Habit7 wrote:bluefete wrote:Are you aware that the apostle Paul spoke about a third heaven in the "inspired" bible?
Are you aware that the Book of Enoch describes seven heavens?
How did the early church come by this "inspiration"? If you get into the history of what the early church did to arrive at some of these things it would really make you wonder.
Jewish understanding of heaven was that there are 3 heavens, the sky being first, space being second and the celestial dwelling place of God being third. In fact in Spanish the word for heaven and sky is almost the same.
So what if the Book of Enoch says says there is 7? Its contemporaries at the time of its writing rejected it as inspired because it contained known errors. If there is any overlap in the form of direct quotation with inspired books of the Bible, then that means what it was saying there is specifically correct, not the entire book.
I know how the early church canonised the Bible, I have defend it here in the thread. It had nothing to do with the King James or Europe as you early proposed.
How is mixing uninspired teachings with the Bible any different than mixing Bible teaching with chakras and mystic meditation?marlener wrote:The harshness was to compare you to Rocknrolla/Turbotusty/ttcp. Not because something is mention means it qualifies as inspired.Bear in mind that the Bible is also historical in nature.
but what Church, political party or group needs to teach an individual something for that individual to become and atheist?bluefete wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Atheism has no doctrine or dogma
But atheism does have a doctrine. That doctrine is that there is no God.
doctrine
ˈdɒktrɪn/
noun
noun: doctrine; plural noun: doctrines
a belief or set of beliefs held and taught by a Church, political party, or other group.
I'm sure atheists believe in alot of things, but God is not one of those things.bluefete wrote:Atheists believe in something.
perhaps, depends on the group. I'd think most would say they do not have a theological view of God. Some might say "it" or "she" instead of He. Some might ask if you know that you are talking to a focus group of atheists and if you are being serious with your question.Habit7 wrote:I am sure you saw #2 but let me illustrate it further to you.Merriam Webster Dictionary wrote:Full Definition of THEOLOGY
1: the study of religious faith, practice, and experience; especially : the study of God and of God's relation to the world
2 a : a theological theory or system <Thomist theology> <a theology of atonement>
b : a distinctive body of theological opinion <Catholic theology>
3 : a usually 4-year course of specialized religious training in a Roman Catholic major seminary
If we were to get a group of people who believe in leprechaun or unicorns or, stamp collectors, trekkies, left handers, tuners, etc. and ask them what is their theological view of God, you will get a variance of views.
If we were to get a group of atheists and ask them what is their theological view of God, you will get in unison and solidarity, "He doesn't exists."
in the definition you posted, Theology is defined as "the study of God and of God's relation to the world". Atheists do not believe a god exists, so how can their lack of belief be considered the study of God?Habit7 wrote:I am not saying that solidarity and unison are what make a view theological.
I am saying that atheists are those who have the theological view that no God exists, thus they have solidarity and unison in that.
Merriam-Webster Dictionary wrote:athe·ist noun \ˈā-thē-ist\
: a person who believes that God does not exist
Full Definition of ATHEIST
: one who believes that there is no deity
Merriam-Webster Dictionary wrote:athe·ism noun \ˈā-thē-ˌi-zəm\
Definition of ATHEISM
1 archaic : ungodliness, wickedness
2 a : a disbelief in the existence of deity
b : the doctrine that there is no deity
bluefete wrote:Habit7 wrote:bluefete wrote:I am very well aware that these books are not considered 'canonical'. However, if you read the Bible you would see that some of these books were mentioned. Example, the Book of Enoch is mentioned in Jude in the new testament. The book of Peter also in the new testament mentions that the gospel was preached to those that are dead. This is also found in the Lost gospel of Peter.
There are thing mentioned in the Bible that are explained in some of these writings. The Ethiopian bible is the only one that carries the Book of Enoch. But the King James Version (European version) mentions it.
What you consider to be inspired was what was told to you by the Europeans.
My point is that many things in the Bible are supported and enhanced by these writings.
Concerning the Book of Enoch and Jude, having it mentioned in Jude is not the only criteria for canonicity. http://carm.org/bible-difficulties/hebr ... -scripture
The Gospel of Peter is written after Peter's death more than 100 years after the death of Christ. It is not inspired.
I consider inspired what the early church considered inspired. We have complete Bibles by the 2nd and 3rd century. The KJV was one of several English translations, but the Bible was canonised more than 1300 years before.
I dont know where you are getting this information from, but it is not Christian.
You are sounding no different than turbotursty/rocknrolla/TTCP
Are you aware that the apostle Paul spoke about a third heaven in the "inspired" bible?
Are you aware that the Book of Enoch describes seven heavens?
How did the early church come by this "inspiration"? If you get into the history of what the early church did to arrive at some of these things it would really make you wonder.
no they do not disagree with me. It seems to bother you though.Habit7 wrote:Firstly that is in the definition you posted, I posted the more in depth definition from the same page. I think we went through this when you again self-defined the word "faith," but I will explain it again. When a dictionary lists definitions, it is not for us to pick one definition at the exclusion of others to our liking, we chose the definition with regard to the context the word is used.
And I hope to finally put to rest your self-definition of the English word "atheist" allow me to quote from a source you did earlier:Merriam-Webster Dictionary wrote:athe·ist noun \ˈā-thē-ist\
: a person who believes that God does not exist
Full Definition of ATHEIST
: one who believes that there is no deityMerriam-Webster Dictionary wrote:athe·ism noun \ˈā-thē-ˌi-zəm\
Definition of ATHEISM
1 archaic : ungodliness, wickedness
2 a : a disbelief in the existence of deity
b : the doctrine that there is no deity
Parse it all you want but even your own sources disagree with you.
AdamB wrote:Wow! Men actually debating / arguing about whether atheism is a religion or not!!
Believers, time is limited for which every minute has to be accounted - find something better to do, increase your good deeds.
Disbelievers, time is limitless - live it up!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:how is it theological belief to have no belief in something?Habit7 wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Atheism has no doctrine or dogma
Except the theological belief that no deities or divines exists.what in that definition does atheism conform to that makes your statement true or even coherent?Merriam Webster Dictionary wrote:the·ol·o·gy noun \thē-ˈä-lə-jē\
: the study of religious faith, practice, and experience : the study of God and God's relation to the world
: a system of religious beliefs or ideas
The reminder benefits the believers....and the opposite for its opposite.i am an idiot wrote:AdamB wrote:Wow! Men actually debating / arguing about whether atheism is a religion or not!!
Believers, time is limited for which every minute has to be accounted - find something better to do, increase your good deeds.
Yea boi. Take ur own advice nuh. Stop wastin time on tuner....increase your good deeds.
AdamB wrote:Believers, time is limited for which every minute has to be accounted - find something better to do, increase your good deeds.
AdamB wrote:The reminder benefits the believers....and the opposite for its opposite.i am an idiot wrote:AdamB wrote:Wow! Men actually debating / arguing about whether atheism is a religion or not!!
Yea boi. Take ur own advice nuh. Stop wastin time on tuner....increase your good deeds.
Wow, they are being to sound more religiousnareshseep wrote:There are various sects of Atheism.
Duane says atheists have no doctrine, try to convince him of that. (hint: don't use sources he attests to, it doesn't work when you use against him)nareshseep wrote:The doctrine that atheist follow is based on philosophy.
Not with Christianity. Allow me to quote from a creed called the Westminster Shorter Catechism which is a question and answer document that outlines the practice of Christianity.nareshseep wrote:The ultimate aim of religion be it god based or otherwise is for the individual be at peace with the world and to serve mankind and not for them to gain a place in "heaven"
I really dont know, probably to conceal Roman Catholic information. However the history of Christianity and the Early Church is freely available in the Bible and the writings of the Church Fathers. It is in fact the best preserved historical documents of Antiquity (before the Middle Ages) we have.nareshseep wrote:Why does the vatican have a "secret archive"?
Actually Christianity runs counter to that. Christianity started with the crucifixion of its leader by the hands of the Roman Empire and subsequently were viciously persecuted for hundreds of years. In spite this, it spread throughout the known world until the Roman Empire adopted it and perverted it and still persecuted it most ardent followers. Fast forward to the 15th and 16th century where the "Christian" state persecuted European Christians like the Puritans to such a point where they decide to set out to the New World and practise their religion there. Thus we have the Mayflower landing on Plymouth Rock.nareshseep wrote:The religions we have today are the religions of the victors. The wise and defeated tell no tales for their voice/literature/people/beliefs is lost in the abyss of time never to be heard of again.
Habit7 wrote:AdamB wrote:Believers, time is limited for which every minute has to be accounted - find something better to do, increase your good deeds.
For all of us have become like one who is unclean, And all our righteous deeds are like a filthy garment; And all of us wither like a leaf, And our iniquities, like the wind, take us away. Isaiah 64:6 circa 700 B.C.
If only Muhammad could have read that...well he still might have devised Islam but at least he would not have erroneously said that it was consistent with Judaism.
Increasing our good deeds is of no use if we are guilty before a just God for committing bad deeds prior.
Keep fooling yourself. Why mention good deeds and bad deeds in the bible then? You misinterpret what the scriptures say to justify not doing any good!!
In order for God to forgive us we need the perfect righteousness of God in our account and for someone to suffer on our behalf the eternal wrath that we deserve. God has done this in man Jesus and our response should be repentance from our sin and faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.
i am an idiot wrote:You make absolutely no sense. ^^^^:lol::lol::lol::lol:
i am an idiot wrote:@ adamb. At least i gud at wah i doin. You hear fuh d longest while spinnin like ah top in mud. Gettin nowhere fast.
U preaching use time wisely. D fack u doe go n study d quaran or help a vagrant or sumn. Yuh wah preach assness on tuner.
Imma idiot n i admit it inno. Maybe is time for u to do the same.