My conversations with economists lead me to support this comment 100% the human element and factor eludes themhydroep wrote:If it were up to the economists our dollar would already be somewhere between $ 10 - $ 15 TTD to $ 1 USD, public expenditure would be trimmed and Migrants would be allowed to stay here as long as they want to foster competition in the labour market.
They either choose to ignore (or can't afford to look at) the human impact of such decisions.
As far as they are concerned economic theory suggests things will always reach a state of equilibrium after an adjustment and if people have to eat each other in order to get there so be it...
vaiostation wrote:Sometimes I feel these "economists" need to get a refund from uwi for their degrees, because they clearly have little understanding of the local labour market, as well as the long term socio-economic effects of illegal immigrants on a country. These "economist" does sound like they just gone on google and read some articles, and think they know everything. But I suppose these "economists" never really had to do much interaction with the wider society outside of sipping margaritas at the Hyatt, so their logic hasn't surprised me.
screwbash wrote:vaiostation wrote:Sometimes I feel these "economists" need to get a refund from uwi for their degrees, because they clearly have little understanding of the local labour market, as well as the long term socio-economic effects of illegal immigrants on a country. These "economist" does sound like they just gone on google and read some articles, and think they know everything. But I suppose these "economists" never really had to do much interaction with the wider society outside of sipping margaritas at the Hyatt, so their logic hasn't surprised me.
them jus like doctors who tell u eat fruits and vegetables and noh eat doubles and chinee food, the doctors and lawers cud afford to eat the best fruits and vegetable a poor man hadd eat a $22 box ah chinese or a 3 doubles, poor man cyah afford foot long swandwiches or bowl ah salad and meat every day. the ecomonist dem have money, dey have daddy money and daddy apartments renting so the more spanish here dem glyad. is like the serians who own clothes and shoe stores in trinidad, dem doh like indian cause indian does wera one pants or one shoes till it dun. others i society want multiple shoes and real clothes.
if a man cud say money no problem and more competition the better is cause it doh affect dem and dey chirren. a poor man aint go wah more spanish taking the jobs or prices going up.
vaiostation wrote:screwbash wrote:vaiostation wrote:Sometimes I feel these "economists" need to get a refund from uwi for their degrees, because they clearly have little understanding of the local labour market, as well as the long term socio-economic effects of illegal immigrants on a country. These "economist" does sound like they just gone on google and read some articles, and think they know everything. But I suppose these "economists" never really had to do much interaction with the wider society outside of sipping margaritas at the Hyatt, so their logic hasn't surprised me.
them jus like doctors who tell u eat fruits and vegetables and noh eat doubles and chinee food, the doctors and lawers cud afford to eat the best fruits and vegetable a poor man hadd eat a $22 box ah chinese or a 3 doubles, poor man cyah afford foot long swandwiches or bowl ah salad and meat every day. the ecomonist dem have money, dey have daddy money and daddy apartments renting so the more spanish here dem glyad. is like the serians who own clothes and shoe stores in trinidad, dem doh like indian cause indian does wera one pants or one shoes till it dun. others i society want multiple shoes and real clothes.
if a man cud say money no problem and more competition the better is cause it doh affect dem and dey chirren. a poor man aint go wah more spanish taking the jobs or prices going up.
Pretty much this...
Gladiator wrote:vaiostation wrote:screwbash wrote:vaiostation wrote:Sometimes I feel these "economists" need to get a refund from uwi for their degrees, because they clearly have little understanding of the local labour market, as well as the long term socio-economic effects of illegal immigrants on a country. These "economist" does sound like they just gone on google and read some articles, and think they know everything. But I suppose these "economists" never really had to do much interaction with the wider society outside of sipping margaritas at the Hyatt, so their logic hasn't surprised me.
Pretty much this...
All them Venes everyday in Pricemart buying out food like is never see.... Food import bill going to rise even further and the limited USD we have drying up faster. We heading in the same direction as Venezuela and the Venez helping us to reach there faster.
pugboy wrote:Yeah
It appears the media are finished with reporting anything vene influx related
So it would appear the influx has stopped.
88sins wrote:pugboy wrote:Yeah
there's a reason they call it "news". it must be new to qualify as "news"
hydroep wrote:1 year not enough, 3 years better......Migrants: ‘great work ethic, high productivity’
Leah Sorias
Venezuelan migrant workers have been lauded for their high productivity, honesty and “tremendous work ethic” by economists and members of the private sector. One economist, Dr Vaalmiki Arjoon, believes when the migrants return to their homeland next year after their T&T Government-issued registration cards expire, local businesses will feel the pinch.
He is proposing the Government, with foreign financial aid, set up a well-structured work permit programme to allow productive Venezuelans to work in T&T for up to three years.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/migrants-great-work-ethic-high-productivity/article_fa5e086a-e31f-11e9-8a18-93c52c281187.html
So we prob still at the 16-17k number88sins wrote:pugboy wrote:Yeah
there's a reason they call it "news". it must be new to qualify as "news"
What hard working Trinis?matr1x wrote:Of course they will miss them. No NIS and health surcharges. And their employees can use services off the backs of hardworking trinis
Kickstart wrote:What hard working Trinis?matr1x wrote:Of course they will miss them. No NIS and health surcharges. And their employees can use services off the backs of hardworking trinis
matr1x wrote:Kickstart wrote:What hard working Trinis?matr1x wrote:Of course they will miss them. No NIS and health surcharges. And their employees can use services off the backs of hardworking trinis
Your mom when she working rowley pole
88sins wrote:matr1x wrote:Kickstart wrote:What hard working Trinis?matr1x wrote:Of course they will miss them. No NIS and health surcharges. And their employees can use services off the backs of hardworking trinis
Your mom when she working rowley pole
after her 12 hr shifts on Murray street, 365 days a year.
88sins wrote:boi it really amazes me how some of these people so expeditious to fling Trini people under a bus and say how worthless they are, when their business was built by the Trini workforce and doing well, long before the arrival of this influx of a cheap blend of legal and illegal labor.
these forked tongued reptilian rat bastards need to learn to stop being ungrateful little shitstains. because when those same venes they happy to underpay and abuse and rate above hard working citizens start to return home in droves, and the few that remain become naturalized citizens of T&T & start demanding more and better, all of a sudden yuh go see quick the tune will change and they will decry the same people they previously put above locals.
These ppl so full of crap and they tongue so busy wagging all different ways I just amazed that their tongues haven't been tied into a knot yet.
88sins wrote:My dear used and abused Maxipad, it must really be yeasty bloody cyat you have between yuh ears jed.
reread the post, try to comprehend, & then try to figure out a way to be at lease a little less of a jackass for once nah.
The fact of the matter remains that most Venezuelans that are here currently WILL eventually repatriate themselves, and many of those that remain WILL become naturalized citizens, and thus need to have NIS contributions, etc, and eventually when that happens they will they will also demand better wages, and said abusive employers WILL NOT be hapy about paying them more, and quickly lump them in with the so-called "lazy trini workers" when they do. Simple as that.
if is something that simple yuh cyah understand I highly recommend that you pull the used tampons out yuh ears & mouth, because is like you having a serious issue with toxic shock syndrom. mind it eh kill yuh
MaxPower wrote:88sins wrote:My dear used and abused Maxipad, it must really be yeasty bloody cyat you have between yuh ears jed.
reread the post, try to comprehend, & then try to figure out a way to be at lease a little less of a jackass for once nah.
The fact of the matter remains that most Venezuelans that are here currently WILL eventually repatriate themselves, and many of those that remain WILL become naturalized citizens, and thus need to have NIS contributions, etc, and eventually when that happens they will they will also demand better wages, and said abusive employers WILL NOT be hapy about paying them more, and quickly lump them in with the so-called "lazy trini workers" when they do. Simple as that.
if is something that simple yuh cyah understand I highly recommend that you pull the used tampons out yuh ears & mouth, because is like you having a serious issue with toxic shock syndrom. mind it eh kill yuh
Reek, words cannot explain how much i understand your frustration.
I agree with all your points, but you have have to stop carrying on and on about Venes demanding better wages. But wait, how come Trinis not standing up for better wages? Why they silent like some mooks? This is what happens when Trinis are dominated by others. If Venes are PROVEN to work harder than Trinis, why cant they be compensated accordingly? But no, lazy Trini want the same treatment and better? Hdmc
Also, a point you fail to understand is whilst i agree that Venes may be “lumped” with Trinis eventually, their output will always be better. A drop in their standard may be noted, but dont feel we, the service seeking public going to run back to Trinis.
88sins wrote:My dear used and abused Maxipad, it must really be yeasty bloody cyat you have between yuh ears jed.
88sins wrote:boi it really amazes me how some of these people so expeditious to fling Trini people under a bus and say how worthless they are, when their business was built by the Trini workforce and doing well, long before the arrival of this influx of a cheap blend of legal and illegal labor.
these forked tongued reptilian rat bastards need to learn to stop being ungrateful little shitstains. because when those same venes they happy to underpay and abuse and rate above hard working citizens start to return home in droves, and the few that remain become naturalized citizens of T&T & start demanding more and better, all of a sudden yuh go see quick the tune will change and they will decry the same people they previously put above locals.
These ppl so full of crap and they tongue so busy wagging all different ways I just amazed that their tongues haven't been tied into a knot yet.
matr1x wrote:88sins wrote:boi it really amazes me how some of these people so expeditious to fling Trini people under a bus and say how worthless they are, when their business was built by the Trini workforce and doing well, long before the arrival of this influx of a cheap blend of legal and illegal labor.
You will normally find the idiots throwing fellow trinis under the bus, normally underperforming in their own jobs and have prayer hands in there car.
Every country throws their civil servants and service staff under the bus. Not having to pay NIS is joy for greedy business owners.
Also, them vene girls get pregnant real fast. See poked condoms