2NR Smurf

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 18th, 2011, 6:58 pm

What you guys think about this?

Onkyo HT-RC260

Its between this and the denon-591.
The onkyo seems ideal...but i find im reading too many horror stories of HDMI inputs failing on the new onkyos...and id hate to put out this money only to have the receiver crap out. :|

Humes

Postby Humes » April 18th, 2011, 7:18 pm

I think somebody link that on the page before this one.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 18th, 2011, 7:58 pm

^thats the 608 linked on the prev page.
lots of bad reviews about build quality there too... :|

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 18th, 2011, 8:54 pm

i could vouch for the denon,i have the 590,basically same model,just no 3d support. No problems so far except one which i had to hard reset the microprocessor,other than that,works fine!

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 18th, 2011, 9:33 pm

^how difficult is hard resetting the processor? and what caused the problem?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 18th, 2011, 9:41 pm

^just hold down 3 buttons and it reset's. Had do do over the audyssey setup. For some reason it wasnt sending a signal through the LFE output to the sub.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 18th, 2011, 10:02 pm

Looks like i goin with the 591 yes...

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2011, 9:05 pm

saw Pricemart have a harmond kardon HKTS-15 selling for 22-2300 for thsoe lookin for a budget system....not too sure about the specs on the reciever

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 26th, 2011, 9:09 pm

X_Factor wrote:saw Pricemart have a harmond kardon HKTS-15 selling for 22-2300 for thsoe lookin for a budget system....not too sure about the specs on the reciever

You mean this?: http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-HKT ... B000K818SA

Good price if it is.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 26th, 2011, 9:11 pm

HCCA wrote:
X_Factor wrote:saw Pricemart have a harmond kardon HKTS-15 selling for 22-2300 for thsoe lookin for a budget system....not too sure about the specs on the reciever

You mean this?: http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-HKT ... B000K818SA

Good price if it is.

I was thinking the samething :|

it would be perfect for me... 8-)

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2011, 9:16 pm

yeah it appears to be the same thing
i saw it in the Mausica branch but i dont have any info on the connectivity aspect of the reciever
wrt to hdmi inputs/outputs and its processing capabilities (HD sound)

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 26th, 2011, 9:18 pm

Well that model number there pertains to just a 5.1 speaker package, nuh seeing anything abt a
receiver.

Still that price for the speakers alone still nice.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 26th, 2011, 9:19 pm

X_Factor wrote:yeah it appears to be the same thing
i saw it in the Mausica branch but i dont have any info on the connectivity aspect of the reciever

Wait it comes with a receiver :|

Didnt read that part :shock:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » April 26th, 2011, 9:21 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:
X_Factor wrote:yeah it appears to be the same thing

Wait it comes with a receiver :|

Didnt read that part :shock:

Bess i make a call tomorrow and find out the model numbers mehself yes. :D

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 26th, 2011, 9:22 pm

^^ Aye link me on info as soon as you find out!!!

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 26th, 2011, 9:31 pm

KiD wrote:Well now that i got my new tv, i can focus on upgrading receivers. i saw today pricesmart has the Harman Kardon AVR-1600 for $3000..good price but i can get a pioneer vsx-920k for that. Guess i know what my next move is.

i posted this info on the previous page :?

the receiver is sold separately from the speaker package.

Postby X_Factor » April 26th, 2011, 9:37 pm

yeah, u can call to confirm, or if anyone lives/works in the area pass tru to confirm...
remember its the mausica branch

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 26th, 2011, 9:38 pm

KiD wrote:
KiD wrote:Well now that i got my new tv, i can focus on upgrading receivers. i saw today pricesmart has the Harman Kardon AVR-1600 for $3000..good price but i can get a pioneer vsx-920k for that. Guess i know what my next move is.

i posted this info on the previous page :?

the receiver is sold separately from the speaker package.

hmmmm nicee thanks for the info...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2011, 11:22 pm

I know a guy who bought the Harmon Kardon 5.1 speaker setup in Pricesmart for his Pioneer VSX-23TXH and he's pretty impressed with the speakers. Seems like a damn good deal.

Postby crazybalhead » April 27th, 2011, 7:54 am

The Amp looks like sheit though. Features little, little powah. And feels a little cheap. For $3000TT yuh could do better.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 27th, 2011, 8:33 am

Well looks like i'll keep the Klipsch for HT duty as no one wants em,currently building my BUDGET stereo system. Already picked up speakers some weeks ago,next on the list is stereo amp and CD Player,eventually Audioquest cable's and finally (yeah right) a record player.Was doing research since January and finally settled on what gear i'm going with and why.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2011, 9:38 am

^ I want it - just can't buy it right now :(

my 58" 8 series Samsung reference quality plasma just got a horizontal line straight across the screen near the middle.
it's a very thin line, 1 pixel high. Seems to be one dead row. It came up and then went away once or twice. Now it's there permanently. I tried everything. I contacted Luxsam, the Samsung agents in T&T and a tech said it could be a faulty board and to bring it in for service. I hope it's not the panel itself has to change, that would be the price of a new TV!

:cry:

this is not my TV in the pic, but the line is just like this one

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2011, 9:47 am

ohh
sucks to be you!!

Postby noshownogo » April 27th, 2011, 9:52 am

you tried pausing a dvd or bluray on a black screen and gently taping the dead pixels, my guess is that this works for a single dead pixel versus a line tho...sucks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2011, 9:56 am

^ yup - no go

it's not a source issue either

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 27th, 2011, 11:01 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I want it - just can't buy it right now :(

my 58" 8 series Samsung reference quality plasma just got a horizontal line straight across the screen near the middle.
it's a very thin line, 1 pixel high. Seems to be one dead row. It came up and then went away once or twice. Now it's there permanently. I tried everything. I contacted Luxsam, the Samsung agents in T&T and a tech said it could be a faulty board and to bring it in for service. I hope it's not the panel itself has to change, that would be the price of a new TV!

:cry:

this is not my TV in the pic, but the line is just like this one

fack Samsung yes. my LCD of less than a year old started flickering. have to carry it in as well.

Luxsam says i have to pay a $700 non-refundable downpayment.

Circuit Zone says i have to pay $350 down.

not sure if i want to go thru this stress nah...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 27th, 2011, 11:58 am

wow duane,that sucks@your tv having that dead pixel line.i'll let you have first dibs on them if you ever want to take it.After doing so much research on samsung tv's its a shame their still so much bad apples in the bunch.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2011, 12:06 pm

mitch wrote:fack Samsung yes.
i disagree, their TV's are top notch - lots of panels from Toshiba, Sony, Panasonic etc etc have this same problem when you search it on the net. You can't say all HDTV's are crap

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 27th, 2011, 12:29 pm

yeah i agree there displays are top notch but is it worth it if they dont last?

my Sony lcd going strong bout 5 years now...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » April 27th, 2011, 12:57 pm

i never had a return with LED TV's except for Sony cause of defective boards on the new models

had problems with samsung LCD and older plasma models