The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2013, 1:57 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

I know info all over d net... But is wikipedia a Christian Site?
Is the explanations given on wikipedia the actual belief of Christians?

I want to hear from the Christians on this thread and what they actually believe/follow.
I want to understand what it means to them from a real Christian point of view.

Many say that it's based on Christ etc, well... we've heard arguments and defences about many other topics... so let's hear something about Christmas.
you want personal beliefs or facts?

Of what value is it that an individual Christian has a personal belief about a Christmas tree or parang or sorrel?

The Christmas tree and Santa Claus are not in the bible, if that's the kind of answer you are looking for.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2013, 2:00 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
bluefete wrote:What do you get when you re-arrange the word "Santa"?

Wasn't really askin bout Santa, especially since we all know that was Coca-Cola's mascot.

But Fete... ent you's a Christian?

Enlighten we nah.
ok your replies are worrying now.

Santa was not created by Coca Cola!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2013, 2:03 pm

so what if it can also spell Satan? God can also spell dog. Does that have any significance?

Postby bluefete » November 26th, 2013, 2:04 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

Wasn't really askin bout Santa, especially since we all know that was Coca-Cola's mascot.

Enlighten we nah.

Good point, Duane.

Coca Cola just adopted Santa for their ad campaigns at Christmas time in the early 20th century.

So who is brave enough to re-arrange the word Santa? What is hidden in this word? And why?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 26th, 2013, 2:06 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

Enlighten we nah.

Ok here we go...

*knew that would trigger something*

Postby bluefete » November 26th, 2013, 2:07 pm

so what if it can also spell Satan? God can also spell dog. Does that have any significance?

Quite a lot actually. Santa was created to move attention away from Jesus Christ.

A big fat man with a beard and red suit based on some Saint Nicholas from the earlies is just what Satan needed to pull children away from the story of Christ's birth.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 26th, 2013, 2:18 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

I know info all over d net... But is wikipedia a Christian Site?
Is the explanations given on wikipedia the actual belief of Christians?

I want to hear from the Christians on this thread and what they actually believe/follow.
I want to understand what it means to them from a real Christian point of view.

Many say that it's based on Christ etc, well... we've heard arguments and defences about many other topics... so let's hear something about Christmas.
you want personal beliefs or facts?

Of what value is it that an individual Christian has a personal belief about a Christmas tree or parang or sorrel?

The Christmas tree and Santa Claus are not in the bible, if that's the kind of answer you are looking for.

Well many believe that Christmas is mainly about Jesus, his birth, or whatever...
While many just go to church as a ritual... while others are confused and just go along with it...

You hear things like Saint Nicholas, Noel, Jesus, Holy Nights, Gifts, Trees, Decorations etc, etc..
So maybe Christians could explain what they actually celebrate and the aspects of Christmas that actually relates to their religion..

I know that the Christmas Tree etc are not in the Bible.. Yet many "prominent", believing Christians have them in their house while they celebrate the (Holy) Christmas. Hence my questions...

Trust me... Many Christians will also learn from the related posts and misconceptions could be cleared..

Facts / Beliefs etc will all be welcomed.... especially since some "facts" will be argued against other "beliefs" and so on.

Postby Habit7 » November 26th, 2013, 2:54 pm

New_SPECIES I don't know where you want to go with this but, if your are trying to critique a religion you need to critique it from its orthodoxy then to its orthopraxy.

Pointing to cultural traditions and pagan influences of a largely ignorant population, doesnt equate to Christianity being bad.

First focus on what the Bible has to say about Christmas (critique it even) then see if the actions of those who celebrate Christmas are consistent with what it says.

VLDS

Postby VLDS » November 26th, 2013, 2:58 pm

Disregard AdamB. As far as I see he's a copy paste artist that has no independent rationale thought.

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » November 26th, 2013, 3:02 pm

^^^^ better u say it than me.

They quick to tell me imma idiot. :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 26th, 2013, 3:21 pm

Habit7 wrote:New_SPECIES I don't know where you want to go with this but, if your are trying to critique a religion you need to critique it from its orthodoxy then to its orthopraxy.

Pointing to cultural traditions and pagan influences of a largely ignorant population, doesnt equate to Christianity being bad.

First focus on what the Bible has to say about Christmas (critique it even) then see if the actions of those who celebrate Christmas are consistent with what it says.

Not tryin to make anyone or any religion look bad here partner..

Just want people who more educated in this field to educate the ones that are confused about what is really a part of the "True Christmas" and what has to do with other paganisms etc.

I have many Christian friends who are "not sure" as to what Christmas is actually about when I ask them.
Like I said, many people I know go to church, believe in Christianity etc, but teach their children about "Santa", put up a tree, hang up Mistletoe, hang up stockings, etc.
Even public institutions associate the Crèche (with baby Jesus) and these other decorations as part of the same.
It puts into the (confused) minds of others that maybe all these things are related.
But of course this is not so.
A "discussion" is not about bashing/insulting (as what many have done to certain religions in this thread), it is about sharing different views and opinions on a particular topic/area/field.

I myself might have my own views on Christmas but I am glad to hear what others believe and the "real story" behind it.

If the answer to any question posted here is "see what the Bible says" then no Christian would have posted anything, but here we are... page 571

A religious occasion; “Christmas”,
A “religion discussion”; during the Christmas Season,
I think that knowledge and enlightenment on Christmas seems most appropriate.

Like I said... Let’s clear up some misconceptions... Teach Others the “True Meaning”... etc.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 26th, 2013, 3:45 pm

VLDS wrote:Disregard AdamB. As far as I see he's a copy paste artist that has no independent rationale thought.

Thanks again VLDS and idiot. What you guys trying to build up pride in my heart?

Postby Habit7 » November 26th, 2013, 3:45 pm

The true meaning of Christmas is God, entering into His creation as a man to save those who deserve His just wrath.

The story of Christmas shows the Christ child Jesus fulfilled many Old Testament prophecies of the Messiah (Isaiah 7:14, Micah 5:2, Jeremiah 31:15, Hosea 11:1, Isaiah 9:6-7, Genesis 22:17-18, Jeremiah 33:14-16) thus proving Him to be the one to take away the sins of the world. Thus we see Gospels not mentioning much of His life until He started His ministry at 30 years old and was then crucified at 33, where the sins of those who put their trust in Him was borne by Him and He received the just wrath that they deserved. He three days later rose again to new life so that one who repents of their sin and puts their trust in Christ will have their sins be paid for by Christ and receive the righteousness that Christ lived and like Christ they will rise again to new life.

Everything else is just fluff.

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » November 26th, 2013, 3:49 pm

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 26th, 2013, 7:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:......God, entering into His creation as a man to save those who deserve His just wrath.
Aside from the topic at hand... ^^this is the statement that always really confuses me..

Habit7 wrote:The story of Christmas shows the Christ child Jesus fulfilled many Old Testament prophecies of the Messiah..... thus proving Him to be the one to take away the sins of the world. Thus we see Gospels not mentioning much of His life until He started His ministry at 30 years old and was then crucified at 33, where the sins of those who put their trust in Him was borne by Him and He received the just wrath that they deserved. He three days later rose again to new life so that one who repents of their sin and puts their trust in Christ will have their sins be paid for by Christ and receive the righteousness that Christ lived and like Christ they will rise again to new life.

I didn't quite catch a grasp of Christmas there... sounds more like a summary of Christianity and the foundation of the belief.

Didn't hear anything about the yearly celebration of his birth... purpose and existence of the wise men and the part they played... etc
Is it because Christmas is not about these things?

I maybe wrong... but summarizing Christianity as an explanation for Christmas did not clear up common misconceptions... just to name a few:
* What Christmas really is;
* Why it is celebrated on 25th Dec every year;
* Why is the Birth of Christ continuously surfaced around this time;
* Was Jesus really born on 25th Dec;
* Does the endless lights have any significance as it does in Divali;
etc... etc..

Postby bluefete » November 26th, 2013, 9:46 pm

Jesus was born in the summer months - most likely June/July.

December would have been too cold for shepherds to be "abiding in the fields" at night.

The arrival of the magi came about 2 years after his birth. They were guided by God, a star and their interpretations of the stars to come to Bethlehem. They brought him gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh. Myrrh was a very precious ointment in those times.

When Herod found out, his order was to kill all children 2 years old and under.

Right there we have the major tenets that are celebrated at Christmas time. All the other trappings came hundreds of years later from other societies.

Who cares if it is celebrated on December 25th? What that date meant to ancient/pagan civilizations and what it means to Christians are two different things. Maybe it was a deliberate effort on the part of the church to try and eliminate some of the pagan traditions that stood in the way of Christianity.

Even the Bible spoke about different people esteeming different days.

Romans 14:5-12

King James Version (KJV)

5 One man esteemeth one day above another: another esteemeth every day alike. Let every man be fully persuaded in his own mind.

6 He that regardeth the day, regardeth it unto the Lord; and he that regardeth not the day, to the Lord he doth not regard it. He that eateth, eateth to the Lord, for he giveth God thanks; and he that eateth not, to the Lord he eateth not, and giveth God thanks.

7 For none of us liveth to himself, and no man dieth to himself.

8 For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord's.

9 For to this end Christ both died, and rose, and revived, that he might be Lord both of the dead and living.

10 But why dost thou judge thy brother? or why dost thou set at nought thy brother? for we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ.

11 For it is written, As I live, saith the Lord, every knee shall bow to me, and every tongue shall confess to God.

12 So then every one of us shall give account of himself to God.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2013, 1:17 am

New_SPECIES wrote:
Habit7 wrote:New_SPECIES I don't know where you want to go with this but, if your are trying to critique a religion you need to critique it from its orthodoxy then to its orthopraxy.

Just want people who more educated in this field to educate the ones that are confused about what is really a part of the "True Christmas" and what has to do with other paganisms etc.

I have many Christian friends who are "not sure" as to what Christmas is actually about when I ask them.
Like I said, many people I know go to church, believe in Christianity etc, but teach their children about "Santa", put up a tree, hang up Mistletoe, hang up stockings, etc.
Even public institutions associate the Crèche (with baby Jesus) and these other decorations as part of the same.
It puts into the (confused) minds of others that maybe all these things are related.
A "discussion" is not about bashing/insulting (as what many have done to certain religions in this thread), it is about sharing different views and opinions on a particular topic/area/field.

I myself might have my own views on Christmas but I am glad to hear what others believe and the "real story" behind it.

If the answer to any question posted here is "see what the Bible says" then no Christian would have posted anything, but here we are... page 571

Like I said... Let’s clear up some misconceptions... Teach Others the “True Meaning”... etc.
I know alot of Muslim people who put up lights and decorations for Eid, exchange gifts etc.

There are two very different aspects of Christmas especially in the western world: there is the orthodox aspect where people celebrate the birth of Jesus and then there is the traditional and commercial aspect with decorations, lights, gift giving etc which isn't religious at all, just traditional and commercial.

A major part of having a worthwhile discussion of you wanting to "clear up some misconceptions" is that you need to let go of your preconceptions.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 27th, 2013, 9:24 pm

Habit7 wrote:The true meaning of Christmas is God, entering into His creation as a man to save those who deserve His just wrath.

Well if they deserve HIS just wrath, then why intervene? That's like what you see on some movies, like Terminator, going back in time to kill someone in order to change the future...

So according to the above, all the ppl who deserve the just wrath of GOD will be saved? Just like the Trinity, makes absolutely no sense...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 27th, 2013, 9:32 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

I know alot of Muslim people who put up lights and decorations for Eid, exchange gifts etc.

There are two very different aspects of Christmas especially in the western world: there is the orthodox aspect where people celebrate the birth of Jesus and then there is the traditional and commercial aspect with decorations, lights, gift giving etc which isn't religious at all, just traditional and commercial.

A major part of having a worthwhile discussion of you wanting to "clear up some misconceptions" is that you need to let go of your preconceptions.

There are muslims who go overboard as well for Eid but generally not like how people do at Christmas time.

I have a muslim neighbour, married to a hindu, didn't decorate for eid or divali but spending 3 wks decorating for xmas. It have nothing to do with Christ, just the pomp / show off scene present in society.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2013, 10:04 pm

^ yup no religious significance. Just social.

Postby Habit7 » November 27th, 2013, 10:31 pm

AdamB wrote:
Habit7 wrote:The true meaning of Christmas is God, entering into His creation as a man to save those who deserve His just wrath.

Well if they deserve HIS just wrath, then why intervene? That's like what you see on some movies, like Terminator, going back in time to kill someone in order to change the future...

So according to the above, all the ppl who deserve the just wrath of GOD will be saved? Just like the Trinity, makes absolutely no sense...

Thus by what you are saying, you are fulfilling exactly what the Bible says about you:

For the word of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. For it is written,
“I will destroy the wisdom of the wise,
And the cleverness of the clever I will set aside.”(Isaiah 29:14)
Where is the wise man? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not come to know God, God was well-pleased through the foolishness of the message preached to save those who believe. For indeed Jews ask for signs and Greeks search for wisdom; but we preach Christ crucified, to Jews a stumbling block and to Gentiles foolishness, but to those who are the called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men. 1 Corinthians 1:18-25

You call the Gospel foolishness yet you want me to believe Allah deceived the witnesses of the crucifixion, thus spawn the greatest single religion on earth, all while he unjustly forgives men who are guilty of their sin.

And pertaining to Christmas, a greater issue for the world is not those who go overboard for Christmas, but those who read Sura 9:29 and plainly obeys what it commands.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 27th, 2013, 11:52 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:

This is the same reason why I highlighted the season. For the persons involved in the celebration based on their religion, to help others remember/understand/clear-up/know, what Christmas is really about.

The confusion lies when the difference between these two things:
the orthodox aspect - "celebration of the birth of Jesus”
the traditional and commercial aspect - "decorations, lights, gift giving"
……are not easily separated due to lack of knowledge/ignorance/tradition/commercialism etc.

So…. since according to Bluefete, Jesus was not born on the 25th of December (or any date close to it) then is Christmas really about the "celebration of the birth of Jesus”?
And… since according to you, the commercial aspect now plays a big part of the "tradition" then how are the "outsiders" able to understand what Christians really celebrating and what has a true meaning in the Christmas celebration and what doesn't. Especially since so many Christians themselves can't really "pull out" one from the other (not an assumption).

I'm also very sure that many tuners are not "church men" and therefore probably are not fully educated in their Christian religion and further the "true meaning/celebration" of Christmas. So is it not then informative for them also, to get this information (in between) their "Ole Talk"?

Even right here some saying "probably", "maybe"... "who cares about the 25th Dec"… yet the date is always set and the celebrations of Christmas by Christians are always systematically and accurately done on this date and time of year...

Forget Islam and other religions and discuss this objectively rather than using the basis of comparison to justify existing trends.

Since my questions to a number of Christians that I personally know have not been consistent.. I came here and posted a concern/query to Christians (on this thread) to simply explain what they are celebrating and why… and to also distinguish between what is normally seen around Christmas time to what actually has religious meaning.

Just another example of the "confusion":
You categorized gift giving, decorations, lights, (Christmas Trees) as "commercial".. does it mean that these have no purpose or meaning in the "true celebration" of Christmas?
And if it doesn't... then are the people involved, doing something wrong in the eyes of God or is "ok" to add/subtract from the celebration as they please?

Why all the "beating around the bush" etc?
Is the answers so obvious or Is it too difficult to explain… hence the diversions?

Yet to get a consistent answer…

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » November 28th, 2013, 12:04 am

Habit7 wrote:And pertaining to Christmas, a greater issue for the world is not those who go overboard for Christmas, but those who read Sura 9:29 and plainly obeys what it commands.

With this statement… are you giving the general consensus that this "Religion Discussion" is really a means of attacking Muslims and Islam rather than discussing various person's misconceptions/concerns?

Attempts to learn from others based on a present and existing season… is somehow diverted to something not even close to the present discussion…
How radical "muslims" and terrorism reach in your "Meaning of Christmas" contribution?

Diversion?

VLDS

Postby VLDS » November 28th, 2013, 12:11 am

Simply put. Yes you Christians have a reason for Christmas. We all love it. But there's no argument that it is a commercialized event. Most people in the world see it as an excuse to drink and party. Esp trinis. What u call Christmas is lost in translation over the economic powerhouse that it is.

The question I want to ask a Christian is...
Why is your story true? Forgive me but I need to copy and paste my readings because I'm just too lazy to type it unlike mr AdamB who can't seem to have a single word of his own.
The following post shows the similarities between Jesus and Horus (a god which was known about long before hesus was conjured)

VLDS

Postby VLDS » November 28th, 2013, 12:11 am

1) Both were conceived from a Virgin.

2) Horus was the only begotten Son of the God Osiris and Jesus was the only Son of God ( Yehovah).

3) The Foster Father of Horus was Seb (Jo-Seph), and the Foster Father of Jesus was Joseph.

4) Both Foster Fathers were of Royal descent.

5) Both Horus and Jesus were born in a cave or stable.

6) Annunciation, in both cases was by an angel to the respective Mothers.

7) In both cases the birth was heralded by a star.

8) Birth date, Ancient Egyptians would parade a baby in a manger through the streets typically on Winter solstice (Dec 21st). Jesus birthday celebrations were arranged to coincide with the birth date of Mithra, Dionysis and Sol Invictus (Dec 25th).

9) In both cases the birth announcement was made by angels.

10) In each case the witnesses were shepherds.

11) The later witnesses to the birth were three solar deities in the case of Horus, and three wise men in the case of Jesus.

12) Death threats were made to Horus by Herut, and to Jesus by Herod.

13) Each Mother was warned to hide their infant by a deity.

14) Each had to attend a special ritual at the age of 12 to mark their Rite of Passage.

15) Neither has any history between the ages of 12 and 30.

16) Both were baptised in rivers.

17) Both their baptisers were ultimately beheaded.

18) Both were taken from a desert and up a mountain and tempted by Satan, and both resisted the temptation.

19) Both walked on water, healed the sick,restored sight to the blind and calmed the sea.

20) Horus raised Osiris from the grave and Jesus raised Lazarus from the grave.

21) Location where the resurrection miracle occurred:

Horus: Anu, an Egyptian city where the rites of the death, burial and resurrection of Horus were enacted annually.

Jesus: Hebrews added their prefix for house ('beth") to "Anu" to produce "Beth-Anu" or the "House of Anu." Since "u" and "y" were interchangeable in antiquity, "Bethanu" became "Bethany," the location mentioned in John 11.

22) Origin of Lazarus' name in the Gospel of John: Asar was an alternative name for Osirus, Horus' father, who Horus raised from the dead. He was referred to as "the Asar," as a sign of respect. Translated into Hebrew, this is "El-Asar." The Romans added the prefix "us" to indicate a male name, producing "Elasarus." Over time, the "E" was dropped and "s" became "z," producing "Lazarus."

23) Both transfigured on a mountain.

24) Both held a sermon on the mount.

25) Both died by crucifixion

26) Both died accompanied by two thieves.

27) Both were buried in a tomb.

28) Both were resurrected after 3 days or 30-38 hours.

29) Both resurrections were announced by women.

30) Future, both reign for 1000 years in the Millennium.

Postby Habit7 » November 28th, 2013, 1:22 am

Postby Habit7 » November 28th, 2013, 1:41 am

New_SPECIES wrote:
Habit7 wrote:And pertaining to Christmas, a greater issue for the world is not those who go overboard for Christmas, but those who read Sura 9:29 and plainly obeys what it commands.

With this statement… are you giving the general consensus that this "Religion Discussion" is really a means of attacking Muslims and Islam rather than discussing various person's misconceptions/concerns?

Attempts to learn from others based on a present and existing season… is somehow diverted to something not even close to the present discussion…
How radical "muslims" and terrorism reach in your "Meaning of Christmas" contribution?

Diversion?

Nobody is attacking Muslims or Islam, stop appealing to pity. It was in response to AdamB, not really directed at you.

You are asking for the meaning of Christmas and I gave you a direct answer with many biblical references. You somehow seemed to shrug it off and are pursuing an idea of Christmas that no one other than yourself is advocating here.Yet you are interpreting my reference to someone obeying Sura 9:29 (as any other command in the Quran) as me referencing terrorism.

How come you are so adamant to distance terrorism from Islam, but you can't distance 21st century cultural Christmas tradition from how the Bible actually recounts the 1st century birth of Christ?

VLDS

Postby VLDS » November 28th, 2013, 2:36 am

Habit7 wrote:^^^

This debunks nothing. Speaks one time of Horus. Also he says the first writings of this were actually about a century or two after Christ where there were no eyewitnesses. Yet the first 5 books of the bible were written 2 to 4 centuries after Christ. Guess u Christian eye witnesses live a long time

Postby Habit7 » November 28th, 2013, 7:50 am

I thought it dealt with the topic in general, but if you want specific:

The Truth About Horus
The mythical Egyptian God, Horus, was worshipped principally in two cult centers at Bekhdet in the North and Idfu in the south. Little remains at the northern location, but there is still a large and well preserved Ptolemaic temple at Idfu. So, most information about Horus comes from this southern temple. Horus was usually represented as a falcon, as he was a great sky God and the Son of Isis and Osiris. Let’s take a look at the claims we have already described and separate truth from fiction, and then try to understand the underlying hope of the people who invented the god called Horus:

Claim: Horus was conceived by a virgin mother named Meri, and had a stepfather named Seb (Joseph)
Truth: Horus was NOT conceived of a virgin. In fact both mural and textual evidence from Egypt indicate that Isis (there is no evidence that “Meri” was ever part of her name) hovered over the erect penis (that she created) of Osiris and conceived Horus. While she may have been a virgin before the conception, she utilizes Osiris’ penis to conceive. She later had another son with Osiris as well. There is no evidence of three wise men as part of the story at all (in neither Horus’ nor Jesus’ birth story for that matter!). Seb was actually the ‘earth god’, (earth itself, just as Nut was the sky); He was not Horus’ earthly father. Seb is NOT the equivalent of Joseph and, in most cases, he is described as Osiris’ father!

The Reasoning Behind the Horus Mythology: Clearly men dream and think about God, and when we do that, it is reasonable for us to imagine that God be in some way different from the natural order that He has created. It’s reasonable to assume then, that He would appear in a supernatural way, defying the natural order of things.

Claim: Horus was born in a cave, his birth announced by an angel, heralded by a star and attended by shepherds
Truth: There is no reference to a cave or manger in the birth story at all. In fact none of these details are present in the ancient Egyptian stories of Horus. Horus was born in a swamp. His birth was not heralded by an angel. There was no star to announce his birth.

Claim: Horus attended a special rite of passage at the age of twelve and there is no data on the child from the age of 12 to 30
Truth: There is no continuous effort in the Horus mythology to account for all these years, so there are no real gaps in the chronology. Horus never taught in any temple at twelve (as did Jesus), and keep in mind that Jesus didn’t ‘disappear’ in the years between His teaching in the temple and His baptism. He was simply working as a carpenter.

Claim: Horus was baptized in a river at the age of 30, and his baptizer was later beheaded.
Truth: Horus was never baptized. While the conspiracy theorists will often point to “Anup the Baptizer” and claim he was later beheaded, there is no such person in Horus’ story.

Claim: Horus had 12 disciples
Truth: Horus had only four disciples (called ‘Heru-Shemsu’), but at some point in his story there is reference to sixteen followers, and a group of unnumbered followers who join Horus in battle (called ‘mesnui’). But there’s no reference to twelve followers.

The Reasoning Behind the Horus Mythology: It is reasonable to imagine that God, if he was to come to earth, would then gather to himself disciples that would continue to share the truth with others.

Claim: Horus performed miracles, exorcized demons, raised someone from the dead, walked on water
Truth: Of course Horus performed miracles, after all he was supposed to be a god!! But there was no mention of exorcizing demons, raising people from the dead or walking on water.

The Reasoning Behind the Horus Mythology: It is reasonable to expect that if there is a God (a true God), He would have the power to perform the miraculous and control the forces of the natural environment.

Claim: Horus was called “Iusa”, the “ever-becoming son” and the “Holy Child”
Truth: No one in Egyptian history was ever called “Iusa” (the word does not exist) nor was anyone called “Holy Child”.

Claim: Horus delivered a “Sermon on the Mount”, and his followers recounted his sayings. He was transfigured on the Mount
Truth: Horus never delivered a “Sermon on the Mount”, nor was he transfigured.

Claim: Horus was crucified between two thieves, buried for three days in a tomb, and was resurrected
Truth: Horus is not reported to have died at all in the vast majority of story versions. There is also no crucifixion story. Instead, Horus is usually described as eventually merging with Re (the Sun god) after which he ‘dies’ and is ‘reborn’ every single day as the sun rises. (This is a bit of a stretch at a death and resurrection parallel). Now there is an unofficial story that describes Horus as dying and being cast in pieces into the water, and later fished out by a crocodile at Isis’ request.

The Reasoning Behind the Horus Mythology: If there is a true God, we would expect him to have mastery over death and be able to control the powers of death and life.

Claim: Horus was called “Way”, “the Truth the Light”, “Messiah”, “God’s Anointed Son”, “Son of Man”, “Good Shepherd”, “Lamb of God”, “Word made flesh”, “Word of Truth”, “the KRST” or “Anointed One”
Truth: None of these titles are in Egyptian history, but Horus IS called by several names you might expect for any god in mythology: “Great God”, “Chief of the Powers”, “Master of Heaven”, and “Avenger of His Father”. Horus was also not called “the Krst” because this word in Egyptian means “burial” (it wasn’t a title at all).

The Reasoning Behind the Horus Mythology: If there is a God, we would expect Him to be powerful and possess a title that reflects that power.

Claim: Horus was “the Fisher” and was associated with the Fish, Lamb and Lion.
Truth: Some of the conspiracy theorists try to show an association with fish (by virtue of the fact that Horus WAS a fish, very unlike Jesus), but there is no evidence that Horus was ever called a “fisher” or was ever associated with the Lion or the Lamb.

Claim: Horus came to fulfill the Law, and was supposed to reign one thousand years
Truth: There was no Egyptian “law” for Horus to fulfill, and there is no mention of a thousand year reign in Egyptian mythology.

It seems you really believe Maher to be a scientist or some intellectual authority :roll:

VLDS wrote:Yet the first 5 books of the bible were written 2 to 4 centuries after Christ. Guess u Christian eye witnesses live a long time

Really, which five books are these?

VLDS

Postby VLDS » November 28th, 2013, 10:01 am

Did I mention bill maher? I just wanna know what makes your story so factual and no one else's? And I don't care about your religion so realize I'm being very fair to ask and be objective.