PNM in Gov't(2015-2020)

Re: PNM in Gov't - 2 YEARS LATER!?!?!?!?!?

Postby 16 cycles » December 8th, 2017, 9:08 pm

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... ews15.html

Anti-terrorism law was abused in past....Then used a law on books for publishing to stick a charge..

Things happen...Have to be wary...

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 8th, 2017, 9:12 pm

hydroep wrote:Both Kamla and Faris Gump were on i95.5 this morning, both accusing each other of "lying'. However only she challenged the media to go back to Parliament's records to verify "who support and didn't support" what.

The media should follow up on that...it would certainly clear up the misinformation currently being bandied about...:|
why not follow up on it yourself and come to your own conclusions ,
the whole thing was recorded on the parliament channel its over 7 hours long

Postby sMASH » December 8th, 2017, 9:30 pm

how is a crime committed by a gang member more heinous than the same crime perpetrated by a non gang member? why cant the same police procedure be used to detect, arrest and prosecute both parties, because of the CRIME ?

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2017, 4:51 am

I am glad tuners are doing their homework and really understand what the a PNM is trying to do with this anti gang law.
Some here don't like or agree with the opposition at times but the opposition did their work in not passing this dangerous bill.

This bill was in a nutshell that if you called the PNM prime Minster a jack arse you could be held for over 3 days without a warrant.

An abuse of power means they could come any time in to your home grab you at 3am search your house and plent you in jail.

This proposed law has nothing to do with gangs . It's a law to for a police state.
The police could end up overtaking the government by bogus claims.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 9th, 2017, 5:51 am

If is one thing this debate did was made everyone forget about the beetham protest, the 20 something murders and the big airport robbery..

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 9th, 2017, 6:26 am

zoom rader wrote:I am glad tuners are doing their homework and really understand what the a PNM is trying to do with this anti gang law.
Some here don't like or agree with the opposition at times but the opposition did their work in not passing this dangerous bill.

This bill was in a nutshell that if you called the PNM prime Minster a jack arse you could be held for over 3 days without a warrant.

An abuse of power means they could come any time in to your home grab you at 3am search your house and plent you in jail.

This proposed law has nothing to do with gangs . It's a law to for a police state.

ummm this was law under the unc for 5 years who we trying to fool?

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2017, 6:37 am

^^ acted upon during the SOE, and then those arrested by those specific laws, sued the state... ent?

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2017, 7:35 am

Smash -are these the clauses you worried about???

(1) A police officer may arrest without a warrant a
person whom he has reasonable cause to believe to be a
gang member or whom he has reasonable cause to
believe has committed an offence under this Act.
(2) A police officer may, with a warrant issued by a
Magistrate so enabling him to do, enter any dwelling
house and search the same if he has reasonable cause to
believe that a gang member may be found in that
dwelling house.
(3) A police officer may enter without a warrant
and search any place or premises not used as a dwelling
house if he has reasonable cause to believe that a gang
member may be found in such place or premises.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2017, 7:38 am

zoom rader wrote:I am glad tuners are doing their homework and really understand what the a PNM is trying to do with this anti gang law.

Again the Act protects government criticism and activism within the law.
No fine print, no exceptions.
BY DEFINITION....
So you talking crap-repeatedly.

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2017, 9:08 am

Redman wrote:

Again the Act protects government criticism and activism within the law.
No fine print, no exceptions.
BY DEFINITION....
So you talking crap-repeatedly.

This PNM will use it conveniently. This law is like a blank check . Speak the government bad and they say you are a gang member looking to overthrow the government ect. All done without a warrant.

Stop trying to put spin on it you know your are wrong so don't try to hide it with law. PNM will abuse this law.
Last edited by zoom rader on December 9th, 2017, 9:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 9th, 2017, 9:12 am

Troll of the year 2017 has to be Zr

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2017, 9:16 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Troll of the year 2017 has to be Zr

Everything I have written about came to pass. Told you all about the dangers of PNM and look where we are now

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2017, 9:23 am

This PNM will use it conveniently. This law is like a blank check . Speak the government bad and they say you are a gang member looking to overthrow the government ect. All done without a warrant.

Stop trying to put spin on it you know your are wrong so don't try to hide it with law. PNM will abuse this law.

And lets ignore the law and believe you.
but when asked to show how this NEW act makes what you describe any MORE likely to happen than in the past....you cant.

ok

You talking absolute crap-and the obvious issue here is that the LAW explicitly says that you are talking crap.
but you continuing posting it.
It is clear you have never read the act.

Postby zoom rader » December 9th, 2017, 10:24 am

Redman wrote:

but when asked to show how this NEW act makes what you describe any MORE likely to happen than in the past....you cant.

ok

You talking absolute crap-and the obvious issue here is that the LAW explicitly says that you are talking crap.

The mere fact that the PNM can arrest you without a warrant linking you to a gang is dangerous. That all people need to know. The the PNM law is made to be interpreted anyway which way they want.

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2017, 10:44 am

Redman wrote:

ok

Why is it so important for a suspected gang member to be arrested without a warrant? How do we arrest "normal" murderers?

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2017, 3:53 pm

U see, when u arrest someone, u would need evidence or sumting. But under these laws, u merely have to declare 'this guy is a gang member' and that declaration is enough to take them to prison.... For 72 hours. If they inform Ur lawyer, they can hold u for up to 6 months to assist with inquiries, without needing to see a magistrate.

That is why them fellas who got held during the SoE, were released, there was nothing against the guys for the magistrates to judge upon.

But, u get a police vex, and they can have u swimming in the jail at their leisure. And all will be legal And lawful, once the officer says the magic words ', this guy is a gang member'.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2017, 3:58 pm

Dragon,
Again you conflated the discussion.

ZR like above is saying the the PNM will arrest people like him and you...cuz Allyuh say the PNM doing crap.

There is nothing in the Gang Act that changes their ability to do so... in fact the act that he quotes expressly explicitly and clearly protects that.
Nothing in his post is substantiated by fact,law,precedent or common sense.

Separately the as far as I know the warrant free entry sought in the 2016 act is limited to places that are not homes.

We use the Domestic violence Act of 91 ish that empowers the state to remove a man from his dwelling place ex parte
Cuz de woman say so.
His rights under the Constitution are impacted,but it's accepted that the reality today requires that, in order to protect whatever.
History shows that it worked on balance
No one here says boo.

We at a junction now that the police need an incremental increase in power to properly persecute the 2017 criminal element.
The law comes with a sunset clause.

But people fraid to allow a TEMPORARY law to be passed because they afraid it will be abused.
Despite the simple fact that any one willing to abuse the law....eh waiting on a law to commit their acts.

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2017, 4:58 pm

sMASH wrote:U see, when u arrest someone, u would need evidence or sumting. But under these laws, u merely have to declare 'this guy is a gang member' and that declaration is enough to take them to prison.... For 72 hours. If they inform Ur lawyer, they can hold u for up to 6 months to assist with inquiries, without needing to see a magistrate.

That is why them fellas who got held during the SoE, were released, there was nothing against the guys for the magistrates to judge upon.

But, u get a police vex, and they can have u swimming in the jail at their leisure. And all will be legal And lawful, once the officer says the magic words ', this guy is a gang member'.

Everything you said is true.
The only incorrect this is that he needs the words gang member.

You can be arrested without warrant. TODAY.
Read section 36 of the Police Act...STARTS with...(1) Any police officer may arrest without a warrant—

If he vex with you - and he is of the type to abuse his power...the Gang Act is not relevant.
He is so empowered without it.

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2017, 5:17 pm

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:U see, when u arrest someone, u would need evidence or sumting. But under these laws, u merely have to declare 'this guy is a gang member' and that declaration is enough to take them to prison.... For 72 hours. If they inform Ur lawyer, they can hold u for up to 6 months to assist with inquiries, without needing to see a magistrate.

Everything you said is true.
The only incorrect this is that he needs the words gang member.

You can be arrested without warrant. TODAY.
Read section 36 of the Police Act...STARTS with...(1) Any police officer may arrest without a warrant—

If he vex with you - and he is of the type to abuse his power...the Gang Act is not relevant.
He is so empowered without it.

So why the resistance to the removal of the clause? Why, if Kams is to be believed, a 2 year sunset clause was so resisted by the GORTT? Why is Scarfy seems so distraught over this failure, calling the Opposition response to voting against it the most vile act against him in Parliament over and beyond the despicable Verna rape allegations?

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2017, 5:47 pm

The gang member is to keep them without needing to get a court date

Postby Redman » December 9th, 2017, 8:23 pm

The max under the Gang law is 14 with judicial review.

The logic given about the sunset clause was that it will take time to get evidence and act.
And as you spent a whole heap of time arguing a while back the judicial system is slow....So a two year clause would not be enough time.

kstt

Postby kstt » December 9th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 10th, 2017, 1:52 am

kstt wrote:https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1538083129619178&id=927978527296311

What's the problem?

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2017, 4:10 am

Redman wrote:The max under the Gang law is 14 with judicial review.

The logic given about the sunset clause was that it will take time to get evidence and act.
And as you spent a whole heap of time arguing a while back the judicial system is slow....So a two year clause would not be enough time.

Again this law is not for gangs . It is for dictatorship. It's a blank check for the PNM to do as they please

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2017, 5:05 am

Again,you only repeating a mantra...without any substance, with no basis in fact and entirely void of any truth.

My first question to you remains unanswered....so I will ask again...
ZR...please show ...with facts and not simple minded conjecture how the 2016 Gang Act is "a blank check"...as you say.

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2017, 5:59 am

Because the pnm are dictators and belive they are monarchs.

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2017, 7:04 am

Redman wrote:Again,you only repeating a mantra...without any substance, with no basis in fact and entirely void of any truth.

My first question to you remains unanswered....so I will ask again...
ZR...please show ...with facts and not simple minded conjecture how the 2016 Gang Act is "a blank check"...as you say.

I answered your question and so they many other tuners . Our opposition answered it.

There are no facts with PNM. They will twist this to their advantage.
Our nation freedoms is at risk with PNM.

Every single prediction I have been telling tuners over the years on the dangers of PNM has come to pass.

What makes you think this law is for gangs.

Postby 16 cycles » December 10th, 2017, 7:16 am

What law was used to house arrest occah seepaul??

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2017, 7:21 am

16 cycles wrote:What law was used to house arrest occah seepaul??

Again people forget how the PNM abused her in that era.

That is a perfect example on how PNM will use the law to abuse citizens when they speak out against them

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2017, 9:13 am

Occah refused to step down due to her involvement in a court case, where it is alleged that here testimony under oath was inconsistent.And by inconsistent I mean she was lying.Under Oath

Martin Daly in the Express

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/commenta ... 68948.html
An example of how difficulty arises when a convention is not recognized is illustrated by the removal of Ms Occah Seepaul as Speaker of the House of Representatives in 1995, particularly when contrasted with the departure of Mr Michael Martin as Speaker of the House of Commons in the British Parliament in 2009.
Ms Seepaul refused to leave in response to the likely dictates of the PNM MPs who held the majority in the House, with the result that a state of emergency was declared to confine her to her residence while the Constitution was amended to provide (as the dry bones of the law were insufficient at the time) for the removal of a Speaker by the passing of a resolution moved in the House of Representatives and subject to certain safeguards (for which I and other Independent Senators successfully fought).

Zoom -remind us how the PNM abused her.
Sedition?
No mention...
Moving on

Any one here can show with fact...or a link to a law how the Gang Act will change the power of the Sedition Act ?

And Zoom, your first answer quoted the Sedition Act as the foundation of your argument
Despite there being explicit protection in the Act for whatever you concerned about.

Since then you have just repeated your anti PNM rhetoric. which while expected remains irrelevant.

LAW.
You saw they will lock us up if we say X.
Ive shown the limitation clause that explicitly protects us if we chose to do that.
You repeat your blather about your history of predictions-so you have zero fact.
Which is where you started..ole talk and baseless blather