COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2021, 8:35 pm

sam1978 wrote:I spoke about the undocumented/illegal ones . So xenophobia doesn’t apply. How can speaking about illegal activity / bringing and spreading COVID from a COVID infested country be interpreted as being racial? Make sense please.

sam1978,

In no way were you interpreted as being racial.

Xenophobia is the fear and hatred of strangers or foreigners, whereas racism has a broader meaning set including "a belief that racial differences produce the inherent superiority of a particular race." Although they are similar, they are different enough that it is possible for one to be both xenophobic and racist.

^ For your perusal.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13454 cases, 215 deaths, 3858 active, 9381 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » May 11th, 2021, 8:48 pm

carluva wrote:People blame the government. People blame the PM for saying go to Tobago. People blame the candlelight vigils. People blame the illegal immigrants.

Fundamentally, the ones to blame are people. By flocking to Tobago, individuals consciously made that decision to "lime-up" during a pandemic. By going to a candlelight vigil, individuals made that decision to congregate during a pandemic. People put themselves at risk by coming into contact with illegal immigrants. People did not have to follow the PM's call to go to Tobago. People did not have to heed the calls to congregate for candlelight vigils. As hard as it is to ignore a fellow human being who is trying to survive, people still interact with the illegal immigrants.

Yes, the authorities are to blame in many regards (e.g. porosity of borders, health care system, state of economy, etc.) but people are largely to blame for the spread of this virus. However, the ignorance of people to disregard the "Three W's" is the major contributor to where we are today with these alarming numbers.

We just need to hunker down, limit unnecessary movements, practise the "Three W's" while out and about and for a short while, set aside our desires for liming, alcohol, partying, zessing and socialising and one will be surprised how quickly this can be brought under control. This however is too difficult for many to comprehend and worse, much easier said than done.

Of course people are responsible for the spread BUT when you have leaders like JUHN Scarfy openly encouraging Easter arseness then they cannot, and should not escape harsh criticism. You and I may know that Easter or no Easter to keep away from large crowds/gatherings, but there are many people who don't get it. If he hadn't said his nonsense, and people still had flocked to Tobago, then that would be on them, but he encouraged it, and now wants to rough up people who went and are now spreading it. Hypocrisy and mixed messages.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby Gladiator » May 11th, 2021, 8:48 pm

Devourment wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wtf wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Steups. Covid not going anywhere inno
wtf wrote:So buy June we good then..
Bro we can't stay lock down forever.
wtf jed..The people who talking getting paid right through.

we paying for the sins of the past few weeks bro. how many times govt, and likewise tuners right here were warning ppl - they didn't listen. so they paying now and peter paying for paul.

I have a rel bone to pick with T&TEC and WASA and many other Ministries.....I'm employed at a State Enterprise that reduced salaries by HALF for over a year now.

I'm working full-time right through.

T&TEC workers and WASA and many others, getting full salary, working 2 or 3 days a week, sometimes some of them didn't work for months (during the essential worker phase last year)....all getting full salary and overtime ontop of that.

HOW IS THAT FAIR?

Bro it have people working in my organization that I eh see since last year March. Dem salary running in full ... Dem doh even answer email. Some people milking this situation till the cow give blood...Trinis not easy yes.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13454 cases, 215 deaths, 3858 active, 9381 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » May 11th, 2021, 8:51 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:The thing about blaming people is that you literally have to blame everyone and then simply just living life normally becomes something to be blamed.

You can definitely blame the government, Rowley Faris and company certainly didn't set the best examples and citizens would have thought if they relaxed, then I can be too. Pandemic fatigue is a real thing and trinis behave quite well up until late March and April when we had a false sense of complacency.

"you literally have to blame everyone"
"You can definitely blame the government"
"Pandemic fatigue is a real"

You are offering contradictory and inclusive blames here. If we are to blame, nothing govt can do. If govt is to blame, we are innocent. If Pandemic fatigue is real, then there is nothing govt or ppl can do but face the inevitable.

Read between the lines my man. We are all to blame but some need to be blamed far more than others.

Your mistake was you sought to lay deserved blame at the feet of the LFD RFD PNM, and as we all know Pornsie will not have that. Have you EVER seen him blame them for anything?

Postby De Dragon » May 11th, 2021, 8:53 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:the govt still has to set the example
you lead from the top not by double standard

otherwise slackness is amplified many many times by the regular folks in the street

when ferris bawl after arm wrestling
“oh gawd we does all slack off at home and ting” it sends the wrong, double standards always result in the wrong result.
Didn't the PM publicly bouff the AG and AG wrote a mea cupla and apologise? Are big ppl really going to use this road march for their lack of social distancing until the pandemic done?

You're a fool spreading falsehoods. Please stop it. Being "disappointed" in someone is not even close to "bouff"
Also that "apology" was just excuses, and not even genuine

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2021, 8:55 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Devourment wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wtf wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Steups. Covid not going anywhere inno
wtf wrote:So buy June we good then..
Bro we can't stay lock down forever.
wtf jed..The people who talking getting paid right through.

we paying for the sins of the past few weeks bro. how many times govt, and likewise tuners right here were warning ppl - they didn't listen. so they paying now and peter paying for paul.

I have a rel bone to pick with T&TEC and WASA and many other Ministries.....I'm employed at a State Enterprise that reduced salaries by HALF for over a year now.

I'm working full-time right through.

T&TEC workers and WASA and many others, getting full salary, working 2 or 3 days a week, sometimes some of them didn't work for months (during the essential worker phase last year)....all getting full salary and overtime ontop of that.

HOW IS THAT FAIR?

Bro it have people working in my organization that I eh see since last year March. Dem salary running in full ... Dem doh even answer email. Some people milking this situation till the cow give blood...Trinis not easy yes.

Smh

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 11th, 2021, 8:59 pm

sam1978 wrote:I spoke about the undocumented/illegal ones . So xenophobia doesn’t apply. How can speaking about illegal activity / bringing and spreading COVID from a COVID infested country be interpreted as being racial? Make sense please.

sam1978,

Xenophobia is the fear and hatred of strangers or foreigners, whereas racism has a broader meaning set including "a belief that racial differences produce the inherent superiority of a particular race." Although they are similar, they are different enough that it is possible for one to be both xenophobic and racist.
^ For your perusal.

It wasn't you. Abducted made the statement on the previous page. I do not hate strangers, I'm against illegal migration during a pandemic. i never said anything about the registered ones. I am not racial and never made any racial comments.

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2021, 9:57 pm

possible reason why we have such a virulent spread right now.

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2021, 10:08 pm

sam1978 wrote:

sam1978,

^ For your perusal.

It wasn't you. Abducted made the statement on the previous page. I do not hate strangers, I'm against illegal migration during a pandemic. i never said anything about the registered ones. I am not racial and never made any racial comments.

No worries my good man.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 12th, 2021, 12:01 am

Death rate is almost 2%
I wonder what percentage of the 3008 cases this month had severe symptoms and even long covid?

b99fda41-a410-451e-a98d-7dbeeb1d93dd.jpg

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » May 12th, 2021, 1:35 am

a covid graph.png

For the rest of the month I predict it would dip and rise like what's seen here.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Death rate is almost 2%
I wonder what percentage of the 3008 cases this month had severe symptoms and even long covid?

b99fda41-a410-451e-a98d-7dbeeb1d93dd.jpg

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 12th, 2021, 2:38 am

With herd immunity how does the rise is differing variants factor in?

Can we really achieve herd immunity in the time frame suggested?

I mean given the state of things now it that really possible?
What percentage of the population is vaccinated now and how would the efficacy of the vaccines factor into herd immunity?

Postby nervewrecker » May 12th, 2021, 7:20 am

I am very disappointed in tuners conduct.

No request for pics yet?
SuperiorMan wrote:
wtf wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
KM_2NR wrote:So lets say you have a gyal , she don't have no job so she home but her family large like 5 + people , they mostly home but once or twice a week they'd have to head out , would it be a bad idea to still see her in person?

I feel you should ride solo.

My outside woman does be going grocery and liming all over etc. I sticking with my main ting this rounds and will handle up that scene in a couple of weeks....it will be after she birthday so I hitting two birds with one stone there.
After you done lock a Vene thing you still need an outside thing..

Vene ting is my outside ting.

Postby De Dragon » May 12th, 2021, 7:20 am

Numb3r4 wrote:With herd immunity how does the rise is differing variants factor in?

Can we really achieve herd immunity in the time frame suggested?

I mean given the state of things now it that really possible?
What percentage of the population is vaccinated now and how would the efficacy of the vaccines factor into herd immunity?

Once the variants are studied and understood, the vaccines can be tweaked to ensure efficacy remains at higher levels. The P1 variant that we have here is still positively affected by AZ, Sinopharm I'm not sure. It's when it triple mutates like in India, is when the trouble starts

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2021, 7:26 am

heard dealsingh boast about how we have endless oxygen capacity
praying this is not yet another goalmouth from him

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 12th, 2021, 8:03 am

Question: anyone have the clip of the speaker when she said the virus was not important at the time

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 8:06 am

Seems like the virus is "choosing" its victims wisely.
Screenshot_20210512-080449_Facebook.jpeg

Postby pugboy » May 12th, 2021, 8:09 am

trotman, mild mild ?

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Question: anyone have the clip of the speaker when she said the virus was not important at the time

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 12th, 2021, 8:23 am

pugboy wrote:trotman, mild mild ?

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Question: anyone have the clip of the speaker when she said the virus was not important at the time

Not that one...loll...when bridgette stood in the parliament and say it not important

Postby redmanjp » May 12th, 2021, 9:49 am

given that today is wednesday and the previous 2 days are not saturday or sunday im guessing we could expect another sharp rise in new cases

Postby matr1x » May 12th, 2021, 9:51 am

Beginning to doubt the numbers more and more.

Their 1% friends are booming.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 12th, 2021, 9:53 am

How is it that only normal citizens are contracting the virus and dying but no "big boys".

BUG

Postby BUG » May 12th, 2021, 10:03 am

wtf wrote:Seems like the virus is "choosing" its victims wisely.Screenshot_20210512-080449_Facebook.jpeg

Have to love the wording here:
Doctor
Mother
Bodybuilder
71 year old man

Let's just ignore the fact that the 71 year old man is the most important person in the country with the best no cost spared personal medical care at his disposal 24/7.

"Plandemic" spouting sheeple getting lazy.

Postby bluefete » May 12th, 2021, 10:06 am

bluefete wrote:Dohplaydat: Help me out with some stats please.

The figures we get cover a 3 day period. So on:

May 11th we get - May 8-10 = 358 new cases.

May 10th we get - May 7-9 = 99 new cases.

May 9th we get - May 6-8 = 233 new cases

So logically, we have, for example, May 8 repeated 3 times.

I know the figures are not broken down but is it that the figures for May 8th are repeated 3 times or the total figures for May 8th are given over a 3 day period?

Still waiting.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » May 12th, 2021, 10:15 am

Carol (not her real name) has been in the Scarborough General Hospital’s Intensive Care Unit (ICU) for endless days and nights with another patient, who died on the night of Sunday, May 9.

She says she feels an “intense sadness” about the patient’s death. She says she knows it could have been her.

Carol says all she has been seeing are nurses and doctors in silhouette, long, white gowns, covered with masks and gloves, and only their eyes showing. The nurses’ words bring well wishes and items from family members and friends.

Carol said knowing she is being prayed for brings “absolute comfort” as she breathes through an oxygen mask, holding on for dear life.

Now the lone patient at the ICU on May 11, she remains hopeful. She was shocked after learning of the death of the only person who had been “keeping her company” since she was admitted in early May with complications from COVID-19.

“It was a tragic loss as her family, I am sure, were expecting her to come out alive,” Carol told Guardian Media.

On Sunday, when Guardian Media spoke with Carol, she was trying to control her fear of dying, breathing deeply through the short conversation. Back then, she was told her oxygen saturation level was 50 per cent.

Yesterday, she said the oxygen level was 82 per cent. She said she feels better and credits her survival to “God, prayers, and the kind, wonderful nurses in the Scarborough Hospital’s ICU Unit.”

She laughs a little as she talks about getting out of the hospital and “appreciating everything.”

She said she still wonders where she got COVID.

“I was careful, went to work and back, stayed only with my husband. He took me to work and back. I still got COVID. He tested negative. My co-workers tested negative too. So where did I get it?,” she questioned.

She recalled how her situation unfolded.

“I felt a little fever and intense pain, especially in my back. Days after, I felt worse. The fever got intense. I was not sure what day it was, who my husband was, and where I was. I was at home. I went to the Scarborough Health Center, and the nurses decided to test me for COVID as they were monitoring me as I had taken the vaccine days before. On my way to the drug store to get stronger painkillers, the nurses called me and said I should return immediately, as I tested positive for COVID. I cried,” she said.

She said she can’t remember much after that.

“Only just me fighting to breathe, fighting to remain alive, trying to smile, and having happy thoughts,” Carol said.

Her advice to the general public is: “COVID is real. Don’t say it’s just a cold. Follow all the protocols. Keep your family safe.”

Guardian Media Ltd is keeping Carol in our prayers.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/fighting-to-beat ... agos-icu/#

Postby aaron17 » May 12th, 2021, 10:20 am

wtf wrote:Seems like the virus is "choosing" its victims wisely.
Screenshot_20210512-080449_Facebook.jpeg
So wuhan cracked the code in killing off healthy ppl then?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 12th, 2021, 10:23 am

wtf wrote:Seems like the virus is "choosing" its victims wisely.Screenshot_20210512-080449_Facebook.jpeg

The bodybuilder had kidney and heart issues. He was far from a healthy victim.
And bodybuilders on the whole may not necessarily be good models of health. Despite being more muscle than an average human their BMI would still place them in the obese range and those restrictive diets would fack them up. And then there is the issue of "supplements"

Postby Chimera » May 12th, 2021, 10:24 am

They have finally started to show stories of people suffering and dying at the hospital. Thats the only thing that will scare trinis and let them know its real

There are still endless idiots moving around unnecessarily.

I'm blanking people at the burglar proof entrance depending on if they come for stupidness . You not even getting to enter the store. And ppl like they bored home and coming for real dotishness.

Postby Habit7 » May 12th, 2021, 10:31 am

The bodybuilder had kidney and heart issues. He was far from a healthy victim.
And bodybuilders on the whole may not necessarily be good models of health. Despite being more muscle than an average human their BMI would still place them in the obese range and those restrictive diets would fack them up. And then there is the issue of "supplements"

Yip, certain supplements and juices do much damages to your kidneys and heart. It also shrinks your balls too.

KCR had covid, so did his contemporary and UWI Mona friend Tim Goopeesingh, so did Suruj Rambachan as well as Jack Warner who is older than all of them. Being old is a higher risk but it doesn't mean that it is a death sentence.

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2021, 10:34 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:They have finally started to show stories of people suffering and dying at the hospital. Thats the only thing that will scare trinis and let them know its real

There are still endless idiots moving around unnecessarily.

I'm blanking people at the burglar proof entrance depending on if they come for stupidness . You not even getting to enter the store. And ppl like they bored home and coming for real dotishness.
This was happening before elections, the red government supressed the figures and conned Trinidad for elections.

Then we had red government fools citing what a good job Rowlair did in fighting Covid-19.