AbstractPoetic

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2024

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 30th, 2024, 5:53 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:Work as usual tomorrow Minister confirms

If you’re a member of this country’s public service and wondering if you’re expected to show up for work tomorrow, then the answer is yes.

https://tt.loopnews.com/

wouldn't it be prudent to cut non-essentials tomorrow to ease up traffic etc? is month end too

I hope the citizens stay home tomorrow. The flooding alone would make it a miserable commute to and from work.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 30th, 2024, 5:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:449647295_874685668027891_372401891074696443_n.jpg

Has KFC closed, too?

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 5:55 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
K74T wrote:Level red for Tobago now

RED and ready?

But seriously, this is going to have devastating effects. Not even THA can rely on the TT government to bail them out. International resources will be needed.

Flora in 1963 devastated Tobago. Let us pray this is not going to do the same.

Many young people are stranded in Tobago at this time from Island Crasher fete last night.

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 5:55 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

Has KFC closed, too?

Yes. KFC in San Juan is closed ......................................................................................... for renovations. :lol: :lol:

Welcome back AP.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 30th, 2024, 5:59 pm

bluefete wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Has KFC closed, too?

Yes. KFC in San Juan is closed ......................................................................................... for renovations. :lol: :lol:

Welcome back AP.

But that is my go to KFC. bwda

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2024, 6:02 pm

The stray pigeons and cats in and around my place seems to be unbothered.

Isn't animal behaviour a sign of things to come?
Last edited by Dizzy28 on June 30th, 2024, 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2024, 6:03 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i ent going work f dat

me either

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 6:06 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The stary pigeons and cats in and around my place seems to be unbothered.

About 2 Tuesdays ago at 3:30 a.m. I heard all the parrots fly away and making one set of noise.

I went outside to see what was happening but I saw nothing.

Was that a warning about the earthquake and hurricane?

Sometimes the warning comes in advance.

Postby sMASH » June 30th, 2024, 6:07 pm

If they saw fit to go to orange,then schools should be closed ... At least demonstrate congruency
Issue the advisory soon to allow people to mske arrangements.
The pussyfooting this administration dies fir the last 9 years is loathsome

If was me, i personally don't see more than yellow fur trinidad ... Except for norht east. And woukd advise schools in usual suspect areas to take their initiative .

Usually 8 hrs after the rain, u will get the csroni flooding . If by the am u see u get realllll wetting, issue the river orange alert and stop cross Caroni commute .

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 6:07 pm

me either

MoE in Trinidad still watching and waiting.

Send allyuh chirren to school.

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 6:10 pm

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

Has KFC closed, too?

Welcome back AP.

But that is my go to KFC. bwda

:D :D I drove past there today and the 1% real doing work. KFC being renovated (or so I thought) and where Standards was - they doing something there as well. Both 1% businesses.

Meanwhile back to the weather ....

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 6:12 pm

Hinds doing a presser right now.

Late as flicking usual.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » June 30th, 2024, 6:13 pm

bluefete wrote:

me either

MoE in Trinidad still watching and waiting.

Send allyuh chirren to school.

sch.jpg

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=89 ... 3543901070

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2024, 6:14 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The stray pigeons and cats in and around my place seems to be unbothered.

random stray cat just try running up my step so ymmv

Postby bluefete » June 30th, 2024, 6:15 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2024, 6:49 pm

rmtcbarir42-5.gif

Postby goalpost » June 30th, 2024, 7:03 pm

Looking like it moved a bit North.

Hoping this is a recurrence of Jun 28, 2022 Bonnie.

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2024, 7:05 pm

xtech

Re: THE OFFICIAL TROPICAL WEATHER THREAD 2023

Postby xtech » June 30th, 2024, 7:57 pm

Still wondering?

xtech wrote:Don’t worry this will be the rainy season to end all rainy seasons.
A lot of water got converted to vapour. That energy is stored there. We know the law of conservation of energy.

Curious as to how it plays off.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 30th, 2024, 7:58 pm

5pm update showed the system bearing 285, which is WNW and presently 11.1N Lat, which is Crown Point Latitude in line.

Hoping the trend goes more from 285 to 290 or so and that will confirm an upward turn. usually if you go to NHC satellite and chose the loop option, choose something like a 72 hr loop and speed it up to max, you will see the general movement and possible change in direction.

Either way because of how expanded the system is and the Cat 4 stat, those winds are gonna be hell here in Tobago, though not near as bad as potential Grenada/ St Vincent.

Prayers for those in those islands. Either way, we're here in Tobago as battened down as possible... and hoping for the best. Western side doesn't get it as bad as Eastern due to elevation and closer to the storms in latitude, and usually all the storms strongest weather comes from SW to S to SE.

Well see by 2pm tomorrow what happens.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 30th, 2024, 8:15 pm

MISHI wrote:5pm update showed the system bearing 285, which is WNW and presently 11.1N Lat, which is Crown Point Latitude in line.

Hoping the trend goes more from 285 to 290 or so and that will confirm an upward turn. usually if you go to NHC satellite and chose the loop option, choose something like a 72 hr loop and speed it up to max, you will see the general movement and possible change in direction.

Either way because of how expanded the system is and the Cat 4 stat, those winds are gonna be hell here in Tobago, though not near as bad as potential Grenada/ St Vincent.

Prayers for those in those islands. Either way, we're here in Tobago as battened down as possible... and hoping for the best. Western side doesn't get it as bad as Eastern due to elevation and closer to the storms in latitude, and usually all the storms strongest weather comes from SW to S to SE.

Windfinder app shows the eye bearing north of bago, not sure how accurate they are in meteorology terms but over the years I found their data to be reliable.

Still a rough time, but the impacts would be less severe than if the center was dead on

Postby maj. tom » June 30th, 2024, 8:38 pm

The storm surge going to wipe out lots of beach house property tonight.
I really hope they evacuated.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » June 30th, 2024, 8:43 pm

maj. tom wrote:The storm surge going to wipe out lots of beach house property tonight.

Last time Bret came here, Scarborough was flooded from surge. The main concern is Country and the landslides. Windward sides may have some serious surge.

Postby Chimera » June 30th, 2024, 8:43 pm

maj. tom wrote:The storm surge going to wipe out lots of beach house property tonight.
Where? Barbados? Or tobago

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2024, 8:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:So why Trinidad under a watch and not warning? Watch is 48 hrs notice but warning is 36hr or less. D storm is less than 12 hrs away.

now officially a warning until noon tomorrow

met orfice wrote:The Tropical Storm Watch for Trinidad has been upgraded to a Tropical Storm Warning. This means there is a higher potential for tropical storm conditions, including sustained winds of 63-118 km/h, within the warning area, within the next 16 hours.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 30th, 2024, 8:48 pm

Like rain eh start yet anywhere. I was calling around and watching the web cams

snowman

Postby snowman » June 30th, 2024, 8:59 pm

Relatively calm. Avenue still pumping.

Postby alfa » June 30th, 2024, 8:59 pm

PariaMan wrote:Like rain eh start yet anywhere. I was calling around and watching the web cams

Friend of mine offshore say seas clam as well, no rain either.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2024, 9:09 pm

MISHI wrote:5pm update showed the system bearing 285, which is WNW and presently 11.1N Lat, which is Crown Point Latitude in line.

Keep safe Mishi and keep us updated on what's going on in Tobago if you can.

Postby redmanjp » June 30th, 2024, 9:10 pm

PariaMan wrote:Like rain eh start yet anywhere. I was calling around and watching the web cams

Calm in Arima too. But likely the calm before the storm.