COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 6:28 pm

they are very present at regular govt hospitals though
go to any causality and see the folks sitting waiting hours and you will see more than a few
and well let’s not talk about babies bawning here

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13802 cases, 224 deaths, 4078 active, 9500 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 11th, 2021, 6:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sam1978 wrote:Trinis are spreading , si . But to control it by

locking down legal citizens and putting them in a

disadvantageous position with respect to work ,

food etc and leaving the cucarachas to enter and

spread at will isn’t fair and sensible. the

cucarachas are not tested you will not get

positive results from them. No? There are many

Trinidad who are positive who are not testing too

, so your point is invalid.

time for that done, cat out the bag and Trinis now getting hit with Covid. What happening here now was way worse in Europe, US and many other places.

Is we time now...
Screenshot 2021-05-11 at 5.42.18 pm.png
Will it pass uk numbers

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 6:32 pm

aaron17 wrote:Screenshot 2021-05-11 at 5.42.18 pm.png
Will it pass uk numbers[/quote]

The pandemic pretty much over in the UK bro

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 11th, 2021, 6:34 pm

I spoke about the undocumented/illegal ones . So xenophobia doesn’t apply. How can speaking about illegal activity / bringing and spreading COVID from a COVID infested country be interpreted as being racial? Make sense please.

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2021, 6:47 pm

i suppose some would broad brush all venes including the ones here legally or who may be registered and came here long before covid - that could be considered xenophobia.

but being concerned about illegal border crossings especially during a pandemic where locals can't come in without an exemption but illegal non locals are coming in without a quarantine and bring not just covid but more virulent strains which have us in lockdown now is something different.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 11th, 2021, 7:06 pm

Redmanjp , exactly my point.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 11th, 2021, 7:10 pm

Samlal,

The point is, only Trinis are overwhelming the healthcare system bro.

Lock them down and see the numbers drop.

Maxpower , your help is needed.
3E04B847-6492-455A-9622-C0B9A990F0BC.jpeg
Last edited by sam1978 on May 11th, 2021, 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2021, 7:11 pm

Covid numbers broke records:

9 deaths- most deaths in a day
May- now the deadliest month with 55 deaths, in only the first 11 days!
May- highest no. of cases- 2978
Active cases- 4078

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 7:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:Covid numbers broke records:

9 deaths- most deaths in a day
May- now the deadliest month with 55 deaths, in only the first 11 days!
May- highest no. of cases- 2978
Active cases- 4078

Tests going up and positivity rate going up.....we are yet to reach the peak.

Also our 7 day average is at the highest value ever at 299

Screenshot 2021-05-11 at 5.07.28 pm.png

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2021, 7:21 pm

Health Minister say we could get herd immunity in 6-7 months! but the math seems off "we can administer 700,000 vaccines in this country" that should be 1,400,000 doses assuming all are 2-shot vaccines. but 60-70% is not 600000-700000 unless he think the population is 1 million :roll:

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/11/deyalsingh-uncs-covid19-vaccine-propaganda-can-delay-herd-immunity/

HEALTH Minister Terrence Deyalsingh has said the Opposition has a major role to play in how soon Trinidad and Tobago can achieve herd immunity against the covid19 virus.

He said if Opposition members stop spreading propaganda about the vaccines, it could happen by the end of the year.

He was responding to urgent questions in the Senate on Tuesday morning.

Opposition senator Wade Mark asked, “Given the ongoing spike in the number of positive covid19 cases and this country’s goal of controlling the virus through herd immunity, what is the timeframe within which same will be achieved?”

Deyalsingh reminded everyone herd immunity requires 60-70 per cent of a country’s population to be vaccinated.

“That means about 600,000-700,000 persons. I took a note to Cabinet to do just that.”

But he said there are three variables required to achieve this.

“One – availability of vaccines, which we must have in commercial quantities – large quantities that we are currently working on to good effect.

"Two – public confidence in the vaccines.

"And three – we need to get the UNC to stop undermining the government’s vaccination plan. That is the most important component to reach herd immunity. If the UNC, as led by the honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar and her spokespersons, keep on undermining faith in the vaccines, we will not achieve it.

"So this is where we all need to come together again and provide leadership. However, if the Opposition works with us, we can administer 700,000 vaccines in this country to achieve herd immunity in about si -seven months.”

Mark muttered, “I won’t respond to that nonsense.”

Recently, Opposition MP Dr Roodal Moonilal said the government is using the public as "guinea pigs" for the Sinopharm vaccine from China.

Mark then asked if the government had contacted companies other than Sinopharm to secure vaccines for TT.

Deyalsingh reminded him the government is “in talks” with Pfizer, Moderna and the Africa Medical Supplies Platform.

To date, TT has received 67,200 doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine through Covax, 2,000 from Barbados and 40,000 from India.

As of 4 pm on Monday, 60,205 people had been vaccinated in TT.
Last edited by redmanjp on May 11th, 2021, 7:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 11th, 2021, 7:24 pm

Dpd , correct , also people getting scared due to the increase in deaths so they are coming in increasing numbers so it’s showing up more. They not saying “is just a cold”. Still there are many who are not presenting.

Postby alfa » May 11th, 2021, 7:45 pm

sam1978 wrote:I spoke about the undocumented/illegal ones . So xenophobia doesn’t apply. How can speaking about illegal activity / bringing and spreading COVID from a COVID infested country be interpreted as being racial? Make sense please.

Don't waste your time on these social justice warriors looking to score woke points by being pro migrant but couldn't care a damn about our own citizens stranded abroad.

Postby Country_Bookie » May 11th, 2021, 7:47 pm

Anyone see the covid-19 skeptics on tuner recently?? They still arguing that covid isn't a big deal because of the high survival rate? Or wait, it's still a big hoax right?? Somebody forgot to tell the 55 ppl who died in the past 11 days.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 11th, 2021, 7:51 pm

Leaving this here
IMG-20210511-WA0174.jpeg

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » May 11th, 2021, 7:54 pm

ST Auto wrote:Leaving this here IMG-20210511-WA0174.jpeg

there was 158 cases on the 3rd of may, not 188

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 8:06 pm

so by this time is it safe to say everybody directly knows somebody who got covid?

and also knows somebody who got fairly sick and/or hospitalized, likewise died.

what about 6 months ago ?
Last edited by pugboy on May 11th, 2021, 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 8:06 pm

ST Auto wrote:Leaving this here IMG-20210511-WA0174.jpeg

The May blood bath will probably get worse in the coming weeks.

Screenshot 2021-05-11 at 8.05.44 pm.png

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 8:13 pm

So by June we good then..
Last edited by widdyphuck on May 11th, 2021, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 11th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Steups. Covid not going anywhere inno
wtf wrote:So buy June we good then..

Postby bluefete » May 11th, 2021, 8:15 pm

Dohplaydat: Help me out with some stats please.

The figures we get cover a 3 day period. So on:

May 11th we get - May 8-10 = 358 new cases.

May 10th we get - May 7-9 = 99 new cases.

May 9th we get - May 6-8 = 233 new cases

So logically, we have, for example, May 8 repeated 3 times.

I know the figures are not broken down but is it that the figures for May 8th are repeated 3 times or the total figures for May 8th are given over a 3 day period?
Last edited by bluefete on May 11th, 2021, 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 8:15 pm

ST Auto wrote:Steups. Covid not going anywhere inno
Bro we can't stay lock down forever.
wtf jed..The people who talking getting paid right through.

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2021, 8:18 pm

ST Auto wrote:Leaving this here
IMG-20210511-WA0174.jpeg
That is what a 98% survival rate looks like.
Last edited by adnj on May 11th, 2021, 8:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » May 11th, 2021, 8:20 pm

wtf wrote:So by June we good then..

Yea you're definitely a troll.

However, this fight with covid is going to be different from the last. It's not going to go down to sub 50 numbers for some time.

This will be a perpetual fight that will drag on for months! Every time we open back up, cases will shoot up again. The only way out is vaccination, there's literally no alternative.

My best-case scenario for us to reach where the UK and Isreal are is 5-6 months from now.

That will require a constant vaccine supply, with us vaccinating 5000-6000 daily every day along with strict measures on indoor activity, crowds, bars, and dining out.

So maybe we might be able to enjoy Xmas 2021, but we'll likely lose hundreds of persons before then.

Schools can reopen in 2022 and Carnival might be possible....but fellas, these next few months going to be rough.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 8:20 pm

adnj wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Leaving this here
IMG-20210511-WA0174.jpeg
That is what a 98% survival rate looks like. Image
Bro you need an adblocker..

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2021, 8:27 pm

sam1978 wrote:

Samlal,

The point is, only Trinis are overwhelming the healthcare system bro.

Lock them down and see the numbers drop.

Maxpower , your help is needed.

Can’t really help much there sam,

We can only hope for the best.

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2021, 8:27 pm

wtf wrote:

we paying for the sins of the past few weeks bro. how many times govt, and likewise tuners right here were warning ppl - they didn't listen. so they paying now and peter paying for paul.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » May 11th, 2021, 8:30 pm

redmanjp wrote:
wtf wrote:

we paying for the sins of the past few weeks bro. how many times govt, and likewise tuners right here were warning ppl - they didn't listen. so they paying now and peter paying for paul.

I have a rel bone to pick with T&TEC and WASA and many other Ministries.....I'm employed at a State Enterprise that reduced salaries by HALF for over a year now.

I'm working full-time right through.

T&TEC workers and WASA and many others, getting full salary, working 2 or 3 days a week, sometimes some of them didn't work for months (during the essential worker phase last year)....all getting full salary and overtime ontop of that.

HOW IS THAT FAIR?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 8:32 pm

Devourment wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
wtf wrote:

I have a rel bone to pick with T&TEC and WASA and many other Ministries.....I'm employed at a State Enterprise that reduced salaries by HALF for over a year now.

I'm working full-time right through.

T&TEC workers and WASA and many others, getting full salary, working 2 or 3 days a week, sometimes some of them didn't work for months (during the essential worker phase last year)....all getting full salary and overtime ontop of that.

HOW IS THAT FAIR?
Who reduce you salary?
Sounds like someone advantaging you bro..

Postby Gem_in_i » May 11th, 2021, 8:34 pm

44509B59-4C77-40B7-B0C9-951DCEFA6568.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 8:35 pm

Belgroves is the only designated funeral home that can dispose of COVID-19 victims.
That means Belgroves have 55 sure funerals in the month of May alone up to today..