:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Sanctifier

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Sanctifier » October 5th, 2014, 2:46 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Have not posted in a while, been busy.
Got some new shop toys recently.
This is my biggest addition.

Local purchase Strugglerzinc?... or imported?.... How much delivered to your shop including Duty & VAT?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 5th, 2014, 5:02 pm

Imported myself. Local offerings were either chinese or used for the same price. PM'd the cost.

Postby 1UZFE » October 6th, 2014, 7:43 am

Could u also pm me the cost.

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2014, 9:46 pm

So today I finally got the chance to use my klien mm200 dmm and for some odd reason it does not read zero on the DC voltage. I got some crazy readings from a 12v source and another cheaper meter works fine.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 26th, 2014, 10:43 am

I have an MM200 as well and got similar issues with a weak battery.

Postby Morpheus » October 26th, 2014, 10:49 am

I have a MM1000. Check your battery.

No battery warning on screen?

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2014, 1:21 pm

Nope, no battery warning.

Does not read impedance either and no buzz sound.

Ac voltage reads zero however, only with DC I get ghost readings.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2014, 5:33 pm

Do u have it in the correct position wrt wires?

Postby black start » October 26th, 2014, 5:44 pm

Try changing the battery as said before. I experienced a similar problem with a weak battery on a cheap meter already!

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2014, 6:17 pm

Well amazon already shipped a new one. Its in transit.
Ted, you have a battery I can try in mine before I send it back?

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2014, 6:17 pm

Yea, wires in order

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2014, 7:00 pm

Mines carry a 9v. Rectangular battery

Postby nervewrecker » October 26th, 2014, 7:17 pm

Yup, mine too

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2014, 7:53 pm

Vybz me tomorrow if you want.

Postby gt4tified » October 29th, 2014, 12:04 am

Looking to invest in a good floor nailer...nowhere seems to have any atm. Checked all the usual places.. only A1 tools had an old beat up one. Before I order one online, does anyone know where to direct me? Thanks.

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 29th, 2014, 9:21 am

Wood floors are a rare thing in trinidad hence floor nailers are hard to find

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 29th, 2014, 8:29 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:What is that contraption? Portable air?

DIY injector cleaner!!

was gonna order the OTC injector cleaner but it was sold out
saw the diy version off youtube....didnt cost much to build
about 65USD
Hey would you mind posting the link for the video please? Want to try making one :)

Postby X_Factor » November 13th, 2014, 8:43 pm

this is a must have tool fellas....seriously handy and impressive

injector link

i added the ball valve and pressure gauge to control and monitor the pressure leaving the cylinder since it will be higher than what goes in, and you want the exact pressure going to ur rail before you damage the FPR on the rail or injectors

Postby Ted_v2 » November 13th, 2014, 9:25 pm

Besides pricemart where sells affordable air compressors?

Really need to invest in one now.
Already have air tools but no compressor.
Ha

Postby black start » November 13th, 2014, 9:33 pm

I here allied in sando have decent prices....but is snipe and break-her-bar (wait, that didnt come out right) till ah dead...

Postby Ted_v2 » November 13th, 2014, 10:22 pm

Hoss good thing u say that.

They have some super cheap jack stands.
The small one for 2 something.
And the bigger ones for vans and trucks for just over 3 hundred.

They also have some excellent hydraulic Jacks. Not the normal cheap ones but the other type.

Under 400.

Excellent for diy guys.

I didn't check for the compressor while I was there.
Grr

Postby black start » November 13th, 2014, 10:39 pm

under 400 for the hydraulic jacks? what size?

here what, when you go to check the compressor, take a few pics and link it nuh. thanks!

Postby X_Factor » November 13th, 2014, 10:47 pm

remember to buy a compressor from a company that does repairs/servicing/carries parts if needed
and make sure and find out that they do
get a decent compressor one time since its a long term investment
IR compressors are the flick but the price isnt!

Postby 3stagevtec » November 13th, 2014, 11:40 pm

black start wrote:I here allied in sando HAD decent prices....but is snipe and break-her-bar (wait, that didnt come out right) till ah dead...

Correction, they HAD good prices.. Since they moved to their new location, prices have gone up. You can still check them since they have a nice variety, but would recommend shopping around..

SSL in Sando tends to have sales occasionally and you can get tools at great prices!

I recently bought a Skil drill press in Gopaul lands hardware for $1400

http://www.skiltools.com/Tools/Pages/ProductDetail.aspx?model=3320

RPM variable from 500 to 3000rpm and it feels pretty sturdy. Haven't tested it out on steel as yet though

Postby X_Factor » November 14th, 2014, 12:02 am

i have the same thing, its nice....bought it off amazon though
drilled many holes with it up to 1/2" thick solid steel

you will need a drill press vise like this if you gonna drill small stuff
http://www.amazon.com/Wilton-69997-4-In ... press+vise

and a good set of bits and some cutting fluid...but i use water to keep the bit cool since the slowest speed is still to fast for drilling thick metal and the bits heat up pretty quick

using these and they are sharp as hell
http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-TI18-18-Pie ... drill+bits

Postby 3stagevtec » November 14th, 2014, 12:46 am

Bits last really long when you keep them cool, I use a constant supply of running water and it works great for when I have to drill steel.

I have two Kreg clamps that hold nicely to the drill press's work surface. But I have only drilled test pieces of wood with it so far.

http://www.amazon.com/Kreg-KHC-PREMIUM-Face-Clamp/dp/B001DC9UR8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1415940307&sr=8-1&keywords=kreg+clamp

Postby black start » November 14th, 2014, 1:44 am

X_Factor wrote:remember to buy a compressor from a company that does repairs/servicing/carries parts if needed
and make sure and find out that they do
get a decent compressor one time since its a long term investment
IR compressors are the flick but the price isnt!

IIRC someone had a 120 gallon IR compressor for 2500 in the misc. classified. Used obviously, but still thought it was a decent price.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 14th, 2014, 5:58 am

black start wrote:under 400 for the hydraulic jacks? what size?

here what, when you go to check the compressor, take a few pics and link it nuh. thanks!

3 ton.
Its not the normal cheap ones in the Grey case that does be selling in most parts places tho. Its bigger but yet smaller than a tyre shop jack.

hindian

Postby hindian » November 14th, 2014, 6:38 am

[quote="X_Factor"]Image

Where can I get these locally? I've never seen them in the regular parts shops...

Postby pugboy » November 14th, 2014, 7:12 am

most general purpose drill presses run too high rpm for steel
so be careful with heat as mentioned
I think there are aftermarket parts to slow down rpm with bigger pulleys