Habit7 wrote:desifemlove wrote:If evolution is false, explain why all species have a proven common ancestor? why do many species have shared DNA traits? as for fossils turning up from nowhere, well fossil science is not exact. Is any science exact? Economics ent, but then does this invalidate the law of demand or monopolistic competition as concepts?
If evolution is false, then why did God make humans look like chimpanzees, share DNA, share basic anatomy/morphology, etc.
Or maybe Genesis is not absolute fact? Can it be proven as such?
-All species dont have a proven common ancestor.
-Sharing of DNA shows commonality of design, not descent (see quote lower).
-If the fossil record is not reliable then evolution falls on its face. Darwin said, "Lastly, looking not to any one time, but to all time, if my theory be true, numberless intermediate varieties, linking closely together all the species of the same group, must assuredly have existed; but the very process of natural selection constantly tends, as has been so often remarked, to exterminate the parent-forms and the intermediate links. Consequently evidence of their former existence could be found only amongst fossil remains which are preserved, as we shall attempt to show in a future chapter, in an extremely imperfect and intermittent record." 150 years later, the fossil record still doesnt show what darwin predicted.Habit7 wrote:Why stop at chimpanzees? Argue that our DNA are 90% cat, 80% cow, 75% mouse, 60% fruit fly and 50% banana
50% difference between man and banana equates to a lot
And if men getting scientific information from Bill Maher movies, check out Expelled:No Intelligence Allowed and see a converse side of the story.
janfar wrote:I was stuck in Egypt for 2 years watching nothing but dust and women wearing hijabs. Then my company saw it fit to send me on asignment in colombia.
Haleleujah...
Question: "What is the Deutero-Isaiah theory? Was the Book of Isaiah written by multiple Isaiahs?"
Answer: Most Bible scholars are in agreement that Isaiah was the sole author of the book that bears his name. However, there are those “liberal” scholars who are skeptical about anything that points to supernatural inspiration of the Bible. In fact, they go so far as to explain the fulfilled prophecies in these books by re-dating them to after the events occurred! The theory of multiple Isaiahs is just another example of skepticism from those who want to call into question the Bible as God’s inspired Word.
This theory of “Deutero-Isaiah” (or second Isaiah) came about near the end of the eighteenth century. Supposedly, Isaiah himself wrote only the first 39 chapters, leaving one of his students to write the second part (chapters 40—66). This was done allegedly sometime after the Babylonian captivity started (after 586 BC). As such, this later date would explain explicit predictions of “Cyrus, King of Persia” in Isaiah 44:28—45:1.
The “Deutero-Isaiah” theory claims Isaiah chapters 40—55 contain no personal details of the prophet Isaiah as compared to Isaiah 1—39. The first section tells of numerous stories of Isaiah, especially his dealings with kings and others in Jerusalem. The theory goes on to say that the style and language of Isaiah 40—55 seem to be quite different from the earlier chapters. What is so interesting about this argument is that it is also promulgated by the authors who support one author for the book! One contention is that specific references to Cyrus began with the experiences of the exiles in Babylon. This last argument is supposedly the strongest. It claims the second part of the second part of Isaiah was written later because only a later date can explain the accuracy of the prophecy.
Again, most reputable Bible scholars reject the “Deutero-Isaiah” theory. Their conclusions include the similarity of writing styles in both sections, the consistent use of the same words throughout, and the familiarity of the author with Palestine, but not Babylon. Furthermore, Jewish tradition uniformly ascribes the entire book to Isaiah.
The Dead Sea Scrolls contain a complete scroll of Isaiah dated from the second century BC. The book is one unit with the end of chapter 39 and the beginning of chapter 40 in one continuous column of text. This demonstrates that the scribes who copied this scroll never doubted the singular unity of the book. Neither did the New Testament authors, nor the early church, as quotations from both sections are attributed only to Isaiah.
The book of Isaiah contains extensive and precise prophecies about the coming of the Messiah as well as the life and crucifixion of Christ. Briefly these include:
• The reign of Christ in the kingdom (Isaiah 2:3–5)
• The virgin birth of Christ (Isaiah 7:14)
• The reign of Christ (Isaiah 9:2, 7)
• Jesus’ rule over the world (Isaiah 9:4)
• Christ as a descendant of David (Isaiah 11:1, 10)
• Christ to be filled with the Spirit (Isaiah 11:2; 42:1)
• Christ to judge with righteousness (Isaiah 11:3–5; 42:1, 4)
• Christ to rule over the nations (Isaiah 11:10)
• Christ to be gentle to the weak (Isaiah 42:3)
• Christ to make possible the New Covenant (Isaiah 42:6; 49:8)
• Christ to be a light to the Gentiles and to be worshiped by them (Isaiah 42:6; 49:6–7; 52:15)
• Christ to be rejected by Israel (Isaiah 49:7; 53:1–3)
• Christ to be obedient to God and subject to suffering (Isaiah 50:6; 53:7–8)
• Christ to be exalted (Isaiah 52:13; 53:12)
• Christ to restore Israel and judge the wicked (61:1-3).
Messianic prophecy is strong and important evidence for Jesus’ claims to be God. Isaiah’s writings were completed many centuries before Jesus Christ was born and yet are completely accurate. Remember, the Dead Sea Scrolls contained more than one complete scroll of this book composed well before the birth of Christ. And the book of Isaiah was included in the Septuagint (LXX), the earliest version of the Old Testament Scriptures, translated at least 300 years earlier.
But by far the strongest evidence that proves the unity of the book of Isaiah is that Jesus Himself quoted from both the beginning and the end of the book, attributing all of it to Isaiah.
1. Jesus quoting from Isaiah 29:13: “Isaiah was right when he prophesied about you hypocrites; as it is written: ‘These people honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. They worship me in vain; their teachings are but rules taught by men’” (Mark 7:6–7).
2. Jesus also referenced Isaiah 42:1–4 in Matthew 12:17: “This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah.”
3. Isaiah is also referenced in Matthew 8:16–17 by quoting Isaiah 53:4: “This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah: ‘He took up our infirmities and carried our diseases.’”
Aside from the passages quoted by Jesus above, several other New Testament verses refer to the prophet Isaiah as been the sole author: Matthew 3:3 and Luke 3:4 (Isaiah 40:3); Romans 10:16, 20 (Isaiah 53:1; 65:1); John 12:38-41 (Isaiah 53:1; 6:10). But the fact that our Lord Jesus affirmed Isaiah’s authorship by quoting from both sections of the book and attributing them to Isaiah is proof enough of the entire book’s authorship. Those who reject the words of the Lord Himself will never be convinced by any other means.
Read more: http://www.gotquestions.org/Deutero-Isa ... z2lCdnMJnf
You said earlier "If evolution is false, explain why all species have a proven common ancestor?" Now you are limiting it to mammals, are you finish qualifying your statement or you need more time?desifemlove wrote:er.. specific genetic markers prove a common ancestor. This is evident between humans, the great apes and all other mammals (nay vertebrates).
It is not a fact, it is the leading scientific theory of the origin of species. Your incorrect statement and intense faith in evolution is why many voices have to stand up and point out the large problems why it is not a fact and why it remains a theory.desifemlove wrote:Evolution is fact, who can prove otherwise?
I could presume to answer but I don't see how it would bolster your prior statements?desifemlove wrote:You still haven't answered why God gave us similarities in genetics and features to other species. for what purpose, and why did he need to?
he didnt say Bill Maher is a scientist. He said Bill Maher did a documentary on religion. He also said he couldnt believe people would reject evolution and science.AdamB wrote:Man use Bill Maher and science in consecutive sentences. Now that's comedy!!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:he didnt say Bill Maher is a scientist. He said Bill Maher did a documentary on religion. He also said he couldnt believe people would reject evolution and science.AdamB wrote:Man use Bill Maher and science in consecutive sentences. Now that's comedy!!
Habit7 wrote:You said earlier "If evolution is false, explain why all species have a proven common ancestor?" Now you are limiting it to mammals, are you finish qualifying your statement or you need more time?desifemlove wrote:er.. specific genetic markers prove a common ancestor. This is evident between humans, the great apes and all other mammals (nay vertebrates).It is not a fact, it is the leading scientific theory of the origin of species. Your incorrect statement and intense faith in evolution is why many voices have to stand up and point out the large problems why it is not a fact and why it remains a theory.desifemlove wrote:Evolution is fact, who can prove otherwise?I could presume to answer but I don't see how it would bolster your prior statements?desifemlove wrote:You still haven't answered why God gave us similarities in genetics and features to other species. for what purpose, and why did he need to?
VLDS wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:he didnt say Bill Maher is a scientist. He said Bill Maher did a documentary on religion. He also said he couldnt believe people would reject evolution and science.AdamB wrote:Man use Bill Maher and science in consecutive sentences. Now that's comedy!!
Thx man. Finally some sane person who can actually read.
You know, if we were objective about this. People who get cured of diseases, come to places of worship and promote that they were cured by divine touch and the ambiguous fainting after being touched by a screaming 'man of god' but they never consider the doctors that helped them.
If this screaming and fainting works so well why don't they just walk into a hospital and cure people. We darn sure need it.
Shifting the attention lets consider the harm religion does. More people died in history because of religious affiliations.
9/11
Religious wars in most of Asia.
Rape of women and children as 'punishment'
b headings in Middle East
Blacks and gays being tortured and so much more.
A certain president of the United States banned stem cell research for a decade because it was considered evil by the church. My brother was brain damaged at birth and could have benefitted from that. He died a few years ago. But u don't worry. Because that's Gods will right???
The pope visited Africa awhile ago. A place ravaged by aids. And told the people they could not use condoms.
Justify those things before you continue a discussion.
And again, if you don't believe in science and it's findings, stay away from computers buddy.
Habit7 wrote:I dont know where you get your evidence of what "many Christians believe", but Christians follow Christ..........
VLDS wrote:First of all I never said I don't completely have disbelief for God.My beef is mainly with the religions of the world.
Ignoring religion then. This is what I would LIKE to think.
Some of the things in the universe and just so related that it's hard to call it coincidence. So just bear with me and think about this. The desert bedouin sees camel droppings and knows about the source, the animal. You see the stars, galaxies, etc and ponder about the being that left these magnificent things behind.
This can apply to both groups, those who believe only in science ( and btw stop comparing bill maher and sciencethis was a simply a joke., we all know i used those in two unrelated statements) and those who believe god is all powerful and all knowing. These are 2 of the perfect attributes of GOD. HE has many others, most with related names like The All Powerful and The All Knowing.
Why is everyone so scared to put science and god together? Isn't he all knowing so in effect the greatest scientist in the universe? So why is it not possible that what scientists discover is true and god was the architect behind this. I would assume if I was creating a world I would try many things, experiment, create, over millions and millions of years especially if I were immortal. This is exactly the concept in Islam. In fact, you can examine the scientific miracles present in the Quran which an illiterate man 1435 lunar years ago could not possibly know. If you apply the science of mathematics, specifically statistics, you would conclude that it is impossible for Muhammad to have guessed correctly all of the scientific concepts present in the Quran. That is because the Quran is the Word of GOD Almighty in it's entirety in Arabic. So as you have said, would the perfect all knowing all powerful creator (architect) have made mistakes in HIS creation.
Again I don't know. This confession / acknowledgement is the best place to commence your search. Ask GOD sincerely to guide you and to make you see truth as truth and falsehood as falsehood. HE will guide you to that which you seek...and HE will not disappoint!But maybe some of you can relate to this?
AdamB wrote:
Don't look at the unfounded criticism of the evil, godless, materialistic, greedy, "western" society.
AdamB wrote:12. It is the Will of GOD that the above post hit the top of this page as I certainly did not intend it and every thing that happens that we don't have direct control of does so by HIS (Universal) WILL.
i am an idiot wrote:AdamB wrote:
Don't look at the unfounded criticism of the evil, godless, materialistic, greedy, "western" society.
Bro i work for devout muslims, they are everything u said above, that is religion to make u believe.
They goin mosque everyday, prayin all in d office, n dey are the most dishonest people i know. They just made d hajj ting too. So daiz to give you ah idea of how "devout" they are.
i am an idiot wrote:AdamB wrote:12. It is the Will of GOD that the above post hit the top of this page as I certainly did not intend it and every thing that happens that we don't have direct control of does so by HIS (Universal) WILL.
cracker wrote:People stll believe that jesus was a real person?
VLDS wrote:Don't push religious beliefs on me. I won't budge. But atleast I can see there is some, be it small common ground we can meet on.
So as a topic of discussion not a intentional push. You talk about the science of the quaran. I'm not denying or arguing your point. But also consider that in the Hindu scriptures there is a mass of scientific information witching their many books. There is science or aeronautics, mathematics and so much more.
Here is a piece of an article of the huffington post. Il post the link to it after.
In the West, Einstein is credited with the Theory of Relativity. However, one might be quite surprised to learn that there are multiple examples of it in the Puranic texts of India. Einstein's hypothetical experiment known as the "twin paradox" suggests that if one of a pair of twins travels to outer space at high speed, while the other remains on earth, when the space traveling twin returns, he will be younger than his counterpart on earth. The following passages from the Bhagavat Purana communicates the relativity of time:
"... One's life endures for only one hundred years, in terms of the times in the different planets... Eternal time is certainly the controller of different dimensions, from that of the atom up to the super-divisions of the duration of Brahmā's life; but, nevertheless, it is controlled by the Supreme. Time can control only those who are body conscious, even up to the Satyaloka or the other higher planets of the universe."
This is a discussion right. And according to your argument you should be a Hindu? Scientific religion and all.