Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » September 5th, 2010, 9:07 pm

Fishman wrote:Sounds good. Check out some other bulb combinations for more par and better colour. Theres a guy over in reefcentral who has tested most of the bulbs and he gives good recommendations. His name is grim reefer i think.

hahah....................... when i finish set up, i'll fiddle around with the lights. thanks. will give you a buzz tom.

rmtuner

Koi Pond 2010

Postby rmtuner » September 6th, 2010, 8:47 pm

Ok fishy tuners long time me eh post a vid.
So here is an update on me pond.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

netsket

Postby netsket » September 7th, 2010, 8:29 am

where can i get a 6ft length of styrofoam? I getting shorter lengths to make up the 6ft but I prefer a whole 6ft length. Where in south or central can I get this? I checked Nature's World and St Joseph Poultry already

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 7th, 2010, 8:48 am

you can get a 6X4 ft sheet any thickness by bhagwansings hardware. if you want a specific size cut, i hear thermal impact, they behind mustapha eng in chaguanas by d firestation. heard they even cheaper

haterforever

Postby haterforever » September 7th, 2010, 11:26 am

got a fairly new fish tank for sale for those interested...20 x 10 x 12
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=332155

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 7th, 2010, 7:10 pm

Fishman, nice setup dude...giv we sum of the price yuh pay for dem stuff nah, like d vortex dem...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 7th, 2010, 11:19 pm

the vortech powerheads are about 400-440 US.
ryan, yuh get yuh chiller down yet??

Postby sharkman121 » September 7th, 2010, 11:36 pm

Was watching the vortech powerheads earlier on today
http://cgi.ebay.com/ECOTECH-MARINE-VORT ... 4367wt_911

Have a look at this guys reef tank as well
http://www.melevsreef.com/280g.html

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 8th, 2010, 7:28 am

You can also get them used on reefcentral. That's where i got a couple of mine. You need to have at least 50 posts on that site though before the seller/buyer part of the forum is usable.

Sharkman.... bad news about Melev's tank boy. It sprung a leak and is down now. Good news is he is upgrading to an even bigger better tank!
You can follow his build over at www.reefaddicts.com , he also is one of the owners of that website.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 8th, 2010, 8:24 am

Has anyone here successfully bred parrot-fish ? (Not the marine specie)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2010, 8:52 am

ey sharkman, yuh click on de sump he have?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » September 8th, 2010, 12:08 pm

HondaB20B, i hav 2 go and collect dat chiller dis weekend...

Fishman, how much u got them for used? are they working gd?

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2010, 12:11 pm

^ boi wen i start to see ting so by ting so... meh head start to hut meh yes.

But seriously.... why is that powerhead $444.00 US :? :?
ah mean cmonnn!!!

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2010, 12:24 pm

I have a custom hood, can i just by the vho ballasts and bulbs and install in the hood for myself?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » September 8th, 2010, 1:07 pm

Sharkman121,
That is what I did with my 4ft jebo tank. I took out the regular lights and installed some VHO power compacts. Just buy the Retrofit kit.
But now I changing over to LEDS.

sharkman121 wrote:I have a custom hood, can i just by the vho ballasts and bulbs and install in the hood for myself?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » September 8th, 2010, 1:09 pm

Anyone has small goldfish to sell?
Looking for approx 30 - 40

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 8th, 2010, 1:32 pm

ryan99tt wrote:HondaB20B, i hav 2 go and collect dat chiller dis weekend...

Fishman, how much u got them for used? are they working gd?

If I remember correctly around US 300. They are great!! I have not had any problems.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 8th, 2010, 1:37 pm

sharkman121 wrote:^ boi wen i start to see ting so by ting so... meh head start to hut meh yes.

But seriously.... why is that powerhead $444.00 US :? :?
ah mean cmonnn!!!

The price is high for a few reasons.
1) Its not really a power head. More a wavemaker. It creates random flow by changing its speed. Other powerheads are just on or off. Plus all the vortechs on a tank talks to each other so while one is speeding up on one side the other is slowing down.
2) Unlike other powerheads there are no wires or motor in the tank, just the propeller. The motor is on the outside and drives the prop by magnetism. I.E. no heat added to the water.

Random flow is not really important to soft coral tanks but it is extremely important for a SPS set up.

The other brand that is good at this is Tunze but the price is basically the same.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 8th, 2010, 1:43 pm

sharkman121 wrote:I have a custom hood, can i just by the vho ballasts and bulbs and install in the hood for myself?

Sharkman retrofitting is easy, but I advise you look into T5's instead of VHO's or power compacts. The VHO's are good for Actinic's but for Par (Light intensity) T5's are much better due to footprint. Also T5's have many more variations of color to choose from so you can tailor your set up to suit your taste.

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2010, 1:59 pm

Fishman wrote:

Sharkman retrofitting is easy, but I advise you look into T5's instead of VHO's or power compacts. The VHO's are good for Actinic's but for Par (Light intensity) T5's are much better due to footprint. Also T5's have many more variations of color to choose from so you can tailor your set up to suit your taste.

Thanks man, will look into it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2010, 6:31 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 8th, 2010, 11:02 pm

ey fishman, i did the finishing up of the piping works on underside of tank. I think i'm about 85% completed on it. Need some info/advise. The chiller recommends a flow rate of 317-793 gp/h. The pump i'm running is the magdrive 24 (2400 gp/h @ 0 head). what i want to know is how do i run the line from the pump, leading to the chiller. Do i run a tee fitting (with ball valve on either side) where 1 leads to the main tank, and the other runs to the chiller (which is trottled down by use of the ballvalve) and is dumped back into the refuge or pump area? Or do i run a 2nd pump just to pump into the chiller and dumps back into the refuge. I actually have a brand new magdrive 5 (500 gp/h) which i can use for this. Now i know the drawback in this is the additional pump will add some heat. some advise will be of great help................ thanks

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 12:39 am

Postby sharkman121 » September 9th, 2010, 12:59 am

luv it...cuz i was gonna ask u how exactly to set up my sump :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 1:24 am

you might have to get a pump for it now

Postby sharkman121 » September 9th, 2010, 1:28 am

yeh i know but i studying the plumbing, i wanna do it good the first time.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 1:41 am

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 1:49 am

Postby sharkman121 » September 9th, 2010, 4:20 am

I calculated the sump volume at roughly 20gallons using the dimensions.

what ghp sump pump should i use for this. A 350gph maybe?

What size were u running on yr sump dean?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 9th, 2010, 7:04 am

remember a 350gp/h pump aint go do nothing. you forget to calculate head height, elbows, valves and other fitting and how far away its actually going to be. your pressure drop will be alot. i calculated mine at 43gal. the pump i have is a 2400gp/h using 1" pvc pipe with 4 inlets. the floor to the top of my tank is 7ft