Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 193

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2019, 7:37 am

PNM-wise it is a logical move. Head Tunts JUHN Scarfy already managed to look like a dragged up street dweller with the UK folks, so why not further damage our relationship with the US one time while you're at it?

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2019, 7:45 am

Regardless of what it is....the end result is the same i.e - acceptance

Hello used Maxipad
For your enlightenment, there is a vast difference between acceptance and tolerance, & if ever you possessed a modicum of intelligence, I wouldn't have to inform you of this.

Reek,

Once again you are missing the point and not understanding.

The govt of T&T HAS accepted these people and is tolerating them, and its not a darn thing you can do about it. No one cares about your little beat up and tantrum. As for now, continue paying taxes.

Postby hydroep » September 24th, 2019, 8:06 pm

Alleged Venezuelan skimmers charged
Ryan Hamilton-Davis

SEVEN VENEZUELANS and a Trinidadian with dual citizenship appeared yesterday before a magistrate, charged with trafficking of counterfeit cards, possession of card-making equipment and possession of marijuana.

The eight – 23-year-old Jose Gregorio Medina Gonzales, a Trinidadian with dual Venezuelan citizenship, Ricardo Ramiro Garcia Paz, 25, Illam Bracko, 25, Douglas Alberto Gomez Luzardo, 30, Charles Enrique Tarrealba Rodriguez, 32, Ender Nazare De Jesus Baptista Contreras, 35, Fernando Enrique Anzola Salas, 40, and Joaquin Javier Leal Villalobos, 41, were denied bail and remanded into custody after they appeared before a Tunapuna magistrate.

Fraud Squad ABM officers searched a house where the men were staying on Bedassie Street, St Augustine at about 9.30 pm last Tuesday.

During the search, police said they found items used to make skimming machines and to rig automatic banking machines in order to skim card numbers. Police also found TT$9,580, US$2,350, four packets of cured marijuana and Venezuelan passports, identification cards and driver’s permits.

The group was charged by Cpl Trim, of the Fraud Squad last Friday.

The matter was adjourned to October 21.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/23/alleged-venezuelan-skimmers-charged/

Postby Gladiator » September 24th, 2019, 8:35 pm

Dais MaxiPad clip...

hydroep wrote:
Ryan Hamilton-Davis

SEVEN VENEZUELANS and a Trinidadian with dual citizenship appeared yesterday before a magistrate, charged with trafficking of counterfeit cards, possession of card-making equipment and possession of marijuana.

The eight – 23-year-old Jose Gregorio Medina Gonzales, a Trinidadian with dual Venezuelan citizenship, Ricardo Ramiro Garcia Paz, 25, Illam Bracko, 25, Douglas Alberto Gomez Luzardo, 30, Charles Enrique Tarrealba Rodriguez, 32, Ender Nazare De Jesus Baptista Contreras, 35, Fernando Enrique Anzola Salas, 40, and Joaquin Javier Leal Villalobos, 41, were denied bail and remanded into custody after they appeared before a Tunapuna magistrate.

Fraud Squad ABM officers searched a house where the men were staying on Bedassie Street, St Augustine at about 9.30 pm last Tuesday.

During the search, police said they found items used to make skimming machines and to rig automatic banking machines in order to skim card numbers. Police also found TT$9,580, US$2,350, four packets of cured marijuana and Venezuelan passports, identification cards and driver’s permits.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 24th, 2019, 9:02 pm

Hey man

They have a hard life, imagine coming to a foreign country with no form of income and no way of getting a job because their qualifications aren't recognized.

We should try to understand

(btw, this is sarcasm for the dotish trinis with low IQ, aka most of you)

Postby MaxPower » September 24th, 2019, 9:09 pm

Gladiator wrote:Dais MaxiPad clip..

If they do the crime then they should be deported.

But where are the Trinis that influenced these men into wrong doings?

Most of these Venes getting framed.

Postby 88sins » September 25th, 2019, 9:32 am

Gladiator wrote:Dais MaxiPad clip..

If they do the crime then they should be deported.

But where are the Trinis that influenced these men into wrong doings?

Most of these Venes getting framed.

We all get by now that you really love the aroma of pungent flatulence, but does your nose really need to be that far up between a payol arse cheeks?

anyway, an example needs be made of these, to discourage those of similar mindset from coming with all intentions to commit similar or worse acts.
A public caning of 100 strokes each just prior to deportation should serve nicely as a punishment and a warning.

Postby Chimera » September 25th, 2019, 10:03 am

whats the point of deportation though?
ent they just gonna sneak back in?

when they get deported they does actually spend $$$ on locking them up in vene?

Postby sMASH » September 25th, 2019, 10:28 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:whats the point of deportation though?
ent they just gonna sneak back in?

when they get deported they does actually spend $$$ on locking them up in vene?
"sneak" u say.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 25th, 2019, 11:40 am

i see they always buying black beans in the grocery. guess daz wey d farting coming from. beans, meat, chese, eggs, butter and macaroni daz wah dey surviving on. an beers on ah sunday.

Postby The_Honourable » September 25th, 2019, 2:57 pm

Opportunity :!:

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 25th, 2019, 3:16 pm

^^^Plenty business owners dribbling for them vene. Cheap labour, no NIS payments, and they can't complain. But sadly "all the glitters is not gold". The true impact will be felt in due time, and the cost of those quick profits will backfire...

Postby hydroep » September 25th, 2019, 3:24 pm

I went to support one of the 1%'s fried chicken establishments at the top of High Street last Friday. Place was packed...about 50% of the seats were taken by well dressed Venez youths liming, phones in hand and fast food boxes on table.

Suffering they are...:|

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 25th, 2019, 4:30 pm

^^^You should see them in Starbucks and KFC...
If ya pay close attention to how these people does operate, it shouldn't suprise anyone to see why that country reach where they is today...
Sadly we going down that road as well...

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2019, 4:40 pm

Gladiator wrote:Dais MaxiPad clip...

hydroep wrote:
Ryan Hamilton-Davis

MaxCax is the comfort woman.

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2019, 7:19 pm

vaiostation wrote:^^^Plenty business owners dribbling for them vene. Cheap labour, no NIS payments, and they can't complain. But sadly "all the glitters is not gold". The true impact will be felt in due time, and the cost of those quick profits will backfire...

You are right, but its still better than Trini labour.

Postby paid_influencer » September 25th, 2019, 8:37 pm

anybody try the chicha the venes selling on high street (infront kfc, next to the pie man)?

they was on newspapers a few days ago. drink to be similar to sawine (milk with rice).

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 25th, 2019, 9:37 pm

See how quick alyuh want to blame Venezuelans, but let me ask you this:

Did alyuh bawl the same thing when 3 trinis were held for the same thing in Couva last week?
It was 3 trinis and 1 vene woman. You telling me that that one Vene woman was the boss of the operations?
She had them making ID for her friends and family?

So similarly here you shouldn't be so quick to bawl.
Because there is a highly possibility that these fellas are operating under some trinidadian(s) who offered them that as a job.
Who supplying them with the materials and receiving the end product?

paid_influencer wrote:anybody try the chicha the venes selling on high street (infront kfc, next to the pie man)?

they was on newspapers a few days ago. drink to be similar to sawine (milk with rice).

Nah breds.
But some nights (after 10pm), I see 2 Venezuelan women with a cooler selling some kinda food thing on the compound of Duncan Village NP gas station. I feel I might stop there to full up tonight if my gas light come on before Claxton Bay, and I will give them a sale if they still there.
The faster they sell out and go home (their home in TT), the better/safer for them.

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2019, 8:51 am

Probably oily Empanadas with beef/chicken/cheese. Seen it sold all over the place now. Adds another street food like doubles and pies to our culture.

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2019, 9:06 am

What they make it from ?
I had the Peru chicha from corn and it was real nice.

paid_influencer wrote:anybody try the chicha the venes selling on high street (infront kfc, next to the pie man)?

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2019, 9:43 am

maj. tom wrote:Probably oily Empanadas with beef/chicken/cheese. Seen it sold all over the place now. Adds another street food like doubles and pies to our culture.

yuh kno, as I read this the 1st thing to pop into my head is how really easy it would be to poison Trinis & not get caught.
not saying they go do that or not, just saying it'd be real easy

Postby matr1x » September 26th, 2019, 11:56 am

I laughing at how dotish ppl is. Their crime is a different level

Postby De Dragon » September 26th, 2019, 4:07 pm

Sidewalk + milk drinks = NO!

Postby MaxPower » September 26th, 2019, 4:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:Probably oily Empanadas with beef/chicken/cheese. Seen it sold all over the place now. Adds another street food like doubles and pies to our culture.

yuh kno, as I read this the 1st thing to pop into my head is how really easy it would be to poison Trinis & not get caught.
not saying they go do that or not, just saying it'd be real easy

Poison Trinis?

Hmmmm i like your style Reek.....I’m impressed.

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2019, 7:43 am

We have enough money to go around...:|

V’zuelans can help TT
UWI panellists on migration
Jensen La Vende

THE current influx of Venezuelan migrants to TT can and should be used to assist the local economy, according to panellists at TT Economics Association's seminar on Saturday.

Speaking on the issue at the Learning Resource Centre at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine, former minister in the Ministry of Finance Mariano Browne said with the right policies in place, TT can gain from the crisis.

The title of the seminar was the Venezuelan arrival-From crisis to opportunity, moderated by Kiran Mathur Mohammed.

In his opening address, Browne said TT had enough money to go around even with between 40,000 to 70,000 Venezuelans in the country.

That figure has been refuted by Government who are sticking with the 16,523 registered Venezuelans during the two week period in June.

Browne, who said his mother is Venezuelan, said that not all the migrants are here to stay. He added that while migration creates competition here, the same problem is being transposed outside the region with some 65-85 per cent of graduates leaving for jobs rather than staying to create jobs.

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/29/vzuelans-can-help-tt/

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2019, 7:50 am

1 year not enough, 3 years better...:|

...Migrants: ‘great work ethic, high productivity’
Leah Sorias

Venezuelan migrant workers have been lauded for their high productivity, honesty and “tremendous work ethic” by economists and members of the private sector. One economist, Dr Vaalmiki Arjoon, believes when the migrants return to their homeland next year after their T&T Government-issued registration cards expire, local businesses will feel the pinch.

He is proposing the Government, with foreign financial aid, set up a well-structured work permit programme to allow productive Vene­zuelans to work in T&T for up to three years.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/migrants-great-work-ethic-high-productivity/article_fa5e086a-e31f-11e9-8a18-93c52c281187.html

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 30th, 2019, 9:11 am

Sometimes I feel these "economists" need to get a refund from uwi for their degrees, because they clearly have little understanding of the local labour market, as well as the long term socio-economic effects of illegal immigrants on a country. These "economist" does sound like they just gone on google and read some articles, and think they know everything. But I suppose these "economists" never really had to do much interaction with the wider society outside of sipping margaritas at the Hyatt, so their logic hasn't surprised me.

VII

Postby VII » September 30th, 2019, 9:14 am

Right now a prospective vene employee trying to sell me pure cocaine...said it's his amigos ..send me vids.

Trying to link him with Gary..

One called me by accident to pick up drugs already too...told him it's the police,shoulda link him with Gary too..thought about it after..

Most Venes no matter how hard working and honest has a drug and gun link...

Postby The_Honourable » September 30th, 2019, 10:11 am

A work permit program, lasting at least two years, to efficiently manage migrant labour.

The proposal comes from economist Valmiki Arjoon, who says the presence of some 16,000 Venezuelan migrants in this country, is a perfect complement for government's diversification thrust.

Postby hydroep » September 30th, 2019, 11:36 am

If it were up to the economists our dollar would already be somewhere between $ 10 - $ 15 TTD to $ 1 USD, public expenditure would be trimmed and Migrants would be allowed to stay here as long as they want to foster competition in the labour market.

They either choose to ignore (or can't afford to look at) the human impact of such decisions.

As far as they are concerned economic theory suggests things will always reach a state of equilibrium after an adjustment and if people have to eat each other in order to get there so be it...:|