that still don't have a cellphone at all), so there's certainly still plenty up for grabs for all involved.

Engadget

Postby redmanjp » July 23rd, 2011, 8:22 pm

hmmm.. this will kill innovation which has kept google on top

hope all the plugins in gmail will still work

http://edition.cnn.com/2011/TECH/web/07/21/gmail.lab.survives.wired/index.html?hpt=hp_bn11

Google closing experimental lab, but Gmail features will survive

By Ryan Singel, WIRED
July 21, 2011 -- Updated 1306 GMT (2106 HKT) | Filed under: Web
(WIRED) -- Google announced Wednesday it will be slowly shuttering Google Labs, its experimental site for projects that aren't quite products.

That news prompted fear and news reports that popular "experimental" features in Gmail and other products would also be killed.

Heavy users of Gmail -- including me -- have come to rely on Labs features such as "Undo," which gives you a few seconds after hitting send to revoke the command, to the extent they now feel like permanent features.

But Google spokesman Jason Freidenfelds tells Wired.com that the Labs in products such as Gmail and Maps aren't scheduled to be eliminated in the new push to narrow the search and advertising giant's focus.

(The blog post announcing the Labs closure was entitled "More Wood Behind Fewer Arrows.")

"We don't have any plans to change in-product experimentation channels like Gmail Labs or Maps Labs," Freidenfelds said. "We'll continue to experiment with new features in each of our products."

However, a number of software projects in Google Labs proper will be retired, and some will graduate to full feature/product status, according to the Google blog post.

WIRED: Sharing memories with Google creative labs

Google also says most of the labs products that have become Android apps -- Google Googles, for one -- will continue to be available on Android Market. As for the timing of those changes?

"We don't have specifics to share yet, but we'll be updating our users as we go on the Google Labs site," Freidenfelds said.

So if there are Labs project you like: say something like Google Swiffy, which converts Flash file to HTML5, or the whiz-bang 3D Google Body, get as much use out of them as you can now and pray they are allowed to graduate.

As for why Google Labs is getting shut down, Freidenfelds suggested paying a little attention to CEO Larry Page's comments in the company's recent earnings call about focusing resources:

"Greater focus has also been another big feature for me this quarter -- more wood behind fewer arrows. Last month, for example, we announced that we will be closing Google Health and Google PowerMeter.

"We've also done substantial internal work simplifying and streamlining our product lines. While much of that work has not yet become visible externally, I am very happy with our progress here.

"Focus and prioritization are crucial given our amazing opportunities. Indeed I see more opportunities for Google today than ever before. Because believe it or not we are still in the very early stages of what we want to do."

Postby S_2NR » July 23rd, 2011, 10:14 pm

*squirt*

Postby DFC » July 24th, 2011, 8:04 am

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=384258

what allyuh think about this?

anyone haz it?

Postby S_2NR » July 24th, 2011, 2:01 pm

X2.^^

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 24th, 2011, 2:06 pm

DFC wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=384258

what allyuh think about this?

anyone haz it?

I inquired about it, but he has to place settings in your phone that he alone knows.
Seeing that i change ROM's like every 2 weeks, makes no sense for me :|

Postby S_2NR » July 24th, 2011, 2:10 pm

yea but wont someone be able to access those settings after and simply record it and reuse it.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 24th, 2011, 3:57 pm

S_2NR wrote:yea but wont someone be able to access those settings after and simply record it and reuse it.

I'm not sure if a password has to be input, never inquired more into it.

achillies

Postby achillies » July 26th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 26th, 2011, 9:41 pm

noice! added to the first page 8-)

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 26th, 2011, 9:50 pm

good info here for new android persons

Postby S_2NR » July 26th, 2011, 9:55 pm

mitch1980, mitch, :?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 26th, 2011, 10:35 pm

S_2NR wrote:mitch1980, mitch, :?

X2 :-\

Postby RASC » July 26th, 2011, 10:36 pm

FRAGMENTATION like whoa!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 26th, 2011, 11:41 pm

RASC wrote:FRAGMENTATION like whoa!

u STILL toting hoss? :lol:

even with all the "fragmentation", Android is still kicking WP7 sorry arse.

as a matter of fact, even Symbian is kicking WP7 sorry arse! :lol:

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 27th, 2011, 1:47 am

Well after 3yrs of nothing but good times with my 1G Iphone, one of my women decided to get me a Evo 4G because she works at Sprint. I haven't taken delivery of the phone yet but I got butterflies in my stomach because I'm nervous about this Android OS. I think my biggest fear is that it may not live up to my old iphone. My iphone outlived ALL other smart phones I've owned over the years. Usually a phone would last me about 6-8 month because the screen would break or stop working all together, but this iphone been through hell and back, and it's still limping along :lol:
This sheit is firetrucking with my brain because it's hard to pry myself away from the apple fanboyism :lol:

Oh well, if droid don't work out I'll just go Danraj on she and beat she MC with the phone :drinking:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 28th, 2011, 10:10 am

Nielsen: Android accounts for 39 percent of smartphones in the US, Apple is the top device maker

Nielsen's just released a study confirming what some other studies have already concluded -- that Android devices account for the single largest swath of smartphone users in the US, with 39 percent OS share as of the second quarter. That compares with 28 percent for iOS, although Apple still reigns as the country's top-selling device maker. Simply put, that's a reflection of the fact that Apple is the only outfit churning out iOS devices, whereas a bevy of companies led by HTC, Motorola, and Samsung have helped make Android the dominant OS in the states. And let's not forget about RIM, another hardware / software shop, which still commands a 20 percent chunk of the smartphone market. Rounding out the list, Windows Phone accounts for nine percent, largely thanks to sales of HTC handsets, while webOS and Symbian each eked out two percent.

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » July 28th, 2011, 3:21 pm

Fellas, what allyuh think about buying the SGSII from bmobile, the price seems to be good, since i cant get it anywhere online for less, unless mitch know something I dont know

guys weigh in on this please

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 28th, 2011, 4:55 pm

^Make sure its a I9100 and not a variant. The I9000s they sell are actually I9000T models specific to latin america. So updates may take a while longer to reach you. If it is infact the international version of the S2 then it couldnt hurt seeing as you getting a 12mths warranty on the handset. Getting one with an international warranty online is going to be really expensive

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2011, 10:38 pm

achillies wrote:Fellas, what allyuh think about buying the SGSII from bmobile, the price seems to be good, since i cant get it anywhere online for less, unless mitch know something I dont know

how much is it at bmobile?

achillies

Postby achillies » July 28th, 2011, 11:14 pm

S_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:Fellas, what allyuh think about buying the SGSII from bmobile, the price seems to be good, since i cant get it anywhere online for less, unless mitch know something I dont know

how much is it at bmobile?

I think its $4599 prepaid and $4299 post paid, or thereabouts

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2011, 11:21 pm

was checkin it out here.
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-i9100-Unlocked-Smartphone-Touchscreen/dp/B004QTBQ2C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1311909629&sr=8-1

but if thats really the price and theres no hidden fees like they did with the iphone.
then by all means buy it there.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 28th, 2011, 11:30 pm

i paid £440 for mine from the UK when it now came out and was only available in Europe outside of Korea at that time...

interested to know where bmobile are getting their stock from though

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 28th, 2011, 11:37 pm

EMAIL INTERVENTION: Save your friends from outdated email

Postby S_2NR » July 28th, 2011, 11:39 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 28th, 2011, 11:39 pm

Official photo of Samsung Galaxy S2 in white emerges

In a much speedier fashion than one of its major competitors, Samsung appears to be on its way to release its best selling smartphone to date - the Galaxy S2, in a white color scheme in the immediate future.

GSM Arena

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 28th, 2011, 11:45 pm

Gmail v2.3.5 for Android adds label-specific ringtones and sync priority mail only options

If you love Gmail and need to access it on the go you probably already know that Google's Android platform is the best way to access it, and with v2.3.5 that just hit it's getting even better. The top two new features this time around include the ability to sync only priority messages (saving battery life and keeping unimportant messages at bay) and the ability to individually set notifications and ringtones for any of the labels in your inbox. Also new are features like remembering "Show Pictures" for specific senders, a toggle for sticky message actions in all orientations as well as improved overall performance and TalkBack screen reader support.

What's in this version:

1. Save bandwidth and battery by only syncing priority mail
2. Use label notifications to mash up filters, labels, and ringtones
3. Remember 'Show Pictures' for senders
4. Turn off sticky message actions in landscape or all orientations
5. Better TalkBack support for accessibility
6. Performance improvements

Engadget

achillies

Postby achillies » July 29th, 2011, 12:01 am

mitch wrote:i paid £440 for mine from the UK when it now came out and was only available in Europe outside of Korea at that time...

This is my issue right now, I don't know where they getting it from, I heard they have a unit you can actually play with down at west mall, I might have to pay them a visit to see if its the International version they have

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2011, 12:03 am

the white galaxy s2 looks sexy!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 29th, 2011, 12:13 am

achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:i paid £440 for mine from the UK when it now came out and was only available in Europe outside of Korea at that time...

This is my issue right now, I don't know where they getting it from, I heard they have a unit you can actually play with down at west mall, I might have to pay them a visit to see if its the International version they have

if u do go to check it out, enter *#1234# and see what the CSC code is...