The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby desifemlove » December 3rd, 2013, 8:13 am

Muslims? closed-minded/threatened bunch..

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 3rd, 2013, 9:08 am

Habit7 wrote:You doing the logical fallacy of appealing to authority. You put forward your interpretation and I countered it with was the hadith actually says. Can you prove that your initial interpretation is backed up by scholarship (not the contemporary scholars of today that try to make this palatable for the modern ear but the earliest scholars who were more concerned with representing what the author truly says despite it going against cultural norms)

I am no hadith scholar, but why are you appealing to hadith scholarship when it comes to a clear account of spousal abuse but when it refers to a 600 year later, culturally removed, reinterpretation of Jesus, you proclaim what it clearly says with scholarship?

So if someone w were to argue that the gospel says that Jesus cursed a fig tree that did not have/bear the fruit that he had expected. You would take that to mean that the fig tree is symbolic of women who cannot bear children, so they should be cursed or put to death?
I was not proclaiming anything. I was simply pointing out to you that if you just look at what is on the surface, you would miss the bigger picture, the truth and lessons to be learnt. The hadith you claim endorses spousal abuse firmly establishes a fundamental point in Islamic Law concerning re-marrying one's former spouse after divorce.

Also, if two persons are contradicting each other like what happened between the wife and husband in the hadith and there are no witnesses, then each person is to testify (up to four times I think) that he/she is telling the truth and the curse of Allah will be upon the one who is lying.

Just like the christians in the time of the prophet were challenged to take the Mubahala, related in the Quran:
"Come let us call our sons and your sons, our women and your women, ourselves and yourselves, then we pray and invoke the curse of Allah upon those who lie." [Qur'an 3:61].

They put their tails between their legs, and did not take the challenge because they KNEW that Muhammad was upon the truth.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 3rd, 2013, 9:15 am

kevin5211 wrote:Does anyone here actually answer with their own words instead of copy/paste , hyperlink? Seems like some people just satisfied regurgitating wat they read and not really what they think. Just my two cents. DBU

And at the ripe old age of 26, do you possess the knowledge of the secrets of the Universe?

When you were doing your school projects, did you use your own words or copy/paste?

Two cents really worth nothing....

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 3rd, 2013, 9:17 am

desifemlove wrote:Muslims? closed-minded/threatened bunch..

Rather, firm in belief, based on knowledge. That's a threat to you?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » December 3rd, 2013, 1:41 pm

AdamB wrote:
kevin5211 wrote:Does anyone here actually answer with their own words instead of copy/paste , hyperlink? Seems like some people just satisfied regurgitating wat they read and not really what they think. Just my two cents. DBU

And at the ripe old age of 26, do you possess the knowledge of the secrets of the Universe?

When you were doing your school projects, did you use your own words or copy/paste?

Two cents really worth nothing....

Actually i put forward what i understand from what i have read. I never had to use the copy/paste or i never just regurgitate what i read.so dont lash out for askin a question. It seems that you sir are what bob marley was referring to in the words "who de cap fit, mek dem wear it."

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » December 3rd, 2013, 1:50 pm

:lol::lol:
1386093038151.jpg
1386093038151.jpg (13.94 KiB) Viewed 2147 times

VLDS

Postby VLDS » December 3rd, 2013, 4:36 pm

Like I get a padna. Kevin u tell him man

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 3rd, 2013, 4:49 pm

Idiocy loves company...allyuh beat back Habit7 who says that 1+1+1=1. Bazinga!

Postby Habit7 » December 3rd, 2013, 5:29 pm

AdamB wrote:So if someone w were to argue that the gospel says that Jesus cursed a fig tree that did not have/bear the fruit that he had expected. You would take that to mean that the fig tree is symbolic of women who cannot bear children, so they should be cursed or put to death?

Well they would be wrong. When interpreting the Bible like any ancient document you have to read it in the context of its audience. A 1st century Jewish audience would know that the fig tree symbolises Israel in many Old Testament passages (Hosea 9:10, Nahum 3:12, Zechariah 3:10, Joel 1:7). In Mark's account it specifically speaks of the tree having leaves which is consistent with bearing fig trees but the normal season in June was a month away. It is obvious that like the fig tree, Israel was being cursed because though they showed the outward signs of fruit bearing, they were found void of fruit.

AdamB wrote:I was not proclaiming anything. I was simply pointing out to you that if you just look at what is on the surface, you would miss the bigger picture, the truth and lessons to be learnt. The hadith you claim endorses spousal abuse firmly establishes a fundamental point in Islamic Law concerning re-marrying one's former spouse after divorce.

I didn't draw reference to that hadith to just raise the issue of spousal abuse but to quote Aisha's claim that Muslim women suffer more than others. And for you to try to sully Aisha's judgement, you are also impugning the credibility of other hadiths that she has given account to.

However If I want to raise the issue of spousal abuse I would point to Surah 4:34. Though Ibn Kathir calls for tempered beatings, it is spousal abuse nonetheless.
Ibn Kathir wrote:Allah's statement, (beat them) means, if advice and ignoring her in the bed do not produce the desired results, you are allowed to discipline the wife, without severe beating. Muslim recorded that Jabir said that during the Farewell Hajj, the Prophet said; (Fear Allah regarding women, for they are your assistants. You have the right on them that they do not allow any person whom you dislike to step on your mat. However, if they do that, you are allowed to discipline them lightly. They have a right on you that you provide them with their provision and clothes, in a reasonable manner.) Ibn `Abbas and several others said that the Ayah refers to a beating that is not violent. Al-Hasan Al-Basri said that it means, a beating that is not severe.

VLDS

Postby VLDS » December 3rd, 2013, 6:35 pm

AdamB watch ur mouth eh. That's childish behavior. You tryna force people to believe your religion is the best. Why can't you talk from your own experience and not writings of others? Your ignorance is amazing. If you really believe in what your saying write your own arguments.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 4th, 2013, 2:22 am

VLDS wrote:AdamB watch ur mouth eh. That's childish behavior. You tryna force people to believe your religion is the best. Why can't you talk from your own experience and not writings of others? Your ignorance is amazing. If you really believe in what your saying write your own arguments.

I have been writing in my own words and some say copy/paste?

The book revealed to prophet Muhammad is the Quran which is the words of GOD himself, not someone's recollection of events. The prophet explained the meaning of the seemingly unclear verses, this information has been preserved as is the Quran, in memory in it's entirety in arabic by millions of muslims.

We don't read the Quran and then try to explain it ourselves because that leads people astray as had happened to the Jews and Christians. They changed the wording and meaning of the revealed verses. They have made GOD into man and vice versa. This is unfounded in the revealed verses to them.

My mission, as was the mission of prophet Muhammad, is to call people to Oneness of GOD and worship of GOD in the manner HE has prescribed for man. Good action and conduct follows naturally thereafter.

This life is a test and soon the pen will be lifted. Admonition is necessary. Man also needs to know what will harm him.

VLDS

Postby VLDS » December 4th, 2013, 8:29 am

So AdamB. In your mission where in the book did it say go around calling your wife a whore to the public and grouping people as idiots because they don't agree with you?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 4th, 2013, 10:19 am

VLDS wrote:So AdamB. In your mission where in the book did it say go around calling your wife a whore to the public and grouping people as idiots because they don't agree with you?

1. I said she is MY whore and she is happy to be that!
2. I call ppl what they call themselves.
3. Which public? Isn't this an anonymous forum?
4. Forget the messenger and look at the message. I am only human.
5. Think about your mortality, and what you choose for yourself in the next life. Wouldn't you choose the best vehicle for the journey?
6. Are you same guy whose brother passed away? This is a test for you, try not to fail...i think i had elaborated more on this before.

Postby Sky » December 4th, 2013, 10:21 am

AdamB wrote:
MadCrix wrote:Thread cleaned up. Continue and u shall be banned. Resistance is futile

try cleaning up yuh life. Allah is THE IRRESISTIBLE. Try banning HIM.

I'll just use a different login / email...

Allah, I ask you by all your perfect names and attributes to ease up the stress on Paul Walker in the grave (Barzakh life), he did the best he could with his life and pretty smile, he believed in you, he performed good deeds. Maybe your message of Oneness and Islam did not reach him, so test him again on the day of judgment, if he was an obedient slave, then maybe, just maybe he will obey you then.

Oh Allah, how cool it would be if you allow me entry to Paradise to chill with my pal paul and the fast and furious porche!

Forgive those obnoxious fools who think that the grave is the FINAL RESTING PLACE.

This is why your religion will never have peace.
This is why I sin my soul in thoughts, hoping some idiot like you attack me and give me reason to dispatch you.
This is why people hate your religion.
This is why many hope that the right US president comes along and deal with the majority of you.

You preach peace here, yet you go elsewhere and disrespect. The mod said to stop and because allah on your side, you can do wtf you want. Religion of peace meh mc.
Well good riddance after that stunt.
We had the worse pass through this thread and they acted up right in front of the admin's eyes. Yet they never got out of hand to the point on banning.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 4th, 2013, 10:30 am

WILL FREE SPEECH BE THE WINNER TODAY?

Postby Sky » December 4th, 2013, 11:40 am

AdamB wrote:WILL FREE SPEECH BE THE WINNER TODAY?

Lol @ muslim want free speech.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » December 4th, 2013, 11:44 am

AdamB wrote:WILL FREE SPEECH BE THE WINNER TODAY?

it ha free speech in Islam?

VLDS

Postby VLDS » December 4th, 2013, 12:07 pm

AdamB u beating round the bush now. You have a double standard. Your right to your free speech but even that has understood limits. And again your right in saying this is anonymous because if it wasn't you would not say half the things you say.
You say call people by what they call themselves? Your wife ever came out from the comfort of your bedroom and called herself your whore.
How stupid and ignorant are you really.
I hope she reads this and see how degrading your thought of her is. You sad sad boy

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Users please refrain from personal attacks. This topic is here to discuss religion, it is NOT to attack other users. You can discuss or oppose another user by posting counter arguments in the form of your own views, claims or facts. There is no need to personally attack a user with comments about them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2013, 12:38 pm

Users please refrain from personal attacks. This topic is here to discuss religion, it is NOT to attack other users. You can discuss or oppose another user by posting counter arguments in the form of your own views, claims or facts. There is no need to personally attack a user with comments about them.

Also note that nothing is wrong with copy/pasting so long as it is used to help convey the point being made.

Postby MG Man » December 4th, 2013, 1:09 pm

Can we still tell AdamB his wife's a whore?

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » December 4th, 2013, 1:39 pm

MG Man wrote:Can we still tell AdamB his wife's a whore?

It will just be us quoting his words right.:???:

Postby S_2NR » December 4th, 2013, 2:05 pm

VLDS wrote:AdamB u beating round the bush now. You have a double standard. Your right to your free speech but even that has understood limits. And again your right in saying this is anonymous because if it wasn't you would not say half the things you say.
You say call people by what they call themselves? Your wife ever came out from the comfort of your bedroom and called herself your whore.
How stupid and ignorant are you really.
I hope she reads this and see how degrading your thought of her is. You sad sad boy

doesnt matter. in islam, husbands are allowed to do this and "discipline" their wife as they see fit.
im not even joking. :lol:
really sexist and backward

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 5th, 2013, 2:10 am

S_2NR wrote:
VLDS wrote:AdamB u beating round the bush now. You have a double standard. My cars are auto.Your right to your free speech but even that has understood limits. Most roads in T&T are 2-way.And again your right in saying this is anonymous because if it wasn't you would not say half the things you say. How would you know?
You say call people by what they call themselves? Your wife ever came out from the comfort of your bedroom and called herself your whore. She doesn't have to, she says it IN the bedroom!
How stupid and ignorant are you really. If you're asking a question, try ending with the appropriate punctuation mark.

doesnt matter. in islam, husbands are allowed to do this and "discipline" their wife as they see fit.Wow experts in Islam now!!
im not even joking. :lol:
really sexist and backward

And forward is your wives dressing up for every other man when she goes out?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 5th, 2013, 2:22 am

Look at what religious does to man. It creates and stirs all kind of emotions. It segregates us. Respect one another's decisions towards what they want to believe or follow. It's their life. We can all learn from each other. Express opinions, personal beliefs and experiences, together.

Postby MG Man » December 5th, 2013, 7:03 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:Look at what religious does to man. It creates and stirs all kind of emotions. It segregates us. Respect one another's decisions towards what they want to believe or follow. It's their life. We can all learn from each other. Express opinions, personal beliefs and experiences, together.

I respect your sentiment, but when religions teach 'our way is right, other ways lead to hell and damnation', then there can be no respect or tolerance. Look at islam for example; making fun of their god will see you put to death, but since they are taught that they are right, they are free to disrespect other religions without seeing it as a gross double standard

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2013, 7:25 am

So adam. The only way your wife wont dress up for other men is because religion forces her to cover up? She doesnt have the free will to decide for herself to have respect for you and dress in a respectful way? She really wants to show off her body to all men yet....the only thing stopping her is islam? Interesting....very interesting

Postby Habit7 » December 5th, 2013, 8:31 am

Kal-El Ward wrote:Look at what religious does to man. It creates and stirs all kind of emotions. It segregates us. Respect one another's decisions towards what they want to believe or follow. It's their life. We can all learn from each other. Express opinions, personal beliefs and experiences, together.

Sports can do the same thing, along with media, politics, race, class, nationality, etc.

The common denominator in all this is the sinful heart of man, not ideology.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » December 5th, 2013, 8:50 am

Habit7 wrote:

Sports can do the same thing, along with media, politics, race, class, nationality, etc.

The common denominator in all this is the sinful heart of man, not ideology.

The rejectionists of religion are guilty of (or inflicted with) the same firm belief (in non-existence of GOD in their case) and intolerance of those who profess belief.

Postby Sky » December 5th, 2013, 8:52 am

Race and nationality isn't a choice.
Politics is tied to religion.
Sports have not been doing it for centuries. And either way, it's followed by beers after, while forgiving quicker than any religion can.