Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby forgeniebob » February 6th, 2017, 10:33 am

Are they going to stop vans and pick ups doing 80km

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 6th, 2017, 10:42 am

Thanks for the Info!
So one can show up with $800 one dollar bills and 800 25c pieces and frustrate dem to have to count that out.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » February 6th, 2017, 11:03 am

drchaos wrote:Thanks for the Info!
So one can show up with $800 one dollar bills and 800 25c pieces and frustrate dem to have to count that out.

Yeah but is not the cashier who gave you the ticket. This only delaying the other person in the line behind

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2017, 11:05 am

Frustrate yourself as wel. You hadda wait for them lol

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 6th, 2017, 11:09 am

Bike men getting ticket too?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 6th, 2017, 12:17 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Frustrate yourself as wel. You hadda wait for them lol

Lol true!

A good business idea would be to start a service to organize people speeding ticket for them. Charge them a little $100 so they don't have to leave work or inconvenience themselves.

Can anyone pay your speeding ticket or you need to be there in person?

Postby eliteauto » February 6th, 2017, 1:42 pm

that makes no sense, that's misguided anger and frustration, what did the cashier/clerk do to you? Plus you have the count/tote it first. That's a lot of angst there

Postby Chimera » February 6th, 2017, 1:48 pm

Anyone can pay it they just Hadda walk with the ticket.

Postby pete » February 6th, 2017, 4:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:

that makes no sense, that's misguided anger and frustration, what did the cashier/clerk do to you? Plus you have the count/tote it first. That's a lot of angst there

Plus what ya gonna do when the cashier tells yuh hymc? Call a lawyer?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 6th, 2017, 6:10 pm

I have a govahment wok so I have time to waste, plus people also have less money to drink dees days so I have time on my hands during the night shifts.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 7th, 2017, 5:09 am

Old idea... If everyone follows the speed limit for at least a year... No one will get a ticket... Investment, as the government looks at it will have no return... They will have to put those speed guns away eventually as it will no longer be worth it.

Postby Les Bain » February 7th, 2017, 8:03 am

kamakazi wrote:Old idea... If everyone follows the speed limit for at least a year... No one will get a ticket... Investment, as the government looks at it will have no return... They will have to put those speed guns away eventually as it will no longer be worth it.

Won't happen. Had a quick trip at a constant 80 coming from Couva Saturday night cause everyone else was aggressively over the limit, creating an open road for me.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 7th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Das like asking men to chemically castrate themselves for a year hoping the women go be begging yuh for it at the end of the 365 days.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 7th, 2017, 10:09 pm

How much time do people think they save by going faster... The time difference to cover 50km at 100kph instead of 80kph is only 7.5 mins, and that is with no traffic and or traffic lights whatsoever. It is 12.5 mins at 120kph but again with ideal conditions. With traffic and lights... Most likely you will meet up the car that overtook you at the next stop.

But wishful thinking I suppose to get Trinbagonians to slow down.

Quick question... For those who have used WAZE before... How much different is the speedometer on your vehicle VS the WAZE speedo

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 7th, 2017, 10:14 pm

I get bored and my mind goes to mush at 80 or below on a highway, 90+ keeps me a bit more engaged. Just my personal experience. Its not about getting there faster.

Does pass men on the slow lane driving at 80 or less all the time by Chaguanas only to find them right behind me on the exit ramp by Couva.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 7th, 2017, 10:15 pm

kamakazi wrote:How much time do people think they save by going faster... The time difference to cover 50km at 100kph instead of 80kph is only 7.5 mins, and that is with no traffic and or traffic lights whatsoever. It is 12.5 mins at 120kph but again with ideal conditions. With traffic and lights... Most likely you will meet up the car that overtook you at the next stop.

Quick question... For those who have used WAZE before... How much different is the speedometer on your vehicle VS the WAZE speedo

The new Civic says 80 KPH while Waze say 75 to 76 KPH.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 8th, 2017, 12:18 am

kamakazi wrote:How much time do people think they save by going faster... The time difference to cover 50km at 100kph instead of 80kph is only 7.5 mins, and that is with no traffic and or traffic lights whatsoever. It is 12.5 mins at 120kph but again with ideal conditions. With traffic and lights... Most likely you will meet up the car that overtook you at the next stop.

Did 200-220 kph in sustained bursts up the northbound at 5 am helped to make a family member catch a flight on time. Sando to Piarco in 20-22 min after it was thought the flight would definitely be missed.

Waze shows 76 kph when the Jetta says it's doing 80 kph.

neexis

Postby neexis » February 8th, 2017, 6:31 am

Probably not much time. Time taken would depend on the average trip speed anyway.
I suppose it's the perception of going fast... that by driving like a maniac and cutting in and out of traffic means you're doing all that extra to get ahead. It doesn't actually make a difference, and usually just translates to dangerous driving.

Can confirm the Waze discrepancy of underreporting by 4-6 km/h.

Postby pete » February 8th, 2017, 8:38 am

Waze speedometer is not underreporting, your vehicle speedo is over.

Postby aaron17 » February 8th, 2017, 8:56 am

confused now:s

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 8th, 2017, 9:03 am

I think I read years ago that manufacturers overrrated the speeds to avoid any issues with people claiming that their speedo was off, when they got pulled over.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2017, 9:08 am

I noticed a 3km/h difference....can't remember if it was under or over.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » February 8th, 2017, 9:15 am

I have a similar descrepency when using my OEM 15" wheels. Difference drops to 2 kph when I put in the OEM 17" wheels.

WAZE calculates speed by distance over time taken... Speedometer is calibrated to give readings based on tyre(or drive gear) rotation. As a bigger tyre will cover more distance in a single rotation than a smaller tyre... You can actually be moving faster than the speed reported on the speedo with a much bigger tyre and the opposite is true for a smaller tyre (written for those that didn't know)

I wanted to find out if it was only my vehicle with a similar difference from Waze; about 75kph on WAZE when my speedo is telling me 80kph
Last edited by kamakazi on February 8th, 2017, 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 8th, 2017, 9:18 am

Mine are the OEM wheels from the company.
That difference was comparing it against the digital speedo display, didn't check with the analog speedo.

Average

Postby Average » February 8th, 2017, 9:55 am

Does anyone feel very fatigued when driving at 80 or below? Like drunk fatigue? This is with A/C, without A/C and all the glass down, music loud, music off...I try all kinda thing. Is this because I used to drive faster and be more engaged before? I do't have diabetes or any sickness. Could I just be tired? What is it?

Postby Chimera » February 8th, 2017, 9:59 am

Yea I does feel the same way driving at 80..does want to sleep away

Postby eliteauto » February 8th, 2017, 10:03 am

Average wrote:Does anyone feel very fatigued when driving at 80 or below? Like drunk fatigue? This is with A/C, without A/C and all the glass down, music loud, music off...I try all kinda thing. Is this because I used to drive faster and be more engaged before? I do't have diabetes or any sickness. Could I just be tired? What is it?

Could be your mind, like many others you're telling yourself that 80kmph is a penance an so you're mentally defaulting to a position of boredom, in reality driving in Trinidad isn't really engaging anyway so what exactly is so engaging above 80? Unless you were zigzagging, running up on bumpers and almost crashing regularly safe driving is safe driving regardless of speed. Maybe you just have a boring car

Average

Postby Average » February 8th, 2017, 10:15 am

eliteauto wrote:
Average wrote:Does anyone feel very fatigued when driving at 80 or below? Like drunk fatigue? This is with A/C, without A/C and all the glass down, music loud, music off...I try all kinda thing. Is this because I used to drive faster and be more engaged before? I do't have diabetes or any sickness. Could I just be tired? What is it?

Could be your mind, like many others you're telling yourself that 80kmph is a penance an so you're mentally defaulting to a position of boredom, in reality driving in Trinidad isn't really engaging anyway so what exactly is so engaging above 80? Unless you were zigzagging, running up on bumpers and almost crashing regularly safe driving is safe driving regardless of speed. Maybe you just have a boring car

I frown upon jackasses who drive like what you explained, it's people like them who have us in the position we in now.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 8th, 2017, 10:26 am

Not me. Easy to drive at 80 and even 65-70 kph in a van. Lots of things to keep mind occupied apart from actual speed of travel. You still have to pay attention to gaps, lines, errant drivers, sleepy drivers, road conditions, timing of overtakes etc.

Postby rollingstock » February 8th, 2017, 11:20 am

I drove between 40-50 from Brentwood to Sando already, stuck behind a bus. Didn't even care to overtake. Was taking in some tunes and relaxing.

Stopped driving hard several years now even before the speed gun was implemented. Now on the rare cases I drive around 120km/h it feels really fast compared to before where I cruised at 140